Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highgate Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde > Highgate Barn Caravan Site Reviews

Highgate Barn Caravan Site
Highgate Lane
Stalmine
Poulton Le Fylde
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 0JF
Tel: 07836 678148
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 van pitches & tent pitches
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 85 Reviews
                10/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

 Being new to camping this was the second site we had ever stayed at. The first time we camped, we stayed on a site, which was a forty five minute car journey, so had the luxury of visiting first to check it out. This site was a three hour journey to get to, so I spent several evenings looking through this website for a possible place and Highgate Barn seemed to stand out from all the other reviews. I just hoped the reviews did the site justice. We were not disappointed and those evenings spent on the Internet proved very beneficial.

We were given a choice of three pitches and we picked the one in the middle of the Woodland, non EHU, not far from the play area. It was beautiful and very sheltered.

The facilities were immaculate and the reviews did live up to what had been said. They were cleaned at least every hour, more frequently in busy times of the day and even as late as 1pm. My daughter loved noticing a different colour towel every time we went in.

The play area was nice and all the children played together until basically it was too dark to see where the ball had gone. This is something I would not allow at home for safety reasons, but was lovely seeing kids being kids.

In my previous review I commented on how well lit the site was and you didn't need a torch to get about at night. This site wasn't as well lit and you definitely needed a torch to get to the toilet at night and more importantly the key, which I did forget on a few occasions. This wasn't a problem though, as no one is very far from the toilets wherever your pitch is. The kids loved the dark and using the lantern and was more like proper camping.

We used the site as a base for the Lake District and Blackpool. I was a little miffed at the prices in Blackool, as entry should have been free for the major attractions for us, had the Merlin passes not arrived on the day we got back! They had got lost in the post and had taken over two weeks to arrive! We did enjoy the attractions, but we found the signposts to get there very poor.

The owner was very dedicated to ensuring your stay was enjoyable and that you found his site clean and tidy. He gave us good ideas of places to go to etc. Which we will do next time we visit, which will be the earliest we can get next year.

This is a fantastic site, which is down to the owners dedication and hard work, and even the terrible downpour we had in the middle of the last night, couldn't dampened the wonderful time we had.

Thank you and we are looking forward to coming back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deacons 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from 3 nights on this site and what a fantastic few nights they were. The site felt very secluded, where we pitched our tent, it felt like our own private bit of woodland. The site is small, which to us is a good thing, even with having children, they were happy to run around with other children and play on the play area, which is central on the site so easy to keep an eye on them without having to go looking. The toilet and shower facilities were immaculate, they were cleaned at least every hour and a fresh hand towel changed scarily regularly, it seemed to change colour each time we visited the loos. The toilets always smelt clean and were well stocked with loo roll. The owner did regular rounds of the site and was always friendly without being too intrusive. The site is located a short drive to local amenities, such as takeaways, general stores and a fantastic local butcher in Hambleton. Whilst we were there the weather was a little changeable, but the trees gave us good shelter from the occasional shower and the wind. We will definitely be visiting this site again and highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Hartley 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from Highgate, we wish we had stayed longer. The fun started straight away as we had bought a new tent with no instructions. After an hour of slapstick trying to erect the tent, the owner of the site turned up and saved the day and our tent was up in seconds. The site was clean and all the facilities were top notch. Steve was always on hand night and day to help you in any way. The site was also handy to get to seaside resorts such as Cleveleys and Blackpool, no more than a 10 min drive. We also tried the nearest pub the Black Bull which was a lovely 1 mile walk from the site. The food and service was top class and the house wine was delicious at 7. 80 a bottle. Thank you for a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marrowina 3 reviews from this member

 We've just returned for a lovely weekend at the wonderful site. The pitches well spaced out amongst the trees. The toilet and shower block were spotless. The local pub served delicious, reasonable priced freshly made food (we went both nights!). The playarea was centrally located and had a good range of equipment - it's a shame that the trampoline was out of action during our visit). We will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campsale 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Grounds well maintained. Hot showers and toilet facilities are always clean.

Quiet and peaceful site.

Kids are welcome and there is a small play area with mini trampoline.

Set in a small forested area, this site is an ideal location for visiting the many attractions in the local area and then being able to come back form that to enjoy the peace and quiet.

The site owner cannot do enough for you. Very pleasant and most accommodating.

We have visited this site a few times this year and will keep returning to it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Axel5171 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Highgate Barn and echo the sentiments of all of the other reviews. The site is lovely, being in the middle of a small woodland. The owner, Steve cannot do enough for you, and the toilet facilities were spotless, being cleaned numerous times daily.

Having a firepit was fantastic, helping to take the chill off late evenings, and the sit is close enough to drive to Blackpool and the Lakes. For the more adventurous, a short walk to Stalmine (1 mile) then a bus to Knott end (2c) to catch the ferry to fleetwood followed by the tram to blackpool may take a little longer, but is worth it. The return journey is also by the 2c bus, so a day travelcard for 5 covers all but the ferry (1. 50).

Will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wakey1 2 reviews from this member

 After visiting numerous campsites with our 2 children, this one has truly been one of the best. Steve made us feel very welcome, and advised us on where to pitch up - we were the only ones on the site, so this made things slightly easier! Super little trampoline for the kids (8 and 5) to play on along with a couple of swings. Toilet facilities were very clean, and free use of showers. One thing which from a woman's point of view is a real plus is that there was a fresh towel provided in both toilets (changed twice daily!) - excellent!

Camp fires permitted which is a real bonus for those 'so' moments once the kids are marshmallowed out and tucked up. Steve also told us of a couple of decent pubs close by which did nice food and real ale. We never actually went to any due to the weather being so nice we drank our own and spent a whole day at the Pleasure Beach!

The campsite is a credit to the owner - who is always happy to help (even providing a long pole to rescue our son's football from up a pine tree!). Thanks High Gate Barn for some more wonderful camping memories! Hope to see you again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Rob Fairclough 1 review from this member

 Just come back from Highgate Barn today. Fantastic site. Stayed in a static there over looking the fishing pond, also fished whilst there, cracking lake with lots of variety of fish in it and some good sizes. Caravan was nice and clean and the owner goes out of his way to make sure everything is satisfactory. Will definitely be returning, in fact I booked again before I left. Has a small park for children. Superb butchers not too far and shops, some pubs not too far away by car and knot end beach only 3. 2 miles away. If you like peaceful and relaxing this is the place to be. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

 Having read previous reviews, we had been looking forward to our visit ever since we booked, and we were not disappointed. What made the stay so special, was the fact we enjoyed some weather that used to be called 'sunshine!' The site is a gem, we literally had it to ourselves. The site owner is a very pleasant and helpful man, he gave us ideas of where to walk our dogs and eat, and made a point of apologising for the noise when he began to start mowing the grass. We do not mind at all when work is being done to make the site look nice, but the fact that he took the time to apologise speaks volumes.

All the pitches are surrounded by woodland, and the sound of the birds, was very relaxing. We even saw a wild deer on site, but luckily our lurcher didn't! The site has a fishing pond you can use (barbless hooks only), and there is a very nice dog walk around the site perimeter.

The shower/toilet blocks are clean, and they are well lit, with a good supply of hot water, although there is only one shower for each of the sexes, and two toilets each too. The pitches are hard standing, level, and drain well. The ELSAN and grey water points are nearby, as is the water supply, and the site re-cycles. If you enjoy a very quiet site, you need to enquire how busy the site is, as there is a child's play area in a central location on the site, so it is ideal for young families.

If you enjoy walking, there is a 6 mile circular walk accessible from the site along the cost, across lovely countryside, and through Knott End golf course. It is in a book called 'Lancashire Walks' published by Jarrold (ISBN 978-0-7524-4646-2), we did it this morning and it is fantastic (in fact we caravan a lot all over Lancashire, and there are 28 fabulous walks in the book, graded as to how 'difficult' they are).

The site is within easy reach of the M55, but if you have a long outfit, care is required on the last mile and a half to the site as the roads are narrow. Access to Blackpool and the Fylde coast are local and easy, and a bit further travel puts Lancaster, Morecambe and the fabulous areas in and around Arnside and Silverdale available for a day out. Shops and pubs which serve food are all within a mile or so radius, but none are dog friendly.

The only thing that could make this fantastic site better, is to have full service pitches, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sjhitchen54 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in 2012 and loved it so much that we decided to store our caravan here. We have come to the site virtually every 3 weeks for long week ends and for our two main holiday during 2013, and intend to do the same again in 2014. Steve and the boys put our caravan on a pitch ready for our arrival for a nominal fee which is well worth it. In fact in September We had a medical emergency and Steve was there to help with local phone numbers etc. As with all the previous reviews all is totally true, This lovely site is well worth visiting. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highgate Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poulton Le Fylde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement