Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lolyndy 1 review from this member

 Very clean well run site Well looked after

Very covid 19 conscious safety measures very good

Only drawback is the trees, most pitches were under trees. this is not a woodland setting but they have beautiful mature hedging between pitches and a good tree lined perimete,r do they need a tree every 6 foot as well as the hedges between the rows of pitches

We had pigeons magpies etc dancing up and down our roof and endless amounts of twig and leaves and bird droppings and very little sun 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jk1947 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a few times before and have always enjoyed this site, personally of the two toilet blocks I prefer the one at the bottom of the site next to the tent area, even on a cold day the immaculate toilet/shower block is always maintained at a comfortable temperature, there is also a separate disabled toilet facility,

There is a plentiful supply of grass and hard standing pitches to choose from all with Hook up, a small number are serviced pitches. There are at least 6 water points around the site along with waste and recycling bins and chemical waste points. There is also dish washing, laundry and drying facilities at both toilet blocks.

The site has a limited number of storage spaces(single axle only) availability is equal to Rocking Horse Sh*t.

The is a small general store opposite the entrance on Canterbury Road, the village of Hawkinge is a short distance away with a Tesco Express, pharmacy and takeaways and there is the added bonus of a caravan dealer in the village with an accessory shop and of course there are a couple of pubs and a new Lidl supermarket.

Hawkinge was an RAF fighter base during the Battle of Britain the base is now a B of B Museum with lots of exhibits.

Further down towards Folkestone there is the RAF memorial at Capel Le Ferne with its interactive displays.

In the other direction there is Canterbury with its magnificent Cathedral and Old Town including the ducking stool, not used anymore.

There is an excellent bus service near the site with the bus stop for Folkestone handily sited by the Black Horse pub which is ideally placed for staggering back to the caravan after a noggin or two.

Nice staff, nice site, would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 Like most previous reviewers we've found this site useful for overnight stays before using the Tunnel, but this time we came for a week, in order to explore this part of Kent.

We'd only used the ferry pitches before so it was interesting to see what the main part of the site was like. It was quite full, so plenty of other people must have thought, like us, that it was a good place to spend some time. We chose a grass pitch in a pleasant, open area. Of the two toilet blocks, the one nearest to the entrance is slightly more modern and spacious than the one at the other end of the site, which was perfectly clean but looking in need of an upgrade, and its dishwashing room was more cramped than the other one.

There are so many interesting places to visit within a short drive. We particularly enjoyed Walmer Castle and Dover Castle (if you're a member of English Heritage you save a fortune, as the entrance fee to Dover Castle was an eye-watering 22!) We needed two days to 'do' Canterbury. It has a Park and Ride, which even has a large parking area just for motorhomes. The Turner Contemporary at Margate was good, as were Whitstable and Broadstairs. In fact, we could easily have spent two weeks, and we enjoyed it so much we may go back next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecollier 12 reviews from this member

 Great site for overnight before/ after channel crossing.

Facilities are as expected on a club site.

Staff friendly and welcoming

Arrived around 9pm and still welcomed with choice of pitch.

Most visitors seemed to be one night only 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 40 reviews from this member

 Once again we stopped here for a night on our way to France via tunnel. Many fewer rabbits this year! Usual excellent service and facilities.

The new reception area has been completed since our visit last summer and is a great improvement. Wardens friendly and helpful. We used the dog run, but didn't have the time to take the dogs off site - we usually use the field behind the bus shelter.

Ate at the pub. Our order was messed up and by the time they realised, all the specials has gone. However, they only charged us for 1 meal and gave us a free drink, so all was well.

As usual we had gone in at (what to us) was a reasonable time - about 6. 50, only to find all tables full and we had to share with a most delightful Swiss couple setting off on a motorhome tour of the Cotswolds.

Note to self - eat earlier in future! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 14 reviews from this member

 Considering there had been torrential rain for before we arrived, the site was surprisingly dry, although the 'dog exercise' area is a bit meagre and muddy.

We used a ferry pitch and were surprised by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. My past experience of Caravan Club sites has not been very positive (too officious), but this team was a delight to deal with.

One word of warning, ignore the very first sign you see for a caravan site. It takes you to the Little Switzerland site and its devilish difficult to turn around and get back onto the right road (my wife had her eyes closed!). 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happycat318 2 reviews from this member

 Awful. We stayed here one night on a 'ferry pitch' which I had asked to be hard standing. Instead we were put down the bottom of the hill next to the dog walking park in thick mud. No doubt we disturbed everyone with our 6 am hitch up, but unfortunately we couldn't help that - we had explained to reception before our arrival and on the arrival date that we would be leaving early the next day.

The pitch was muddy due to the rainfall, however reception seemed more obsessed that we parked close to the blue peg rather than park in a less muddy spot on our pitch. We managed to ruin a good pair of shoes each and trousers setting up and setting down. The facilities were very dated and dirty, nothing wrong with dated facilities if you can keep them clean but this seemed beyond them. When we left there were still unused hard standings available so I'm not sure why we had to endure the mud. Of all the sites we visited on this holiday (the rest were abroad) this was by far the worst and we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Suzi1971 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed a night before getting the tunnel to France. Easy to find. Good access to tunnel. Near to large Sainsbury's for fuel before getting train. Stayed on a ferry pitch. Pub over the road - bit eccentric and food a bit over priced for what it was. Facilities what you would expect from a club site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night prior to getting the Eurotunnel to France. It is a lovely site with loads of rabbits! Laid out in various areas including one for ferry pitches. There is some construction work going on but we didn't find it a problem. The facilities are standard caravan club, very clean and tidy. Reception were efficient and helpful.

We had a meal at the Black Horse which serves typical pub food at an acceptable price.

Not far to supermarkets and petrol to stock up before going to France.

Very handy for the Tunnel but also would be nice for a holiday as loads to do and see in the area.

We woud definitiely use again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliapb 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a weekend break at this campsite. Despite being run by the Caravan club, the site welcome tent users, though it only has a few spaces for tents, none of which have electric hook-up(which didn't bother us). Really well run site with clean showers and toilets. No queues whilst we were there. Good washing-up, laundry and drying facilities. Well placed site with small shop and decent pub within 5 minutes walk. Great location for exploring south and east Kent and, as others have said, for getting the ferry/Eurotunnel. Small playground and dog walking area. Would definitely recommend if you want to visit this part of the country. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Folkestone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement