Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ouncy2 26 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at Bunree, the site is typical of C&MC very clean and tidy with excellent staff, we were warned that midges can be a real problem during July and was recommended to use Skin So Soft from Avon Cosmetics but we had very little problems with them.

One gripe is the cost of the internet service which we could have done with for a day or two but at 2.50 per day and on all accounts poor speeds, we gave it a miss and waited until we were on a CL site back in England where it was excellent & free!

Site costs continue to rise year by year and at 29 per night for a unit + 2 adults, it is more than enough and we have found CL's on the circuit with lovely facilities near to or less than half that price. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 separate visits, breaking the journey from NW England to the Scottish Highlands.

I really can't think of a single thing to complain about. The site is nicely laid out. Even though we weren't on the front row we had a good view of the loch. Everywhere is neat and well maintained. The views are to die for.

Although I had visited Fort William before, I was surprised how much there is to do there. We only managed walking, a trip up the Nevis gondola and a round of the Treetop Adventure but there were many other activities we would like to have undertaken with sufficient time. There is a lovely walk around the Inchree waterfalls direct from the site.

Fort William has all the shops, supermarkets etc you might want. We didn't eat out this time but there seemed to be plenty of opportunity (including a restaurant recommended by the site which is within walking distance).

Classic C&MHC. All required facilities provided, everything works, everything is spotlessly clean. The site is easy to get to and the wardens we spoke to were all lovely. What's not to like? 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulgdolman 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely manicured site as expected with the caravan and Motorhome club, but we found the site too cramped and as if parked in a car park with no or very little room to sit outside.

Fine if you want to peer at Lock Linnie through your window?

The other issue causing us to decide to leave after our first day of the booked three, was the terrible wifi system that the club has adopted which is a pay as you go system but could not access and after an hour of trying gave up.

Facilities all up to the usual clubs standards a nice pub / restaurant with free wifi across the road which saved the day for us in planning the rest of our tour of the highlands 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

 Although an excellent site from almost every aspect, the site is badly let down by the club in having the most abysmal WiFi reception I can ever remember encountering.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the growing importance placed upon internet communications today, yet I was not able once, during the whole of my stay, to get a connection, even between midnight and 7 am. ! I personally will make the availability, reliability and cost of WiFi connection a major factor when choosing a site and, in fact, a club.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the importance of this issue and the fact that they will lose bookings if it is not addressed, and quickly. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 We drove past Bunree CMC sites a few years ago, and my wife fell in love with it - a camp site literally sat on the loch shore. Now that we have at last been able to stay there, it has not disappointed. The views are to die for, especially on a warm, sunny evening when it stays light until eleven o'clock. It also lovely and peaceful.

The campsite itself is well-maintained, with a well-appointed central amenities block. There are a few things that could be improved. For example, it could do with a few more water taps around the site (and the low pressure means it can take an eternity to fill an aquaroll). And, being a large site, the internet speed can slow to a crawl during the evenings when everybody is piling onto it.

The main shopping facilities can be found at Fort William, ten miles away (with cheap fuel available at the Morrisons superstore).

Otherwise, the site is handy for exploring the Western Highlands - including if you wish to scale Ben Nevis. And if you're a cyclist, the best rides can be found by boarding the nearby Corran ferry for the short voyage to the opposite side of Loch Linnhe, where the roads are much quieter and the scenery just as awesome. Foot passengers and their bikes can travel FREE.

Just make sure you make the last nine o'clock ferry back otherwise you are in for a very long and lonely cycle ride back indeed! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 695 reviews from this member

 A few years since we visited this site, nothing has really changed.

We were lucky to get a loch side pitch, no more expensive but you can't put out an awning. Glorious views over the loch to the mountains. On the downside every dog walker heading for the beach seemed to think it was fine to walk across our pitch to the beach - there was a marked path but why use that when it was 10 seconds quicker to use our pitch.

The facilities are usual CC standards in terms of clean but are looking a bit tired. Water pressure was very poor in showers. One day no hot water so when reception opened at 9am we let wardens know - they said no one had told them earlier (when they were closed?).

We did find wardens friendly and helpful, they work tirelessly on site keeping it clean and tidy.

The main plus for us here is the proximity to Corran Ferry, free for walkers and cyclists with a lovely pub where the ferry docks. The quiet B road follows the loch down to Fort William where you can get another passenger ferry over to town.

Having not used this site for a few years we have found there are other sites within a couple of miles offering loch side pitches, all charge 23 for 2 adults with ehu, we would try these before using Bunree again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Silaconeken 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on this site in the middle of June for five nights. We booked this pitch months in advance as this site is so popular, our pitch was right in the front with lovely views of the river and mountains.

The weather could of been better, but it is Scotland. A really well kept site, lovely clean toilets, which we have come to expect from the caravan club. Only a short 20 minute drive north takes you to Fort William, with lots to see and do, near by are the locks called Neptune's staircase which is the start of Loch Ness.

Anyway this site is really worth a visit, but remember, book early. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 Fairly average CC site. Staff friendly, facilities good - did a pile of washing here!

Lovely views across the loch. Only downside for us was not finding anywhere decent to walk the dogs, but I see a June 15 review detailing what sounds like a good walk.

Would we go back? Yes probably after doing a bit more research about local walks - we were on;y there for a single night 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuventure 4 reviews from this member

 The shower block is of a good standard, nothing special. We joined the Caravan Club this year to make use of the CLs but saw this site on the internet so decided to take a look.

We had stayed on a Caravan Club site the night before without booking and received a very warm welcome, the staff were friendly and helpful. On arrival at Bunree we felt unwelcome and had we not had a long day would have left the office and gone elsewhere.

We are long standing members of the Friendly Club and have never felt unwelcome. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 37 reviews from this member

 This was a return visit to Bunree for us, as we enjoyed it so much last time. It is true Caravan Club standard - immaculate facilities, well sized pitches and, in this case, so beautifully perched on the banks of the loch that all you want to do is get out your deck chair and sit and gaze. Dog and I found something a bit more energetic to do by going back up to the bridge, crossing the main road and following a waymarked walk through the woods, past some pretty impressive looking water falls, and back down a wide forestry road. The site is handy for Fort William and Glen Coe or go west to Glenfinnan and the Road to the Isles - altogether a great base for touring this very scenic slice of the highlands and a wonderful spot to return to of an evening. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement