Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

What an absolutely fantastic location! Site situated on edge of Loch Linnhe with magnificent views of the Highland Mountains to the North of Loch Linnhe. No wonder this site is fully booked throughout the year?

Usual C&MC standard for the facilities, although a tad dated. Site has large hardstanding pitches, good phone reception, TV and internet connection. Fort William 8 miles to the North East along the very busy A82 has Morrisons, Tesco, Aldi & Lidl supermarkets together with local shops and eateries.

Ferry 10 minutes’ walk from site, takes you to the Northern (quitter) side of Loch Linnhe and is free for foot passengers and bikes (£ 8. 50 for a car and passengers). Further 10 minute walk across A82 takes you to the start of the Inchree waterfall trail. A must visit involves the 20 mile circular tour around the nearby Loch Leven and Glencoe. Kinlochleven (at the top of Loch Leven) has a small but very informative museum telling the story of the Aluminium story in the area.

Lovely site for some peaceful r&r with delightful Loch & Mountain views – if you can get booked onto the site?

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estweyn 15 reviews from this member

Stunning views, lovely well kept site. Toilet facilities very clean as expected from a caravan club site. We pitched at the top slightly elevated part of the site which gave a good view. Dog walk down near the river, motorhome service point.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Justinm 10 reviews from this member

I don't think we have ever stayed at a campsite with a better view than that found at Bunree - it is stunning!

Staying here was a little indulgence on our part during our honeymoon tour of Scotland, its not a cheap place to stay, although we were given a discount as we were on our honeymoon - which was a lovely touch.

The site is exceptionally well kept, the pitches on the loch side all benefit from breathtaking views across Loch Linnhe, pitches are well spaced and the facilities block is well placed in the middle of the site.

Toilets and showers were kept very clean, and there were plenty of showers and loos, no queuing here.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ouncy2 23 reviews from this member

Just had a week at Bunree, the site is typical of C&MC very clean and tidy with excellent staff, we were warned that midges can be a real problem during July and was recommended to use Skin So Soft from Avon Cosmetics but we had very little problems with them.

One gripe is the cost of the internet service which we could have done with for a day or two but at £2.50 per day and on all accounts poor speeds, we gave it a miss and waited until we were on a CL site back in England where it was excellent & free!

Site costs continue to rise year by year and at £29 per night for a unit + 2 adults, it is more than enough and we have found CL's on the circuit with lovely facilities near to or less than half that price.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 separate visits, breaking the journey from NW England to the Scottish Highlands.

I really can't think of a single thing to complain about. The site is nicely laid out. Even though we weren't on the front row we had a good view of the loch. Everywhere is neat and well maintained. The views are to die for.

Although I had visited Fort William before, I was surprised how much there is to do there. We only managed walking, a trip up the Nevis gondola and a round of the Treetop Adventure but there were many other activities we would like to have undertaken with sufficient time. There is a lovely walk around the Inchree waterfalls direct from the site.

Fort William has all the shops, supermarkets etc you might want. We didn't eat out this time but there seemed to be plenty of opportunity (including a restaurant recommended by the site which is within walking distance).

Classic C&MHC. All required facilities provided, everything works, everything is spotlessly clean. The site is easy to get to and the wardens we spoke to were all lovely. What's not to like?

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulgdolman 3 reviews from this member

Lovely manicured site as expected with the caravan and Motorhome club, but we found the site too cramped and as if parked in a car park with no or very little room to sit outside.

Fine if you want to peer at Lock Linnie through your window?

The other issue causing us to decide to leave after our first day of the booked three, was the terrible wifi system that the club has adopted which is a pay as you go system but could not access and after an hour of trying gave up.

Facilities all up to the usual clubs standards a nice pub / restaurant with free wifi across the road which saved the day for us in planning the rest of our tour of the highlands

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

Although an excellent site from almost every aspect, the site is badly let down by the club in having the most abysmal WiFi reception I can ever remember encountering.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the growing importance placed upon internet communications today, yet I was not able once, during the whole of my stay, to get a connection, even between midnight and 7 am. ! I personally will make the availability, reliability and cost of WiFi connection a major factor when choosing a site and, in fact, a club.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the importance of this issue and the fact that they will lose bookings if it is not addressed, and quickly.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

We drove past Bunree CMC sites a few years ago, and my wife fell in love with it - a camp site literally sat on the loch shore. Now that we have at last been able to stay there, it has not disappointed. The views are to die for, especially on a warm, sunny evening when it stays light until eleven o'clock. It also lovely and peaceful.

The campsite itself is well-maintained, with a well-appointed central amenities block. There are a few things that could be improved. For example, it could do with a few more water taps around the site (and the low pressure means it can take an eternity to fill an aquaroll). And, being a large site, the internet speed can slow to a crawl during the evenings when everybody is piling onto it.

The main shopping facilities can be found at Fort William, ten miles away (with cheap fuel available at the Morrisons superstore).

Otherwise, the site is handy for exploring the Western Highlands - including if you wish to scale Ben Nevis. And if you're a cyclist, the best rides can be found by boarding the nearby Corran ferry for the short voyage to the opposite side of Loch Linnhe, where the roads are much quieter and the scenery just as awesome. Foot passengers and their bikes can travel FREE.

Just make sure you make the last nine o'clock ferry back otherwise you are in for a very long and lonely cycle ride back indeed!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

A few years since we visited this site, nothing has really changed.

We were lucky to get a loch side pitch, no more expensive but you can't put out an awning. Glorious views over the loch to the mountains. On the downside every dog walker heading for the beach seemed to think it was fine to walk across our pitch to the beach - there was a marked path but why use that when it was 10 seconds quicker to use our pitch.

The facilities are usual CC standards in terms of clean but are looking a bit tired. Water pressure was very poor in showers. One day no hot water so when reception opened at 9am we let wardens know - they said no one had told them earlier (when they were closed?).

We did find wardens friendly and helpful, they work tirelessly on site keeping it clean and tidy.

The main plus for us here is the proximity to Corran Ferry, free for walkers and cyclists with a lovely pub where the ferry docks. The quiet B road follows the loch down to Fort William where you can get another passenger ferry over to town.

Having not used this site for a few years we have found there are other sites within a couple of miles offering loch side pitches, all charge £23 for 2 adults with ehu, we would try these before using Bunree again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silaconeken 3 reviews from this member

We arrived on this site in the middle of June for five nights. We booked this pitch months in advance as this site is so popular, our pitch was right in the front with lovely views of the river and mountains.

The weather could of been better, but it is Scotland. A really well kept site, lovely clean toilets, which we have come to expect from the caravan club. Only a short 20 minute drive north takes you to Fort William, with lots to see and do, near by are the locks called Neptune's staircase which is the start of Loch Ness.

Anyway this site is really worth a visit, but remember, book early.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019