Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Parkers Farm Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Cockayne Family 1 review from this member

We choose Parkers Farm due to the cost and previous reviews and we weren't disappointed. The whole booking procedure was very easy and the staff on the phone were very friendly and informative.

On arrival we found a clean caravan with outstanding views of the surrounding countryside. The site is on the side of a very steep hill so if it's views you are after ask for a caravan at the top of the hill! Reception was friendly and site information was clearly laid out, there was also an information kiosk containing maps of the surrounding area and brochures.

There were several children's playgrounds and individual play equipment dotted around the site, the trampolines being a big hit. There are also goats, alpacas, ponies, donkeys, rabbits and guinea pigs. Our children happily played outside for hours.

The evening entertainment had a real community, family friendly atmosphere and is probably the reason most of the visitors to the site are regulars. My husband and I enjoyed a quiet drink at the bar while the kids were entertained with a halloween party and on another night, Bingo.

The location is excellent for exploring the South Devon area; we were in Dartmoor National Park within minutes. Ashburton nearby had a small co-op for shopping but for bigger supermarkets Newton Abbott is better equipped. There is plenty of attractions in the area but as the weather was unseasonally kind to us for the whole week most of our time was spent walking in the tors.

We are a family of six with children ranging from 5 to 14 so finding something to suit everyone is difficult but this site did it. This is the cheapest holiday we have had and the best, the children even rated it better than Disneyland! I would thoroughly recommend it and if we are ever back in the area this is the site we would stay at.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laurie118 22 reviews from this member

Just returned after our second visit to Parkers Farm, 14 days and very hot dry weather. This is a great site with toilets and showers that put other sites to shame. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the food in the

Restaurant is really good and good value. There is an area where dogs are allowed. The pitches are of a good size and all well marked and laid out. The site is not far from seaside locations and right next to Dartmoor. We will go there again when we travel to Devon.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jtyson 5 reviews from this member

Excellent well maintained site! The site is just off the A38 with a welcoming reception and shop which is well stocked with some camping basics, kids books etc. , basic food and drink. There is also a freezer available for you to freeze ice packs. On arrival, we checked in and were taken to the grass field where we could choose our pitch (non EHU). The pitches are very large and surrounded by hedges which provided some shelter on windy days. The grass was kept short which meant on wet days the rain soaked away well. We had great views of rolling hills of farmland and enjoyed walking around the site for even better views over to Dartmoor. There are bins and drinking water at the edge of the field.

The layout of the site works really well and nothing is too far away. The grass field is on the edge of the site with the rest of the EHU pitches being tiered so just one row of pitches at a time. All pitches are clearly marked out and spacious. There are 2 amenities blocks situation in the middle of the site which was only a short walk for us even though the grass field is on the edge of the site. There are 3 toilets and 2 or 3 showers in each block with plenty of space to get changed with mirrors, hand driers and hairdryers. Plenty of hot water and great showers with no timers. There are also family shower rooms in each block and plenty of sinks to wash pots. If you have a caravan or campervan there are the relevant waste water disposal points.

Around the site there are multiple playgrounds for children which I think works better than one large one. There is an enclosed grass football pitch on the grass field which was great for us as we could allow the children to safely play but still be able to see them from the pitch. The other playgrounds had swings, slides and trampolines which the kids loved. Also around the site are animals, just a few of each in the fields around the site which gave the kids something to be interested in and visit each day. We had alpacas nearest, then ponies and pigs. Every few days there is a kids walk around the site where they can feed the animals and then have a tractor ride round the site.

There is an on site restaurant and bar which have a good selection of food of really good quality. The restaurant had a room that allowed dogs if you wanted to take them with you. There is entertainment each day around 4pm which was aimed at the kids or light family evening entertainment around 7:30pm.

The site had a lovely feel about it and all the staff were very friendly and approachable, especially Gary who was great with the kids. The site was almost full when we were there in the middle of the summer holidays but it never felt overcrowded. We never queued for the toilets or showers and they were kept exceptionally clean. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone with any accommodation type. We stayed 11 nights and can't wait to return.

Location wise itís a great base to visit Devon. We visited all the coastal towns as well as local towns and Dartmoor. There are a number of local attractions such as country parks and steam trains.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UKreplay 16 reviews from this member

Very easy to get to, just a short bit of narrow lane leading to the site. A38 noise didn't seem to exist for us but that may have been wind direction. Ultimately you can't have easy access then complain about traffic noise.

The site itself, reception is very organised. Shown to our pitch by a helpful and knowledgeable warden. The pitches themselves are tiered up the side of the hill. A good mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes. It was quiet wet for 2 of our days, the grass pitches coped very well with no flooding.

Toilet / shower area very clean, very modern. Showers especially good with no time limits on water. As always first thing in the morning they were very busy but that is true for most sites.

There are some animals on the site, chickens, rabbits, alpacas etc. Plenty of play areas for kids and a bar / restaurant area that seemed popular.

It's possible to walk into Ashburton in 30-40 mins down an extremely narrow road.

A very good place for a ' touring centre ' or stop off to breakup a long journey.

Other site users seemed very friendly and this seemed like a popular site for families.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 38 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a one night stopover, we hadn't booked in advance and the staff were really helpful. The site was excellent value for money with large flat pitches and really good facilities including free hairdryer in the ladies shower room. There is a bar on the site with a small sun terrace and a well stocked shop. There is traffic noise from the A38 but for one night that was fine. We would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laurie118 22 reviews from this member

Our first time at this site and I must say we were not disappointed.

The staff were very helpful, the toilets and showers cannot be faulted. I was worried about the narrow lane leading to the site but it was easy as there are passing places so easy towing the caravan. The site is very clean and well laid out. We WILL be returning the next time we go to Devon.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happy-snapper 8 reviews from this member

Fab site. Staff v helpful and pleasant. Shop available on site and also an info place for local events and things. Nice children's play area and fames room but I didn't go here. Pub on site but quiet great for hot food and drinks if ur camping like me.

Toilets and showers spotless as are the food prep areas.

Despite being a hilly place all of the pitches for tents and caravans were level.

It was a howling gale for 2 nights when I was there and was the only one in the field. Closeness of the road didn't bother me at all and I have had closer in other places.

Was v convenient for me and Torquay is not that far away. I will certainly be going back as despite the rain I had s good time

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SurreyDan 1 review from this member

Just had an excellent 4 days over Easter 2017. We had 3 touring caravans, 7 adults and 5 kids and fun was had by all. The toilets/showers were great, the staff were amazing and the restaurant food was very tasty. The site laid on plenty of activities including farm walks, evening entertainment and an Easter egg hunt. The kids did not want to leave to come home, and to be honest, nor did I. We were last at Parkers Farm over 12 years ago and got to say its as nice now as it was then. Cannot wait til we return.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Val E 12 reviews from this member

We stopped here for two nights which was half term week. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the site was lovely, a great position, just off the main road, ( we didn't find noise from the road a problem at all ) level plot. Price very reasonable. The food was fine, in restaurant, massive portions.

The only problem I found were not the site, but a few people on site, the toilets were nice and modern, with lovely hot showers, but I think, ( might have only been in ladies as husband said mens were fine) it looked like girls had been messing about in toilets and foot prints on toilet seats, toilet paper on floor, l pick some of it up every time I went in, but spoils it for everyone if people. Can't keep an eye on young people,

Also dog poop on the grassy areas made me so cross, not the dogs but owners who can't pick it up.

And I saw one lady drive across a bank practicing off roading messing about late one of the nights!

I would return, but may try a quieter time of year, when there are less people about. As site was great.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yelsel58 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 week stay on this lovely, well maintained site with very friendly owners/staff. Nice big pitches on terraced layout so most enjoying great views of the surrounding countryside. Clean toilet/shower facilities in two blocks. We were a group of 3 adults but it looked like the children were having great fun with 4 play areas, a pets corner, kids room and an opportunity to feed some of the farm animals too. Nice bar on site with reasonably priced good food available. It is just off the A38 so traffic noise to be expected but this didn't bother us at all. We found the location of the road a bonus as it made it very easy to get around. Lots of National Trust places nearby (Cotehele and Greenway particularly worth a visit) and not too far from a variety of coastal towns. Would also recommend the steam railway trip to Totnes from Buckfastleigh.

Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019