Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa > Petwood Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariac 8 reviews from this member

 Superb campsite. The staff couldn't have been more helpful; when I initially tried to book they were full due to the 1940s weekend taking place in Woodhall but the receptionist telephoned the next day to say she had managed to fit us in. The two amenity blocks are absolutely immaculate, the pitches are large and level, there is a stock of basics at reception and a football field to keep the kids happy. Its also quite a bit cheaper than what we have paid on other more inferior sites. Wonderful Woodhall is minutes away with its by-gone charm and the park and lido couldn't be more conveniently situated. We attended the 1940s weekend which was superb. We had a very reasonably priced meal at The Mall in Woodhall when we couldn't get in at The Village Limits pub up the road. We will book next time. 'Zucci' is a very nice Italian bistro in Woodhall. We will definitely use this campsite again very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

 We are new to camping and have only ever camped at Petwood, so I decided to leave a review, as I have found them very helpful when booking other sites for the summer.

This site is immaculate and clean. The pitches are a very reasonable size and no one appeared to be too far from the toilet block. The site is not completely dark at night and it is easy to visit the toilets without having to take a torch.

This is slightly more expensive per night than neighbouring sites, but we felt the cleanliness and pitch size meant it was worth paying.

In the surrounding area there is the lovely Kinema, which is worth a visit and my kids loved he outdoor pool.

This has been a very good site to start camping at, but my only worry is that other sites won't match up to this one. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankies family 12 reviews from this member

 In short a top notch site!

In detail: Helpful friendly staff, immaculate toilets and showers. Small well kept and just fabulous! We had a great spot overlooking the play field which was great for the kids. South facing on a Mega hot July weekend on level grass pitch with plenty of space.

Little on site facilities but they didn't need it. Public park suitable for children of all ages within a few minutes walk, outdoor lido that was so popular we couldn't get in, Woodhall spa centre 10 min walk max which had everything.

We had a great carvery at the hotel pub in woodhall centre and can't wait to return to try the restaurant in the woods as this looked fab but was just closing when we found it!

We went for the weekend as we went to waddington air show which was fabulous but would have been equally happy to have spent the whole weekend on site/ in woodhall spa and will defo be returning to petwood. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Juggler06 1 review from this member

 Site is clean & tidy.

Showers inadequate for site when full.

Wardens helpful & showed you to your pitch.

Shop basic but plenty of shops in Woodhall Spa

Pitches are large enough for caravan car & awning.

When we were there the site very busy and more than 1 car is allowed per pitch so our area looked more like a car park than a campsite. Would not visit again during busy season.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nathan1867 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from petwood caravan park and one word sums in up excellent!

The staff are very friendly and helpful, very organized.

The site is clean and tidy, plenty of toilet blocks, no problems waiting to say how busy it got, only small niggle is that the showers were to hot? like I say very small niggle!

The pub near by was a little expensive but the meal was lovely.

Next to the camp site is an open air pool that is heated, it looked busy at time's but we didn't go in as the wife didn't bring her cozy(any excuse)

So don't know what it's like, there's also a kid's play area nearby and you also have woodhall spa cricket club next to the ground.

Would go again know problems!

Would highly recommend to anybody wanting a nice break away from everything!

10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pazomo 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite - we went for the weekend and wished we could have stayed for the week.

The pitches are very large and well maintained. Every pitch has an electrical hookup and water supply.

We arrived late due to traffic but received a very warm welcome from the staff and someone also came by later to check how we were getting on.

Throughout our stay the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and nice and warm at night! There were plenty for the size of the site so there was hardly any queuing. Laundry rooms and washing up rooms were equally spotless.

There is a nice on-site shop selling a few basics and they will also get you a paper if you order the day before. They also provide lots of information about the area, places to visit and where to eat.

The site is lovely for children. There is a small grassy area at the back where children can play football. In the shop they have a children's book box so that kids can borrow a book or swap it for one of their own. The Jubilee Park playground and outdoor pool are 2 mins walk from the campsite.

