Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wildgeese 3 reviews from this member

This caravan site is great ! The wardens Dane, Chris and June are so helpful and can't do enough for you and are friendly and welcoming!

The facilities are always spotless, warm and smell lovely.

The caravan site is kept neat and tidy in every way. The shop has all your basic essentials, but Woodhall village is only a short walk for everything else

Even in the recent adverse weather they have done everything they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The surrounding area is lovely from the open air pool to the Kinema in the woods this village is worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chambersclan 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Petwood. What a wonderful site. We were greeted with an extremely friendly welcome, the Wardens could not have been more helpful.

Our pitch was vast, our tent isn't small by any means so even with the car parked conveniently near the tent we still had loads of room around us for the girls to run around.

The best thing about the site are the facilities. Spotless doesn't come close. Absolutely wonderful in every way. The site was quite busy but the toilets and showers were always clean. Lots of hot water and nice that the rooms were heated so you didn't feel cold when getting dressed. Something the children really appreciate.

Great location, we went to the Kinema in the Woods which is literally across the road. Only a short walk. If you have never been it's a must do. Very unique. The Jubilee Park with it's newly refurbished Outdoor pool was very handy, both our girls love swimming. It's minutes from the camp site.

The deli and bakery in the village is amazing, my Wife could spend all day in there! And we would highly recommend The Mall Public House on the high street. Great food (using fresh local ingredients!) with children made to feel very welcome.

All in all a great weekend away and we cant wait to return.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

This site is excellent. Very clean and tidy, well set out. The toilets and showers are particularly clean and tidy. Members of Camping and Caravanning Club are given a 2 discount per night - brilliant value for money. There is more than enough information on the local area available at reception, especially if you have a dog. There is a little 'shop' for the basics on site. Maybe my only gripe is too much gravel around the pitches, trying to walk quietly around the other campers at night or early morning is impossible.

The walk into Woodhall Spa is not far. The Mall Public House is very good and dog-friendly. The Tea-shop in the woods is also an Italian style restaurant which looks good for a one-off treat (you can sit out on the covered verandah with dogs). The Silk Orchid (Oriental restaurant/takeaway) is excellent - try Sea on Fire, yum yum. The bakery is a must. There are shops for grocery top-ups, etc. We visited the Petwood Hotel across the road from the site and were amazed to find that they allow dogs in. This place is really worth a visit. Go and see Christine at the Cottage Museum and Tourist Information Office, she is so helpful and friendly.

If you enjoy walking there is a really good, flat but long walk into Horncastle through the golf-course and along the old railway line on the Viking Way. Good day out with nature.

We will be returning to this area many times because it has so much to offer and the site is perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clan Kelly 2 reviews from this member

We found this campsite by pure luck after deciding not to stay at the campsite we had originally booked for our holiday. The staff were really nice and very helpful.

I have to say this is the best campsite me or my family have ever stayed at, and some of our party had been camping for over 40 years!

The facilities were superb, clean and with everything thought of. If possible an addition of a wash cubicle would be nice - but that is being really quite picky of an amazing site. My son is 2 and loved the freedom of the open site, but we were relaxed as it was so safe for him to run and play. Really nice to go to a site that allowed ball games and children to bike around. The facilities at Jubilee Park nextdoor were ideal with a swimming pool, and play park.

Woodhall Spa is a beautiful village with everything you need a great range of independant shops, and if you take a bike then really you can park your car up for the hols!

Highly recommend the cake shop - the challenge is to get past the window!

The museum in the village was very interesting and the member of staff here was brilliant. We got caught in the worst storm ever - power cut and 4+ inches of rain, and he was most concerned for everyone getting back safely.

There is a cinema but we didn't get there - only due to having a little one.

We went to the area purely to go to the Lincolnshire Aviation Museum - a fantastic day out and well worth a visit. The three boys in our group (ages 64, 40 & 2) didn't want to go home!

We also visited the Thorpe Camp which had so much to see, and were lucky enough to see the Lancaster take off and then fly over us.

My family are not plane enthusiasts but still found the history of this remarkable area fascinating.

We also popped to Horncastle which again has a good range of independent shops.

We had a fantastic holiday here - only cut short by the before mentioned storm which flooded our awning, and we can't wait to go back again next year! So glad that we found this gem and happy to spread the word!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kezzapee 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed at the Petwood before and had been impressed enough to return for a second visit.

It is a lovely, quiet site (a few small family groups on an evening and children playing was the most we heard) with modern clean facilities. The toilet blocks are warm, clean and smell nice! Because the site is quite small, they are only a minute away from every pitch. There were about 5 cubicles and sinks and 2 showers with a small separate changing area. In reference to the previous review; there are 2 blocks so 4 male and 4 female showers in total. The laundry and indoor pot wash are great. We were also told that we could use the separate, large disabled toilet and shower for our two young children.

The pitches are level and a good size, even on the bank holiday weekend we didn't feel too cramped. The on-site wardens are always available and very friendly. The site has a small shop and there was also a catering van on the mornings we were there. The dog walking area is a fenced field where you can let your dog off if you wish - ideal for us.

There are no other facilities on site but there is an open air pool, playground and tennis courts on the neighbouring Jubilee site. (half price tickets for the pool are available from reception) Woodhall Spa is a lovely village with little shops, a co-op, a deli, take-aways, restaurants and several pubs. There is also a Kinema in the woods; an ideal way to spend a wet afternoon.

Overall if you like a quiet, clean, safe site the Petwood is a good choice. (its an ideal choice for anybody new to camping who is dreading using campsite bathrooms!) Good value at 23. 50 for a pitch with EHU.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: The Admiral 34 reviews from this member

Just come back from a very windy weekend at this site. We don't normally use family campsites (preferring adult only), but we were at Petwood for a particular reason. Very nice site, facilities were excellent, hot free showers and undercover washing up (although you need to take a bowl as the sinks have no plugs)

Quite a large site, but the facilities seemed to cope quite well whilst we were there didn't have to queue to use showers at all. However there are only 2 male and 2 female showers for a site with 98 pitches so I'm not sure what it would be like over a BH weekend.

Very nice location, easy walking distance from lovely Woodhall Spa and plenty to see and do in the area.

Couple of points to consider, the site was quite muddy due to all the rain, including all the drive ways, so I think it might be an idea to gravel the main paths rather than just having mesh reinforced grass.

The other point is more of a safety point, I know that the six metre rule is only a guide line, but there were quite a few tents I saw who were pitched very close together. One spark from that groups campfire & the whole lot would have gone up!

Would I return, yes and that's really saying something for me as I said at the start we don't normally use family sites, but this is a 'good un'.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kugae 3 reviews from this member

This was the third time we had been to Woodhall Spa but first time at this site. The location is great location and easy walking distance into Woodhall plus some nice surrounding walks for the dogs.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Facilities on site were of a good standard and always clean when we used them.

We can recommend this site to families and dog owners alike and will certainly come and visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roving pair 28 reviews from this member

Very nice site and in a very good location, just a short walk into the town itself and plenty to do and see. Nice shopping and plenty of pubs and places to eat. The bus service into Lincoln is very good and Lincoln is a lovely place to visit. The site itself is very well maintained and the showers and toilets are very clean. There is a lovely hotel a few minutes walk away which is well worth a visit if not only for the gardens. Would go again if around that area.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluey100rabbit 5 reviews from this member

We choose Petwood as our first trip as an introduction to touring. It was good value for money and easy to book.

When we arrived the staff were very helpful and showed us to our pitch themselves. The pitches were all clean and tidy with both a hook up and individual water access and clearly labelled. It was easy to access the pitch as the roads all had non slip plastic tiles in the grass.

The toilets and showers were right next to us they were extremely clean and tidy with plenty of hot water, this is something we didn't expect with being the first bank holiday of the year.

There was a separate dog walking area and plenty of dog bins. The site is situated in a lovely town with lots to do and see.

We used the local playground which was a 2 minute walk away and there is an outdoor pool for use which we didn't try as it was being rebuilt for this summer.

We would definitely go here again.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey Pat 8 reviews from this member

We come up for the Fireworks and weren't disappointed. We have stayed before, so knew what to expect from earlier in the season. I would like to add that this site at the end of the season was as pristine as it was at the start. A big thank you to the staff who have looked after the site all year.

No litter, shower blocks absolutely immaculate, warm and showers hot.

No play equipment but its available in Jubilee Park.

Just one point. The shower blocks are now secured with a key and you could be locked in. Perhaps a combination lock might be the answer.

Anyway. Back again in the spring

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938