Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Folkestone > Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Black Horse Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
385 Canterbury Road, Densole
Densole
Folkestone
Kent   (Browse area)
CT18 7BG
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 138
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PERRY 71 4 reviews from this member

Blackhorse Farm is a cracking site. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. Toilet blocks are well situated and are very clean with great showers loads of hot water. The pitches are good size. Small play area for kids but well maintained, service point for motorhome has all you need. Shop / pub within walking distance if not there is also a Tesco express about a 5 min drive away in Hawkinge. Good bus links into either Folkstone / Canterbury. But we were brave and rode our bikes into Folkstone not bad in fact great fun. Will be going back again without a doubt. Oh yes also good for overnight stop prior going on ferry / shuttle.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for a one night stop over before going to France. Its ideal for the Tunnel and Ports as only 10 mins away.

Tescos and Sainsburys close by for fuel. The site is clean and showers. Toilets of the usual high CC standards. Wardens very friendly and lovely play area on site plus rabbits!

Will definitely use this site again when travelling to France and would recommend it either as a stopover or weekend away.

Some of the pitches are hardstanding and some on grass, it was being used mainly as a stopover site for people travelling to France.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the weekend and a very well run and immaculate site.

Easy to find well signposted.

Toilet blocks were great loads of hot water and heated in winter. Area was good as loads of coastal towns to visit and the pub across the road done a good steak!

Very handy for the ferries and channel tunnel.

Will be going back again.

Cant comment on child friendly but they are dog friendly.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robertb174 16 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of January just as an excuse to be away from home.

On arrival we were told where to pitch by the friendly warden and sort out payment in the morning, which was nice. Hardstandings are pretty much level although the one we had was a little tight to get onto due to a hedge on opposite side of the road, but a little shunt sorted this out.

TV reception not so good, but that didn't bother us. Site was very clean and tidy, especially when you consider how wet the ground is. Toilets were immaculate and warm when showering.

There is a lot of movement on the site, presumably because of its close proximity to channel ports, but because the site is so well laid out this does not disturb guests.

There is a nice play area for kids, although our kids did not use it too much on this occasion.

I would recommend this site and will use it again in order to have day trips to France without the need to drive 100 miles before getting on the ferry.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: D S B 26 reviews from this member

We returned to Black Horse Farm during the October Half Term and the site is still looking really good. They only use hardstandings after September and we were on a really large flat pitch (105). Not much to add about the site - it still remains very good indeed, but thought an update on shops might be appropriate.

The little shop opposite the site entrance, which is also a Post Office will not accept any form of plastic (debit or credit), so you will need cash. Not so bad if the PO counter is open but otherwise, you'll be snookered! It's worth going into Hawkinge to shop.

It's only a couple of miles out of Densole towards Folkestone and it has a Tesco Express (that do take cards), a cash point, Fish and Chip shop, Chinese take away, and one or two other bits and pieces. When you almost get to Hawkinge, take the road through the village (and then turn left near the car sales place - carrying on around the bend will take you back onto Spitfire Way and you will still miss the shops).

If you carry on straight through Hawkinge (past the shops) you will come to the Caravan Sales place (on the left), which also sells spares and those little things you might have forgotten or run out of.

Black Horse Farm is certainly a site worth visiting and it's so convenient for the Ferries and for seeing this part of Kent - the one night stand pitches outside the security barrier are large hardstandings and will suit most caravans/ motorhomes.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brian 7 4 reviews from this member

We needed a site close to the euro train crossing and choose this one what a bonus that was. This site just gets easier to use, we were arriving late 8-30pm so contacted the site en-route to inform them we have been delayed by traffic and expect to arrive 9-30pm as we were only staying one night, they left an envelope with a map and instructions to find out pitch. The pitch was brilliant, the shower/toilet block are of the Caravan clubs highest standards. Thank you, will use again and again when we are in that area and will recommend to any one to use this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fnaz 5 reviews from this member

This is a very useful site for ferry and tunnel cross channel systems. Well positioned within half an hour of Dover and tunnel, you will be sited on the main site even when booking a ferry pitch. Local hostelries if you like that sort of thing. Very friendly staff.

Can't really comment on child facilities as we are older now, but the site fulfilled a purpose for most visitors in readiness for a channel crossing.

Very well recommended for quick turn around.

If staying for a couple of days, try out a visit to Dover castle: absolutely fascinating!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 88 reviews from this member

Access to this site is easy with a wide entrance directly off the A260 Canterbury Road.

We only used this site as an overnight stop before an early morning tunnel crossing.

Ferry pitches which have to be pre booked and paid for with the site directly, are located outside the main barrier and if you arrive after the office there is an envelope waiting for you in a perspex box outside reception on arrival.

Pitches are spacious and level but expect to be disturbed by others leaving in the early hours for the ports.

The toilet block in this area has seen better days and is some way off the standards I have come to expect from the Caravan Club.

Perhaps she had had one of those days, but the female warden taking the bookings was not really that helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cherok 12 reviews from this member

Visited this site as a one night stop before early ferry the next morning.

We had to pay in advance for a late arrivals/early departure pitch but we were a bit perplexed as we appeared to be sited on the main campsite and had to drop our barrier card in to the office post box in the morning!

Site clean and well kept doing 'what it says on the tin!'

Booked a table in the pub close by but weren't very impressed really as it seemed quite expensive for basic pub grub. Most of the other diners refused desserts and didn't seem too impressed. Captive audience really as there isn't another within 'shortish' walking distance.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulDG 4 reviews from this member

Really nice site, kept in perfect condition by very friendly and helpful wardens.

We stayed for the weekend partly to give our new porch awning a try out but mostly to visit some of the historic sights in the area and this was a great base.

Toilets, showers, vegetable prep area all extremely good; the showers are very free-flowing and deliver enough water to drown in.

As the site is obviously mostly used as an overnight stop over for people using the tunnel and ferries, there are a lot of comings and goings (even on the 'long stay' section of the site), far more than you'd expect on a normal CC site. We didn't find this a problem but it might be an issue if you want total peace and quiet.

Great place for motor home spotting - we saw several continental ones that looked amazing.

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2758 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019