There is also a designated dog walking area for those who bring dogs.

The campsite is very well located, only a few minutes walk into Woodhall Spa where there is a small supermarket, shops, restaurants and a fantastic deli. Close to local attractions but is still quiet and peaceful.

We will be back and will make sure we book for longer this time! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paralee 3 reviews from this member

 First time visit for this site but it won't be the last. The wardens were so friendly. Showing us to our pitch - which was a very generous size. The site itself was very well run and very clean. The shower block was cleaned constantly. Plenty of hot water. We walked into the village which took around 10/15 minutes where there are a couple of bars, a Chinese take-away, cafes and shops. There are plenty of places to travel by car as well. A great little site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arabscot 6 reviews from this member

 As everyone has commented, brilliantly maintained site with spotless facilities, and friendly staff.

As to tent specifics - you get a flat, very large, grassy pitch, each with EHU post that includes your very own water supply. Freezer available in the site office only. Intrusive noise - the morning chorus from the local rookeries.

One additional facility that others may have missed - free wifi. We were about 90 yards away from the router but still managed to watch an hour long episode of Holby on BBCi with only a couple of buffer freezes - so a pretty good signal.

For kids, five aside grassy football pitch at the back of the site, and just before the front gate the adjoining public park includes a heated outdoor swimming pool, kids playground, and cafe.

Excellent site, great facilities, and the village has a wide selection of shops and restaurants, and the pub has a decent offering of beers. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skparkes 1 review from this member

 Having read the reviews on this site, we chose Petwood for our first foray in our caravan. We were not disappointed.

We didn't start well. Last arrivals are supposed to be at 7pm but we arrived at 8. No problem, we had a friendly welcome and completed the arrival process in the morning.

The facilities are spotless. Toilets, showers and washing up rooms were in modern, clean blocks. Hot water was plentiful and delivered at good pressure. Washing up bowls and drainers were provided and every sink had its own J cloth for wiping up after yourself. Thoughtful and helps keep things clean.

The surrounding area is good for families. Kinema in the Woods is superb and the swimming pool excellent. Both are close enough to walk with the swimming pool 2 minutes from the gate.

We had a hard standing pitch. Water and electric were close at hand and the post illuminated. Pitches are gravel and flat but it was tight getting the van on with the car and pushing was very hard work!

If all the sites we visit are this good we will be happy! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chambersclan 3 reviews from this member

 In a word - Excellent!

This campsite is the best we've stayed at so far in our camping life. It has just about everything for everyone and caters to every need - as far as we are concerned!

* Excellent clean facilities - shower/toilet blocks are regularly cleaned & maintained, there's always hot water (no extra charge), centrally heated when necessary and we've never had to queue.

* Superb range of facilities - hot showers, clean toilets, washing up room, laundry room (small charge to use machines), chemical disposal, recycling, dog exercise area, kids play field and a well-stocked shop with plenty of leaflets regarding the local area.

* Astoundingly large pitches! We easily fit our 8m x 4m tent, windbreak, 2 cars and even have room to spare!

* Great value for money - no 'hidden' extras (see site for current prices)

* Perfect location - great for all that Woodhall Spa and the surrounding area has to offer, for the whole family. We love the Kinema in the woods, the Jubilee pool (within walking distance), excellent cycle routes that are fully tarmacked, local BBMF visitor centre, Tattershall castle, the beach and so much more!

* And last but by no means least, the fantastic customer service you receive from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Chris, Dane & the team couldn't be more accommodating.

It is not within the woods so there are no mature trees on site. We like this as there is less risk of being bitten or having sap attack your tent! It also means that you get full advantage of any good weather (although a parasol in hot sun would be helpful) and you get to enjoy the beautiful sunsets.

We have just had a wonderful long weekend here and have already booked for another 3 weeks in total this year! Even though we're local (we live 35 miles away), it is the perfect escape from the hectic daily routine and we are counting the sleeps until we come again. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Petwood Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodhall Spa      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020