Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Kilnsea > Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond) Reviews

CLOSED: Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)
Spurn Bird Observatory
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Corneliusbalf 2 reviews from this member

 We didn't book a pitch and when we turned up they were full. However, Richard found us a spot and made us feel welcome. The shower costed 1 pound but you could see where the money went. Toiletries, decent paper and radiator combined with spacious clean and bright decor. (This is the best shower room at any campsite I've been to by far)

I would recommend the local pub for its beer but the food at the cafe on the holiday park is cheap and cheerful and they have pool tables, etc.

The location of this site is perfect and is very quiet with great walks down the point and some great fishing.

Beware that there is no shop or off-licence near by and you should take everything you need with you.

I will definitely be going back to this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PMBJW 7 reviews from this member

 We visited here over Easter weekend and had booked the site due to it been small and having a fishing pond along with the good reviews. My son has ASD and likes peace and quiet with uncrowded sites and beaches etc. We mentioned this on booking simply asking for consideration over a bank holiday weekend to where Richard selected our pitch. However upon arrival we found a joval owner clad in his mucks in the cold organising everyone and he pointed us to a brand new purpose build pitch on the opposite site of the beautiful fishing pond.

WOW the pitch had its own decked area to fish from with Jacobs name attached which made him smile all weekend and allowed him to smile wave and chat to others or to be in his bubble and continue un-interupted with his fishing.

The site is so quiet at night you can hear the sea and by day there is very little traffic. The site itself is close to the beach on a good road but the site does not spoil the local area in any way. In fact with the owners eye for detail we think it is an asset to the area and offers a valuable income to other businesses in the area by bringing people to visit this quiet location.

The site is immaculate, clean, tidy, well maintained. Re-cycling is highly promoted and even food goes to the pigs, which took Jacob 3 days to dare to feed, but after he loved popping to see them.

The fishing pond is beautiful with well set out pegs that allows fishermen to fish in peace and quiet or to chat. Our boys didn't catch due to cold weather but cant wait to go back to fish again.

The toilet and shower block while looking odd from outside were immaculate, warm (very welcomed given the weather) the showers were hot and powerful and even though site was full we never waited for either facility.

We visited the beach every day, our old lab loved it and it was only five minute walk away. Due to Jacobs additional needs we didn't visit the local pub or other outlets, but must say we passed the pub while walking and the pub food smelt beautiful.

If you want more than total peace and quiet with kids play areas / pubs / slot machines etc don't visit. This site is totally for those who want to get away from everything, to unwind in a peaceful and very beautiful location.

All in all out of 10 I would say 12 and we have already booked to go back for May bank holiday and while the owner cant promise the weather, he has promised the same pitch so we cant wait.

Thank you again for a lovely weekend I have a funny feeling we will be regular visitors 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hotel California 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site at the start of March. We were greeted by the owner. The site has level grass pitches and some new pitches with level hardcore pitches. Each pitch has its own electric and tap. The site has two toilets and a shower which are kept clean.

The site is handy for Spurn Point, the beach and a haven for all sorts of birdlife. The Crown and Anchor pub is a 5 minute walk away and serves freshly prepared reasonable priced meals and good beer. The cafe is also only a short walk away but didn't use it. There is a small shop selling essentials on a nearby static caravan site.

We are new to camping and this is a great find. The owner couldn't do enough to help. We will definitely be returning.

PS Richard, thanks for the sausages. They were great! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tommo1959 2 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. What a lovely site, the toilet and shower block were lovely and clean and nice and brightly decorated. Richard was very friendly and even brought the four remaining vans home made sausages on the sunday (very tasty). Had a lovely walk to spurn point and it was well worth the 7 mile round trip. Will definitely be going back. Thanks for a nice weekend Andy and Babs 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandyh 5 reviews from this member

 The weather was very very cold but it was more than made up for by the warmth of the owners hospitality. They really could not of done anything more for us. Spoilt with fish, sausages and a trip to the pub. Richard is not born to the area but what a fantastic ambassador he is to Kilnsea & Spurn.

As described before toilet and shower are basic but clean. Richard is currently working hard on the site striving for continual improvement. Not a lot to do in the area if you are someone that likes lots of shops. But great to get away from it all.

One day I will return in warmer weather. Thanks both Sandy & Karl x 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sacko100 1 review from this member

 Well, what can I say? This is the perfect site. The kind of site that you find and don't tell people about, your secret get away. A place you escape to after a hectic week in the office. A beautiful well looked after site who's owners care! they care about you and care about their site, a rare talent, not found often these days. I'm always met with a handshake and a smile. This was our 6th visit to Bluebell and will always return. Pitches are level, grassed and well maintained, each having a water tap, electric hook up, and wooden picnic bench. Toilets and shower are lovely, a real home from home.

A family run site with a real personal quality.

You will not be disappointed!

We cant wait to visit again soon! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chota 4 reviews from this member

 We go to this site as often as we can. It's the best site that we have ever stayed on, nice and quiet, great facilities and lovely surroundings. The owners do everything possible to make your stay the perfect country break. 10 out of 10 from all the reviewers says it all.

The area is well known to bird watchers as it is one of the best sites to spot birds on passage. Other wildlife includes brown hares and roe deer, both of which can be seen from the campsite. There are several easy walks direct from the site and a nice drive to the end of Spurn Point. There is a pub serving food at the end of the road and 2 cafe's within a few minutes walk. Take your camping chairs and watch the sunset over the sea.

This is also a good base for exploring the east coast of yorkshire and of course Hull is not too far away with its many attractions. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdeEnglish 3 reviews from this member

 I wanted a few quiet days away and Blue Bell Pond was the perfect venue.

Richard sent me a text on the day of arrival to let me know he was off site but that everything was ready. Also instructions on where to find everything.

On arrival everything was as described, pitch marked, facility keys ready, etc. I got pitched and Richard called along later to check everything was OK and see if there was anything I needed. His warmth and hospitality are amazing.

The toilet and shower block is a metal cabin, which looks uninspiring but the facilities are clean and functional. Hot water on tap and reliable.

The site itself is immaculate, despite having had heavy rain for several days.

The location is perfect:-

Photographers - Spurn Head and the Humber Estuary offer amazing opportunities

Dog Owners - Lovely beach, but some restrictions due to nature reserve.

Bird Watchers - Hides and birds galore, even in November!

The pub and cafes are close but I didn't personally try them as I wanted escape!

Overall - Lovely site for a few nights of peace.

I will be taking the family next time! 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick 1 review from this member

 The Blue Bell Pond CL site is a little gem. The site has mainly grass pitches that are flat and level and in good condition. There is a water tap on each pitch and 16 amp electric hook up.

The one shower and one toilet are housed in a metal shipping container with no windows however, both areas are clean and well maintained. The local pub is a short walk away and the food and ale are good and reasonably priced. The beach is about 400 metres from the site and enthusiastic walkers will not be disappointed in the local area.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner who had put our names on a placard by our allocated pitch this was a nice touch. He is an enthusiastic owner and wants to do the best he can to make your stay enjoyable. We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chota 4 reviews from this member

 This is certainly a gem of a site. The views are stunning and there is plenty of wildlife to be seen from the site. The facilities are spotless and the owner does everything in his power to make your stay enjoyable. There is a fishing pond for those who enjoy that pursuit and the whole area is a bird watchers paradise.

The local pub is 5 mins walk away and does excellent food. This site is also well placed for exploring the east coast of Yorkshire. There is nowhere on site for children to play but this keeps it nice and quiet. There is however a beautiful sandy beach 2 mins walk away where children and dogs can use up they're energy. The beach is also a good place to go fossil hunting and there is a small exhibition of the local history and geology in the nearby cafe. I cannot praise this site enough. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December