Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LauraJ28 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home today after visiting this site and it is without doubt the most picturesque we have ever been to! We managed to get one of two lochside pitches left and the view was stunning. It is such a quiet site and we were content wandering on the lochside and watching the oyster catchers feeding at the water's edge.

The Site - The wardens were helpful and friendly and the toilet block and facilities were up to the usual excellent caravan club standard. There is a play area for children and some dog walks on the site. Pitches are all hard standing and well spaced. There is a very good information hut on site which I always make a beeline for!

Around the site - This area is know for its outdoor activities and Ben Nevis and Glencoe are a short drive nearby. Fort William is a 10 mile drive away and has a morrisons and a number of shops in the high street. We didn't eat out while we were there as we enjoy cooking in the caravan but there were a number of restaurants mentioned in the site info hut.

We would definitely visit again and are already missing the mountains and the Lochs! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pamcel 9 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, with stunning views across the loch to the mountains. This has to be the most beautifully placed campsite in Scotland. We live not too far away, and have already stayed at the site at the foot of Ben Nevis, which was great, but thought we would chance an impromptu couple of days without booking. We were very lucky to get a place, and the next day managed to move to one right on the shore (when we left, there was a queue of vans waiting for a pitch. )

Our stay was so relaxing, and I really didn't want to come home. We visited Glencoe village, which has a fascinating small museum, and the best coffee shop ever (on the way to the museum when parked in the car park, you can't miss it).

We then drove over the mountains to Kinlochleven, and had a nice meal in the hotel there, where I was delighted to find out that there was a way back which hugged the edge of the loch rather than the clouds! (The views from the top were spectacular, according to my entranced husband, but I'm not much of a one for heights and I was driving anyway, so I'll take his word for it).

Fort William always has plenty going on, and there are free boat trips across to the peninsula from a pier close to the campsite.

But the scenery is the star here, and despite us being relatively used to it, we were totally enchanted by the beauty.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nands 20 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site situated right on the shores of the loch. The road approaching the site is very narrow. It does have traffic lights to ensure that you don't meet someone coming the other way.

The hardstanding pitches are massive with plenty of room for our caravan, awning and car. It was busy when we arrived and there were no pitches near the shore. We ended up near the toilet block but still had wonderful views across to the mountains beyond.

The toilet block is not as modern as many I have seen on a club site. The showers seemed cramped compared to some. It was however cleaned thoroughly every day. It just seemed a little dated. Everything else about the site was immaculate.

The club has done well by not squeezing too many pitches in and there are large areas of grass which give a feeling of space between pitches.

We spent four days here and were blessed with good weather. We spent a day at the Ben nevis range and took the cable car up an adjacent mountain. The views were great but we felt the price of 29 for a family of four was a bit excessive.

The cafe at the bottom of the cable car is much nicer than the one at the top! The following day we did the waterfall walk which is in a forestry commision park on the opposite side of the main road from the site. A bit of a climb but worth it for the waterfall and view of the loch and coastline.

Another day we cycled from the site to the Corran ferry which is less than 1/2 mile away. It is along the main road but as we have children we kept on the wide pavement all the way. The ferry is free for cyclists (6.70 for cars) and the roads are much quieter on the other side of the loch. We spent a morning exploring by bike before taking the ferry back to site.

We also visited the Seal Sanctuary on the way to Oban. There is a fantastic cafe on the main road there, just by Castle Stalker (from Monty Python days). We happened on it completely by accident but it serves wonderful local homemade fare. We also took a drive out to Glencoe which has the most beautiful scenery and is only 10 minutes from site.

Overall a great site and well worth a visit. We looked at the C&CC site in Glencoe whilst we were there but it's location cannot touch that of Bunree's. We hope to visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: H2puv 5 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous site, great views over Loch Linnhe and the best sunsets ever seen and only 10 mins dive from Fort William.

We stayed at this site with our 2 young children, there was a park for them & hours of crab & shell hunting on the pebbled beach at the Loch side.

The toilet block was very clean with plenty of free hot water & considering the heating had broken is was considerably warm enough to have a shower & not be dithering when you got out.

The shop was very basic & only sold a handful of items but there was a very large Morrisons in Fort William & also a MacDonalds which was a nice treat for the kids.

The staff were very friendly & extremely helpful.

We took a day trip to the Isle of Mull which is a 45 min drive from Ardgour to the Lochaline ferry, with stunning views on the way & the kids got to see the wild deer, which was a bonus.

Tobermory (Balamory) Mull is definitely worth a trip & Calgary Bay with its golden sands.

The only bad thing I would say is DON'T eat off the regular chip van that visits 2 days a week because although the food is cook fresh the batter on the fish & sausage was like eating sponge & the chips were cooked in fat that tasted like it was 6 months old.

All in all, this was one of the loveliest sites we have ever visited & would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

 Congratulations CC on this wonderful site, it's now probably our most favourite. We stayed on what was the most frostiest weekend of the autumn so far where we witnessed the loch looking like glass, glimpsed an otter and seal and watched the most perfect red sunsets.

It's all been said before but we just can't extol the virtues of this site enough.Stunning location with captivating views, excellent clean facilities and very welcoming and helpful staff.

A drive down the coast to Oban is a must, vista after vista round every bend and make the effort if you can to walk to McCaigs Tower, the view is amazing.

Also recommended is the Sea Life/seal sanctuary on route to Oban. It's a wonderful informative and fun day out for adults and children alike.

Back to beautiful Bunree and one little gripe. Am sure this is not exclusive to this site but it seemed quite the norm here. Some fellow campers seemed to think the rules didn't apply to them.Dogs left off their leads to wander, noise until the wee small hours (surprised the wardens didn't pick up on this one) and people seemed to think it was ok to wander through fellow campers pitches, big sigh.

Can't wait to return here though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matthew and Jean 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, we arrived from Fort William to find it well sign posted from the main road with a nice wide access off the main road. The access road between main road and the site quickly narrows to a single track road but this section is controlled by traffic lights so there is no chance of you needing to back up to allow passing.

The site reception is small but covers all of the basics and was manned by helpful and friendly staff who explained the pitches they thought would be free and suggested we take a walk/ drive to find a pitch we liked the look of and then let them know at reception so they could issue us with the appropriate barrier fob, it was great for us and allowed us to locate a pitch was just on the water front with a fantastic view across the sea to the Peninsular on the other side.

Overall layout great pitches well spaced out to allow clear unobstructed view of the beach and sea. The facilities block was great not too far away very clean at all times and well thought through in its design.

There is a small children's play area which kept our 6 year old occupied for a short time. The site has a great stoney beach and benches on the grass area that separates pitches from beach so it makes for a lovely stroll with the opportunity to sit admire the views, which are stunning, or just contemplate life.

A fantastic site to which we will return and this time we will pick a non waterfront pitch so we can have the benefit of our awning. We would highly recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zoay 6 reviews from this member

 We love it here; it's beautiful surroundings and a clean, well run site with a nice play area for little kids (as well as all the joys of playing on the beach.)

Minor gripes - some of the tap fittings at the motorhome fill points don't come off which means unless you have their end you need to wait for the one that does shift. There can be a queue for showers at busy times. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pgl150 1 review from this member

 Well we visited this site at the end of July / early August (wife and I plus 2 kids aged 14 and 12) and we had a great time, despite the pretty dire weather! Last time I was in this neck of the woods I was doing the West Highland Way walk, and we had one day of rain, in an otherwise gloriously sunny week. Unfortunately, the opposite weather applied this year but it didn't put us off.

Weather aside, the site is marvellous. The location is fantastic (right on the lochside), the facilities are clean and well maintained and we found the wardens friendly and very helpful.

Out and about, you can walk or cycle to Corran Ferry; less than a mile away, and cross for free. We then cycled on the far side of the loch, in the direction of Fort William, along a relatively quiet road, before coming back for a quick pint (not cheap mind) in the pub prior to boarding the ferry back home again.

Further afield, we (me and the kids.Wife too scared!) went on the high ropes at the Nevis visit centre which was fun, and visited Oban and the Glencoe visitor centre, where we saw a very entertaining presentation about traditional highlanders, culminating in a musket firing!

For the fishermen (or fisherwomen) amongst you, this was for me, the best bit. We fished from the car park wall in Fort William (on left as you go in. Costs 1.50) either side of high tide, using feathers and I managed to bring home 9 good sized mackerel, which tasted great on the bbq! Also went trout fishing at the very scenic (even if you don't fish and just fancy a nice walk out) Glencoe Lochan. As you're entering Glencoe you turn left then immediately right, follow the road until you cross a small bridge, then turn left at the signpost. The car park is straight on, but bear left to buy your permit. It costs 7 per day for a 4 fish limit and they average 1.5. To 2lb. My son and I caught 7 between us using powerbait (the bait of choice here) fished about 6 feet down. If you don't catch for a while move on. It's by far the best way to fish it and you see more of the scenery.

As for the fishing on the site, you can fish the loch for free. Best area is as far away as you can get from the site entrance, near the tree line. It's a little deeper here with less weed and you lose less spinners, than the area near the river mouth. We used kosters or other silver fish type lures and had small pollock, codling and mackerel, plus a very tasty sea trout! Chaps fishing on the bottom mainly caught dogfish.

The site has a small play park and an indoor pool table near the drying room. Awnings are not allowed on lochside pitches which is good as you still have a view if you're behind them, and if you've got sky (for when it's really wet!) you can get a reasonable signal if you're nearer the loch.

In summary, a very enjoyable holiday in a beautiful location, on a friendly, well maintained site. Just be prepared for all kinds of weather.It's the price you pay for such scenery! Will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamiemumt 1 review from this member

 Superb site, well maintained and looked after. Superb staff, so helpful and nice. Not a lot for the kids, small play area, but still a great site. Toilets etc are great, no complaints.

Great location for other visits. Quiet when the bin lorry has gone. Sea fishing, but very weedy. A bit of a windy location, but still worth the stay. We stayed one night only, but it will be in our plans to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tomtait 10 reviews from this member

 It doesn't get much better than this! Excellent location, stunning views, clean and well run site. Wardens were exceptionally friendly and ensured that all club rules were adhered to relating to parking and cycle riding on site.

We stayed a couple of nights and were sad to leave. This is a Jewell in the crown as far as we are concerned. If you are touring the west coast of Scotland, this is an essential camp site to visit. You won't be disappointed. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3390 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement