Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Village Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Southend On Sea > Riverside Village Holiday Park Reviews

Riverside Village Holiday Park
Creeksea Ferry Road
Wallasea Island
Nr Rochford
Southend On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
SS4 2EY
Tel: 01702 258297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ELVIS 4 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to get to grips with caravanning - ideal place. A few bendy bits on roads but fine. Lovely feel - a couple of touring fields; a tent field; static areas.
Small play area for children. Set by a creek (so be careful if you have children) with roaming swans, ducks, moorhens, etc. Nice toilet/shower blocks.
Friendly and helpful staff - little shop in reception. Pub just outside of site - we went when they had a rock and roll evening which was fun! Nearby little villages with pubs. Also nearby is a marina with a bar / restaurant.
You can catch a boat over the river to Burnham. Would recommend this site - it was only 10 miles away from where we live but it felt like a million miles away! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rugbycraig 1 review from this member

 I thought this camp site was very good.

We stayed in a tent for Friday and Saturday night. The site was fully booked, but we had ample of space. The setting in very pleasant and relaxing.

Myself and my four year old son went for a shower before bedtime at around 8pm and although there are only 2 shower units, there was no one there.

Basic shower block and washing up facilities, bur again I thought everything was good and it was always clean.

Very pleasant. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lofty2004 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the May Bank Holiday, and had a good overall experience. Lots of space, picturesque, friendly and good facilities, plus a nearby pub, and you could also visit the nearby boat yard club house, if you want that sort of thing. But as has already been mentioned, good shopping facilities not too far away.

The touring/tents area is quite large, but was very uneven. When we arrived it wasn't busy, and we had a lot of trouble trying to find a place to pitch that didn't have bumps or dips for a comfortable nights sleep. Eventually we found a compromise position, but I did think it was bit unfair to expect people to be able to pitch on such bumpy ground. Our tent is quite large (12 x 18), so this might not be a problem for others. Also, I think the on site speed limit should be more adhered to, there were some incredibly inconsiderate idiots driving through too fast.

We'd definitely return, and certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dancingcrazyfish 1 review from this member

 Very impressed with this site all together. We were shown to our pitch and told where all the facilities were. Toilets and showers were very very clean. Better than I was expecting. Site felt very quiet and tranquil set in lovely grounds with a stream running through. This was only the second time we have taken our folding caravan away. We have just bought our first 'proper' van so the main object of our one night stay was to photograph the folding van in order to sell it.

There is a nice little pub within a very short distance. You can then look out over the River Crouch with a drink in your hand. We were told there are further pubs and restaurants a bit more of a walk away along this ridge. We didn't get as far as that, but we intend to go back again soon.

The only possible drawn back I can see is if small children escape they could be drawn to the water which is very deep, around by the reception area. Forgot the little shop! Looked pretty well stocked with all your essentials. Watch the opening hours mind you! I don't think it's open on Sundays.

All in all a great park - give it a try! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LeeO 1 review from this member

 Must say a very nice and pleasant site.

You even get showed to your pitch so no worries if too close to others.

Pitches are well spaced and well kept.

Not ideal for those with teenagers but if like ours all under 13 then not a problem, also no club but to make up for this a nice Pub (CreekSea Ferry Inn), which does good food and is well catered for kids. Also only through a set of gates outside site.

Only downfall of site is the lack of more toilet / Shower blocks only 2 showers (Men) for whole site, but very clean though and piping hot water.

All in All very relaxing will go back in May as only 30 mins for us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally whitmore 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for our first family camping trip. As its not far from home we thought we'd try somewhere near 'just in case'.

This is a really lovely site, very well kept, and the kids had gr8 fun. (5yrs and 3yr old), they loved the ducks walking around the site and the playground. Although we didn't fish, we watched others catching lovely fish, and nxt time will take rods.

The Creaksea Ferry Inn, just up the seafront was gr8, even though we only ate picky food, chips and garlic bread, what we did see coming out of the kitchen looked delicious, and good price too.

Will definitely go back to this site, highly recommend anyone to go there. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toprock 2 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site (and only 8 miles from home!). We live so close that we were able to inspect before booking. This is a mix of statics and caravans, campervans and tents. The pitches were fairly generous in size but the manager was quite picky about positioning and initially had a bit of a 'take it or leave it' approach; they were quite busy though. We had a hookup and paid 18 for tent 2 adults and 2 small children. Our in-laws in a campervan paid an extra 1 for their utility tent,

There are non electric pitches but further away from toilets/showers. These were clean but only 2 showers which is probably not enough when very busy, (wife had to wait). There were sheltered washing up points around he site but these were cold water only.

The site has a waterway threaded through it which although not especially deep should be a concern for those with children. It does run next to the children's play area so be aware. The water feature runs off the small fishing pond which, although it doesn't look much, produced fish for us (3 carp to 4lb). Be aware that the owners inspect fishing licences before allowing you to fish, (rightly so). Fishing is 5 per rod and hardly anyone bothers with it so you'll probably have it to yourself.

The play area is basic but our kids seemed to like it as did the many other children. There were lots of children so if you don't like kids noise, footballs, bikes etc ask to be away form the play area (or lighten up).

You can walk through the site to the river which has a great view, there is also a pub with play area here. A ferry runs across to Burnham which is a good day out (www.Ladyessex.Com). They also do seal spotting trips.

All in all a great time was had by all - we'll be back and would recommend it! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zedhead36 29 reviews from this member

 This site is only 27 miles from where I live and yet the difference in the surroundings is amazing. The quiet is the first thing you notice. We were on a pitch adjacent to the childrens play area and even though there were plenty of kids over the weekend we had a very peaceful stay.

Although there are only 2 showers in the gents and the same for the ladies they were clean whenever I went there day or night. There are also washing machines / tumble driers behind the amenities block, but as we were only there for the weekend we did not use these.

There is coarse fishing on site and the Crouch estuary is literally outside the back gate for the sea angler!

Also outside the back gate (combination lock) is the Creeksea Ferry Inn, with friendly staff (and locals) live entertainment on saturday night and a good resturant as well

The staff at Riverside are very laid back and accomodating (we had friends and their children stay over with us on saturday night and were only charged 2 for the charity box!)

All in all not a bad site, lots of wildlife, clean fresh air, lots of space for whatever size unit you are in and ducks, swans and geese wandering around the campsite all day

We really enjoyed it and will be back very soon 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jennybugs 1 review from this member

 We have been back to this site many times since we first visited in May 2007!

It is a lovely haven to sit back and relax in. The facilities are always found to be clean and well maintained, although it's always a good idea to get in the showers early to avoid the usual wet floors. These are regularly mopped though and don't pose a problem.

There is a small shop for basics, the staff are always friendly and helpful and the site is beautifully scaped witha river running through it and the local pub and main river Crouch only a 3 minute walk away.

We always look forward to our next visit and arealways sad to have to leave! It's worth noting we think the site has it's own little eco-system as we've never had bad weather since we first started visiting! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corrinne 1 review from this member

 Stayed here last weekend, and couldn't have picked a nicer site to get away from London and chill out.

Myself and my partner are overnight campers so didn't really use the facilities or the shop, but the toilets were clean and fairly new, and plenty of them.

The site is off winding country roads, and the field for pitching tents had a big duck pond in the middle with the river on the other side. The site is pretty and well maintained, and the owners very friendly. I went along on the Sun morning to ask if I could pay extra and stay a few hours past the 11.00 am off rule, and was told to keep my money and stay all day and have a lovely time.

We drove into Southend on the Sat night and went to Adventure Island which is fantastic for kids.

I will definitely return. 10 per night for the 2 of us, lovely surroundings, and very friendly ducks and Swans! 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Village Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southend On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement