Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort William > Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Onich
Fort William
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH33 6SE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 104
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Uncle Festa 15 reviews from this member

 Without a doubt this has to be the best Caravan Club site on the network.

Although it's been stated here that the loch side pitches are in demand, there were plenty available during the 2 weeks we were there. This was probably due to not being able to erect an awning on these pitches, plus the fact that all pitches have stunning views of the loch. We preferred to have an awning and had great views from pitch 54.

The one toilet and shower block was immaculate, with cleaning of the gents from 11:00 - 11:45 and the ladies from 11:45 - 12:30.

Access to the site is via a remote key fob which operates a security barrier and works very well. Access to the site with the fob is 24hrs a day. A traffic light system operates on the single lane entrance without any great problems, but the entrance straight off the main road can be a problem if a unit arrives too early. There's only enough room for one unit on any part of the entrance.

I'm not sure if my new tom tom had a glitch, but I put in the postcode and I ended up turning right off the main road, which was 200yds away from the entrance I should have taken. The entrance to this site is easily missed, it's right on a bend and care needs to be taken.

The main attraction from this site has to be the stunning location. The views of the mountains across the loch are truly breathtaking. We took the Corran ferry, which is 5 mins from the site, to the quiet roads across the loch and spent the whole day cycling along peaceful roads and taking frequent stops at stunning bays looking back along the Great Glen towards Ben Nevis. Just be aware that it's very remote and you'll be wise to pack a lunch and take drinks.

Fort William is only 10 mins away in the car and well worth a visit. The Nevis range is 5 mins further and well worth a visit, especially the gondalas that go up the mountain. For the fittest cyclist, you can take your mountain bikes, or hire them and go to the top of Nevis range and cycle (or throw yourself) down the world championship course. We'd rather watch, but we did see many fall off the super fast course and the ambulances were always in demand!

My only gripe about this site was the uselss wi-fi. It's expensive at £15 for 20hrs, but the connection was very poor. One evening I tried for 1. 5hrs to get on to different sites without success, yet was still charged. 3g was far better (which I pay £2 for 24 hrs!)i certainly won't be using the CC wi-fi facility again until they sort out this poor service.

We had 2 weeks at this site and we didn't have anywhere enough time to take in everything the area has to offer. We can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gumpandwoo 20 reviews from this member

 What a great location, right on the lochside and you don't need to be pitched on the front pitches to get a great view of the loch, pretty much every pitch has a loch view.

Wardens happy to let you move pitches the morning after arrival if you want to, no awnings allowed on the front pitches though. Toilets spotless and lovely warm showers.

The pub in the village at the entrance to the site served great food but also take a trip over on the Corran Ferry to the pub on the other side as that too was great. Easy to reach Fort William where a trip on the Jacobite steam train is a must.

The site was immaculate and would definitely return.

My only complaint would be that on two mornings I was woken by the bin men arriving on site at 7.30am and making plenty of noise collecting the rubbish,

Also the constant grass cutting which was happening during our four days at the site became frustrating as it was always during the late afternoon when you wanted to have a relax and a read of the paper and enjoy some peace and quite before an evening out. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 45np 7 reviews from this member

 First time I've ever joined a queue to check in at a Caravan Club site, and this was mid-week and not during school holidays! Unfortunately, the chap in front of me got the last lochside pitch, but still got a decent spot.

Everything as you'd expect, wardens pleasant and toilet block very clean and up to scratch.

I do object to the Club's obsession with hard standing pitches but nowt my little voice can do about it! It also never ceases to amaze me how many lazy people cannot be bothered to walk to the toilet block via the roads rather than across other people's pitches, shows a lack of common decency, and my pitch was right on the route.

A beautiful site having said that, with stunning scenery and very well maintained. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henshawcapes 13 reviews from this member

 The site is fabulous. It is very well kept and the wardens are unobtrusive. The views are stunning and due to the sloping nature of the site, virtually all pitches get a spectacular view.

We have two children and they really enjoyed playing at the play park and on the pebbly beach too. The dog and I enjoyed the beach too. The pebbles are all different types of granite and it was the perfect place to watch the wildlife (oystercatchers in particular) or take some amazing photographs.

When travelling from the South, the site is on a right hand bend and you need to slow down to ensure you do not miss it as there is no sign prior to the bend. The access road is narrow, but the traffic lights ensure there are no problems.

We used the new cycle paths virtually every day. We cycled from South Ballachulish to Kentallen and had a drink at the very hospitable Holly Tree Inn. Unfortunately the cycle path finishes at Kentallen, so the next day we parked in the big lay-by near Linnhe Marine, at Portnacroish and cycled to Appin and then along the quiet road to the picturesque Port Appin. A small passenger ferry runs across to the island of Lismore which is well worth a visit either to explore by foot or on bike.

After several years caravanning, this has to be one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. There is so much to do nearby. However, as the site is such a tranquil place, it was tempting just to stay and sit in the spring sunshine and enjoy the views!

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephenn280575 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great 3 days at bunree for half term. The site was very quiet so got a great pitch with a cracking view across the loch.

Wardens were great and very friendly, small shot on site had only bare essentials, but we had brought plenty with us, so no worries there.

Facilities immaculate, small play area for kids, but more time was spent skimming stones and pottering on the beach. Nothing to dislike at all at bunree.

We went to the local bar/restaurant called the four seasons which was just ok, it really seemed as though it was chefs night off and the waitress was cooking. Couldn't recommend but it could have just been unlucky.

Can't go wrong with the site though 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dinah28 6 reviews from this member

 Fantastic! We have visited this site 3 times now and will continue to as there is so much to do when touring in this area. The views from your caravan window of Loch Linnhe and the surrounding hills are breathtaking. A brilliant base for outdoor activities whether it be hill walking, cycling, kayaking or just chilling out and enjoying the scenery. A short drive will take you to Fort William and Ben Nevis, whilst Oban is a 40 min drive away. The nearby Onich Hotel is well worth a visit for reasonably priced, excellent food. The site facilities are always clean and tidy with good laundry amenities. A small children's playpark is on site as is a dog walk. If you are lucky, you may even catch sight of the seals on an evening by the water's edge. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To find site:- South from Fort William on the A82. After about six miles pass Corran Ferry on right. Ignore turning to Bunree and continue across bridge and entrance to site is clearly signed immediately on right. The approach from the main road is single track with passing places and the final section is controlled by traffic lights.

Bunree must have one of the most stunning locations in the Caravan Club network. It is situated right on the shore of Loch Linnhe. The site is slightly terraced with a gentle slope from the rear of the site down to the Loch edge. There are 99 pitches all of which are on hardstandings. The pitches around the perimeter of the site facing the Loch are slightly smaller than those further into the site and awnings are not allowed on these pitches, however they are much sought after. Non-members are accepted but there is no provision for tent campers. There is one single toilet block to a very good standard and it even has a drying room which members can use at their own risk. For children there is an adventure style playground and a games room which has a Pool table. Site wide WiFi is available at normal CC charges. Mobile phone connections seem fine. Reception sells a few essentials. Satellite TV reception can be difficult on most of the campsite because of the mountain immediately behind the site, however digital TV reception was fine using the caravan aerial.

The opportunity for excursions from the site are endless with many of the famous Highland sites being within reasonable travelling distance. Even nearer to home there are lots of places to visit locally including the Glencoe Visitor Centre a few miles away. For shopping Fort Williams is the best bet being about 10 miles from the campsite. There is a Morrisonís supermarket which also sells fuel at a lower price than elsewhere locally. For eating out there are two restaurants within walking distance of the site and a third if you donít mind using the Corran Ferry, although donít leave the return journey too late as the ferries stop just after 9. 00pm. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SUDZ 5 reviews from this member

 Wow! No other words can express the feeling you get when you arrive at this site. The location is fantastic especially (if like us) you manage to secure a front lochside pitch.

This is our second year at this amazing site and we enjoyed our stay as much this time as last year. The site itself is immaculately kept including the toilet facilities. The wardens are all very nice, friendly and helpful.

Lots to do from the site - walking in Inchree forest (across the road), take the Corran ferry and try the pub there, visit Glencoe and Fort William or just chill out and enjoy the spectacular view across the loch.

Only one small criticism and that is the narrow road leading to the site. We left the site at 11. 30am (as we were only travelling eight miles away and couldn't get onto the new site until noon) and there were four motorhomes trying to get onto the site.

There are traffic lights to try and minimize the flow but beyond the lights the road is very narrow with barely enough room for one vehicle let alone two. It is easy to avoid this problem though - just leave Bunree before 10. 30am and it is quite clear.

Will be going back again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 great nights at this lovely site. The pitches are of a good size and are all hardstanding with plenty space between you and your neighbours.

The shop on site is very basic selling rolls bread milk and such like. The information hut next to the main reception is very helpful and full of very useful information. The toilet and shower block is always kept clean and tidy (as are all of the caravan club sites)

At the end of the entrance road is a nice restaurant/bar called the four seasons which does superb meals might be worth booking though as it was quite busy.

About 1 mile from the site is the corran ferry which takes you across loch linnhe it is free to cyclists and pedestrians and £6. 70 for cars or small motorhomes. There is a bus stop about half a mile up the road from the site and costs £4 return to fort William

7 miles north of fort William is the nevis range cable cars that take you up the mountain costs £11 pp but well worth the visit.

This is a brilliant site, and if you are lucky enough to see them has amazing sunsets over the loch. Will defo return 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cbs2 2 reviews from this member

 About as good as they get!

As has been said before, this is a great site, well kept spacious.

I won't go over others postings, just a small note.

My only gripe is the signage into the park. If you are coming from glencoe, the entrance is on a right hand bend with the only sign right on the entrance. If your not expecting it, as I did, you'll have some traffic behind you & be unable to turn safely. I had to turn in the corran ferry car park & try again.

Look for a black & yellow ' vertical descents' sign on your right as you approach & have your left hand indicator on as you pass the sign to give some warning.

Please can we have a '200 yards' marker 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bunree Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement