Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Clean and tidy.

Typical Caravan and Motorhome site.

Bus stop and good service close outside going to Folkestone and Canterbury the other then onwards to Margate and Whitstable.

So good for us motorhomers.

Also a pub a short walk away, although we didn't use it 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robert Cullercoats 1 review from this member

 The ‘ferry’ pitches on the site are overpriced, poorly maintained and give no real benefit to ferry users.

The hard standing is minimal and the car has to be unhooked - unlike drive-on drive off layouts at other sites.

Many of the pitches are on sloping ground and who wants to level the caravan after a long journey?

Dead areas on the grass next to our pitch suggest dog owners have not walked dogs away from the caravan. Road noise is excessive. And I am paying over £30.

If we ever stayed here again we would book a standard pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jasmo 16 reviews from this member

 Good, tidy, clean site in an interesting area. Well maintained treed site. Stayed four nights and we were with other units that weren't just there to catch a ferry.

Lots of continental campers and the staff on site were absolutely charming, helpful.

We were able to choose our own pitch which was appreciated, though despite visiting in the school holidays the site was not that busy.

The shower block was clean and tidy, I never queued and water, waste and bins were very conveniently close by.

Yes there was some road noise, but nothing too loud and my only gripe were the pigeons nesting in the trees above who pooed on the van and trotted across the roof!

All in all a well placed site for exploring the area. Folkstone's Harbour Arm has a lot of eateries, artisan makers and a delightful Italian Coffee Shop in a signal box! Went to Hythe which has a fascinating history, walked along the cliffs at Capel le Ferne.

Will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To find site:- Continue to the end of the M20 towards Dover, just past the tunnel on the A20 take slip road signed for A 260 and follow signs for Canterbury.

The first part of this road is new and bypasses some of the narrower parts of the old road which it re-joins near Densole, continue through village and the site is just past the Black Horse Inn on the left. You can approach the site from Canterbury but the M20 route is better.

There are special arrangements for booking and paying for the ferry pitches. For non-ferry bookings the arrival time is 1. 00pm

Site is open all year and accepts non-members and tents. I would think that it would be advised to book ahead in peak season. This is a nice site situated about 10 miles from Dover and about 8 miles from Eurotunnel. As a result, those making their way back and forth to the Port, or the Tunnel, frequently use it.

The site has a special Ferry Area, all hardstandings, immediately behind reception for early departures to minimise disturbance to longer stay campers. People staying for one night may also be allocated pitches in the main site.

The rest of the site is a mix of grass and hardstanding pitches although in recent years more hardstanding have been added. Since our last visit in 2016 the Club have added 10 serviced pitches and rebuilt the Reception and Information room.

There is a small area for tents with its own separate parking area. The tree planting and shrubs are just starting to mature which enhances the look and feel of the site. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors.

TV reception was very good via our rooftop aerial. Service points are dotted around the site and a motorhome service point is near to reception, unfortunately this has still not been upgraded to a drive over waste point and still requires heavy drain covers to be lifted.

There are two toilet blocks at either end of the site. The upper block is probably in need of an upgrade. The lower one is more modern and includes a drying room and separate disabled accessible toilets/ showers.

Other facilities include a children’s play area, a dog walk and an information room. This site also has storage facilities. Black Horse Farm has WiFi installed and time may be purchased online. The 4G signal is reasonable.

Whilst the site is used a lot for people going to and from the ferries Black Horse Farm is well worth a stay in its own right with lots to do in the area.

There is a regular, every 20 minutes, bus service between Canterbury and Folkestone, both about half an hour away. The bus stop is not far from the site entrance outside the Black Horse pub.

Just across the road from the site is a small well stocked general store, which includes a Post Office.

Further along the road is the Black Horse Inn, which serves food. About a mile from the site towards Canterbury is the Folkestone Garden Centre.

There are many other opportunities to explore the surrounding are if you stay is longer than just over night. At Hawkinge there is a caravan accessory shop and a Lidl supermarket.

