Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highgate Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde > Highgate Barn Caravan Site Reviews

Highgate Barn Caravan Site
Highgate Lane
Stalmine
Poulton Le Fylde
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 0JF
Tel: 07836 678148
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 van pitches & tent pitches
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 85 Reviews
                10/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Robsue 1 review from this member

 First visit to site, very easy to find, met by owner within a few minutes. Guided to the pitch we had been allocated, we were shown the facilities available. Very cosy area surrounded by trees the feeling of being in the woods without being overpowering the toilet facilities were immaculate, hot and cold water in plentiful amounts clean hand towels were changed at regular periods and toilet areas cleaned on a regular basis. There was a play area for children and safety measures were in place to keep them safe. Site is also pet friendly, looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 10 reviews from this member

 This site didn't disappoint. A lovely site about half an hour from Blackpool. Great base. Local shops (too far to walk)but lot's of big stores ie Morrisons 10 minutes drive away towards Fleetwood. Toilets immaculate. My husband says he has never seen such clean gents toilets!


Owner Steve was very helpful and nothing was too much bother, including cutting down branches to allow our caravan to turn! only comment is we have a large twin axle elddis 636 and you have to go go down country lanes with few passing places and high hedgerows for about a mile to get to the park which made for a hairy arrival as we encountered two cars en route. Fortunately the locals appear used to caravans and obligingly reversed out our way. Don't know what would have happened if we had met another caravan!so watch your timing to arrive in the afternoon.

A lovely park and great for kids. There is a small playpark and lot's of trees and open space at front of site, all safe, would thoroughly recommend it. It's strength is it's size but that means you have to be quick to book as there are quite a few seasonal pitches so not many left for tourers. Great park would go back 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annie fanny 1 review from this member

 First time campers ! After lots of searching on the websites we decided to give this site a try as it wasn't too far from home.

Spoke to the owner couldn't do enough to help us. He called round the site regularly to see if we were ok and had everything we needed.

We stayed for two nights with a 5yr old, nice small little play area on site. Had a camp fire (fire pit and logs hired on camp) Lovely site in the woods nice and peaceful.

Very clean everywhere. Not too far from the local attractions. Also met some really nice people on site. Would highly recommend this site to others.

Will go back after we have tried out other places x We paid 17 a night for 2 adults and 1 child. Fire pit 5 and logs 5 a bag good value for money 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dragon5551 7 reviews from this member

 Well its been a while since I was moved to write one of these.

Having just spent a March weekend with some strait jacketed acquaintances of mine at this site I feel I must mention it in dispatches.

In my opinion nothing about this site is wrong, from the huge football/ playing field as you drive in to the rabbits that overrun the site.

Im not going to wax lyrical about this place because I don't do that sort of thing. Suffice to say if you want a clean site with an owner who seems to care about your stay before your money you cant do much better than this. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma_louise 7 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem! It's a small site with just a portacabin toilet block but what more do you need? The 2 toilets and 1 shower were kept spotlessly clean and never ran out of toilet roll and I never had to queue. There is a sheltered washing-up area on the side and recycling bins for the usual - plastic, cardboard, glass bottles etc.

We were in a large tent and we were given a lovely spot in between some trees just behind the recycling bins and we had EHU. Camp fires are allowed and we sat out quite late as did some others but there was absolutely no unnecessary noise, just quiet chit chat that wasn't at all intrusive.

The owner was ill during our stay so we only saw him on the last day but he was very friendly and relaxed about the fact that we only paid him when we were packed up and in our car ready to leave!

We will definitely be back next year and will recommend to friends as a lovely, clean, basic site as a base for Blackpool and the Lakes. Thanks Steve, we have a lovely week! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vinsuelulil 2 reviews from this member

 I am reviewing this campsite on our second visit, we went early last year when we had just started out camping but even then knew we wanted to return to this one. I am very happy to say that we were as pleased with the second visit as the first one.

We were able to go with a couple of friends this time and we pitched near the toilet block for the EHU. Steve the owner must have been there to clean them on the hour every hour even when our campfire was roaring away one night he came down to clean them.

The pitches are in between the trees which give you some great protection from the wind.

The fellas were very happy with the lovely peaceful fishing pond but unfortunately we noticed some fishermen not following the rules which covered correct hooks and line and use of landing nets.

There is a field you can use with a football post on it, it was lovely and big and we gave the kids a good run around there.

Its only a short ride to the lovely seaside town of cleveleys, which was very busy and thriving on the Saturday. A great beach for a good walk to blow off the cobwebs.

The only negative for us is the playground. The trampoline and the climbing frame are too dated and we worried about the safety of our smaller children. If steve could just update this one thing I would score him full points.

Oh beware the birds! The site is surrounded by fields and the morning birdsong is the loudest I have ever heard. Take your earplugs! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jones1975 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited Highgate Barn on a number of occasions, both camping and staying in the static caravans over looking the fishing pond. Everything about the site is fab. The owner can't do enough for you, from recommending places to eat out to places to visit etc. We discovered the site by pure accident but could not of stumbled across anywhere better, as it offers everything. The showers and toilets are the cleanest that I have ever seen on a campsite and the site also has a small play park for young children as well as a fishing pond. It is also ideally situated from Knott End which is approximately 2 and half miles away. There are also a number of pubs and local shops within walking distance. I can not speak highly enough about this site so please if you read my review then give it ago as you WON'T be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theoldbill 2 reviews from this member

 An amazing site within an hour of Manchester. We stayed for two nights and had a great time, it was our second visit and we will definitely be back.

Steve is THE nicest owner EVER and is so helpful it's untrue. He even leant us a bottle of his homemade insect repellant due to a high proportion of horseflies. In the end they didn't bother us too much, a nice campfire helped with this and Steve had a washing-machine-drum-fire-basket on hand to keep the fire off the ground. He recommended a place down the road for firewood which at 3 for a (big, heavy) bag was a bargain!

The toilets were utterly, spotlessly clean as they were on our last visit. They are cleaned every couple of hours and because Steve keeps on top of them I think it encourages people to leave them that way.

The site itself is nicely landscaped and there is a fishing pond and some static caravans that are available to rent with nice countryside views.

The Saracen's Head pub is well worth a visit, you can either have a nice walk if the weather is fine or jump in a taxi (taxi numbers are on the notice board in the toilet block) if you all fancy a drink. The interior of the pub isn't the most cutting edge but the food is outstanding, especially the fish and chips which were popular with our group! The locals were friendly, even offering to take a photo of our group so that we could all get in the shot!

Back to the site. Any campers in Manchester and the North West in general simply must have a trip here. It is worthy of note that the particulars on UKCS say the site has 5 pitches but Steve can accommodate more than this, only some have EHU though so best to ring him first. We will definitely be going back this year and hopefully for many years to come.

Steve, keep up the good work! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Khayes 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights with our 2 children 11 and 4, and some other family members.

The owner Steve was very helpful, a really nice man. The toilets and shower block were the cleanest I have ever seen on a campsite they were cleaned 4 or 5 times a day.

There is a spar about 5 minutes drive away. We had a great time here the site is lovely, could do with updating the playground, there is a trampoline, a basket ball net, and a see saw that was broken, but the children had a great time just running around!

We will definitely be going back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jones1975 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site and the owner can't help you enough from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The site is quiet and has some lovely views. The showers and toilets are nothing short of immaculate. There is also a small pond that you are able to fish on providing you know what you are doing. Knott End is approximately 2 and a half miles away and you are able to get a small ferry across to Fleetwood for about a 1.

Thornton isn't to far away either and is worth a visit. We have visited the site half a dozen times now as it really is that good. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highgate Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poulton Le Fylde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4216 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement