Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highgate Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde > Highgate Barn Caravan Site Reviews

Highgate Barn Caravan Site
Highgate Lane
Stalmine
Poulton Le Fylde
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 0JF
Tel: 07836 678148
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 van pitches & tent pitches
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 85 Reviews
                10/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne4444 1 review from this member

 Was a great little site, the toilets were spotless and a powerful shower

Plenty of space on pitches

Steve the owner was very polite and friendly

Will definitely be returning to this site

Was various facilities for children but we didn`t need them. Great for walking dogs, ours loved it

Nothing was too much trouble for steve

Recycling bins were there too.

The weather was bad but that is nothing to do with this park! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beastie and Bessie 1 review from this member

 Visited this site as recommended by a friend.

Great welcome by Steve, who can't do enough to help. We asked about a local pub for a meal,. Well.Steve even had us follow him in our car whilst drove his car to the restaurant. How helpful is that?
The site is fantastic. The toilet and showers are spotless. They are cleaned every day. The pitches are all separate (not all in line)so you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbours at all. They all have their own electric hook up and there are plenty of nearby water points.
The bonus for me was Steve's fishing pond/lake which has a number of decked pegs. You are allowed to fish free of charge, so long as you use barbless hooks and you know a bit about what you are doing. Children must of course be supervised at all times whilst around the lake. I went off for my daily dipping of George the maggot while my wife just chilled bye our Bessie caravan.
I tried to pay Steve a number of times whilst we where there but he just said 'No rush! No rush! Just relax Iíll see you later' I did eventually make him take payment.Just as we were packing up to leave.
We have been back to this great little site on a number of occasions since our first visit and we will now be regular visitors it's so peaceful and relaxing. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bongomad 1 review from this member

 Highgate Barn is a lovely site, just like all the reviews describe clean toilets and showers, Plenty of space between each van.

The only thing that is needed on this site is a washing up area,but no doubt Steve will get round to it.

Great location for Blackpool, lakes, fleetwood, cleveleys

Points out of 10-11

We will be going back next year highly recommended 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rudd 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights camping Friday/ Sunday 3 tents in all. Had the most wonderful time, Steve the owner is a very friendly and welcoming host and would go out of his way to help us with our needs.
He brought us a BBQ and fire wood so we could have a camp fire at night, and kept topping up our wood pile.
The toilet and shower facilities were the cleanest we've seen and he always made sure the towels were changed on a regular basis.
Overall this site is set in an absolutely wonderful area and is very peaceful. This is a total credit to Steve and we will be returning in the new year. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Welshrover 20 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews on here I decided to book 3 nights. thought I was booking a camping site turned out to be a lovely camping park with mature trees everywhere.Shown to a hardstanding which was flat and even and big with ehu, with water very close and plenty of dustbins everything was in order.
Toilets and showers was spotless felt like pulling my shoes off to enter.Children play area consist of couple of swings climbing frame basket ball and trampoline and a bench for adults to keep an eye on the children and a nice fishing pond at the far end for campers to fish free.
The tents seem to be pitched amongst the trees and the owner was the most decent man you could ever meet, he is a gentleman always doing something. this little park is a credit to him
shop and pub about a good mile away 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walkies2000 1 review from this member

 Was looking for somewhere to test the new tent before we made the journey to Northumberland for our main holidays. Spoke to Steve the week before and he managed to fit us in the following Friday. We arrived about half four and after a brief conversation with steve were guided to our pitch. It was in a corner of a small grove of pine trees. Have to say it was beautiful with the evening sun shining through the trees. Was a bit of a squeeze to get car in, but would rather that than have holiday camp rows of tents.

The toilets were indeed immaculate but one point worth mentioning for those without electric like us. There are no plug points in ladies toilets for hairdryers etc.

We know the area well as we have family in the village but for newcomers there are plenty of info leaflets on noticeboard in toilet block and Steve was obliging with any info necessary.

Its around a five mile drive into Blackpool and there is a Morrisons about ten minutes away.

All in all a gorgeous little site and we will definitely be making future visits.

P.S.

Some citronella candles might be an idea if you like to sit out of an evening. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Merga clan 1 review from this member

 We've just got back from 4 nights at Highgate Barn. We read the reviews before we went and all were good so we were quite excited. We put the tent up in the rain on Friday night and took it down again in the rain on Tuesday morning. The weather was fine inbetween luckily. We had a fabulous time, Steve was fantastic and never stopped all the time we were there. The toilets & shower were spotless. The bins were emptied daily, there was a play area for children and fishing for my hubby. Everyone was happy. Steve recommended a butchers and we had fab sausages from there for a BBQ (we even called for some chicken kievs on our way home). We look forward to going back to Highgate Barn as we have never felt so welcome anywhere! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: *Diamonds* 7 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from the most relaxing weekend ever. We arrived on the Friday evening, Steve came to meet us as there had been an accident on the bridge leading to the campsite, we thought that was very good of him. The site was so lovely, very peaceful, well kempt. We were allocated a pitch across from the play area which was really handy. Our little boy (aged 6) made friends within 5 minutes of us arriving and was in his element the whole weekend.

The toilets were lovely and clean and the shower was top notch. Didn't have to queue whenever we went.

There is a smallish man made lake (by the very impressive Steve) on this campsite which is brilliant for relaxing.

All in all we had a very successful trip and we're very happy that we found this site as we're only an hour away.

Steve was all that was mentioned by previous reviewers, very laid back and helpful, I am told he's embarrassed by the reviews on this website hehe.

My husband is on the phone trying to book us in for next weekend. That's how much we loved it. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildeside 4 reviews from this member

 Having read previous reviews we were doubtful about finding the site for our weekend away, but TomTom certainly did its bit as we arrived without difficulty to be met by the Site Owner - Steve who proved exceptionally helpful with info about the site and even booked us in for a meal at the Golden Ball pub - which was just as good and well priced as promised! The tent areas of the site have conifer trees everywhere and getting your car near the tent can be awkward. But that apart, everything else is superb. The toilet / shower block are kept spotless all the time. We would certainly return if looking to stay in this area again.We were charged £12/night per tent - maybe other rates if staying for longer as many were. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs B Goodwin 1 review from this member

 Fantastic little campsite if your looking for a quiet little break. We stayed over the easter weekend and had a lovely time. We have an 8 year old daughter who is usually addicted to the tv and her computer but didn't even mention them once while we were away, as there was a little park that had a couple of swings, a basketball net and a trampoline and lots of space for her to play hide and seek with her new friends that she made.

The shower blocks and toilets are among the cleanest I have ever seen and so too is the rest of the campsite. We only went here as we had bought a new tent and wanted to try it out close to home (we live in Blackpool) but we enjoyed it so much we are going back again in May along with our next door neighbours, who came to visit us while we were there and have now bought our old tent from us as they were that impressed.

The pitches are level and are surrounded by evergreen trees that give you privacy (and shelter as it was raining the first night!). I cannot enthuse enough about the customer care offered by the owner Steve he really cannot do enough for you.

Although there are no washing up facilities at the moment there are plans underway to rectify that very soon. The only thing I would say is that there is a lovely fishing lake but be aware with small children as it is not fenced off although saying that it is down a track away from the pitches. Wonderful little site we love it. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highgate Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poulton Le Fylde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4584 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement