Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Kilnsea > Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond) Reviews

CLOSED: Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)
Spurn Bird Observatory
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy Tourers 3 reviews from this member

 Wow 10 out of 10 for this friendly clean site.

This is an excellent small, friendly clean site with fantastic helpful owners. Nothing is too much trouble.

The site is spotless and well run with a very roomy pitch with plenty of privacy if you need it. Water and electric at each point. Shower and toilet were clean - you need £1 for a shower which even I didn't manage to use up! The plants and groceries on sale were fantastic and reasonably priced.

2 minutes to the pub (dogs are not welcome inside) and 2 minutes to the beach. Please do not be put off by the beach access - walk through the static campsite for easier access to the lovely dog friendly beach.

I will definitely visit this site again soon.

Thanks for a lovely stay (and my birthday card) x 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ebahgum 6 reviews from this member

 The wife and myself took three of our grand daughters with us for a few days, to give their parents a rest. Great site to take them to. Very safe and quiet. The owners were really friendly and helpful, putting our tent close to the toilets and showers, which were very clean, so it made their late visits to the toilet easy.

There is a small cafe about 200m from the site, if you don't want to cook, and a child friendly pub, about 500m away.

The beach is close enough to hear the waves breaking on the shore, and is a nice peaceful sound to get to sleep to.

Nearest shop is about 2ml away, but if you don't want to drive, the owners have a couple of bikes you can borrow.

So, how did I feel after our visit? Suicidal! But that was down to the three terrorists we took! The site? Loved it, and will be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kathy206 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site, with lovely friendly owners. Very clean. Pitches very big with own water tap and plenty of room for everything. Lovely freshwater pond for fishing if you want, complete with ducklings!

Toilet and shower always kept spotlessly clean, £1 charge for shower but easily showers a family of 4 with time to spare! Little stall selling own produce and plants by the gate at reasonable prices. Supermarkets available about 15 minute drive away in Withernsea, local shops in Easington (about 5 min drive) pubs just up the road, bus stop with buses to local villages just a 2 minute walk up the road. Kilnsea beach only 5 minute walk away -please note don't be deceived by the beach's appearance when you first get there, walk along the cliff edge and it's much easier to get on the sand, and the beach is lovely. We even spotted a couple of seals whilst we were there! Lots of walks around and about- Spurn point nature reserve not far away (no dogs allowed though) and an abundance of wildlife to see right from your caravan window. We have just cancelled another caravan holiday in order to revisit this site in August as we enjoyed it so much. Very well worth a visit, for a relaxing holiday in lovely countryside, and the owners couldn't do enough for us. Excellent all round. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lynn Douthwaite 4 reviews from this member

 Very warm welcome from the owners on arrival.

Site was very clean, little stall at entrance selling plants and food and drinks was a nice touch as was the table /bench at most pitches, with water point at every pitch.

Shower big enough for two, clean, very hot water and waste disposal close by.

Pond fishing was good, some nice walks around Spurn point, we saw lots of deer, wild birds and rare orchids.

Sea is 5 minutes walk away passing a lovely tea room, pub 5 minutes walk away.

Fantastic hosts making us feel very welcome, both are very hard working and easy to talk to, and have a laugh with.

They promote the area and local business's and have a selection of numbers for eateries /take aways, you can even get your caravan valeted there.

Great place to stay, we will be returning there very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Christine10 24 reviews from this member

 What a great break we had on this fantastic caravan site. There is plenty of room between each pitch and you have your own water tap and picnic bench. You have a key to the toilet and shower block which look nothing from the outside, you cannot judge a book by it's cover, but are the best we have ever stayed at at any caravan site, the toilet is spacious with great wallpaper, the shower block also has a toilet and a very good shower which you pay £1 for but lasts for ages and is worth the money for the good quality toilet paper of which there is always plenty. There are really nice flower pots around the site with solar lights. There is also a little shed which has some essential groceries and plants for sale with an honesty box. The nearest village is Patrington which is about 4 miles away. If you are lucky you may see the deer in the field, there are lots of birds and even hedgehogs. You can see the ships coming and going in the evening.

If you like to fish there is a nice pond with plenty of fish in, which Richard the owner gets in to clear the weed and nearly falls in!

There is a pub about 5 minutes walk away and the beach is about 3 minutes walk there is a little cafe, Blue Bell, which sells nice ice cream. Spurn Point is a nice walk, about 9 miles round trip not worth the £3 parking that they charge, no idea what you get for your £3. There are lots of nice walks around the site.

Richard and Natalie the owners are little gems. Nothing is too much trouble and although they do not live on the site they visit regulary and always have time to have a chat and even come round asking if you want an indian delivering. They keep the site immaculate, always keeping it tidy. They are the hardest owners we have known they never stop.

We will certainly be paying several more visits.

You do a great job keep it up. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mat stone 2 reviews from this member

 10 out of 10.

I didn't want to leave a review, because I don't want any one else to find out about this site, so there will always be space for me. But it's one of those sites that you can't help but tell people about.

It is set in area of natural beauty and the walk to spurn point is mesmerising, there's a cool pub and a take away very near by which will deliver food, the site has its own little lake, with its own island ' love island' where we shared a couple of bottles wine with the sites owners, who built the site themselves, and want everyone to enjoy it as much as they do, and we did.

In short, don't go blue bell pond, so there will always be a space for me x 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Vitessedriver 9 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as we wanted to be both quiet and as close to the sea as possible, from those listed on UKCampsite.co.uk. We did a Google Earth search and decided to book. What a success! Although the field looks small, it's like a Tardis once through the gate. We were greeted by Richard, the Boss, who showed us various plots but let us decide for ourselves where to park the CombiCamp. We chose Plot 1. Each plot has a water point, and a picnic bench. The grass was well cut, and the loos convenient.

We were concerned by the toilet block - a lorry container, but not prepared for the Five Star interior! We have stayed in guest houses that don't reach this level of fitting and cleanliness. We had good weather, but a cold wind off the sea. You can hear the waves on the beach from your bed, but at breakfast you can watch the shipping on the Humber. Oh! Did I mention the wild-life? Too much to keep up with.

The pub's five minutes walk, there's a café closer, but the village shop is about 4 miles. You'll go through Patrington on the way, do call in the hardware shop. It makes the Big Tin Sheds look like learners when it comes to stock. Would we go back to BlueBell? You bet we would. As close to Nature as possible with the most helpful, genial host, in the county. Thanks for our stay 'where the land ends' 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morrms 13 reviews from this member

 Wow - 10 out of 10 for friendliness and perfect pitches. Hard standing made with gravel that still allows you to get your pegs in. Your own picnic bench and tap on pitch. We could not complain. If you had forgotten the essential tea, coffee, marmalade, biscuits etc the owner had put these on a stand for sale with an honesty box along with strawberries and a selection of plants.

The area is tranquil. The walk down around Spurn Point is worth the 8 1/2 miles and that is with an 11 year old and a 9 year old whom I don't think were impressed with the just have a look around the next corner statement. We were greeted though by a roe deer plus on another night the field in front of the caravan was a further wild stag. The history of Spurn Point is interesting. The local pub serves good food and drink and is very friendly. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mick-rachel 15 reviews from this member

 What a find! We were impressed with the owner of this site even before we visited. He went out in the snow to measure one of his pitches to ensure we would fit. His little website gave us all the information we required about facilities on site.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner and shown around the site, what a little gem. Although the shower and toilet building looks a lot to be desired once the doors were unlocked we found the facilities immaculate - a credit to their hard work.

Although the owner does not live on site he visited every day, sometimes two or three times daily to ensure his guests were happy or had any queries he could help with.

The road to Spurn Point was closed on our visit as it is being resurfaced but they have a couple of bikes on site if you are interested. Its quite a long walk so don't forget to take plenty of fluids as there was no refreshments at the other end on our visit.

All I can say is 10/10 and a gold star. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andyatcat 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent small site. Richard the owner couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible and was on hand if required to recommend places to go and see. The site itself is extremely well kept, grass cut and totally free from any litter. Lots of newly planted trees which will when established make the site even better. Fishing pond on site. Toilets were spotlessly clean. Honesty box shop.

Already booked our return visit. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December