Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa > Petwood Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Njbrice 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 3 nights at this site,and we are already looking forward to visiting it again. Although it was at full capacity the site was reasonably quiet and silent after 11.30. The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate and spacious. The site is very open as its so new, so the hedges have yet to grow as such shelter is limited which could be a problem if you are in a tent and it is as windy as it was when we stayed there. The site is in a great location as you can walk to Petworth hotel and visit the Dambusters Mess From 2nd world war or walk to the amazing cinema in the woods also there are loads of museums to visit. Woodhall spa is like a town from a bygone era very welcoming and unique. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tvkmoc 1 review from this member

 We would highly recommend this site, staff are very friendly and helpful, cleaner checked the toilets and showers regularly, pitches are a good size.

With all the near by facilities such as swimming pool, tennis courts etc and a short walk to town location is ideal. Surrounding Woodhall Spa lovely area with a warm welcome from locals.

The cinema in the woods is also worth taking a look to remind us of how it used to be. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 4 day midweek break at this site. Facilities are as previously stated and are immaculate. It was very quiet whilst we were there and we had a lovely spacious sunny pitch.

We picked this site as it is only a mile or so down a quiet lane onto the traffic free 'Water Railway - cycle track' which goes all the way to Lincoln.

However the site appears to have locked the gate onto the lane and blocked access by having a large pile of soil at the other side, reason for this unknown but its a nuisance as you have to go up to the main road and along it for 200 mtrs then back down the lane which is adjacent to the site.

We still enjoyed our stay and would go again. The Kinema in the woods was lovely and well worth the visit.

Some small local shops in the village, a Coop and a Budgens. Tesco is 6 miles away at Horncastle which you can also cycle to, mainly off road. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoleen 37 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great weekend at this lovely site. Spacious pitches with 16 amp electrics and a water tap at each hook up point and there is no charge for awnings, spotless facilities, although could be busy if the site was full as there are only 2 showers and 4 toilets and four wash basins in the block we used, I assume the other block is the same.

Just a short walk (10 min) into the village with a great pub and a few cafes. There is also a chip shop if you turn right at the mini roundabout. There are numerous walks through the woods, and it is a lovely setting. My husband was quite taken with the fact that there was a cricket match on just past the entrance to the site on Sunday.

All in all a fantastic weekend on a great site, must mention the warden and her husband, as we were leaving we had a problem with our electrics on the car, when he couldn't help he directed us to a local garage where the problem was promptly fixed. Although slightly more expensive than some other sites we will definitely be returning when we have a free weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SCP2909 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a wonderful short break at this site. We have been camping for many years and this site is definitely one of the best maintained we have ever come across.

The toilet blocks were absolutely spotless every time we went in there, and the cleaner (who was absolutely lovely) was always in and out, checking that they stayed that way.

We were there over Easter weekend so the site was very busy yet still those blocks were pristine all the time. The disabled shower room was brilliant too, they told me to use it to shower my toddler as he refused to go in the other showers. He loved sitting on the wide seat and showering himself with the hand held shower!

The pot wash room (housed in the same block) was lovely too, with 3 sinks and loads of hot water. The campsite shop, although only stocking basic items was very reasonably priced, unlike many we have come across.

The site was quiet by around 10pm each night so ideal for families. The outdoor swimming pool wasn't open during our stay but I'm sure would be a big bonus during the summer season.

The children's play area was great too - large and fenced in with loads of things to play on. All my kids enjoyed it, from my 3 year old son to my 12 year old daughter.

All in all we were delighted with this site and will definitely be returning again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyCampers345 1 review from this member

 Me and my family have just returned from a camping trip at Petwood over the Easter weekend.

The Campsite itself was very busy with it being a bank holiday weekend, and unfortunately this meant that there was rather a lot of noise coming from the amount of small children and dogs that were there. This did cause a little disturbance in the mornings when the dogs started barking etc, but nothing unreasonable.

The facilities, it must be said were amazing. There were two toilet blocks on the site, each with their own male, female and disabled toilets and showers. There were also a washing up and laundry room for each toilet block.

Although the campsite was so full, the toilets and showers were always kept immaculate and the lady who cleans them was very friendly and happy to help. We thought that there might be some queueing issues with their only being two ladies showers per block, but this was not a problem as if there was a queue it was usually short and fairly quick moving.

The washing up facilities were very clean with three sinks per block, all with plenty of hot water.

The on site shop was well priced and stocked, but one minor problem we did come across was that they didn't sell milk and so we had to walk to the co-op in town to get some. All the reception staff were really friendly and welcoming and they let us put our freezer blocks in their ice cream freezer free of charge.

Another thing we did like about this campsite was the way that each pitch had it's own water tap with meant that you didn't have to lug your water tank miles like you do at some other campsites. Each water tap station thing had its own light on the top of it which made it very easy to find your way to the toilet block in the dead of night because all he paths were lit enough so that you could see the way, but not too bright to disturb your sleep.

One thing I think he park really could have benefited from would be it's own play park. There was one in a neighbouring campsite but it was too far away for my 10 year old son to walk to on his own and so he spent most of the time on he campsite complaining he was bored. Considering the amount of children on the site, even just a set of swings would be greatly used.

All in all I think that this campsite would be ideal for large groups of campers who didn't mind a bit of noise, but for fairly quiet, unsociable campers like ourselves we did find the sheer size and loudness of the campsite a definite disadvantage. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Briarose 11 reviews from this member

 We used this site several times last summer. The last time being in October.

This must now be one of the best sites in Woodhall Spa. The showers and toilets etc are superb and kept immaculate with everything gleaming. And in colder weather the central heating in them is most welcome.

The site is well placed for everything you need in Woodhall itself with plenty of take-aways etc. All within a short walk of the site. Walk through the woods opposite and you will find the Kinema in the woods showing all the latest films in this fascinating little wooden cinema. For an excellent Chinese takeaway the Golden Dragon do suberb meals.Try the ribs in batter simply yummy. Also the pizza and kebabs a few doors down does piping hot food which again we can't fault ( I can't remember the name but is near the mobility shop close to the roundabout).

I can also recommend McCauleys tea house in the woods, for excellent meals and snacks.Pot of tea etc. On a nice day sit on the verandah and watch the squirrels.

I am sure anyone visiting the Petwood site, will not be disappointed by the location and the friendly wardens who cannot do enough for you. Pitches are well spaced out and it is a pleasure to stay there. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pcxray 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic week at Petwood Caravan Park. Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities are brand new and very clean. Fresh water available at each post was a bonus (no walking for your water!).

Had some lovely walks through the woods, 16 mile cycle along the water railway to Bardney (nice pub at Southrey). There are some lovely restaurants and two supermarkets in the village within easy walking distance as well as a quaint cinema.

Beautiful heated swimming pool (very reasonably priced) and playground next to site (a big hit with the children). Will definitely return next year. Highly recommended - you will not be disappointed! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spudda1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for a lovely weekend. All the staff are very friendly and could not be more helpful. The facilities are excellent with large pitch sizes and easy access to water. The shower block is immaculate as are the washing up facilities. The pitch we were on was a bit stony but the ground was dry and level.

As an owner of a boisterous young dog, I was especially pleased with the large dog walking field which we used many times. The site is spacious and there are many walks in the fields nearby.

Woodhall itself is a charming place with lots to do nearby for young and old alike. I can not recommend it highly enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggie Bread 1 review from this member

 Just spent the weekend here, really clean site, the electric hook up and water taps are conveniently sited near pitches

Facilities were clean, would have liked a rubbish bin in the toilet block, used disabled shower on recommendation and it was good, two towel hooks so lack of somewhere to put your clothes.

The ground was quite stony so brought back some origami tent pegs! Jubillee Park: outdoor swimming pool was great, long queue on the Saturday so went on the Sunday, used the tennis courts, all with no problems.

Staff at the site were helpful and informative,had a whale of a time and would go again. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Petwood Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Petwood Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodhall Spa      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020