Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Petwood Camping & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Petwood Camping & Caravan Park
Off Stixwould Road
Woodhall Spa
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN10 6QH
Tel: 01526 354799
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 98
Open: 18/03 To 16/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SvenBoy 11 reviews from this member

Cannot fault this sight. Stayed here for the 2nd year in a row for the British Superbikes at nearby Cadwell Park. The price of my 2x2 metre tent and motorcycle was reduced by 6 per night from last year.

On booking, the staff told me that they were doing a fairer tariff for people who don't take up so much room, but increasing the prices for those who unfairly seem to spread their pitches out.

The facilities were kept clean to a high standard, and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

I look forward to making this an annual visit, and can recommend this wonderful sight to anybody.

Keep up the good work !

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spyder27 10 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for one night as we had a weekend in the area and we wanted to visit Tattershall Castle but will definitely be back. The site and facilities were spotless and from what we saw everywhere looked the same. Will definitely be back for a longer stay

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saspar 6 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a number of times before but haven't been for a couple of years. This was the first visit without children. Thankfully standards are still the same. Facilities are still immaculate, the pitches are large and grass is kept short. The hedges have now grown since previous visits which improves the pitches. Staff were as polite and helpful as usual. Perfect location for walking into Woodhall Spa with it's various fantastic facilities. Right next door to Jubilee Park and it's lovely outdoor pool and to the cricket club where we have watched matches previously. There are a few more rules about positioning of units, but this is to ensure everyone's safety and ability to enjoy their stay, so can't argue with that. You get what you pay for.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maffeeya 2 reviews from this member

Awesome campsite. Very clean and pitches were immaculate. Showers and washing facilities were top notch, staff very helpful and pleasant and a good average price for a great site and location. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again as its only 10 mins walk to woodhall spa center

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NikiW 4 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site, spacious pitches and nice and level.

Staff friendly and helpful

Easy walk into Woodhall Spa - two great pubs

Showers and toilets always clean

Plenty to do within walking distance for a long weekend.

Reluctant to give it a great review in case I can't get in next time!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jointbox30 8 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Petwood. It is a Gem of a site, well maintained with friendly staff It is situated in an area with loads of things to do and see. Horncastle is a great place to visit for the Antique hunters. World war two history is all around, to many to mention and the water park that is being developed is a must for all you water babes. Jubilee Park has bowls, croquet, tennis and a heated out door swimming pool. There a children's play area along with well maintained gardens. A yearly visit from now on.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimi_lincoln 2 reviews from this member

Had booked 4 pitches in 2015 for a 70th Birthday Party in 2016: All pitches allocated at time of booking. On arrival all 4 of us were allocated different pitches: This was not really an issue: The staff were ok but I feel over-worked & stressed, the husband & wife team were always courteous & polite. As we had around 30 people attending the party we were told on several occasions as to site policy on visitor leaving times. So felt slightly uncomfortable asking the guests to leave at 9pm. All the party guests were well behaved & not rowdy. All guests left at 9:15pm. The owner did say the next day - next year all guests will be charged. This is okay & a good idea, but talking to the Husband he said they will not be working here next year, as thought with the number of people looking after the site it is a full time job:(06:30 - 23:00)So we will see new faces here next year.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nurkeynoo 3 reviews from this member

Had a lovely first outing of the year and first visit to this site. Upon arrival we were greeted by kind and friendly wardens who led us to our pitch and helped align our unit. We were told where the facilities were and fire stations etc and left to it. The site was lovely and clean, grass cut short and bushes neat. The toilet block has ample showers and plenty of hot water. At night time it is silent - we really didn't hear anything despite the site being busy. The only down side was the lack of play equipment for children. Jubilee park is only across the way but it was too far for our young children to go alone meaning we couldn't send them to play while we relaxed. The town of Woodhall Spa is lovely with plenty of shops to walk around and the Kinema in the Woods is a great place to take the kids. We spent a sunny afternoon walking through the woodland to the town then a stroll around Jubilee Park with an ice cream. There's a lovely pub on the high street with the friendliest staff you could wish for and great food. Enjoyed our stay but as I said the lack of entertainment for kids would put me off returning until ours are older.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Landy2 3 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Petwood this summer. It is a lovely site, brilliantly clean facilities and convenient for walks either into Woodhall for shops or along the many lanes and paths. Great cycling as well. Next door is Jubilee Park with outdoor pool, playground, table tennis, putting green -the list goes on, a really well run park for activities.

The only But to mar this great site is the minority who act selfishly to spoil it for the rest of us. Like a previous reviewer, we experienced a noisy party occupying 3 pitches but making themselves heard throughout the site with music blaring out all day into the early hours-that is 2am! This happened over the bank holiday weekend-not just one night!

The warden is overstretched but even so we think he deals admirably with the running of the site but there are limits. He does respond to caravanners at all times of the the day and occasionally into the night! A site this size needs adequate staff levels to cope with these 'out of hours' demands. Indeed the owners need to consider this seriously.

We would like to visit again but would hope these issues had been rectified.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jlo Manchester 1 review from this member

What a lovely site this is and it is so convenient for walking in to Woodhall Spa and its local attractions. We stayed for a week and from Sunday to Thursday it was perfect. However, our last two nights (Friday and Saturday) were ruined by two couples who turned up in camper vans for the weekend (one parked next door to us and the other one was opposite them). Unfortunately, the couple next door to us seemed to think that everybody wanted to listen to their radio and their chatter from first thing in the morning until 1. 00am the following morning. This then carried on throughout Saturday only this time they had latched on to the couple opposite them and they all sat outside talking and laughing until the early hours of Sunday morning. It's sad to think that the wardens don't go around at night to check that there is nobody causing a disturbance as I am sure it was not just us who were affected by all this noise. We decided not to complain because we didn't want to spoil their enjoyment but we would definitely think twice before booking on this site again on a Friday or Saturday night.

The facilities were very clean and well looked after and I have only given 8 out of 10 overall because of our experience with the noise.

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019