Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iwalani 158 reviews from this member

Like most previous reviewers we've found this site useful for overnight stays before using the Tunnel, but this time we came for a week, in order to explore this part of Kent.

We'd only used the ferry pitches before so it was interesting to see what the main part of the site was like. It was quite full, so plenty of other people must have thought, like us, that it was a good place to spend some time. We chose a grass pitch in a pleasant, open area. Of the two toilet blocks, the one nearest to the entrance is slightly more modern and spacious than the one at the other end of the site, which was perfectly clean but looking in need of an upgrade, and its dishwashing room was more cramped than the other one.

There are so many interesting places to visit within a short drive. We particularly enjoyed Walmer Castle and Dover Castle (if you're a member of English Heritage you save a fortune, as the entrance fee to Dover Castle was an eye-watering £22!) We needed two days to 'do' Canterbury. It has a Park and Ride, which even has a large parking area just for motorhomes. The Turner Contemporary at Margate was good, as were Whitstable and Broadstairs. In fact, we could easily have spent two weeks, and we enjoyed it so much we may go back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikecollier 9 reviews from this member

Great site for overnight before/ after channel crossing.

Facilities are as expected on a club site.

Staff friendly and welcoming

Arrived around 9pm and still welcomed with choice of pitch.

Most visitors seemed to be one night only

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 36 reviews from this member

Once again we stopped here for a night on our way to France via tunnel. Many fewer rabbits this year! Usual excellent service and facilities. The new reception area has been completed since our visit last summer and is a great improvement. Wardens friendly and helpful. We used the dog run, but didn't have the time to take the dogs off site - we usually use the field behind the bus shelter. Ate at the pub. Our order was messed up and by the time they realised, all the specials has gone. However, they only charged us for 1 meal and gave us a free drink, so all was well. As usual we had gone in at (what to us) was a reasonable time - about 6. 50, only to find all tables full and we had to share with a most delightful Swiss couple setting off on a motorhome tour of the Cotswolds. Note to self - eat earlier in future!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 9 reviews from this member

Considering there had been torrential rain for before we arrived, the site was surprisingly dry, although the 'dog exercise' area is a bit meagre and muddy. We used a ferry pitch and were surprised by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. My past experience of Caravan Club sites has not been very positive (too officious), but this team was a delight to deal with. One word of warning, ignore the very first sign you see for a caravan site. It takes you to the Little Switzerland site and its devilish difficult to turn around and get back onto the right road (my wife had her eyes closed!).

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycat318 2 reviews from this member

Awful. We stayed here one night on a 'ferry pitch' which I had asked to be hard standing. Instead we were put down the bottom of the hill next to the dog walking park in thick mud. No doubt we disturbed everyone with our 6 am hitch up, but unfortunately we couldn't help that - we had explained to reception before our arrival and on the arrival date that we would be leaving early the next day.

The pitch was muddy due to the rainfall, however reception seemed more obsessed that we parked close to the blue peg rather than park in a less muddy spot on our pitch. We managed to ruin a good pair of shoes each and trousers setting up and setting down. The facilities were very dated and dirty, nothing wrong with dated facilities if you can keep them clean but this seemed beyond them. When we left there were still unused hard standings available so I'm not sure why we had to endure the mud. Of all the sites we visited on this holiday (the rest were abroad) this was by far the worst and we won't be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi1971 14 reviews from this member

Stayed a night before getting the tunnel to France. Easy to find. Good access to tunnel. Near to large Sainsbury's for fuel before getting train. Stayed on a ferry pitch. Pub over the road - bit eccentric and food a bit over priced for what it was. Facilities what you would expect from a club site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 39 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night prior to getting the Eurotunnel to France. It is a lovely site with loads of rabbits! Laid out in various areas including one for ferry pitches. There is some construction work going on but we didn't find it a problem. The facilities are standard caravan club, very clean and tidy. Reception were efficient and helpful.

We had a meal at the Black Horse which serves typical pub food at an acceptable price.

Not far to supermarkets and petrol to stock up before going to France.

Very handy for the Tunnel but also would be nice for a holiday as loads to do and see in the area.

We woud definitiely use again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliapb 1 review from this member

Just got back from a weekend break at this campsite. Despite being run by the Caravan club, the site welcome tent users, though it only has a few spaces for tents, none of which have electric hook-up(which didn't bother us). Really well run site with clean showers and toilets. No queues whilst we were there. Good washing-up, laundry and drying facilities. Well placed site with small shop and decent pub within 5 minutes walk. Great location for exploring south and east Kent and, as others have said, for getting the ferry/Eurotunnel. Small playground and dog walking area. Would definitely recommend if you want to visit this part of the country.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

This is just an update from my previous review last September. During our visit in May the site had major works going on which involves the building of a new reception building at the entrance. At the lower toilet block they have added a separate disable toilet/shower facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To find site:- Continue to the end of the M20 towards Dover, just past the tunnel on the A20 take slip road signed for A 260 and follow signs for Canterbury. The first part of this road is new and bypasses some of the narrower parts of the old road which it rejoins near to Densole, continue through village and the site is just past the Black Horse Inn on the left. Pre-booked one night stopovers have to be paid for in advance of arrival, no UK arrivals after 8. 00pm.

Site is open all year and accepts non-members and tents. I would think that it would be advised to book ahead in peak season. This is a nice site situated about 10 miles from Dover and about 8 miles from Eurotunnel. As a result those making their way back and forth to the Port, or the Tunnel, frequently use it. The site has a special Ferry Area, all hardstandings, immediately behind reception for early departures to minimise disturbance to longer stay campers. One nighters my also be allocated pitches in the main site. The rest of the site is a mix of grass and hardstanding pitches although in recent years more hardstanding have been added. There is a small area for tents with itís own separate parking area. The tree planting and shrubs are just starting to mature which enhances the look and feel of the site. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Likewise service points are dotted around the site and a motorhome service point is near to reception although still requires heavy drain covers to be lifted. There are two really excellent toilet blocks at either end of the site although the one near the ferry area closes very early for cleaning. Other facilities include a childrenís play area, a dog walk and an information room. This site also has storage facilities. Black Horse Farm has WiFi installed and time may be purchased online.

Whilst the site is used a lot for people going to and from the ferries Black Horse Farm is well worth a stay in itís own right with lots to do in the area. There is a regular bus service between Canterbury and Folkestone with a bus stop near the site entrance. Just across the road from the site is a small general store, which includes a Post Office. Further along the road is the Black Horse Inn, which serves food, we enjoyed our meal when we visited but they only accept cash payment. There are many other opportunities to explore the surrounding are if you stay is longer than just over night. At Hawkinge there is a caravan dealer.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2748 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019