Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 11 reviews from this member

 We’ve stayed here several times and is one of my favourite sites. The view over the loch is superb. Try and get a lochside pitch.

Due to Covid, there were some restrictions on the numbers allowed in the toilet area, and it seemed to work well, despite the site being full. The toilets and showers are always immaculate.

There is a nice walk up to a local waterfall and around the forest with even better views than the site. For food, the local restaurant was closed but on previous visits was okay.

You could always try getting the ferry over to Ardgour and having drinks and food there. The ferry is free for passengers and takes a couple of mins. Don’t miss the last ferry back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rothie Rovers 8 reviews from this member

 Can't fault the location of this campsite on the banks of Loch Linnhe but be aware of the limits of the site in these Covid times.

There are no provisions for sale on the site and the closest shop in Onich is closed for the rest of 2020.

Buses do run to Fort William but it is a reduced service so you really need access to a vehicle to drive to there (10 miles away) to do shopping. The A82 between Bunree and Fort William is not suitable for cycling. There are no cafes or restaurants open locally within walking distance.

The site is well managed for social distancing but one of the consequences of this is that only 3 people at a time are allowed in the toilet block and as there are approximately 100 pitches on site, queues can occur. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 What an absolutely fantastic location! Site situated on edge of Loch Linnhe with magnificent views of the Highland Mountains to the North of Loch Linnhe. No wonder this site is fully booked throughout the year?

Usual C&MC standard for the facilities, although a tad dated. Site has large hardstanding pitches, good phone reception, TV and internet connection. Fort William 8 miles to the North East along the very busy A82 has Morrisons, Tesco, Aldi & Lidl supermarkets together with local shops and eateries.

Ferry 10 minutes’ walk from site, takes you to the Northern (quitter) side of Loch Linnhe and is free for foot passengers and bikes (£ 8. 50 for a car and passengers). Further 10 minute walk across A82 takes you to the start of the Inchree waterfall trail. A must visit involves the 20 mile circular tour around the nearby Loch Leven and Glencoe. Kinlochleven (at the top of Loch Leven) has a small but very informative museum telling the story of the Aluminium story in the area.

Lovely site for some peaceful r&r with delightful Loch & Mountain views – if you can get booked onto the site? 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gayle6 8 reviews from this member

 The recent wardens are absolutely lovely. Been holidaying at this site for approximately 9 years now.

Site is immaculate. Great play park for the kids. Access to the loch for kayaks etc.

All the usual services for tourers and motorhomes only. Great base for touring the area or staying put.

Plenty information available for surrounding area. Quiet at night and fabulous for star gazing in the autumn months.

Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estweyn 16 reviews from this member

 Stunning views, lovely well kept site. Toilet facilities very clean as expected from a caravan club site. We pitched at the top slightly elevated part of the site which gave a good view. Dog walk down near the river, motorhome service point. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Justinm 10 reviews from this member

 I don't think we have ever stayed at a campsite with a better view than that found at Bunree - it is stunning!

Staying here was a little indulgence on our part during our honeymoon tour of Scotland, its not a cheap place to stay, although we were given a discount as we were on our honeymoon - which was a lovely touch.

The site is exceptionally well kept, the pitches on the loch side all benefit from breathtaking views across Loch Linnhe, pitches are well spaced and the facilities block is well placed in the middle of the site.

Toilets and showers were kept very clean, and there were plenty of showers and loos, no queuing here. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ouncy2 25 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at Bunree, the site is typical of C&MC very clean and tidy with excellent staff, we were warned that midges can be a real problem during July and was recommended to use Skin So Soft from Avon Cosmetics but we had very little problems with them.

One gripe is the cost of the internet service which we could have done with for a day or two but at £2.50 per day and on all accounts poor speeds, we gave it a miss and waited until we were on a CL site back in England where it was excellent & free!

Site costs continue to rise year by year and at £29 per night for a unit + 2 adults, it is more than enough and we have found CL's on the circuit with lovely facilities near to or less than half that price. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandgrounder52 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 separate visits, breaking the journey from NW England to the Scottish Highlands.

I really can't think of a single thing to complain about. The site is nicely laid out. Even though we weren't on the front row we had a good view of the loch. Everywhere is neat and well maintained. The views are to die for.

Although I had visited Fort William before, I was surprised how much there is to do there. We only managed walking, a trip up the Nevis gondola and a round of the Treetop Adventure but there were many other activities we would like to have undertaken with sufficient time. There is a lovely walk around the Inchree waterfalls direct from the site.

Fort William has all the shops, supermarkets etc you might want. We didn't eat out this time but there seemed to be plenty of opportunity (including a restaurant recommended by the site which is within walking distance).

Classic C&MHC. All required facilities provided, everything works, everything is spotlessly clean. The site is easy to get to and the wardens we spoke to were all lovely. What's not to like? 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulgdolman 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely manicured site as expected with the caravan and Motorhome club, but we found the site too cramped and as if parked in a car park with no or very little room to sit outside.

Fine if you want to peer at Lock Linnie through your window?

The other issue causing us to decide to leave after our first day of the booked three, was the terrible wifi system that the club has adopted which is a pay as you go system but could not access and after an hour of trying gave up.

Facilities all up to the usual clubs standards a nice pub / restaurant with free wifi across the road which saved the day for us in planning the rest of our tour of the highlands 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

 Although an excellent site from almost every aspect, the site is badly let down by the club in having the most abysmal WiFi reception I can ever remember encountering.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the growing importance placed upon internet communications today, yet I was not able once, during the whole of my stay, to get a connection, even between midnight and 7 am. ! I personally will make the availability, reliability and cost of WiFi connection a major factor when choosing a site and, in fact, a club.

The Caravan and Motorhome Club must surely realise the importance of this issue and the fact that they will lose bookings if it is not addressed, and quickly. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement