Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Kilnsea > Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond) Reviews

CLOSED: Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)
Spurn Bird Observatory
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephenellwood 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is fantastic! A small site, but with excellent facilities for its size. Washblock facilities are clean and modern, and plenty of hot water was available. Showers were 1 when we stayed, and for your money you get a nice long warm shower (an important consideration for me when camping!)

What really made our stay here special though however was the personal touch/interaction with the owners who really went out of their way to make us feel welcome - even going so far as to give us some free charcoal and sausages for an impromptu barbecue!

Its pretty difficult to find faults with this very well run site but if we must nitpick:

1) Caravan owners should be fine, but campers should be aware that the sited in a river estuary and there is very little in the way of natural shelter/windbreaks to protect you from the elements. When we camped here the weather wasn't that great, and the wind *absolutely howled* around the site. Wrap up warm if you camp here in early Spring!

2) Although the washblock facilities are excellent, their didn't seem to be much in the way of facilities for doing the washing up. A Bristol sink or similar outside the washblock with a supply of hot water and push taps would be an ideal way of addressing this.

3) Rubbish disposal was a minor issue during our stay - simply because the domestic sized wheelie bins on the site simply couldn't cope with the volume of rubbish produced. Some industrial-sized dumpster-style bins screened from the site with some trees / bushes/fence would be a great way of addressing this.

4) Also, Spurn Point is great and the area is pretty, but apart from this there really isn't that much in the local area to do. The local villages are *small*, and there really aren't that many pubs / restaurants within convenient driving distance. In particular, do bear in mind when planning your trip that the nearest supermarket to the site is the branch of Tesco in Withernsea which is quite some distance from the campsite. Factor this into your calculations! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jemmby 15 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we were met and shown to a pitch ehich wasn't flooded. Unfortunately there had been constant heavy rain over the last few days. Despite this, the drainage on the grass pitches seemed to be adequate. Richard, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and is working very hard to prepare the site for the summer. It will be very nice when the landscaping is completed.

The toilet and shower are in a portacabin but are very pleasant (although I thought that 1 was a bit steep for the shower which wasn't very powerful). There is a pub nearby but we didn't go

As, according to previous reviews, it doesn't allow dogs. A WARNING TO ALL DOG OWNERS, DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO GO TO SPURN POINT, NOT EVEN IN A VEHICLE. It is a nature reserve. This was a great disappointment to us as we wanted to go to the lighthouse. The beach was not bad but a nicer stretch of beach could be found by walking down the road past the entrance to the static caravan site which took you down a small path towards the sea. We found the walk on estuary banking side (to the right of the road going towards the Lighthouse) a bit grotty, being full of washed up plastic etc. Good luck to Richard and Natalie, who are lovely, helpful people. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cabsaab 7 reviews from this member

 A wonderful few days at this brilliant site! Just returned from our 'shake-down' cruise for the 2012 season I cannot praise this site enough Richard & his partner Natalie were a really friendly couple and could not have made us feel more welcome The pitches were a good size with our own tap and picnic table The shower was great - almost as good as home There is a pub that does food close by and a cafe in the other direction We visited Spurn Point, Hull museums and Bridlington & Withernsea in our 5 days break here The site is being improved and expanded at the moment and Richard's plans for the future of Blue Bell Pond sound good We had a problem with our car battery the morning we were leaving and Richard fetched his own battery charger & sorted us out Thanks pal - we will return! 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to Blue Bell Pond but will not be our last loved the site had all we needed for a lazy winter break lovely views across to the Humber(could watch the ships go up and down the river) lots of wild life even saw a'baby' stag its little antlers not fully formed. The site is well run and owners Richard and his partner Natalie really looked after us Natalie even went to get OH papers in the morning. They do an order service with a local paper shop for Sunday paper delivery to site if you reserve them with the shop on Saturday. There are plenty of take away services to the site, no shops on the area so be prepared before you get to site, a great pub 250 yards away that did good food and had open fires which we loved. There is a separate toilet and a shower with toilet, which were clean and plenty of hot water and a chemical loo deposit area. They are(next week) going to plant over 300 saplings around the site for the Queens Jubilee. There is a pond for fishing but on our visit it was frozen over. All in all a great site with plenty of walks in the area and wild birds to keep any twitcher happy it is a site that will get better each year as it mature. Lots of walks in area a short walk to the beach and a longer one to Spurn Point for the good walker as well as by the river. 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingerwinstydog 8 reviews from this member

 A wonderful little site with flat, level pitches so no need to mess around with levellers. Pitches are not hard standing but no need to worry about this because there had been a lot of rain before we arrived but the pitches were well drained and weren't at all water logged.

Fantastic facilities for a site of this size that includes a big heated shower room.

Information folders are provided at the site and include take away menus. We had an Indian take away delivered to our pitch and I can highly recommend it. The food at the local pub is also good and very reasonably priced at 6. 00 for a main course. Cafe and information centre also very close by but we didn't try the cafe.

This was a perfect location for us with the beach, pub and Spurn Head very close by and our dogs loved the walks!

Overall the site is superb value at 14 per night and we even got New Years Day free! and Richard (campsite owner) provided fireworks for everyone for new years eve. I will certainly be returning here! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LAWTON770 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet site with countryside views, deer in the field opposite and ducks on the pond.

Excellent facilities - large shower room with w. C. And a separate w. C.

Information pack with info on the area - places to visit, eat and emergency contact numbers.

You can even order your newspapers and have them delivered.

Plenty of picnic tables for when the weather is nice.

Site owner Richard was very helpful and friendly.

Lovely walks to Spurn Point, and super beach for our little dog.

We chose a very windy and bleak weekend for our visit - just as we like it!

We walked to the Crown and Anchor pub just 5 minutes away hoping to get a drink and maybe a meal, but were turned away because of our little dog. We didn't intend to stand outside and despite asking again if we could maybe sit in the side room ( there were only 3 people eating and 1 person at the bar) the answer from the very unfriendly landlady was no.

Her loss as we would have had a meal with wine etc.

All in all we had a great weekend at Blue Bell Pond and will definitely go back and recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I + J 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site. Lovely views. Water at every pitch. Showers great, very clean. Fresh shower mats always available without having to ask.

Forgot your bbq, no worries their is one available for you if you ask. And a picnic table for every pitch.

Short walk to the pub, which served good food. Also not to far to walk to the tea room, beach and nature walks.

Richard the owner could not do enough. My son and his partner also stayed in their van, they also loved it. One of the best CL's. Good Luck Richard from Irene Jimmy, Tineke and Philip. Pity it is a bit to far to stay more often. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marybeare 7 reviews from this member

 If you want candy floss, loud amusements, then don't go to this site.

If you want peace, birdwatching, Red deer in the nearby field, lovely walks, a helpful, friendly site owner, a clean shower room with space to dry off, large pitches with your own tap and picnic bench - then this is the site for you.

The pub a short stroll from the site has great beer and meals to suit most tastes.

Add to this the nearby Yorkshire Wildlife Trust reserve on the delightful spurn point, with sandy beaches and ships passing the point so close that you feel you can touch them - Great.

We will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dart 5105 2 reviews from this member

 We have been 4 times to this site (3 weekends and 1 full week), we love this site as the facilities are fantastic e. G shower and toilet block very clean and tidy. Having 2 children with us this is the ideal location to keep them entertained, 5 mins walk to the beach and short drive to Spurn Point, the on site pond is well stocked and keeps all family members happy as they regular catch a lot of fish.

The owner Richard is very friendly and spends a lot of time on the site making sure everyone is happy and has everything they need in order to make their stay more enjoyable, needless to stay we have booked our next visit already to the site and will continue to do so for many years.

Overall a fantastic CL, 10 out of 10 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Jones 1 review from this member

 This is a delightful little site in a great location. Surrounded by open countryside, wide skies, and a very short stroll to either the sandy beach or the Humber estuary. There is a tea shop by the beach and a pub by the estuary! Spurn Point, within easy walking distance, is a naturalist's haven, where glorious views abound.

This attractive site is well set out with plenty of space, and is greatly enhanced by a newly landscaped fishing pond. Richard, the owner, is very pleasant and accommodating. He is regularly on site to check on facilities, and has future plans to improve the views over a newly excavated scrape, which will attract more wildlife. We spotted roe deer, numerous birds and a wonderful brown hare from our caravan!

If you enjoy walking. Lots of good footpaths, birdwatching. Several hides, ship spotting, and stunning sunsets, and want a relaxing holiday, this is definitely the place for you. We shall definitely holiday here again! 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December