Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Village Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Southend On Sea > Riverside Village Holiday Park Reviews

Riverside Village Holiday Park
Creeksea Ferry Road
Wallasea Island
Nr Rochford
Southend On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
SS4 2EY
Tel: 01702 258297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JackUzi 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here end of May and unfortunately the same time as the weather changed for the worse. 24 hours of rain on site showed the site copes well with a bit of rain as the ground was well drained. The winds on the second day showed how flat the site is.

Arrival to site was easy and pleasant, staff are very friendly and the golf buggy led directions to the pitch are excellent. As previously mentioned, the site needs another toilet block, preferably to be located between the current one and the site entrance. That said, washing facilities are fine and well serviced as are the washing up facilities (although there is only one sink available so there can be a queue).

There is plenty of room for the kids to play and a playground on site. Overall a nice site and one we will return to. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tax Break 8 reviews from this member

 A lovely site spoilt only by some late night Saturday noise from a group of caravanners which we had to complain about at 11.45pm ish and an inadequacy of toilet and shower facilities during peak booked times exacerbated by absurd morning cleaning times.

Some visible and accessible late evening wardening and revised morning toilet and shower cleaning times after peak usage times rather than during them would almost make this a first class site but ultimately more toilets and showers particularly for the Gents are needed.

Would definitely revist off peak only though. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swithy 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at around 1.30pm to find that the office was closed for lunch until 2pm,

There was only 1 toilet block which had 2 toilets, 2 showers & 2 sinks in the gents and no private wash rooms, and in the ladies there were 2 showers and about 4 toilets and sinks and no private wash rooms, for the size of the site this just isnít enough if busy you would struggle,

Also the toilet block was a long walk if you were at the far end of the site, they also closed the toilets for cleaning approx 8.30 to 9.00am which is a peak time to use them, mid afternoon would have been better. The toilets were nice and clean while we were there but the site was quiet at the time. No mop was provided to mop the showers after use,

Having said all this the site was mainly clean and picturesque, apart from the sink in the middle of the field 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter-clare 2 reviews from this member

 The site was very clean and tidy and the washroom facilities were also very clean and modern with plenty of hot water.

The staff were very pleasant and wanted to help where ever they could.

There is a lovely seawall walk along the River Crouch on the edge of the campsite and for the adventurous souls, you can walk across the fields to Paglesham Churchend and visit the Punchbowl Pub for a fantastic meal and local ales (only 20 minute walk).

There were a few downsides to the site, the main one being, that the toilet block was a good 3 minute walk from the tent field(s). In the early hours of the morning, this was quite a daunting task especially if it is cold!. It didn't make much sense building the toilet block in the middle of the static caravan area? 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Just to add to my other post and in response to BecksP review, we also arrived after the office had shut on the Friday evening about 6pm just as it was getting dark, I'd informed them on the phone that we would be doing this and asked them for a pitch number to set up on, as it was October and they wasn't busy we had the choice of 40-43, we had to visit the reception in the morning to pay and get the security code for the rear gate.

There was no problem with us arriving late or leaving later on the Monday to go home, we left at 4pm. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Had a long weekend here Frid-Mon at the beginning of the half term, not busy at all. 45 mins up the road from us but as no houses around for a few miles and right out in the countryside, felt like it was hours away.

Lovely site, as you drive in you have the stream with ducks and swans on your left and the 2 touring fields on your right, the rest of the site has statics on it.

The toilet/shower block is modern, warm and clean and is heated 24hrs, only 2 showers in both mens and womans but this didn't cause a problem and we used our own shower as well.

A walk through the site brings you to the security gate that allows access to the creek and pub of which we had a good lunch. A very friendly pub with darts and pool, no food Mon/Tues.

Think I would be hesitant of this site if I had little children as there is so much water everywhere, streams meander through all the statics and a big pond at the entrance very near the children's play area. On this note don't forget the mozzie spray if staying in the summer, I would imagine it's a haven for gnats!

Please note, the foot ferry to Burnham on Crouch only runs form Easter to end of Sept @ £3.

A real get away from it all site and we will definitely be going back for a weekend here and there, only £18 a night all in. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msaunders 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed for one night with my pregnant wife and 3 year old child. The WC's are a full 10 minute walk from the tent area. They only have 2 no. Cubicles each side for a massive site and they were quite dirty with no paper present.

In the morning my wife went for a short walk with my son to see a swan and saw lots of dogs mess. Whilst I was cooking breakfast I saw a dog fouling in the tent area.

We were kept up until 02:30 in the morning by a group of drunk lads who come out of the local pub. When I informed the owner of all this they are still happy to charge £15. 00 for one night for this level of service.  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BecksP 1 review from this member

 When booking our pitches for the weekend I explained that we wouldn't be arriving til quite late that night around 9.30pm as we were leaving after work.

When arriving on site at around 9.30pm we went to the office which was understandably closed. Not knowing where to pitch up etc as we had never been there before I called the Emergency Number on the door thinking I had done the right thing. After getting an earful from the person on the end of the phone for calling and being told 'I will speak to you in the morning' like a naughty school girl we went and pitched up in one of the first to fields. I don't know why they couldn't have just said pitch up in one of the 2 fields at the front and come to the office in the morning.

After that rough start to the weekend from then on the surroundings were lovely and the showers most of the time were clean except for one night I'm not sure if some kids had decided to have a water fight in there or something. A nice tranquil place, but watch out for the millions of wasps! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrewcope 1 review from this member

 A little confusion around around where we were to be placed was followed by a great stay in a great location. Nice staff and fellow campers made the stay excellent.
The site had basic shop facilities and good local facilities for those able to pop out in the car. Toilets could have been a shade cleaner as could the showers but this didn't render them un-usable. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M`n`Co 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 8 nights at this campsite and we were very pleased overall. The site is kept clean and tidy, very well maintained. The toilet \ shower block although a bit of a walk from the touring field is clean and tidy.
The washing up and washing machine \ tumble dryer facilities are good (although 1 tumble dryer was out of order. Only one real negative is the office isn't always open when it's meant to be so if you've got freezer packs in there you may have to wait another day or two to get them, but when it is open there are a few small provisions available.

The water taps are clean and easily accessed with a light on them for night time top ups.

There is a playground for the children that is spacious and the site is usually peaceful with most people adhering to the rules. There is a lovely walk along the sea wall (grass not concrete) and beautiful sunsets.

The Creaksea Ferry Inn provides an adequate meal if needed, fairly reasonable. We though found it a little cheaper to go to Tesco's on the A127 to eat in the day and for our provisions, about a 20 min drive.

This is our 2nd year here and we would stay again.

The prices aren't bad, we paid £105 for 8 nights, that's for 4 people. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Village Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southend On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement