Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joannec 9 reviews from this member

What a fab site.

Arrived on a very wet bank holiday, but the pitch had good drainage and was largee in size.

The washing facilities looked new and were immaculate. However there was only 2 showers per gender per block, and we did have a long wait one morning even though ther wa only one person in front of us.

There were mainly tents on this site and people seemed to go in large parties. Some nights were a little noisy but that's what camping is about. The children made there own entertainment and seemed to make loads of friends. The town had a co-op and a budgens, also a lovely Chinese.

All in all a fab little campsite, (more deemed for families, than couples, )that is a great find for long weekends and for large group get aways.

Just remember there is no shop, playground or bar, so being self sufficient is a must!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pcxray 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here in August and had a wonderful time. The site has friendly staff, clean facilities and is ideally situated for visits to the local area, Lincoln and the coast.

The toilet blocks are immaculate with large shower cubicles. Each pitch is really spacious and has electricity and fresh water. We found the site very quiet at night even though it was quite busy.

Our children loved the ice cream from the site shop, Jubilee park open air swimming pool (a 2 minute walk) and the beautiful local cinema!

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

Went for our annual week away with friends. We were in a caravan with awning. Our friends in a tent. Really large spacious pitches and electric and water were shared by two pitches.

The bollards with electric and water on lit up at night. Pitches are in areas of about 6 pitches divided by small hedges with newly planted trees which are presently only about one feet in height.

Petwood camping and caravan park is hidden by the Jubilee caravan park. Facilities on site were superb and we felt they were our own private en- suite as the site was quiet. With two blocks each having a separate ladies and gents toilets. In the ladies there were 4 toilets and two showers. The gents the same. A pot washing room with three sinks one being at child height. A laundry room with washer and dryer. Waste water and Elsan disposal points.

Woodhall Spa village is lovely and old fashioned with its own small Kinema in the woods. There is a Budgens and co-op. Butchers and a fabulous bakery/delicatessen ice cream parlour and the smallest of shoe shops. Pizza, chippie Indian and two Chinese takeaways.

Well situated 40 mins to the coast of Skegness or Lincoln city centre. Gibraltar point nature reserve, RAF aviation Museum or the world war memorial visitor centre at Conningsby.

Overall a good week and a fabulous site which was well looked after and kept clean. Wardens very cheerful and helpful showing you to your pitch.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonparkes13 2 reviews from this member

This was our first time at Petwood and what a brilliant site. The site is set behind Jubilee Park and far enough away thier site. We were welcomed and shown to our pitch by a very helpful lady on a pink bike.

The pitch was large, space for 2 pitches would of easily accommodated 3 pitches. The site is very open and plenty of space. The facilities are unbelievably clean and look like they were brand new and never been used. There was is only 2 showers in each for the males and females, with 2 blocks - this was not a problem if you don't go at peak morning time! They could of done with music in the blocks!

The outdoor swimming pool is a must, which is a 2 minute walk away. However, you don't get discount unlike the Jubilee Site campers (which is council owned like the swimming pool). This was not a problem, we went in the morning and went again with the same ticket in the evening and just had to pay the cost of one adult (2 kids free).

The play park is right next do to the swimming pool and very good as well. Jubilee Park also offers putting, bowls, tennis and is a lovely park. The village of Woodhall Spa is a 5-10 minute walk down the main road and well worth visiting the cake shop! The village also has a medium sized supermarket.

We had a great time here and is now at the TOP of out campsites list. We bumped into some friends while we were there and they had booked in the Jubilee Site, so we went round to visit and was amazed in how poor that site was in comparison to the Petwood only just over the hedge.

The Jubilee Site cramped all the tents in on top of each other (personally I have never seen it SO bad!) and the facilities made your eyes sting. So stay away from the Jubilee Site we were so lucky to choose the Petwood as if we didn't I think we would of turn around and came home rather than staying at the Jubilee (this may sound a bit negative against the other site but I was seriously amazed how poor it was).

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Idf560 6 reviews from this member

We have just had a four night stay here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

A spacious pitch with electric and water, very quiet and clean with friendly and helpful staff, the toilet and shower facilities were spotless.

For the aviation buff there is plenty to see and do with the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight stationed just a few minutes drive away at RAF Coningsby and many other wartime aviation attractions. Tattershal Castle is also close by as are the market towns of Horncastle, Boston and Louth.

Facilities in Woodhal Spa also feature plenty of shops for browsing and of course there is the Kinema in the Woods.

Although we tend not to visit the same area twice, we would most definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moult1 1 review from this member

Just got back from a great weekend at Petwood, what a great campsite we arrived early (8. 30)not sure if we could get on site or not, but the lovely ladies in reception soon had us sorted and pitched up.

The pitches are very large with plenty of room to sit outside. The toilets and showers are immaculate and were kept this way all day, and there was always plenty of hot water.

The site is perfectly situated close to Woodhall Spa and lovely walks in thw woods. One must is the deli in Woodhall the cakes are out of this world.

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bdplusfour 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend and the site was full. Our pitch was a good size for our caravan, awning and car. Some people had two awnings on their van (one either side). It is a fairly new campsite and it is clean and tidy. All pitches have electric hook up and a water tap which is usually shared by two pitches.

Although the shower blocks were clean and tidy and the showers were spacious, the showers themselves were luke warm or cold. I went for a shower on the first morning and it was luke warm, I decided to go a bit earlier (8.30am)the next morning and found it was cold, I went later on the third morning (10.30am)and the shower was just about warm. There was also always a queue for the showers as there are only 2 shower blocks with 2 showers in each for the ladies.

We went with 2 other families and they found the showers to be the same as us, even though they went at different times. My husband managed to get a hot shower at around 11am on one of the days.

There is a small shop in the reception area which apparently sells sweets and a few other items. It is a very short walk into Woodhall Spa itself, which has a Budgens,a Co op, take aways, newsagents etc. It also has a cinema called Kinema in the woods which shows the latest films.

Although the site has no play area for children, it is only a short walk (3 mins)to Jubilee park which also has an outdoor swimming pool.

The location is fab but I feel that the lack of hot water and the queuing for the showers lets this site down. It is a lot more expensive than it's neighbouring site and I will probably only go again if Jubilee Park Site is fully booked or the lack of hot water is sorted out.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Njbrice 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from 3 nights at this site,and we are already looking forward to visiting it again. Although it was at full capacity the site was reasonably quiet and silent after 11.30. The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate and spacious. The site is very open as its so new, so the hedges have yet to grow as such shelter is limited which could be a problem if you are in a tent and it is as windy as it was when we stayed there. The site is in a great location as you can walk to Petworth hotel and visit the Dambusters Mess From 2nd world war or walk to the amazing cinema in the woods also there are loads of museums to visit. Woodhall spa is like a town from a bygone era very welcoming and unique.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tvkmoc 1 review from this member

We would highly recommend this site, staff are very friendly and helpful, cleaner checked the toilets and showers regularly, pitches are a good size.

With all the near by facilities such as swimming pool, tennis courts etc and a short walk to town location is ideal. Surrounding Woodhall Spa lovely area with a warm welcome from locals.

The cinema in the woods is also worth taking a look to remind us of how it used to be.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@julie 53 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 day midweek break at this site. Facilities are as previously stated and are immaculate. It was very quiet whilst we were there and we had a lovely spacious sunny pitch.

We picked this site as it is only a mile or so down a quiet lane onto the traffic free 'Water Railway - cycle track' which goes all the way to Lincoln.

However the site appears to have locked the gate onto the lane and blocked access by having a large pile of soil at the other side, reason for this unknown but its a nuisance as you have to go up to the main road and along it for 200 mtrs then back down the lane which is adjacent to the site.

We still enjoyed our stay and would go again. The Kinema in the woods was lovely and well worth the visit.

Some small local shops in the village, a Coop and a Budgens. Tesco is 6 miles away at Horncastle which you can also cycle to, mainly off road.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lincolnshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016