Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blue Bell Pond Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Blue Bell Pond Certificated Site NOW CLOSED
Kilnsea Road
Kilnsea
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed From 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 74 Reviews
                10/10 from 74 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dysdera 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site and great location. When we arrived most of the area was flooded including this site. The owner could not have been more helpful, and even though we arrived late he saw us onto a pitch. There are fortunately several hardstanding pitches, each of which has its own EHU point and tap. I did not try the showers as we have our own, but the toilet waste emptying area was clean and functional. The location is amazing with easy access to Spurn point, and all the war history that surrounds, (even the campsite has its own history as a POW camp).

The only downside (apart from the flooding) was not being allowed to take the dog too the exploitative spurn head, which is rapidly changing into a YWC theme park in my opinion.

Will definitely visit again, this little hidden gem.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KnitKnutter 4 reviews from this member

Visited for just 2 nights with a view to walking Spurn Point. Had been a little worried as I'd received a text from Richard the day before asking when we were arriving - he'd got our dates wrong. But he checked my email and acknowledged we'd be arriving the next day. He was waist deep in the pond, clearing weeds when we arrived, but another chap showed us where our pitch was. Great to have our personal tap to hook up to, plus electric, of course. We needed the waste hog, but signs invite you to water the plants with them, so that was easy.

Pitches are grass and reasonably big, marked with brick planters which got in the way a bit, with our 27' van. There is nowhere to turn, and our motor mover wasn't working.

Toilets? Hmm. I actually didn't venture in at all. The smell put me off, and the door locks are odd. You need a key to get in, and then a bolt inside to lock it after you, so anyone on the outside will be trying their key without knowing if it is already busy. There is a clean public toilet just up the road - I used that when I needed to. We showered in the van.

Everyone on site was very friendly, and the best thing was that it was so peaceful there. We had wonderful weather, and the sunsets over the sea were beautiful. The beach is just a few hundred yards from the site. The pub is just up the road. Didn't try the food, and the range of beers was limited. And we really should have checked if you can walk Spurn Point with a dog. You can't. Oops!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bazatate 3 reviews from this member

Great location for birders, site easy to find, large pitches, mainly seasonal caravans, people very friendly, fishing pond small and could do with clearing out. Now for the downside, toilets very poor, metal container converted into one toilet and one shower (which cost £1) and one toilet, no hot water in shower room, shower not clean. No washing up facilities.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Martyn78 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site.

The owner Richard is VERY helpful and laid-back (I don't want money yet!).

A choice of grass or hard standing and well spaced.

The fishing is also first class.

I will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 20 reviews from this member

I went to Kilnsea to walk the beach with my metal detector I had no idea what the place was like and was surprised to find great locals it has a couple of good pubs in Easington the white horse and a Post office shop to get money and food, eggs and the like. Spurn point has wildlife galore and a few miles down the road and Cold war bunker open at weekends, the site was tidy and Richard the owner was a pleasure to meet, anything you wanted was no trouble. Will come back again

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob1960 11 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 2week break at blue bell pond, fantastic fishing coarse and sea fishing. Two well stocked ponds on site. Full of roach rudd perch bream mirror carp common carp crucian carp f1s tench barbell etc. Its a bird watchers paradise. Pub just short walk away does good ale and good food. Sat in bay window of pub watching sea anglers catching eels and flatties. Lots of wildlife in fields. Nice clean site, well maintained each pitch has own tap and ehu. Very relaxing quite site, some fab dog walks close to sea or up past estuary. Warden cant do enough for you.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KevinandKarina 1 review from this member

First rate site, spacious and very clean amenities.

Very friendly, and only £ 18 a day. Large pitch with its own water supply and electric hook up. Set in beautiful and scenic surroundings, with good honest food within walking distance.

A couple of minutes drive to spurn point allows you to climb a lighthouse and go on a guided nature walk. We sat outside in the evening and could hear the waves on the nearby beach. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

Been wanting to come here for a while, had to cancel last year due to injury, but finally made it for 8 nights over the August bank holiday period.

Arrived to find we had lost our jockey wheel on route so we couldn't use the motor mover to get on the pitch reserved for us. Not a problem, Rick just jumped in my car, off he went with my van on the back to find us another pitch. And what a pitch it was, hard standing, right opposite the fishing lake. There is water and electric to each pitch.

There is one toilet and one toilet/shower. We didn't queue at any point which was probably down to good timing (or good luck). Now they aren't quite your modern under-floor heated state of the art facilities. But the toilet flushes, the shower gets you wet and they are clean. What more do you want or need?

There are two fishing lakes on site, I struggled but there are definitely some big fish in there, I saw Rick land one himself (unless it was a rubber one?).

The seasonal folks are all very very friendly which is a bonus.

The site is in spitting distance of the beach and we also did the walk to Spurn Head. There is a café at the bottom of the lane and they kept giving my dog free sausages, to the point where he wouldn't walk past.

A big downside for us (absolutely nothing to do with Blue Bell Pond) is the local pub not being dog friendly. During the course of the week I counted at least a dozen vans and tents with dogs that wouldn't have been able to visit, not counting the daily visitors to the area who have dogs. Being a dog owner and a previous landlord of a dog friendly pub/restaurant/hotel, I just don't see it as a good business decision. Take everyone and everything with a pound note in their hand (and paw).

Blue Bell Pond is definitely the site for you if you want to relax, fish, walk, bird watch or go to the beach. We didn't want to leave in the end, we felt at home even after our relatively short first stay. Rick seems to be putting everything in to the site and I hope he gets his just reward (he even cooked curry for everyone one night). Nothing was too much trouble for him, and I mean nothing.

We will definitely be back.

Paid £18 for the van and £1 for the porch awning per night, no extras for kids or dogs, top value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheilawalk 1 review from this member

Perfect campsite for a relaxing break. Richard and his lovely family couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed out time there. We Had a laugh with them too

Very very well kept. We couldn't fault the site. Massive pitches too. I'd call them SUPER PITCHES really. We even had a personal display by the migrating black stalk. Felt very privalaged to see it. Colin and me would very highly recommend all who needs to relax to go camp here. Thanks for a great time. We will be back :) x

Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in East Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019