Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa > Petwood Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Housem8s 11 reviews from this member

 I rarely go overboasrd with reviews, but I have to say that this site was almost certainly the best we have ever stayed on with our caravan.

Loos and showers spotless, hand sanitizer by the chemical closets, nice mixture of grass and hard-standing, spacious pitches, genuinely helpful and dedicated management, I couldn't find fault with anything (and I'm a pretty grumpy sod usually!)

The town of Woodhall Spa is a 10 minute walk with all the services one usually needs, pub, restaurants, takeaway and a coffee shop with fast wi-fi (there's none at the Petwood site, my only minor criticism).

WS also has a hardware store, Budgens, Co-Op, petrol station etc etc.

All in all, thoroughly recommended, esp if you like cycling, it's as flat as a pancake for MILES around and there's a cycle path converted from a disused railway, which runs within 1. 4 miles of the caravan site; the path goes from Lincoln to Boston with pubs and shops alog the way - delightful.

Petwood Park was definitely a winner for us. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: gert1166 2 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely long weekend at petwood camp. The facilities are excellent and the staff extremely friendly.

We have a large tent and the pitch was more than big enough. The toilet and shower blocks are spotless and I couldn't find fault with them if I wanted too.

The small town is very nice with some great shops. Would recommend the deli, it's amazing. Shops are within very easy walk of the campsite.

All together a great place and would stay again.

One tiny thing if you are going; the sign from the main road is small and not easy to see so be aware. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skokybear 3 reviews from this member

 Petwood has all the facilities you need, a lovely location, well maintained pitches and beautiful showers/wash rooms and toilet blocks.

Even though the weather was against us we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were fantastic and very helpful.

Lots to do around the area and next door to another park with swimming pool that Petwood have discounted swims for their customers.

We would definitely visit again. Thank you to all the staff for a great enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wildgeese 3 reviews from this member

 This caravan site is great ! The wardens Dane, Chris and June are so helpful and can't do enough for you and are friendly and welcoming!

The facilities are always spotless, warm and smell lovely.

The caravan site is kept neat and tidy in every way. The shop has all your basic essentials, but Woodhall village is only a short walk for everything else

Even in the recent adverse weather they have done everything they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The surrounding area is lovely from the open air pool to the Kinema in the woods this village is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chambersclan 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend at the Petwood. What a wonderful site. We were greeted with an extremely friendly welcome, the Wardens could not have been more helpful.

Our pitch was vast, our tent isn't small by any means so even with the car parked conveniently near the tent we still had loads of room around us for the girls to run around.

The best thing about the site are the facilities. Spotless doesn't come close. Absolutely wonderful in every way. The site was quite busy but the toilets and showers were always clean. Lots of hot water and nice that the rooms were heated so you didn't feel cold when getting dressed. Something the children really appreciate.

Great location, we went to the Kinema in the Woods which is literally across the road. Only a short walk. If you have never been it's a must do. Very unique. The Jubilee Park with it's newly refurbished Outdoor pool was very handy, both our girls love swimming. It's minutes from the camp site.

The deli and bakery in the village is amazing, my Wife could spend all day in there! And we would highly recommend The Mall Public House on the high street. Great food (using fresh local ingredients!) with children made to feel very welcome.

All in all a great weekend away and we cant wait to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

 This site is excellent. Very clean and tidy, well set out. The toilets and showers are particularly clean and tidy. Members of Camping and Caravanning Club are given a 2 discount per night - brilliant value for money. There is more than enough information on the local area available at reception, especially if you have a dog. There is a little 'shop' for the basics on site. Maybe my only gripe is too much gravel around the pitches, trying to walk quietly around the other campers at night or early morning is impossible.

The walk into Woodhall Spa is not far. The Mall Public House is very good and dog-friendly. The Tea-shop in the woods is also an Italian style restaurant which looks good for a one-off treat (you can sit out on the covered verandah with dogs). The Silk Orchid (Oriental restaurant/takeaway) is excellent - try Sea on Fire, yum yum. The bakery is a must. There are shops for grocery top-ups, etc. We visited the Petwood Hotel across the road from the site and were amazed to find that they allow dogs in. This place is really worth a visit. Go and see Christine at the Cottage Museum and Tourist Information Office, she is so helpful and friendly.

If you enjoy walking there is a really good, flat but long walk into Horncastle through the golf-course and along the old railway line on the Viking Way. Good day out with nature.

We will be returning to this area many times because it has so much to offer and the site is perfect. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Clan Kelly 2 reviews from this member

 We found this campsite by pure luck after deciding not to stay at the campsite we had originally booked for our holiday. The staff were really nice and very helpful.

I have to say this is the best campsite me or my family have ever stayed at, and some of our party had been camping for over 40 years!

The facilities were superb, clean and with everything thought of. If possible an addition of a wash cubicle would be nice - but that is being really quite picky of an amazing site. My son is 2 and loved the freedom of the open site, but we were relaxed as it was so safe for him to run and play. Really nice to go to a site that allowed ball games and children to bike around. The facilities at Jubilee Park nextdoor were ideal with a swimming pool, and play park.

Woodhall Spa is a beautiful village with everything you need a great range of independant shops, and if you take a bike then really you can park your car up for the hols!

Highly recommend the cake shop - the challenge is to get past the window!

The museum in the village was very interesting and the member of staff here was brilliant. We got caught in the worst storm ever - power cut and 4+ inches of rain, and he was most concerned for everyone getting back safely.

There is a cinema but we didn't get there - only due to having a little one.

We went to the area purely to go to the Lincolnshire Aviation Museum - a fantastic day out and well worth a visit. The three boys in our group (ages 64, 40 & 2) didn't want to go home!

We also visited the Thorpe Camp which had so much to see, and were lucky enough to see the Lancaster take off and then fly over us.

My family are not plane enthusiasts but still found the history of this remarkable area fascinating.

We also popped to Horncastle which again has a good range of independent shops.

We had a fantastic holiday here - only cut short by the before mentioned storm which flooded our awning, and we can't wait to go back again next year! So glad that we found this gem and happy to spread the word! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kezzapee 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at the Petwood before and had been impressed enough to return for a second visit.

It is a lovely, quiet site (a few small family groups on an evening and children playing was the most we heard) with modern clean facilities. The toilet blocks are warm, clean and smell nice! Because the site is quite small, they are only a minute away from every pitch. There were about 5 cubicles and sinks and 2 showers with a small separate changing area. In reference to the previous review; there are 2 blocks so 4 male and 4 female showers in total. The laundry and indoor pot wash are great. We were also told that we could use the separate, large disabled toilet and shower for our two young children.

The pitches are level and a good size, even on the bank holiday weekend we didn't feel too cramped. The on-site wardens are always available and very friendly. The site has a small shop and there was also a catering van on the mornings we were there. The dog walking area is a fenced field where you can let your dog off if you wish - ideal for us.

There are no other facilities on site but there is an open air pool, playground and tennis courts on the neighbouring Jubilee site. (half price tickets for the pool are available from reception) Woodhall Spa is a lovely village with little shops, a co-op, a deli, take-aways, restaurants and several pubs. There is also a Kinema in the woods; an ideal way to spend a wet afternoon.

Overall if you like a quiet, clean, safe site the Petwood is a good choice. (its an ideal choice for anybody new to camping who is dreading using campsite bathrooms!) Good value at 23. 50 for a pitch with EHU. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: The Admiral 34 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a very windy weekend at this site. We don't normally use family campsites (preferring adult only), but we were at Petwood for a particular reason. Very nice site, facilities were excellent, hot free showers and undercover washing up (although you need to take a bowl as the sinks have no plugs)

Quite a large site, but the facilities seemed to cope quite well whilst we were there didn't have to queue to use showers at all. However there are only 2 male and 2 female showers for a site with 98 pitches so I'm not sure what it would be like over a BH weekend.

Very nice location, easy walking distance from lovely Woodhall Spa and plenty to see and do in the area.

Couple of points to consider, the site was quite muddy due to all the rain, including all the drive ways, so I think it might be an idea to gravel the main paths rather than just having mesh reinforced grass.

The other point is more of a safety point, I know that the six metre rule is only a guide line, but there were quite a few tents I saw who were pitched very close together. One spark from that groups campfire & the whole lot would have gone up!

Would I return, yes and that's really saying something for me as I said at the start we don't normally use family sites, but this is a 'good un'. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kugae 3 reviews from this member

 This was the third time we had been to Woodhall Spa but first time at this site. The location is great location and easy walking distance into Woodhall plus some nice surrounding walks for the dogs.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Facilities on site were of a good standard and always clean when we used them.

We can recommend this site to families and dog owners alike and will certainly come and visit again. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Petwood Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodhall Spa      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2335 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020