Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lambolady67 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for a week from 23rd July and had pitch B5 which has electric hookup. This campsite is a fab site, staff all very helpful and friendly, from the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. There were 3 of us, 2 adults and a 7 year old.

Facilities excellent, free hot showers, toilets clean and tidy, pitches well kept and decent size. Note if you using hook up and your in a middle pitch you will need at least a 25/30 metre cable, if you don't have one this isnt an issue as the reception will happily lend you one for a refundable deposit.

Play area lovely for kids, and staff do morning feeds with the help of the kids, afternoon farm walks and tractor rides. Restaurant lovely, food good and plenty of it, value for money. Also has WI-fi that you can buy hourly, daily or weekly, we bought a week for 12 and that is 24 hours a day for 7 days, good value as far as I'm concerned. There is a freezer in reception for ice packs, no charge but there is a donation box for charity.

For people who want total peace and quiet in the middle of the wilderness, this is not the site for you - not because of

Other campers but because you can hear the road. We are used to this so it wasn't an issue for us, but I have read some reviews that complained about the road noise - what do you

Expect with a campsite less than 500 yards from the main A38! But if hearing traffic doesn't bother you then I would definitely recommend this site - we will return for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandraj0719 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a few nights here an were very happy with the site.

When we arrived we had a top class welcome very friendly and all the information we needed.

The pitch was well kept and a great size which had great views of the surrounding country side, our tip is try to get at the top of the site for the best views.

They had two very well kept toilet/shower blocks with separate areas for disabled people and families, a very well laid out laundry room and an on site restaurant and bar that had a room you could take your dogs in.

All in all for the money we paid we were very impressed by the site as have paid a lot more in the past for a site of this quality.

The only down side for some people may be the main road if you point your ear the right way you can just about hear it but never noticed it on our stay.

We will be adding this to our list of top 10 uk sites and will be returning soon.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beth2556 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here during the Easter break with another family, also in a touring van. It was not our first visit, and once again we have not been disappointed. The amenities on site are first class, the pitches are well laid out, with plenty of room and great views. The showers are clean, and although the chilly mornings (and lack of obvious heating) meant that taking a shower was a bit of a endurance test, we were never short of piping hot water. The children's play areas were a big hit, and catered well for all three children, ranging in ages from 3 to 9 years, as were the animals!

We visited 'Miss Piggy's' to eat on one occasion. The food was mostly well priced and enjoyable, but not outstanding. The children enjoyed the toddler play area and games room.

I agree with previous reviewers that the noise from the road was obvious, (all day and night) but it did not disturb us.

I found the staff to be very friendly and genuinely welcoming, and I have no doubt that we will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Livermans 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a couple of years ago for a short break, this is the most beautiful setting for a caravan site you could wish for, the staff are so friendly, they even put the heating on in the caravan before we got there as it was a cold day, the views from the static van we stayed in were just breath taking. Not been for a couple of years due to finances, but will most definitely use these again in the near future. Didn't use the facilities as was out of season but had a good look around and was really impressed with what I saw. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildewarrens 3 reviews from this member

 What a great site! we stayed here for 2 weeks my husband & I and our 14 year old daughter and our friends with there 15 year old triplets.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, the staff were so friendly and cheerful, we were shown to our pitches and told about the evenings entertainment

We had electric hookup with our tents so were not in the tent field, we were on the end of a terrace so were told we could spread ourselves out a bit but even so our pitches were big, my friend has a outwell xxl 12 berth tent plus front canopy and there was plenty of space, (although not all pitches were as big) plus beautiful views across the countryside, As our pitch was the furthest we did need an extension lead for our electic's which we luckily had.

The site was quiet our 4 teenagers were probably some of the oldest on the site but they didn't get bored, we have never been ones for big crowded sites but as the children get older they want more but they just seemed happy to go for walks and natter they did use the games room which was very big, clean and tidy it had pool tables and video games, we didn't use the restaurant but a lot of people were, neither did we use the small bar, we just preferred a drink by our tent enjoying that view!

The toilets were spotless no showering with dead insects on this site, as was the laundry room which was massive!

Overall the site was lovely the staff always spoke and also chatted to the children on their daily runs to change the freezer packs, I've already suggested it to a few friends and would definitely go back.

If I was going to have a moan about anything it was the fact that some people had seasonal pitches and some of these were a little weedy and untidy which was a shame, and about the dual carriage way, it bothered me (I like total quiet if possible) but nobody else I was with was the slightest bit bothered about it.

We managed plenty of exploring :

Woodlands adventure park (you may get wet here!)

Trego mills (good on a wet day)

Goodrington sands has a lovely beach and lots to do there, kids loved the ringo rides (Keep some spare change as a whole day on the beach will cost you 7. 10 in parking fees)!

Quaywest waterpark is great too

We also caught the steam train from goodrington to Kingwear then ferry across to Dartmouth we then hired a speedboat to explore the river dart ourselves.

A day on dartmoor is a must!

Living coast at Torquay is fun

And as as treat I went on the Torquay hiflyer balloon lovely views.

Oh and there's a good camping shop in Ashburton should you need anything. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsluigi 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after spending 8 nights at this lovely site. It is the best site we have visited so far.

Very family friendly our 6 kids are aged 2 - 14 and they all thoroughly enjoyed it!. We were given a warm and friendly welcome on arrival by 'Biscuit' one of the deputy wardens I think - he was never too busy to stop for a chat even coming over to the car to say goodbye to the kids as we left.

There are several kids play areas with large trampolines which ours loved. Just the right balance of entertainment with Miss Piggy's opening at 5. 30ish we spent a couple of nights in the bar.

There is a playroom for younger ones with a large tv too.

It is a 10 deposit on arrival for a barrier card which as others have said adds to security.

There is a small shop for basics and a free ice pack freezer which is open until 9.

There is a laundry room with several washers and driers open all the time which is handy if you need to do a wash but don't want to waste time during the day in the laundry and an information room.

We didn't manage the farm walk but did go on the tractor ride. The site is well placed to visit the surrounding area.

As others have said there is constant noise from the A38 but this didn't bother us at all being Londoners but may put others off.

There were 2 shower blocks the bottom one being more modern each having a family room. We found the one in the lower block better as it had 2 showers in it and the top one had only 1. Also the showers in the ladies in the bottom block had a little bench to place things that wasn't in the top block.

The only annoying thing was the push button which you had to keep pressing. It lasted slightly longer in the family room but only about 20 seconds in the ladies.

The showers were very clean with mops provided to maintain them and each block was shut for cleaning for an hour and a half a day one at a time. They were fairly busy first thing but less so later on which suited us as we are not early risers.

We had non electric so we were in the tent field which was not level but all electric hook ups seemed to be.

We were really sad to leave and will definitely be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familyof4gocamp 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice site. As others have said the site is close to the A38 which is excellent for links to other parts of Devon but some may feel is too close as there is some noise from it.

Pitches are large and well set out, we had electric hook up and were pitched near seasonal pitches and other tents.

There is a security barrier for access for which a returnable 10 deposit is charged.

The facilities are good, there are 2 toilet/shower and wash up blocks. Both have a family and and disabled rooms. I preferred the lower block which had been refurbished in 2009, the ladies had 2 showers, which both had a small seat and hooks at the entrance to the cubicle and large shower area at the back.

Blocks were closed in the middle of the day for cleaning and there is a bucket and mop outside the cubicles so users can clean up after themselves. In this block there was also one cubicle with just a basin which gives extra privacy.

Also a large mirror and surfaces in this block which was great for hair brushing etc after shower. There are no hairdryers in either block so be prepared and take your own. There is a powerpoint in the ladies upper block but not in the lower one.

We also used the family rooms but had to abandon one visit to the upper block as the shower lost pressure. The family room in the lower block was much better as had more room, 2 showers, large toilet and plenty of surface space.

Washing up facilities were good but several times we found there where no plugs. These were replaced as the week went on.

The shop has a small selection but is adequate. The laundry room is really good and always seemed to be busy. There are 5 washing machines, one was out of order, and at least the same amount of driers.

There was also a large sink for hand washing and a separate spin dryer. Washing machines are 3 and driers are 2. The only problem I had was the length of time displayed on the machine wasn't accurate and I did one load which took about 3 hours! There is also an iron and board to use.

The site has wifi through blackspot and this connection seemed good and charged by hour/days/weeks.

The pub/restaurant was good. We had 2 meals there, 1 was good the other, a curry, was poor in my opinion. Regular evening entertainment is held, and this is very relaxed.

For children, the playgrounds were good with some benches to sit on for the grown ups. My two particularly enjoyed the animals, and loved going on the farm walk which we all enjoyed. They also went back in the morning to 'help' and were welcomed by the staff which was really nice.

Overall a lovely quiet site, not crowded, although could be because of the changeable weather when we were there. The children were very happy to visit and feed animals and play in the park and didn't get bored.

Well placed for trips out to the surrounding area. We visited, Crealy, Dartmoor Zoo, Plymouth aquarium and Kents Caverns in Torquay, all within a relatively short drive. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KJSee 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site and the staff were friendly and helpful. The pitches were really spacious and level with lots of play area around for the kids.

The facilities are clean and modern and adequate for the number of people on the site. The kids playground is great with large trampolines particularly enjoyed.

We had three adjoining pitches with seven adults, six kids and two dogs and everyone had a great time.

Anyone at the site should make sure they visit Stover Park which was lovely and a great place for children and dogs to run off some energy.

Will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roba2728 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site over the Whitsun bank holiday weekend for 4 nights. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Although a very hilly site all the pitches are big and flat but make sure you have a long enough lead for your hook up. Excellent for visiting Torquay Brixham and Paignton including Paignton zoo. Showers and toilets always clean even when site was busy. 4 playgrounds for the kids. Good clubhouse with bar and great food all reasonably priced, low key entertainment, bingo and a quiz when we were there. Owners even take children on a farm walk with a tractor ride. Overall a really good site ideally placed reasonably priced and in a great location. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thelancashires 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and what a fantastic place it is. Our family of five plus dog spent 3 days with friends here and had an amazing time. Spacious pitches, clean facilities, glorious views over Dartmoor and of course the lovely weather helped a lot. The family that run the park are very friendly and helpful. Our dog had a great time walking over the moors, wading through rivers and running through the forests. The children loved the trampolines, climbing frames, slides, swings, amusements. There are lots of farm animals, including pigs, ponies, goats, calves, sheep, lambs, ducks, chickens. The restaurant 'Miss Piggy's' served lovely home cooked food at reasonable prices and our dog was welcome in 'The Oak Room' part of the restaurant. We are definitely going to book again for next year. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3041 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement