Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Kilnsea > Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond) Reviews

CLOSED: Sykes Field (was Blue Bell Pond)
Spurn Bird Observatory
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 75 Reviews
                10/10 from 75 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul Arthur 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this lovely little site. This site is really well kept and is a credit to the owners. As stated in previous reviews Richard makes you feel welcome. If you want to be entertained this is not the site for you. However if you want a complete break from the pressures of modern life this is the place. A small site within 10 minutes walk to the beach. Each pitch has a tap and electric hook up. There are lovely views across farmers fields and across the estuary. There is a cafe and a pub 5 minutes walk away. The site is dog friendly but the pub and cafe are not. We will definitely be going back next season. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bury40 4 reviews from this member

 Xanadu. The perfect place

I don't often leave reviews because if I find a site I like, I want to be selfish and keep it a 'Hidden Gem', but because the owners of this site were the perfect hosts, I am doing this sharing thing for them.

The owner tries to make sure each has the best views with generous spacing for each outfit.

The 'Ablution Building' is adequate and kept clean. The shower/toilet, and second toilet are comfortable with plenty of space. Home from home they are!

Fishing on site is good and Mien host is always around to give help and advice.

Also beach casting is there for all to use, take your rods and don't forget your BBQ to cook your fresh catch of the day, if you don't have a BBQ, go see the owner! Need a wind-brake, go see the owner, like I said, he will give help when/if he can.

Walks around the area are plenty, with wonderful views. Take good foot wear!

Spurn Point is a renowned birdwatchers area with hides scattered around for your leisure/pleasure.

Spurn point is a wonderful place to visit, by car/foot/or cycle. And from the point you will see the only full time RNLI life boat in Britain!

Just a short walk from the site, the Blue Bell Cafe at the crossroads offers snacks and drinks and ices creams. The 'Static site' has a restaurant with an excellent choice of food. Then there's the Pub up the road from the site, I recommend all three.

The sky at night is almost unpolluted by street lights, giving you a crystal clear view of the stars. The quietness surrounding the site ensures everyone gets a good nights sleep.

This Gem of a site deserves recognition, go try it. But I hope you leave a place for me 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dunkst3r 1 review from this member

 Visited this site on the back of the excellent reviews it had got. We were not disappointed & can fully understand the good reviews it has received. It's an intimate site which seems to attract very friendly and considerate campers. These attributes can also be used to describe the owners. The owner & his wife were welcoming & could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and relaxed.

It's location is also excellent with lots of wildlife and walks direct from the site. The walk to the beach was just 2 mins from the site where the seals can be seen bobbing in the sea. Deer, Hares, owls and ducks can all be spotted from the site itself and although I'm not an angler the on site pond did seem popular with others.

The facilities may seem basic to some and the lack of some where designated to wash plates would be my only very minor criticism. The toilets & shower facilities are clean and well maintained. We can't wait to revisit this site & our only regret is that we left it late in the year to visit this site. If we had discovered this earlier this would have probably been my 3rd or 4th review.

Will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob1960 11 reviews from this member

 What can I add?

Every thing said is true. The owner is very welcoming and friendly, site is a little gem, whatever your into fishing, walking, bird watching, or just relaxing. Toilets and showers are spotless. Site is very clean and level. The fishing is fantastic, loads of fish. Sturgeon and big carp. A 22lb carp came out while I was there.

Pub short walk away serves good food and ale.

Tea room also short walk away, also cafe and club house in nearby static site open to public. Petrol station in nearby village of partington, shops etc. Very quite site. Nice looking out onto deer in fields. Will be going back again (if we can get on). Its open all year round. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trinnyminni 2 reviews from this member

 The best site we have ever visited, the location perfect sea on both sides,

The beach near by empty clean and very scenic about 200 yards away, the many varied walks nearby dog friendly and flat easy and accessible,

The site itself well maintained with a pretty pond, the fishing looked perfect, with superb clean facilities

The site owners, helpful friendly welcoming, with advice on the area,

A lovely cafe 100 yards away with home made goodies,

Am I gushing, too right I am, we have been all over the uk and this beats all sites hands down 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fredwin 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first time I'd gone camping in the UK properly, and I went on the back of my partners motorbike, so we didn't know what to expect. Even before arrival at the site I must mention that the local landscape is stunningly picturesque English countryside. But as we turned into the site we knew we'd come to the right place; Blue Bell Pond is very pretty. Tidy and well maintained with attractive flowerbeds and best of all the duck/fish pond.

Everyone was very friendly and the site was quiet and peaceful. We were permitted to select our plot anywhere around the pond and park up the bike next to our tent, so that was great, and the ground was flat enough and very dry, so great for camping.

I think due to the location between the Humber Estuary and the North Sea the constant breeze meant that most of the rain clouds forecast were quickly blown away so any shower didn't last long, and the breeze dried off the damp quickly.

The toilet and shower block was clean and nicely furnished, we felt we had everything we needed, plus useful information packs for local activities and eateries.

The site is right next to Spurn Point which is great to visit, and very good for birdwatching.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this site to everyone. One tip; the Crown and Anchor pub which is a quick walk away from the site is well worth a visit.

All in all I couldn't believe how lucky we were. All our needs were catered for. The icing on the cake however was the cute gaggle of ducks that live on the pond who made me smile every time I passed by. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairycampers 2 reviews from this member

 This has to be a little gem you don't want to tell everyone about it but then they wouldn't keep in business!

The campsite is peaceful, clean and there is a double shower which you don't normally get on a site. Currently at the moment there are no washing up facilities but this didn't bother us too much, hope they didn't mind us watering their plants twice a day, but luckily it was hot and dry on our visit.

Currently they have baby ducks and our daughters loved to feed them outside our own tent.

This site is very close to Spurn Point, beach and also the estuary. From the beach you maybe lucky to see Seals and if like us we saw one just basking in the sun.

There is also a pub within walking distance and also Blue Bell cafe which sells yummy ice cream.

Would I return to this site absolutely I would 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Col.S 3 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this delightful site. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The site has great views and is nearby to the beach and the Humber Estuary.

The site has 2 toilets and a shower. There is a great little fishing pond on site. The nearby pub serves good food at reasonable prices.

There is small cafe by the beach which serves basic food and scrummy ice creams. A great area for walking and birdwatching or just relaxing.

Close to Spurn point nature reserve. We will be returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrea1981 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is absolutely fantastic

the owners are very friendly and helpful people and so were the people camping on the site

we stayed 2 nights in a tent and we enjoyed our stay. Our 6 year old son really loved it. He liked the ducks, pigs, chickens and the beach which is 5mins walk away.

It is a very clean site and the toilet-shower block are very clean

we can't wait to go again.

We would recommend this site to everyone. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sergeant2830 1 review from this member

 This site is ideally placed for walking on Spurn Point. It is also ideally sited to visit the local pub where substantial meals can be had at reasonable prices (only 5 minutes walk away).

The facilities were good and clean the shower did cost an extra 1 but it was good and hot and easily accommodated two people for up to fifteen minutes (Assuming you could find a friend)

We were able to watch barn owls and wild deer in the adjacent field.

There was also a fishing pond if that's your thing.

The warden (Richard ) was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December