Also, in Hawkinge is the Kent Battle of Britain Museum but be warned they have a very strange attitude to cameras and phones! 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Philn5 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and facilities for us with plenty of room for the motorhome.

The staff welcomed us in a professional manner and were very helpful in answering questions.

The site is secure at night. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 58 reviews from this member

 Very convenient location before an early tunnel crossing, supermarkets and fuel nearby. Pub over the road but not our kind of place; village shop opposite the site.

We had a large, level pitch in the 'ferry' area. Wardens are friendly and helpful; one popped out to tell me to keep an eye out for my takeaway delivery driver (recommend the Turkish one, can't remember the name but it's on the leaflet the wardens give you) as his phone has no signal in the village!

Typical CAMC standards in the loo and showers, very clean indeed.

Only downside for me was the considerable road noise, and as a light sleeper this would put me off returning.

A walk around the site revealed some nice pitches for a longer stay (there's a few footpaths in the area if you want to walk, although the site has an enclosed dog walk) but you can still hear the road! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dauphi 1 review from this member

 We liked the site very much, very clean and all covid precautions in place. The staff were always around to give advice on restrictions because of covid.

We liked the leafy locations of the bays and especially the dog park as we have a borda terrier.

Relaxing all round, will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lolyndy 1 review from this member

 Very clean well run site Well looked after

Very covid 19 conscious safety measures very good

Only drawback is the trees, most pitches were under trees. this is not a woodland setting but they have beautiful mature hedging between pitches and a good tree lined perimete,r do they need a tree every 6 foot as well as the hedges between the rows of pitches

We had pigeons magpies etc dancing up and down our roof and endless amounts of twig and leaves and bird droppings and very little sun 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jk1947 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here a few times before and have always enjoyed this site, personally of the two toilet blocks I prefer the one at the bottom of the site next to the tent area, even on a cold day the immaculate toilet/shower block is always maintained at a comfortable temperature, there is also a separate disabled toilet facility,

There is a plentiful supply of grass and hard standing pitches to choose from all with Hook up, a small number are serviced pitches. There are at least 6 water points around the site along with waste and recycling bins and chemical waste points. There is also dish washing, laundry and drying facilities at both toilet blocks.

The site has a limited number of storage spaces(single axle only) availability is equal to Rocking Horse Sh*t.

The is a small general store opposite the entrance on Canterbury Road, the village of Hawkinge is a short distance away with a Tesco Express, pharmacy and takeaways and there is the added bonus of a caravan dealer in the village with an accessory shop and of course there are a couple of pubs and a new Lidl supermarket.

Hawkinge was an RAF fighter base during the Battle of Britain the base is now a B of B Museum with lots of exhibits.

Further down towards Folkestone there is the RAF memorial at Capel Le Ferne with its interactive displays.

In the other direction there is Canterbury with its magnificent Cathedral and Old Town including the ducking stool, not used anymore.

There is an excellent bus service near the site with the bus stop for Folkestone handily sited by the Black Horse pub which is ideally placed for staggering back to the caravan after a noggin or two.

Nice staff, nice site, would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 Like most previous reviewers we've found this site useful for overnight stays before using the Tunnel, but this time we came for a week, in order to explore this part of Kent.

We'd only used the ferry pitches before so it was interesting to see what the main part of the site was like. It was quite full, so plenty of other people must have thought, like us, that it was a good place to spend some time. We chose a grass pitch in a pleasant, open area. Of the two toilet blocks, the one nearest to the entrance is slightly more modern and spacious than the one at the other end of the site, which was perfectly clean but looking in need of an upgrade, and its dishwashing room was more cramped than the other one.

There are so many interesting places to visit within a short drive. We particularly enjoyed Walmer Castle and Dover Castle (if you're a member of English Heritage you save a fortune, as the entrance fee to Dover Castle was an eye-watering £22!) We needed two days to 'do' Canterbury. It has a Park and Ride, which even has a large parking area just for motorhomes. The Turner Contemporary at Margate was good, as were Whitstable and Broadstairs. In fact, we could easily have spent two weeks, and we enjoyed it so much we may go back next year! 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Folkestone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement