Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 40 reviews from this member

 This was our first time staying at this site. We stayed just 2 nights on our 750 mile tour round Scotland. What a lovely location. The views are wonderful and can change every minute with low cloud and sunshine.

Wardens were friendly enough but after booking in we didn't have any contact with them. The site is very open and it looks as though every pitch has great views of the Loch. Pitches are reasonably flat and of a good size. Toilet and shower facilities were clean and plentiful. There is a small children's play area.

There are some lovely walks from the site up to the waterfalls and over the ferry to the other side of the Loch.

The Ben Nevis Range is only a few miles north of Fort William and well worth a visit up in the cable car either to ski or to admire the views with a hot chocolate in hand!

Onich is only a few minutes away by car but take care if walking as it can be a very busy road. Fort William looks as though it's a lovely town. We only drove through it on the way to the site but didn't have time to visit. There is a bus stop along from the site but not sure how frequent the buses are. Not sure how far the nearest shop is as we didn't need to walk to one.

All in all its a lovely site with lovely views and we would certainly be happy to come and stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Headgardener 37 reviews from this member

 We had not booked and called in early afternoon on chance. I could not say we received a warm welcome

And the receptionist knew there were pitches available but did not know which ones and I got the impression that our arrival was a bit of a nuisance to the staff. Although we are both getting on a bit no offer of help if needed mentioned. We prefer the 'FRIENDLY CLUB'.

We eventually found a pitch at the waterside with fantastic views.

Although we have been Caravan Club Members for many years this was our first visit to one of their sites (as opposed to CLs which we use often) for a few years. Based on the welcome it will be a few years before we try another one. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

 From our arrival to departure 13 nights later we could not fault the site. Even the water filling points go a slowly, so you can admire the view!

Wardens who work hard are friendly and tackle drivers who drive too quickly (a very small minority for a change) to the aforementioned scenery are all very good. We were very lucky with the weather with no rain or winds for the whole of our stay.

Wildlife galore from the skies to the Loch including Golden Eagles and heron to seals. Stunning sunsets too.

Plenty to do in the area but most involve a car journey but there is a bus to Fort William, and a ferry to the other side of the loch (free for foot/cycle passengers. So very appealing to us Yorkshire folk who love a bargain! The walks sheet from the wardens is very good and again gives loads of wildlife spotting opportunities (Red Squirrel)

One of the best sites we have ever stayed on 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 111 reviews from this member

 This has got to be possibly one of the best Caravan Club sites in the UK ! Superb location, amazing views, good size level pitches, immaculate facilities I could keep going on ! love it ! There is a rather narrow approach road which is controlled by traffic lights so you don't meet anything. The wardens were very friendly can't fault the place and can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival the check in process was swift and hassle free. We were advised of the pitches which were free and told to pick our own pitch, then notify reception of which one we had taken. We chose pitch 12 which is by the children's play area and toilet block.

The pitch was fairly flat and plenty spacious for the awning, car and caravan. The site has fantastic views even when the weather is cloudy and raining. It was also very very quiet at most times of the day and certainly the night.

The site is kept very clean with the toilet/shower block being of the usual standard you will find at a caravan club site. The site is very easy to find and get to, we approached from the south having come over Glencoe and had no problems at all.

The only down point was the midgies……unfortunately we were forced into the awning to avoid them while it was still light and the weather was dry. Despite using repellent, we both got bitten a fair few times.

The site makes an excellent base for exploring Fort William, the Nevis Range. We made use of the Corran Ferry which is about half a mile from the site. It was £7. 60 each way for cars or free for push bikes and pedestrians. There is a lovely little pub as soon as you get off on the far side.

Very enjoyable stay, would definitely return. We stayed for 3 nights, I could quite happily have spent a week here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Bunree as part of our tour of Scotland, just two nights and were ready to leave. The views are fantastic and we were lucky enough to have a loch side pitch from our arrival, the location was stunning. The wardens were not unfriendly but the Bunree shuffle as it is called seems to cause the caravanners to be competitive rather than helpful to each other, what happens is folks are constantly on the look out for a better pitch. Another example of unfriendly behaviour we encountered was that the dog owners didn't always pick up after the dogs not only around the site but also on the pitches themselves which was a cause for concern.

There are some lovely walks directly from the site, to the waterfall and across on the local ferry foot passengers are not charged. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heleng57 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Busy site but beautiful views. The wardens were very helpful and kept the site immaculately. Plenty to see and do. Being the west coast weather can be all 4 seasons in one day. Storm straps for awning highly recommended. We would return to this site if visiting the west coast again 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

 A typical Caravan Club site. Tidy and well maintained.

A big plus was the drying room. It rained heavily during our stay and having somewhere to dry the clothes was a boon.

I cannot agree with the previous reviewer about the staff. The reception warden was polite but business like. The other warden staff, particularly those on the mini tractor just kept their heads down and could not even say 'good morning'. A slight point but courtesy never hurt anyone.

I do agree that the dog walking area is 'neither use nor ornament'. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HayLee 13 reviews from this member

 This site has the most amazing views, we loved it!

The site wardens were always helpful and friendly and the site itself, immaculate. The bins were emptied regularly and the toilet and shower facilities cleaned at the same time every day to a high standard.

Our only very minor criticism would be the dog walk area is not very big, especially when the tide is in.

We had planned a 3 night stay at Bunree but liked it so much we actually went back for another 3 nights at the end of our trip. A day trip around Ardnamurchan was lovely as was a visit to Glen Nevis. We would definitely go back to this site in future and explore the area further. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HunterHymer 2 reviews from this member

 It is a great location with stunning views. I found reception friendly and helpful and allowed to drive around to find a pitch; fortunately I found a great pitch with sea view. The dog walk is limited. The facilities are excellent. I used the site as a stopover as I was travelling north. I would certainly use the site again although I'm not sure that I would use it as a base with a motorhome for anymore that a night or two. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


29030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement