Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimi_lincoln 2 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site, this time with my Grand daughter. Cannot fault the service on arriving and continued friendly service throughout our Bank Holiday stay. The Toilet blocks are spotless & gets the 'Thumbs Up' from both my wife & grand daughter. Speaking with campers around us this site is quite popular with them also. Have already booked again for June, looking forward to our stay with Sally.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 35 reviews from this member

Second visit to this peaceful site. We arrived and were booked in and shown to our chosen pitch, as before staff and wardens all very friendly and helpful. As before facilities were spotless, although I still think 2 showers for each sex in the 2 blocks would be overrun if busy, but not a problem for us. The village is wonderfully quaint, with independent shops and little cafes, as well as a Budgens and a Co-op. The sausages and bacon from Walkers butchers were delicious and reasonably priced. The Mall pub is an excellent place for evening meals and also lunch, as well as reasonably priced drinks. The staff are brilliant and cannot do enough for you. We also paid a visit to the Lancaster and were not impressed by the bad language in the bar being used by a group of people in there and also used by the barmaid, wouldn't visit again. We went for walks through the woods and also biked part of the Viking way towards Horncastle with it's marvellous metal sculptures. All in all a great time once again. Recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonnelodge@hotmail 3 reviews from this member

The site is in a fantastic location within easy walking distance of The Petwood Hotel, with its fantastic atmosphere, food, service and beautiful grounds, together with the Kinema in the woods and also the village/town itself. The facilities on the site are immaculate and the shower/toilet blocks are exceedingly warm and comfortable. A fantastic site with the village/town being within easy walking distance. Cycle routes from the site are also easily accessible. The staff are tremendously friendly and extremely helpful. Don't miss out on this gem of a site! We will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chezynickannie 8 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at this cute site and simply relaxing and soaking up the ambiance. The Wardens are very helpful; we turned up ad hoc and think we managed to grab the last site. The amenities block is super clean and very attractive from the outside. Our pitch was a good size and the dog walking field was an excellent size too. It is just a minute walk from the park and outdoor swimming pool making it a great spot for families. The campsite is also only a short walk from the village itself with a good selection of pubs, cafes etc and a nice bakery. The campsite is next door to other campsites which really makes Woodhall Spa seem like a holiday resort even though it isnít near the beach. Look out for nearby houses selling fruit and veg; we pick up Ĺ dozen apples for 20p!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GEEBE 1 review from this member

We have just returned from Petwwod with our 2 dogs what a loveley clean site. The wardens and owner were excellent and very helpful and gave you an insite into the surrounding area and facilities.

The toilet blocks where spotless even though it was the children's holidays at the time. The site is situated approx 10 mins walk from Woodhall Spa which is also lovely and clean with a variety of shops and bars we had a meal in the Mall pub this was great. There is also an award winning butchers which you must visit and sample his pork pie.

The downside which did not bother us at the time but could be an issue is that the site is between 2 council run sites which only have one toilet block between them and some people thought they could use Petwood facilities which the can`t.

I spoke to the owner who is thinking of putting key pads on the doors this would then stop this.

Overall a lovely well run site and we will be going back in the future but not in school holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jenvale 9 reviews from this member

We have been to this site twice this summer and enjoyed it both times. The site is well kept with lovely large pitches and space around them for the kids to play. Also a lovely large separate field to play ball games etc on.

The toilet blocks are lovely, clean and light and the showers powerful and warm.

The owners/wardens were really helpful when booking and also when we were on site.

The site was very quiet after 10. 30pm which was great as some groups had loudish music on in the day but were very quiet in the evening.

The site is in a great spot right next to the countryside but within 15 minutes walk to the village either along the road or through the woods which the kids loved. The village is very picturesque - has several cafes, including an ice cream parlour which we tried and which was great, a fantastic bakery/deli and a nice pub in the middle with a great kids play area. The site is also next to Jubilee Park which has a lovely play area and the outdoor pool which is heated and most enjoyable on a warm sunny evening.

We would definitely go back for a third visit!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne1 21 reviews from this member

Great site, very clean & tidy with very pleasant wardens. Pitch sizes are generous & flat. Water taps on EHU was a nice touch.

Good size dog walking area and another separate grass area with football goals. Park a few minutes away with play area, outdoor pool and tennis courts.

Only negative point we could say about the entire site is that when the site is full there is probably not quite enough showers, but this would not deter us from returning and would only be a very minor inconvenience (no pun intended) and they are kepted exceptionally clean.

Overall a great site and if you are looking to holiday in this area we would recommend Petwood without hesitation.

A few minutes walk away is the village centre, which has a great selection of shops including the bakery other reviewers have mentioned and still serving the most delicious cakes!

Whilst in the area, we enjoyed horse riding at Hundleby & the children tried wakeboarding at Tattershall Park which was definitely worth the £11 each for a 1hr child taster session (must book in advance).

We followed a couple of AA walks, first one starting in Donnington-on-Bain (6m long) - recommend you go opposite way so the steepest part is at the very begining and almost at the end is a lovely stretch beside the River Bain (more of a stream) where you can picnic & the children & dogs can cool off with a paddle! Our other AA walk started in Belchford (8m long) with a choice of pubs in Tetford 2/3 the way round. We lunched in the Cross Keys, cheap food & drink in a quirky pub with very friendly staff. Both available on AA website to print off directions.

We also enjoyed going to Snipes Dale Country Park, selections of colour code trails from 30mins to 2hrs.

Petwood is a great base to explore some lovely countryside, the wolds are very pretty and there is a surprising amount to do in the area, all without the crowds and traffic other parts of the country experiences during the school holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mariac 8 reviews from this member

Superb campsite. The staff couldn't have been more helpful; when I initially tried to book they were full due to the 1940s weekend taking place in Woodhall but the receptionist telephoned the next day to say she had managed to fit us in. The two amenity blocks are absolutely immaculate, the pitches are large and level, there is a stock of basics at reception and a football field to keep the kids happy. Its also quite a bit cheaper than what we have paid on other more inferior sites. Wonderful Woodhall is minutes away with its by-gone charm and the park and lido couldn't be more conveniently situated. We attended the 1940s weekend which was superb. We had a very reasonably priced meal at The Mall in Woodhall when we couldn't get in at The Village Limits pub up the road. We will book next time. 'Zucci' is a very nice Italian bistro in Woodhall. We will definitely use this campsite again very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

We are new to camping and have only ever camped at Petwood, so I decided to leave a review, as I have found them very helpful when booking other sites for the summer.

This site is immaculate and clean. The pitches are a very reasonable size and no one appeared to be too far from the toilet block. The site is not completely dark at night and it is easy to visit the toilets without having to take a torch.

This is slightly more expensive per night than neighbouring sites, but we felt the cleanliness and pitch size meant it was worth paying.

In the surrounding area there is the lovely Kinema, which is worth a visit and my kids loved he outdoor pool.

This has been a very good site to start camping at, but my only worry is that other sites won't match up to this one.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankies family 12 reviews from this member

In short a top notch site!

In detail: Helpful friendly staff, immaculate toilets and showers. Small well kept and just fabulous! We had a great spot overlooking the play field which was great for the kids. South facing on a Mega hot July weekend on level grass pitch with plenty of space.

Little on site facilities but they didn't need it. Public park suitable for children of all ages within a few minutes walk, outdoor lido that was so popular we couldn't get in, Woodhall spa centre 10 min walk max which had everything.

We had a great carvery at the hotel pub in woodhall centre and can't wait to return to try the restaurant in the woods as this looked fab but was just closing when we found it!

We went for the weekend as we went to waddington air show which was fabulous but would have been equally happy to have spent the whole weekend on site/ in woodhall spa and will defo be returning to petwood.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3258 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019