Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy-snapper 8 reviews from this member

 Fab site. Staff v helpful and pleasant. Shop available on site and also an info place for local events and things. Nice children's play area and fames room but I didn't go here. Pub on site but quiet great for hot food and drinks if ur camping like me.

Toilets and showers spotless as are the food prep areas.

Despite being a hilly place all of the pitches for tents and caravans were level.

It was a howling gale for 2 nights when I was there and was the only one in the field. Closeness of the road didn't bother me at all and I have had closer in other places.

Was v convenient for me and Torquay is not that far away. I will certainly be going back as despite the rain I had s good time 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SurreyDan 2 reviews from this member

 Just had an excellent 4 days over Easter 2017. We had 3 touring caravans, 7 adults and 5 kids and fun was had by all. The toilets/showers were great, the staff were amazing and the restaurant food was very tasty. The site laid on plenty of activities including farm walks, evening entertainment and an Easter egg hunt. The kids did not want to leave to come home, and to be honest, nor did I. We were last at Parkers Farm over 12 years ago and got to say its as nice now as it was then. Cannot wait til we return. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val E 14 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for two nights which was half term week. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the site was lovely, a great position, just off the main road, ( we didn't find noise from the road a problem at all ) level plot. Price very reasonable. The food was fine, in restaurant, massive portions.

The only problem I found were not the site, but a few people on site, the toilets were nice and modern, with lovely hot showers, but I think, ( might have only been in ladies as husband said mens were fine) it looked like girls had been messing about in toilets and foot prints on toilet seats, toilet paper on floor, l pick some of it up every time I went in, but spoils it for everyone if people. Can't keep an eye on young people,

Also dog poop on the grassy areas made me so cross, not the dogs but owners who can't pick it up.

And I saw one lady drive across a bank practicing off roading messing about late one of the nights!

I would return, but may try a quieter time of year, when there are less people about. As site was great. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yelsel58 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay on this lovely, well maintained site with very friendly owners/staff. Nice big pitches on terraced layout so most enjoying great views of the surrounding countryside. Clean toilet/shower facilities in two blocks. We were a group of 3 adults but it looked like the children were having great fun with 4 play areas, a pets corner, kids room and an opportunity to feed some of the farm animals too. Nice bar on site with reasonably priced good food available. It is just off the A38 so traffic noise to be expected but this didn't bother us at all. We found the location of the road a bonus as it made it very easy to get around. Lots of National Trust places nearby (Cotehele and Greenway particularly worth a visit) and not too far from a variety of coastal towns. Would also recommend the steam railway trip to Totnes from Buckfastleigh. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Esmeralda 31 reviews from this member

 Had an overnight stay here on our way to Cornwall, lovely staff who were quite happy to let us stay for just one night on a Bank Holiday weekend too, greatly appreciated. Spacious pitches but unfortunately as there'd been a lot of rain we got stuck as soon as we tried to reverse onto our pitch, but a friendly man in a quad type vehicle quickly pulled us clear with no moaning at all, not bad considering we'd only just arrived and he was busy! Facilities good, clean and tidy with a pub/restaurant on site and a well stocked shop. Liked the pigs, horses and llamas that were dotted around and although not applicable to us, there were several play areas for children that looked good fun. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gsullivan 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here twice in 2014. Both times EXCELLENT !.

On this occasion we booked 24hours before arrival, as we needed accommodation for Plymouth University visit and were unable to find a hotel in the city.

Parkers Farm came to the rescue !.

We were given a one night pitch on a lovely pitch J2.

Love this site.

Spotlessly clean.

By far the friendliest and most accommodating staff we have come across in many years of camping.

Will definitely be back :) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blackwolf1000 7 reviews from this member

 Friends of ours had stayed here before and recommended it so we joined them for a week this year.

The site is very easy to find being just off the main road but would advise signalling a little early as the turning has quite a short slip road and is a right angle turn. Leaving the site is done with caution as again not much room to accelerate when joining the main road.

That said the site was very well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful as others have mentioned.

The pitch was large enough and level but a little tight to get a large van onto. I think this might just have been the row we were in. We were unfortunate enough to have had 2 days of very heavy rain and were surprised to find that the pitch didn't flood and drained very quickly.

The bar and restaurant were very pleasant and the prices very reasonable. Although we didn't try the food we heard it was very good.

The showers were a first come first served as there only seemed to be 5 showers for the men and there was always a queue in the morning and some people commented on the temperature of the water being on the low side.

The play areas are good and there is a caged area for football and other ball sports.

The shop may be described as a little sparse but as others have said there are supermarkets nearby in Newton Abbot and Totnes.

If I had to make a negative comment it would be the constant road noise from the A38 but this did die down at night and after a short while you didn't really hear it.

Overall I would go back as it made a good base to explore this region of Devon. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevendonna 5 reviews from this member

 Set in a beautiful South Devon location Parkers Farm Holiday Park provides either a secluded respite or a base from which to explore the area, being within easy driving distance of Dartmoor, Paignton, Torquay. This is a very well kept site run by friendly, helpful staff, reasonably priced and access to the pitches is barrier controlled. We were shown to our pre-booked pitch and told where the various things were on the site. Pitches are on grass levels surrounded by trees so there’s an element of privacy as well as helping to diffuse the wind on inclement days. One or two stony patches were encountered whilst erecting our tent; mostly the tent peg won these encounters and broke through what must have been sandstone or limestone but a couple of times the stone came out on top. The basic pitches without electric hook-ups are a little further distanced from the wash facilities than those pitches with hook-ups which are sited right by (check out the site map on their website). For me, being disabled and limited in how far I can walk, we opted for a serviced pitch to avoid this distance element.

There’s a small shop at Reception with a good variety of necessities, from where they also provide a free ice pack exchange service, but the nearest local shops (and fuel) is at nearby Ashburton or there’s also a supermarket and other shops just a short drive away in Newton Abbot.

Showers, toilets, washing up areas are all good and regularly cleaned and there are family rooms available for those with young or disabled in their party.

Though we didn't have occasion to eat at the restaurant we did witness the lashings of delicious looking food being laid on tables about us. The bar seemed well stocked with soft drinks, beers, wines and spirits. One adjacent room has been set apart as a play area for young children and there’s another play area more suited to older children below the restaurant, with pool tables and video game machines. Right beside the restaurant there’s a good play park.

It’s our first stay at this site I will willingly recommend it and may not bother to look elsewhere if we are ever again in that part of the country. My impression is of a well thought out and run holiday site which is welcoming to all ages.

The one and only negative is that the A38 runs nearby and every now and again it becomes noticeable in an otherwise idyllic, countryside setting. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 50yearoldteenager 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. Best one we've ever visited. Trust me you won't be disappointed if you book. We look forward to returning again soon. There was nothing about this place that we didn't like. Our 9 year old grandson thoroughly enjoyed himself and didn't want to go home. Staff were helpful and friendly, there are several little parks for the kids to play in and plenty of animals to pet with the addition of the tractor ride. EXCELLENT! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MHJHEJ 1 review from this member

 We had a great time at this site, the spaces are big it's terraced so there was no one pitched in front of us blocking our view. The staff are all friendly, the toilets and free shower blocks have been refurbished and extremely clean. There are goats, pigs, alpacas and donkeys for the kids to see. There are several play areas and a restaurant and club (they looked good but we went had our meals whilst out touring). Nice walk to Ashburton it took about 20 minutes down the lane very nice village on the edge of Dartmoor. The only bad thing that I can say which isn't the owners fault is that when we were there it was quite windy and being set on a terraced hill the tent did get blown about a bit, but there are small hedges and trees starting to grow in front of the pitches so hopefully this will buffer the wind when they mature. I would definitely recommend this site. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1852 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement