Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highgate Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde > Highgate Barn Caravan Site Reviews

Highgate Barn Caravan Site
Highgate Lane
Stalmine
Poulton Le Fylde
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 0JF
Tel: 07836 678148
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 van pitches & tent pitches
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 85 Reviews
                10/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janne 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a wonderful week at this perfect little site. We have been camping for over 30 years but have never been shown such care and attention as dispensed by the owner Steve, nothing was too much trouble for him.

The facilities are kept spotlessly clean and although only 2 showers and 4 toilets there was never a queue. There is no road noise so peaceful. The area is fantastic for walking and cycling you can explore quiet country lanes alongside the estuary and witness so much wildlife it's truly amazing.

Knott End is about 3 miles away with wonderful small shops selling local produce. If you want the bright lights of Blackpool then you are only a few miles away. Hope this site stays just as it is. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vernie 1 review from this member

 Last minute search to find a site fairly close to home, rung about 8 sites, those that answered their phones were full. Steve rung me back after 1471 the call - so glad he went to the trouble of doing this. Bent over backwards to accommodate us - even guided us in on his phone when we got lost. Mainly geared up for caravans. Two families, two large tents set between pine trees.

Toilets (2) and shower (1) SPOTLESS Steve is a domestic god! Never had to wait even in Easter week. Small play areas for toddlers, if you have demanding teenagers (we have one but he was away with the cadets) don't bother going, but great for little ones. Large pond with rabbits galore playing in the next field, grouse etc roaming the grounds.

Real dawn chorus at 5am in the morning followed by the cockerel. Super little site - one negative - site is not signposted so would have drove past even if we hadn't got lost. Also, no washing up facility yet (but is on the cards) but no hardship in filling a bowl and washing at the tent. Thanks so much for a great stay and only £11 per night. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jac1968 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from visiting this site. Went with friends and we had 2 large tents between us. 4 adults & 3 kids age, 14, 4 & 2. The site is in a beautiful setting we camped between pine trees which gave a wonderful feel to the place.

The toilet blocks and showers are kept spotless - Steve the owner does a fantastic job of keeping up with them, he must clean them about 10 times a day and changes the towels as often, very domesticated chap, he could teach a few other men a lesson or 2!

There is a small play area for the little ones, nothing for the older one's but that was fine by us. The site is in the countryside but you are still within reach of the busier towns if that's your requirement.

There are a few local pubs within driving distance, we ate at the Saracen, which was lovely. Will return to this site without a doubt and Steve is just as warm and friendly as all the other reviews state. Unable to say a bad thing about this site. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tetra80 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from this campsite and I so wish we could have stayed longer. It was a last minute decision we decided to go camping and we were so lucky to get into this site at such short notice, due to the lateness of us booking.
We arrived in the dark, we got lost, but not a problem to Steve the site owner who guided us the rest of the way by phone. Due to the lateness of us arriving we just pitched up on a grass pitch. Steve arrived to welcome us and said he would come by in the morning and move us to a hard standing one by tractor. Unfortunately that night. The weather decided to go minus +++ so the electric kept tripping. And we hardly had anything switched on. No probs, again gave Steve a ring he came straight out and when it kept doing it, got an extension and connected us to another socket and that was after 10pm. He was so laid back about it all. Then in the morning as promised he came and moved us onto a hard standing pitch.

The site itself is in a lovely location. The toilets are immaculate. Dog walks are really good and there are plenty bins for recycling all the different things. :)

We have camped all over Britain and I have to say Steve is the most friendliest and laid back owner I have ever met. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pazza s 6 reviews from this member

 I had been trying to book in for the Oct half term and not been lucky so this site was my last hope, I thought with all the excellent reviews though I wouldnít get in Ė but I did. After reading the reviews for this site I was really looking forward to our visit I would agree with them all.

I spoke to Steve who was so helpful, he took my details and asked me to confirm the booking the week before as he said if the weather was really bad he knew we wouldnít be coming. He didnít even ask for a deposit.

The day of our visit we got a bit lost as the site is down 2 very narrow country lanes which can be easily missed. I rang Steve and although he was watching his beloved Football team (Liverpool) on the TV he was very helpful, directing us to the site. He rang me and stayed on the line until we arrived.

We havenít had our caravan very long and reversing is still in the early stages! Steve offered to take over and parked our van for us much to the relief of my husband! Steve explained where everything was, electric hook up, toilets, showers, waste and water, then left us to settle in. He told us that earlier that day heíd had problems with his mains electric and we where to use the back up sockets. Steve rang me about an hour later to check that we where ok and to ask if we needed any help.
During the evening our electric went off and Steve and another caravanner where quickly on the scene sorting out the problem the back up had over heated. The problem was sorted out so quickly you wouldnít have known there was a problem.

Itís not a very big site which is the charm of it, each pitch is hard standing and surrounded by wonderful trees for privacy.

There is only 1 shower in each of the toilet blocks which is a downside as we had to wait. I can imagine in the busy months it could be a bit of a problem. They are very clean and tidy.

There are no dish washing facilities but this is planned for next year. It seems this site is one which is expanding and developing. It has a small childrenís play area with a few swings, a trampoline and a basket ball net. Itís not much but my children enjoyed it.

Steve even has recycling sorted Ė plastic, cardboard, paper, foil, tin glass and general household waste. This puts some larger sites to shame. Well done Steve, itís great every bin is labelled Ė fantastic.

There is a fishing lake to the right of the caravans which you can use, be careful with young children as itís not sectioned off.

Itís in a lovely part of the country near enough to Blackpool and Fleetwood but not too close that you loose the fact youíre in the country. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, pubs, petrol stations etc in the area Steve even recommended a butchers in the village of Hambleton.

Steve was regularly seen around the site talking to everyone, heís so friendly and helpful, such a likeable person. We didnít pay a penny until the day we left and even then I had to go looking for Steve who was cleaning out the toilet block to pay! Steve suggested we return in May when the trees are in full bloom and the weather is much nicer, he said the site is wonderful then, but book early! I would recommend this site itís lovely, peaceful and really relaxing I think that rubs off from Steve. Go on youíll enjoy it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs C Moore 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site (Fri-Sun). This was our first time camping and didn't really know what to expect. I went with my husband and 3 kids ranging in age from 11yr-16yr. When I called to book our pitch I was given a great price which included EHU.
The toilet block is of great standard and is cleaned often. The site is very rustic with trees and a lovely small pond for free fishing. Small park for the smaller kids is good.
Our pitch was next to the water supply and toilet block which was great for the kids needs during the night. We're looking forward to our next visit and also considering getting a static caravan. Highly recommend this site. As said before car is recommended as the site is quite rural. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diane1068 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite, toilets are immaculate, nice big shower, great pitches, with a trampoline and a small park for the kids. Steve the owner is very easy to get on with, everything is clean and tidy
Some nice pubs in the area, didn't actually try one but full menu's and prices are on display as you enter toilet block, also pizza place which will deliver to site.
Close enough to Blackpool if that's what you want. Would definitely recommend. Top site and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shebobs 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, a credit to Steve the owner. We 'store and tow' our caravan here, and have done since March. Everyone's friendly (get the odd 'noisy ones' at bank hols-but they are quickly dealt with by Steve).

Toilets are spotless and cleaned constantly. Lovely play area for the kids and a great dog walk.

Only downside is you definitely need a car as shops etc aren't close by and I wouldn't like to walk it! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: SIMONG82 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here for 3 nights over the Bank holiday. Lovely quiet site with everything you need. Kids loved the park with the trampoline, climbing frame and the swings. Will book again. Steve the owner is very friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: APT370 3 reviews from this member

 A previous review states 'If Heineken did camp sites they would struggle to top this one' & we totally agree.

This site was recomended to us by some good friends and it's that good we've stayed here for the past two weekends in as many weeks & will definitely be pitching here again on many more occasions in the future. Steve the owner is one in a million - from the outstanding super friendly customer care to the great upkeep of the site you'll surely not be disappointed with this 'little gem'.

If you fancy a break from cooking we can recommend the Saracen's Head family friendly pub/restaurant in Preesall which is just a 5min drive from this site (turn left out of the site follow the narrow road until you come to the end then turn left & it's the first pub on the left) which offers generous portions with friendly efficient staff at reasonable prices.

We'll definitely be renewing our Camping & Caravan Club membership just so we can keep on coming here! 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highgate Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highgate Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poulton Le Fylde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


369 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement