Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Village Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Southend On Sea > Riverside Village Holiday Park > Reviews

Riverside Village Holiday Park
Creeksea Ferry Road
Wallasea Island
Nr Rochford
Southend On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
SS4 2EY
Tel: 01702 258297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianh5926 1 review from this member

 Most disappointing site I have been to, over priced at £24 for what you get, a basic piece of grass with a hook up. The washing up to be done in a recycled sink with cold water only. Shower block was not clean and only 1 of the 2 working in the mens when you have a shower you turn the shower on and you get a 10 second supply of water. Having to walk through the childs play area to empty the chemical waste and a dog waste bin standing next to a freshwater tap just seemed wrong to me. On the plus side the grass was well maintained and there is plenty for children to run around. In summary for the price and what you get I would not recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Vima 2 reviews from this member

 Event being new to this site you can tell it is well run keeping to the rules and the owners right to be proud of it. It is very peaceful and clean. Coming from London the journey is easy and not to long even for a day trip I found the site fees very reasonable compared to similar sites elsewhere. There is a small shop within the reception. Not far from rochford for other shops and eating places 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hmgvs 13 reviews from this member

 Very tranquil & peaceful site apart from the fact that it is on the flight path for Southend Airport so there is some occasional aircraft noise, especially early in the morning.

You would need a car or some form of transport to get anywhere as it is quite remote. As all the reviews state, there are only 2 shower units for each sex and even on an almost empty site these were both in use. Goodness knows what it must be like when they are busy!

My one real complaint is the price of the electric hookup - it's a staggering £8 per night! Having travelled extensively around the UK and abroad I have never had to pay this much. I didn't ask for a breakdown of the pitch fee when I paid for the first night, it was £24, but my husband queried why I had paid so much as their web site only said it was £16 for a basic pitch. As we didn't really need electric when I went to pay for the next night I asked them to confirm how much the electricity hook up was and was told £8, when I said that was an very high charge I was told it was their standard charge. Ok, so I said we wouldn't have electric for the second night and I was told we would have to pack up and move to a different field. We had everything set up and the site was almost empty, there were 40 empty electrical hookups on our field so I asked (quite politely) could we just unhook the cable for the night and was told 'NO and if you don't want to move then you can leave the site'. Rather than move everything I paid the £8 but felt I had to mention the charge & their attitude on this review. The staff need to go on a customer service course I think :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jawlbach 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site ! The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location is great, with ducks, swans etc walking around site and good walks. There is a limited but useful bus service into Rochford a few days a week. The site is very quiet and peaceful. The only adverse comment is that there are only two toilets and showers in each block, this led to waits to use the facilities-this is not acceptable. In high season this must be a big problem. An investment in better toilet/shower facilities would be welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Luvthesun 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find sign posted well.

1st impressions were good as we drove onto the site.

There's a small shop /office which sells the essentials checking in was easy and we were given a map to show us our pitch. Lovely grass pitch with electric hook up if needed, lots of space, we had a camper-van with a tent attached to the side and a windbreak all within our boundary. There's a small children's playground & wc's and a hot wash up station nearby to all pitches, all in what look like portaloos, but they are proper flushing wc's with hot and cold water, there's also a cold water wash up point which was close to our pitch.

The shower blocks were very clean only 2 showers in each block and wc's which can also be used to change in, this was heated, there's also a free hair dryer in there. This is sited by the office.

Lovely clean & tidy, nice & quiet there's no clubhouse on site, the Pub next door is now closed down but if you walk along the river further up to the Marina about a mile, there's a bar there that does food and looks over the marina with seating outside.

Ideal for any one who likes fishing as its on the river.

All in all a nice quiet camp-site, if your looking for something lively then this wouldn't be for you, I loved it and will definitely be returning soon. Dogs are welcome.

(Visited 18. 05. 13 4 adults aged 45-49) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkle1 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! Staff are very friendly and helpful! We went in our Motorhome, my sister stayed in her tent and we were allowed to pitch up next to each other, which was great! If you are in a tent, you can even pitch up on the island! There were lots of ducks, swans and geese walking around, and we were asked to keep our dog on a lead at all times, this wasn't a problem for us, (because of the wildlife, dogs are only allowed in caravans and motorhomes and not in tents!)

There is a river running through the site, with a few smaller streams running off of it, if you have young children you may want to keep an extra eye on them near these waterways. Fishing is permitted in the river, which kept my daughter and her friend (14 years old) and husband entertained for several hours! You need to buy a permit from the site office, which is really cheap and they didn't charge us for the children!

You have to walk through the Static caravans to get to the gate at the back of the site, which leads to the Estuary and the short walk to the Essex Marina. Essex Marina has a very nice pub to visit, which also serves food and does a great breakfast!You can also access the Marina by road too!

The toilets and showers are very clean, they have installed 2 more toilets and a washing up sink in the touring field, which was very handy! The only criticism I would have is that there are only 2 showers for men and 2 for the ladies in the main block.

There is a small swing park, which the younger children seemed to enjoy. The nearest supermarket is in the village, a few minute drive away, and is pretty well stocked, although, you can buy a few basics on site.

Overall, it is a really clean, friendly and pleasant site, we have been a couple of times now and will definitely be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pegrum 7 reviews from this member

 This site is a real gem. We visited as our 10 year old daughter wanted to go to Southend's Adventure Island for her birthday. We stayed three nights and loved it.

The welcome was first class, the reception has a well equipped shop (though only open 9-5) and the lady was really friendly. They have additional 'temporary' toilets and washing up facilities in the touring/camping fields.

The loos are portable loos, but have flushing loos, proper mains electric lights and hot and cold running water so were very good. The main toilet and shower block is near reception - a max 5 min walk from the furthest pitches, so really not that far. They were spotless all the time we were there.

There is a kids play area which was good, nothing amazing but safe and well maintained.

The pub was closed, but the Marina Bar is only a 5-10 min walk along the river path and was very nice and friendly. It would be lovely on a summer's evening, with a balcony overlooking the river The view of the river once you step out of the campsite is stunning, who said Essex isn't beautiful?!

The only downside for us was that the ferry wasn't running, even though it was Easter hols. We had planned to go to Burnham by ferry so decided to drive instead - bad move, it took over an hour each way and wasn't worth the drive. Nice little town, but not worth a one hour drive! Check the ferry before you go!

Southend was a 20 min drive, and the kids loved it.

Wallasea Island is fascinating, it's owned by the RSPB and they are turning the east part of it into a wetland area for birds so once that's complete it will be really worth a visit - and this site will be the perfect place to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nescafe84 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this site. Overall I would describe it as average. There were a large number of seasonal / semi permanent touring pitches with some very tired looking caravans that let down the appearance of the site, however the main majority of the site was taken up by Static Caravans. The pitches for touring caravans were quite well spaced and levelling the caravan proved to be very easy. There were plenty of water points that were lit at night. I was a little disappointed by the dish washing facilities, sinks in the fields were supplied with only cold water and there were no decent washing sinks with hot water, we ended up using the laundry sink! There was a small office that also doubled as a site shop selling the basics.

The lady on reception was pleasant and helpful we arrived late on the Friday but following a quick phone call she told us where to pitch and sort out the money in the morning on Saturday, we were also allowed to stay late on the Sunday allowing us to leave by 6pm for no charge. We were also give a £2 per night discount for being Caravan Club members when we showed our membership card, however at £22 per night still left it a little pricey!

The site is situated about 10 miles from Southend-On-Sea, but it feels like itís in the middle of nowhere. Due to the roads around the site and surrounding area, the 10 mile drive to Southend takes approximately 25 min.

The pub that a previous reviewer said was shut has now re opened we didnít try it nor the marina bar.

This could be a nice little site however I do struggle to see how the AA gave it 3 pendants, there is in peak season a very large lack of toilet and shower facilities. There are only 2 showers for each sex which were not the cleanest they could have been and had mould around the shower tray. There were also only 2 cubical toilets in the menís and 4 in the ladies. So be prepared for a wait or use your own if youíre in a caravan, also those in the tent field are a very long way from the toilet block so make sure you donít get caught short!

I would stay here again as the reception and helpfulness of the staff made up for the lack of facilities but only for short weekends. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BEDFORD 6 reviews from this member

 We went to this site on the recommendation of a friend for a weekend break. It is a very quiet tranquil site with the river running through the centre. There are no shops within walking distance but the pub The Creeksea Inn had reopened that weekend. They had not started serving food but many campers enjoyed an evening there.

Toilet / Shower

There are three showers and four toilets in each portocabin and a separate disabled unit to the side. They were clean but there is no place to put your toiletries in the shower. There were hooks outside the showers to leave your clothes.

Washing up

There was a covered cold water sink in the middle of the site or if you wanted hot water you could use the laundry room which has got industrial washers and driers.

Pitches

You can turn up and choose a pitch, reception will point out where they are on the map. We were arriving late so got allocated a pitch when we booked. Reception is only open for a few hours each day. There is a telephone number to ring outside of these times

The shop has very limited supplies. There was a quiz night and bingo arranged by the owners while we were there. There are a lot of statics on the site and the residents help set the marque up and run the evening. Everybody were friendly and welcoming. There are strict rules on noise and unsociable behaviour so very quiet at night. Bring a torch as a bit of a walk to the toilets.

There are limited play facilities but our son made friends and they played football together. Perfact for cycling as cars are parked up and not near the pitches. There are trolleys available if you need to transport items.

If you walk down to the back of the site which has a security gate number available from reception and along the cliff face to your right you can get a ferry / boat depending on tide across to Burnham town centre where there are shops etc. We saw many children crabbing off the jetty also.

The river is popular for fishing and lots of swans and ducks walking around. It is not sealed off so you do need to be careful with children who cannot swim.

If you want a site that gives you peace and tranquillity this is perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Icevinyl 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights to test out our new TT, this site was recommended by a family member we arrived Friday evening and was provided with a easy to follow map illustrating our exact pitch location.

The campsite was well maintained and the grounds clean quiet and tranquil with lots of friendly campers

The ducks freely roaming the grounds provided much entrainment for my daughter, the swans however did became a concern they was a little hostile I nearly lost a toe!

We were very impressed with how well the toilets were regularly cleaned even during heavy rain.

Our daughter loved the park however its location being so close to a deep water river was a concern.

On site facilities were good although the on site shop was very limited.

All in all we would definitely stay again and recommend. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Village Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southend On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement