Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Npkent 65 reviews from this member

 Read a view bad reviews about this site relating to the facilities and strict approach of the wardens.

Must say we've found the wardens to be really friendly and they do a great job of keeping the place spotless.

Yes the facilities are a bit dated and could do with a few more toilets but seen a lot worse.

The location and beautiful views more than make up for the facilities.

Plenty to do in the area to last you weeks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 58 reviews from this member

 Everything that has already been said and more - just an utterly peaceful stopover for us but so much to do in the area so worth a longer stay.

Non awning pitches are fabulous, views are 180deg and lovely at any time of day. We watched a big storm come across the loch, before the clouds parted to give a beautiful sunset. - you can now pitch either way round as long as you are between the pegs; we swapped in the morning so we could cook breakfast outside on the hardstanding and access our gas fitting. Lochside pitches are totally level so no blocks needed.

Great views from almost anywhere and lots of space on most pitches.

Facilities warm clean and totally adequate even when site full; a little tired but very functional. Moho service point is outside the block.

Fabulous walking nearby including the Inchree waterfall; a fair walk or drive from any shops but the Roam West pub across the road looked very good.

Unenclosed dog walk next to the loch but plenty of space so well-disciplined dogs should be fine off the lead.

Thought the lack of signage about the loch was refreshing - it's safe to swim, paddleboard or kayak in but obviously unsupervised. Just use your common sense - even in the September heatwave it was chilly ! Probably not ideal for toddlers as it is right on the loch.

Expensive but worth it. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magsie 63 reviews from this member

 It's a beautiful location but run like an army camp with standing orders. On arrival at the beginning of August I gave my name, said I'd booked 2 nights, and the motorhome registration number was visible outside reception. The Warden demanded my membership card. I explained I'd just joined before leaving home, so didn't have one.

She then insisted 'You must have it on the Club App'. As my phone was back in the vehicle, I offered her my driving licence, bus pass, passport - and of course bank card - as ID but none of them were enough. I must fetch the phone and show her the App before I was allowed in. I said that the other 2 Club sites I'd just stayed on didn't ask to see it, whereupon she said they were breaking the rules and should be reported.

She then asked me why I hadn't read the rules in my membership book, so I reminded her that it hadn't arrived before I left home! At this point I would have turned round and left, except that there would be no refund of the absurd fee paid for 2 nights, so I reluctantly fetched my phone to prove who I was. I felt that if it had run out of battery, I would not have been admitted!

When I asked why the Club price was so high compared with private sites, I was given a patronising lecture on the superiority of Club site facilities, as if I were a new camper. My husband and I have a combined age of 160 and have been camping with tents, caravans and motorhomes for over 50 years all over Europe, so I think we have a fair idea of the standards of site facilities, and at Bunree they were far from superior. I've never been subjected to such a reception and it spoilt the two-day stay. I expect to be welcomed as a member, a paying guest, not a number on an accounts sheet.

The facilities at Bunree are not up to the usual Club standard, with not even a curtain or screen in the outdated shower cubicles, which had water spraying over the partition and dirty run-off water flowing through.

The cycle path from the site to the bridge near Glencoe is extremely narrow, overgrown and dangerous (and we are very experienced cyclists). Definitely not recommended for a family or anyone with a fear of traffic.

Finally, there were far too many dogs on site, running loose by the shore. One such animal defecated on the grass by our pitch, right next to our doormat. 'Sorry' said the owner 'she's old and can't control herself' - so perhaps the animal shouldn't be brought along to a campsite? Neighbouring campers (dog-owners one and all) were unsympathetic when I expressed my disgust.

And the members' price of £43. 80 per night for this experience (not even at a weekend) was apparently because of a cycling championship in Fort William. I regard this as exploitation, when the site is full to capacity.

Every private site used in Scotland on the same tour was better - and cheaper - than the Club sites, and Bunree was the worst. No, I won't be renewing my membership. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 What a site! The surroundings and ambience are breathtaking from every pitch on this site.

Queuing on arrival, the wardens were not flustered at all. Very welcoming and approachable. We chose a non awning pitch and were Loch side. Due to blue beg location however we had to drive onto pitch or risk treading wet grass into van.

We would have preferred to back on due to our seating arrangements. We had stunning weather bar 1 teatime when the heavens opened but the site dried quickly with no standing water issues.

Easy walk from site to bus stop for service to Fort William. 10 mins walk from site to Corran ferry. There was an abundance of aquatic activity in the loch. We could see fish jumping. Sunsets to die for, a photographers dream!

Early morning I ventured over and the shower cubicles were full of grass and other detritus. Please fellow patrons, clean the showers after use, there is no excuse for your laziness and disrespect!

Please CAMC, the wardens cannot work miracles, they cannot polish sh. The whole facilities block is a disgrace compared to others on your network. Mould, cracked and stained tiles in the showers, limescale deposits on every fixture, nowhere to sit and dry feet and legs, dark, dingy and very old! I had to re shower in my van for fear of being contaminated with a nasty!

Desperately in need of refurb and at the prices charged per night on this very popular site, I despair as to why it's not been done. I cannot award full scores because of the condition of the toilet block.

Over all, a pleasant stay in beautiful surroundings. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely location along the shores of Loch Linnhe. Unfortunately our stay there over four days was very wet and windy due to a storm along the west coast of Scotland so we didn't see the full beauty of the loch and the scenery.

Nice size pitch. Only one amenities block but no issues. Slightly outdated but clean facilities.

Best local place to eat is Roam West. A ten minute walk from the site. A lodge setting with a hostel and lodges next to it. Very friendly staff and the food was very good, had two meals here over the four days. Nice walks into the forest across from the site.

We went over to Ardgour on the Corran ferry (free to foot passengers). Short ride over. Lovely walk along the Loch and we came across a little micro brewery, Ardgour Ales Brewery, family run, award winning stout.

Wine and beer available and pizzas and snacks if required. Made to order. Had some drinks here, didn't eat. No specific opening times. If there's no one in sight you can ring the bell and someone will come from the house adjoining. Friendly little place, nice find.

The Inn along the road is open usually for meals however they were too busy with residents meals that we were unable to order so we got the last ferry back and ate in the van. We should have booked ahead.

Bus stop about 15 mins walk from site into Fort William. Takes about 25 mins. Worth a visit. Usual shops etc. We got the ScotRail train to Mallaig (fortunately just before they went on strike).

Glad we didn't pay for the Jacobite as the weather was atrocious so we got the same experience on the normal service. And cheaper.

Sadly the day was ruined by terrible weather so we just dodged in and out of shops etc in Mallaig to avoid the rain. Not a lot there to do but would be nice to walk round on a sunny day. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 220 reviews from this member

 We very much enjoyed staying at this site as part of a great trip up the west coast from Kintyre via delightful Oban.

Arrived soon after 1 pm so we could choose a sunny shoreline pitch looking over the choppy Corran Narrows to the hills of Ardgour: these "no awning" pitches were all full by tea time.

Friendly efficient check-in, Warden unfazed that my digital CAMC card wasn't working.

Facilities spotless, mesh over the open windows (Covid guidelines for ventilation) kept out the moths and midges.

We didn't notice any of the excess rules that previous reviews have criticised: indeed, I wish other sites displayed so few.

Our dog stayed on the lead on the short off-lead dog walk, because there were swans & ducks in the river.

Excellent walk from the site, take care across the busy road and go up Glen Righ (signed) to see the very impressive waterfalls: allow 2 hours round trip.

Another time we'll go across the Corran Ferry as foot passengers; bikes can go over, head north up the quiet coast and get a wee ferry to Fort William.

The bus into Fort William was infrequent and irregular, but it beats parking a motorhome in town (for the supermarket), which is a faff: easiest at the first big car park on the edge of town, which has designated MH spaces. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bremne 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site next to the loch and lovely views

If your keen on walking or cycling it is ideal, walk to the waterfall is worth going to see, bit steep in places but take your time and you wont be disappointed 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 Fantastic lochside site with stunning views.

Easy access to Fort William, Glencoe and Glen Nevis makes this an excellent base for enjoying the hills. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Junju 11 reviews from this member

 Nice location beside the loch. A drive around glencoe is a must.

Nice waterfall walk across the road from site and take the corran ferry to the pub. Itís free for walk on passengers.

Not one of my favourite sites, Fort William is more central for attractions. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisajk 22 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location with views down the loch. Helpful staff, though as is typical with Caravan Club sites, quite stringent on the rules, and heavy on the Covid restrictions (why, for example, close off 2 of 3 dishwashing sinks when the dishwashing area is outside?? Just close the one in the middle!). Band system for the toilets a simple enough idea but not stuck to by all.

Not the site's fault, but perhaps needs more explanation/enforcement. Also somewhat puzzling system for awning/no awning - we didn't have an awning but had to book a pitch with awning, which meant we couldn't choose a site by the lochshore. Water pressure for shower completely inadequate;

CC sites are expensive if you're not a member and whilst I do not expect luxury I would like a reasonable shower please. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement