Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Village Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Southend On Sea > Riverside Village Holiday Park > Reviews

Riverside Village Holiday Park
Creeksea Ferry Road
Wallasea Island
Nr Rochford
Southend On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
SS4 2EY
Tel: 01702 258297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abimatt 2 reviews from this member

 This is the 2nd time we have been to this site. For a tent user the ground is perfect, level and easy to get the pegs in! A little more expensive that other campsites we have visited. There is nothing special about the place but it is nice all the same.

The real downside about this site is the fact that the toilets are so far away - campers in tents are situated at the furthest point from the loos - caravans etc who have their own toilets are closest ?!? When your 5 year old needs the loo at 5am, you need to drive to the toilet :0( This time we took our own Portaloo!

Lovely friendly place. Short drive to Southend which is why we go. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alanthe1st 1 review from this member

 It was late in the day when we arrived but as we had booked by phone earlier in the day so we had a pitch number which took some time to find.

As stated before the shower block and loo`s are a bit of a hike and only 2 showers and loo`s in the gents when busy there will be a wait. Although they look new from the outside I thought they were a little tired and grubby not bad but at 22 a night I did expect better.

Leaving the site by the rear gate was interesting as it has a coded lock so was thinking can I get back in? Well it appears not to work so all OK. The walk to Pub is not to bad but if you are unsteady on your feet you might struggle.

The nearby pub has reopened but was not doing food should be up and running by 10/07/2011 they said. Although uneven had a nice walk to the Marine Bar food was good. If you cant manage stairs this could be a problem for you but worth it sitting looking at the boats with a pimms!

Over all not a bad site 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pollywoggle 2 reviews from this member

 This is a pretty, well maintained site in the Essex Marshes.

It has three main sections. A large static park, two field for caravans, folding campers and trailer tents offering electric hook up, and two fields for tents.

Dogs are welcome and there were lots there when we stayed. Around the site are fantastic walks through the countryside and over the RSPB's big wetlands project.

Unfortunately the nearest pub has closed down, but in nearby Stambridge is the Cherry Tree run by a member of Jamie Oliver's family, as well as other lovely pubs in Pagglesham.

Ducks and swans stroll around the site and there is fishing available in a deep river. There is also a children's play area, which was fairly basic and a little dated, but the kids didn't seem to mind!

We really enjoyed our stay, but there were a couple of things that surprised me. Firstly the loos. Only three in the ladies and two showers, I can't imagine the queues in high season. They are also a long way away from the tents, which are the people most likely to need them. There was also only ONE (admittedly double) sink with hot water for washing up and another sink in a hut with cold water only.

However, everything was clean and tidy. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We loved the atmosphere of this site, it was very friendly and a true holiday atmosphere.

The swans & ducks had young whilst we were there and were delightful to watch. We enjoyed the walk to the marina through a gate directly from the site.

The hot showers and electric hook up were included in the pitch fee, there was a small shop on site.It caters for all units statics, tourers, vans and tents.

A lovely quiet site away from it all. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allweather 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights to try our new Awning. This site is great if all you're looking for is peace and quiet.

The cost of 22.00 low mid or peak season per night is expensive considering the basic facilities, yes the toilets are newish portable cabinish, clean and warm albeit small and too far from the camping field.

The local Pub is shut until the foreseeable future, which is a shame as it had a good atmosphere and Pub grub, you now have to trek to the Marina bar. This is a fair walk to the Marina especially in the dark. No man made path just the top of the Levy, wheelchair bound or frail, you'll have to drive out of the site and turn left. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jvc100 34 reviews from this member

 The Southend area has a lack of campsites. This site is nice and near to Southend (about 15 minute drive). It is located on the River and has a lovely dog walk, pub and marina bar with in easy walking distance.

The site has a old children's play area which is serviceable.

The site was quiet so we had plenty of space.

There are some negatives

1. Distance to the Showers and toilets. If you are on the lower field the distance is doubled

2. Only 2 showers in the gents and ladies. They are also quite small and lack a chair to use, a shelf for shampoo. It was very difficiult getting dressed in them. On the plus side the water temperature was perfect and pressure good.

3. In High season the tourers are quite close and the field is laid out like a touring jigsaw puzzle.

4. Cleaning of the showers and toilets was not an issue when we were there as there was only 4 tourers using them, however they close for cleaning 08.15 to 0900 then at tea time (when are returning). 1100 to 1200 for a full clean the 0700-0715, 2000-2015 for a quick inspection would seem a better idea.

5. The elsan point has no roof. It is in the middle of the field. On a plus side it was easy to use.

I would return if I was visiting South-end. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allweather 16 reviews from this member

 Like all the other reviews. This is truely a good, clean site. In a lovely spot close to the estuary. Here's the thing, It does need another shower block nearer to the touring site,as in high season you would have to wait for your shower as it only has two showers for each gender.

The waste water and washing up facilities are very, very basic as is the chemical disposal. The path between the site gate and the Pub (which is run by a lovely couple), should be better. If your wheelchair bound or frail, what there's now could be very dangerous. That said, I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin72 12 reviews from this member

 Just got back from an overnighter here

I chose this site for three reasons.

1) Closeness to home.

2) To break my other half gentley into camping.

3) It was my birthday

As previously mentioned by others, what a great little site, the only criticism is, why is the toilet block so far away from the touring field and placed in the middle of the static caravans (they don't need it)

Last night I found the Creeksea Inn at the rear of the site on the river, lovely honest pub (could do with a lick of paint, but don't be put off) good value meals, I went for the Animal Burger (only for the really hungry, it is massive!) Entertainment was laid on by means of a Rock n Roll singer. He finished at 0030 this morning and yes I had a sore head when I woke up.

To round it up, great site, great location and a great place to get away from it all.

I'll come back again with the kids next time 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saz5178 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site which is close to home for a weekend to test our new tent. Great quiet friendly site however as per everyone else's reviews toilet blocks are a long way from touring field!

However they are clean and the showers are good.

We would go back however we have just heard the ferry inn has closed so this would stop us returning as was great food, great atmosphere, great prices! but no other facilities close by  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MARKNSYLV 3 reviews from this member

 This is really quite a gem of a site tucked away where you would not expect it.

Lovely well kept grounds, went on a busy weekend and felt a bit packed in but had plenty of room for what we needed.

Site has nice country and pubs around, and a passenger ferry to burnham from the marina, runs from ten to five and is 3 per person each way.

Would definitely benefit from another toilet/shower block up in touring field, what is there however is clean and well maintained just too far.

Site staff pleasant and helpful, as were the managers of the ferry Inn next door run by their daughter and son in law.

Pub staff all very nice and food was basic pub fare but good quality and very good portions.

I really felt that with some planning both site and pub were real gold mines, however we had a nice stay, will definitely go back and recommend to friends. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Village Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Village Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southend On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement