Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ejb20 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second year running we have been to parkers farm and we cant fault it once again.

It is fantastic for kids farm walks, tractor rides, light entertainment etc.

The toilets are the best I have seen, the clubhouse is great,good food and good service.

Its a great site if you have dogs, big fields and a separate room to take dogs in the pub.

There is a shop on site that is well stocked, a launderette and a large playground for the children.

Its quite central to get places, some people complain there is noise from the motorway but we haven't been affected by it. The countryside around is breathtaking.

You can visit nearby river dart adventures and have a full day there and it is not far from Looe in Cornwall (about half an hours drive).

We will be booking to go again next year.

A treasure of a site 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckywellsearp 16 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, we felt very welcome and in general the site was really friendly, there are a lots of returning and seasonal customers which helps to make it friendly.

The two toilet/shower blocks were great, we did have to wait at busy times but never long, they were very clean and the family rooms were well organised, with a large belfast sink which my four year old fit in. The playground was well used although the trampolines looked a bit scary, best just to stay in the bar and not watch! The site uses a card access system which you leave a 10 deposit for, this was great as it gave extra security.

The pitches are on a terraced hill side with good tarmacked roads for access, and good size pitches, it did get a bit windy at times, but we had full sun, and the evenings were lovely. The site shop has what you need and stays open till 9, the laundry was fantastic plenty of washers and dryers as well as a free iron and board (we didn't use the iron!)

There is something on every night in the bar, as well as farm walks and tractor rides for the children, the notice board informed you of the different events, there is a playroom just with a few toys, its great if you have little ones, and a room in the lower floor with pool tables and machines, you could leave a small deposit for the cues and table tennis which was outside.

We ate in the bar on the last night, the food was lovely, freash veg, and all local. Loads to do near by, Plymouth, Exeter, Paighton, all within half an hour in the car. We walked into Ashburton one day (I did have to carry my 4 year old back some of the way). We were there two weeks and could still find more to do. If you have young kids I would recommend Woodlands we spent the day there it was really good, my 12 year old also enjoyed it.

Not much on the down side about the site really, one thing we did notice, which was really a personal thing, we were pitched with the caravans, if you want electric you are all put together, where we normally find ourselves in a large field with hookup, we did miss the camaraderie of being in the camping field, I think the kids would have mixed better, rather than in regimented rows. We have already discussed booking again next year. I hope that's helped. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The cartwrights 5 reviews from this member

 This site is one of the best sites we have visited. The layout was perfect; the play areas were not too close to the pitches, there were two wash/toilet facilities so if one block was being cleaned the other was available and the pitches seemed relatively private (not too open plan). There were plenty of washing machines and tumble driers, the staff were very friendly and the kids loved the farm tour, feeding and handling a variety of small animals. We will definitely stay here if we visit Devon again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise406 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 5 night stay at this site,this was a last minute booking and was a considerable 8 hour dive from home, we were a little worried about the mixed reviews, but headed there anyway.

The directions to the site are fine, as it is just of the A38. The road leading up is slightly narrow but with care shouldn't cause any problems. The welcome you receive when you get there is great, you get a map of the site a menu for the bar/restaurant and driven up to your plot and shown where the site's facilities are.

We were J1 and I have to say for us was perfect.

POSITIVES: Toilet block clean and modern, good shower facilities, Excellent family bathroom, Good wash up facilities undercover. Miss piggys bar/ restaurant good value for money, excellent potion size. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and always seem to be smiling.

Really good Laundry room and information room containing plenty to do in the surrounding area.

Adequate shop for essential items. Great children's play area down near the front reception with other smaller area's dotted around the park. Fantastic farm walk which the kids loved.

NEGATIVES: Ok you are near the A38 and you can hear the traffic noise, but it really isn't that bad. The site is graduated on a hill and is a bit of a walk to the top, But the views are Fantastic and worth it.

For us this site is a Fantastic family site and the only suggestion I would make is to have miss piggys open at lunchtime.

Thank you Parkers for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen Christou 6 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here (myself, husband and 15 year old daughter) sandwiched between my sister and her family in their spacious tent and my brother and his wife plus 3 dogs in their caravan. Our pitch had EHU though we didn't use this but we wanted to all be together and my brother's caravan needed this.

Campsite owners were very friendly and especially helpful as we arrived without our tentpoles at 6.30pm on a Saturday evening after a 200 mile drive! They gave us very handy directions to shops in Newton Abbot where we managed to buy an emergency tent!

The Campsite is lovely on the side of a hill and there was plenty of interest for my sister's children who are 5 and 8. Lots of farm animals and tractor rides arranged on site and there was a sow with about 10 little piglets during our stay. Showers, toilets and washing up facilities are probably the best we've ever seen on a UK campsite. And the site organises evening activities in their bar and games room. We attended the Quiz night and the Bingo evening which was fun! It's an added attraction especially if the weather is bad, though we had lovely weather just about all week. Our pitch seemed to have sunshine until about 8:30pm/9pm which was great for BBQ evenings outside our tent.

The only downside was the noise from the dual carriageway (which we did know about) but when we arrived I had hoped would not have been so noticeable. The A38 is pretty busy just about all day, especially noticeable in the mornings as we were waking up. It is the only thing that would put me off going again as it makes you feel as if you are not in the middle of the countryside and that is one of the things I most like about camping. I think also that if we went on our own, we would pitch in the tent field as we tended to be surrounded by caravans and missed the camaraderie of campers sitting outside their tents in the evening, though we did have family to make up for this.

There's plenty to do in the area and the countryside is just stunning. We had a day trip to Exeter and a couple of afternoons on the beach. We liked Teignmouth and spent a whole day exploring Dartmoor. And we can thoroughly recommend 'The Welcome Stranger Inn' at Liverton. It's run by a Dutch couple who were very friendly and the food was a little different from typical pub food. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Napped 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night in early July, the site wasn't full, and it wasn't a problem turning up without booking at 8 o'clock on a Friday night. Reasonably priced at 9 per night for 2 people, a tent and car (non electric pitch).

The site was very easy to find off of the A38. But this proximity to the main road meant that there was constant traffic noise. It didn't interfere with sleeping, but it definitely didn't make for a peaceful stay.

Facilities wise, you couldn't ask for more. Clean and modern (one modern, one less modern) toilet blocks with nice hot water, a pub, restaurant, shop (I don't know how well stocked) and a handy little room with info on local attractions. It seems a great site for kids too, with play areas, trampolines, farm animals and rabbits.

There isn't much in the immediate area, Ashburton town is roughly 1.5 miles away (with bakeries, pubs and a small somerfield). There is also a nice pub called the rising sun inn about a mile away from the campsite.

Of course if you hop in the car, Dartmoor and the rest of South Devon are a short drive away.

I would definitely recommend the site if you don't mind the traffic noise, but I probably wouldn't go back for that reason. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hornetsnest 4 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site! Everything about it is well thought out and well organised (a week of superb weather always helps of course).

The tiered pitches were well spaced and gave great views over the Devon countryside; the toilet / shower / rubbish / elsan facilities were the smartest and cleanest I've seen; the bar and restaurant were everything we'd want; and the facilities for children were excellent (good play area full of trampolines, a playroom and games room in the club house, and plenty of space to run around).

Staff are friendly and helpful, and the site is well placed for the wonderful coast and countryside in this area.

The only criticism might be the traffic noise from the A38 (which cuts through the valley immediately below the site). We only really noticed the noise at night, but it didn't stop me sleeping and certainly wouldn't stop me going back. It's a real 10/10 site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gloversgirl 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived mid afternoon and was greeted at Reception, checked in, paid 10 deposit for security barrier and was shown to our pitch.

The guy (Dave I think) showed us the best place to pitch. He too was very friendly.

We went for a walk round the site with our 2 year old and went to visit the many animals around the site. My daughter really liked the pig and piglets!

We ventured down for tea about 6.45 (Miss Piggys opened at 6.30) we got in there at a good time as a large group of 30-40 turned up just after! The food came within 20 mins and it was good sized portions and very yummy! Good range on the menu and a specials board was available too.

Showers etc were very clean and no queues for any of it. There is also a disabled room and a family room. The family room has a shower, loo and extra large sink. Only down point about the showers was that you had to keep pressing the button for more water, but they were hot!

There is lots of play areas around the site so kids will never be bored. We only left the site for a short while and that was for a tesco trip to newton abbot! There is a Somerfield in Ashburton but very small and couldn't get a lot on the list.

The site is well located just off the A38, you can see the road from the site and you can hear the traffic but you soon get used to it.

There isn't many sites that we would go back to but this one we definitely will. We paid 9 a night (no ehu but would have been 2 a night if we did. We didn't stay in the tent field as this isn't open till end of July. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fiona f 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent may half term at Parkers Farm, we felt it was the best site we've stayed at in England.

The pitches are all a good size & mostly flat. They are terraced: we were on row E which gave great views over to Dartmoor.

The toilets, showers & washing up facilities were immaculate. There was hardly any waiting for the showers & the hot water was in plentiful supply.

Our son is 14 so the playgrounds were not used by him but there are plenty of play areas around the site.

It is a working farm, with plenty of animals around and the farm walks & tractor rides attracted lots of younger children.

The dog walk was great, allowing our friends dog plenty of space to run off the lead. One room in the bar allows dogs in. The bar itself was very pleasant, thou' we didn't sample the bar meals.

There are plenty of things to see & do in the area. Ashburton is the nearest village: we walked from the site in about 45 minutes & rewarded ourselves with a superb cream tea at the Green Ginger Cafe. Lots of other small shops there to browse in.

Weather was beautiful & we had a great holiday. We would definitely return 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: V8trikemids 3 reviews from this member

 Should have done this ages ago-but--- lovely site, we've been there several times now, and will go again this year (2010). Tricky approach, easy to get the wrong turning, or overshoot, though either isnt a problem when you know the area!

Small shop with basics, nice staff, always friendly and helpful. Swipecard entry barrier, tight turns on site 'roads'. Lovely facilities, one block slightly newer than the other. We've stuck to the same areas of ehu pitches, which may not be as big as some sites, but they are flat, and many are in little cul-de-sac corners- nice and cosy!

There is a non ehu tent only field which is sloping in places, but very roomy, as not regimented pitches.

The on site bar is lovely- good food reasonable prices, with a separate 'kids room' and even a restaurant area where the four legged campers are allowed- lovely touch! though we havent taken our pooch yet. Theres a games room under the bar, with pool tables and a selection of noisy arcade games for the older kids. Outside is a basic play area with trampolines etc.

All in all, a lovely site, not too far from the Torbay area, with 'Trago' just up the road, and Dartmoor close by too. Recommend a good satnav however, as when we last visited- Easter 09, there was a nasty accident on the A38 which was then shut, effectively cutting us off from the outside world- we did get out by following our nose up the lanes, but took us 2 hrs to take what would normally be a 6 mile journey. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement