Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WiffleBlat 2 reviews from this member

 A really nice site to stay at. We spent 5 nights camping there and enjoyed every one of them.

The site is dog friendly but though there were several dogs on site I wouldn't have known had I not seen them in the mornings. No dogs yapping through the night.

The staff on site were friendly and helpful and were always available for advice and information.

Although we didn't make use of the electrical hook up they were available for tents.

There's a basic play area in the middle of the campsite and a 'magical' forest walk for a nice stroll.

The facilities are modern, clean and homely. There was a small wait for the showers on some mornings but nothing to ruin your day. There's a shop on site which sells the basics and a pub with a shop attached less than 10 minutes walk in the quaint village of Knowle. The pub didn't open on Mondays while we were there, which was a little strange, but it's a nice place with good food and friendly staff. I recommend getting there for the early bird menu 18:00-19:00, excellent food and good prices.

We walked the cycle path to Exmouth which is a pleasant 2 and a bit mile trip through nice countryside. The walk to Budleigh Salterton is around 1. 5 miles.

I'd recommend this site to anyone and would happily stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

 Booking the site is friendly over the phone. We had a service pitch, the last pitch they had and over the Bank Holiday weekend it was 22 per night. This was more than we would normally pay, but in our opinion value for money.

The pitches are large and the wardens excellent. The warden shows you to the pitch.

There is a central area in the middle of the site with play equipment and seems to be where all the tents are. Children can roam freely in this area and we found that noise was not a problem. There are only 3 toilets and showers for the whole site, which could be a problem when the site is full.

The small shop sells milk etc.

The site is next to the cycle path to Exmouth (excellent) and easy walk to the pub and a walk into Budleigh.

We will certainly go again and would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Marion S Steer 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at Pooh Cottage, what a friendly site, lovely area, walking distance of coast path, there is a cycle route or footpath to Exmouth adjacent to site. Not far from bus stop which takes you through the beautiful east Devon villages of East Budleigh and Otterton. Lots of things to see and do. The wardens of Pooh Cottage are very friendly and helpful, the toilets, showers and site are kept spotlessly clean. There is a play area for the children a woodland walk with wooden bears dotted around. We will be re-visiting. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trish49 1 review from this member

 This year we decided to take a seasonal pitch on Pooh Cottage, it has turned out to be the best decision we have ever made. No more touring for us.

The site is small, family owned and exceptionally well run by its on site wardens. Everything is incredibly clean and nothing is too much trouble for them. It has a small shop which you can buy your basic products such as local eggs, bread etc. There is a general grocery store in the pub which is within walking distance. Longboat cafe is great for crab sandwiches located on the beach. Ask the wardens for places to buy mussels, you can buy fresh fish on Budleigh beach from the fishermen and places like Beer as well.

Delightfully no club on site, a lovely wooden children's play area that kept our 6 and 2 year old niece and nephew interested for a long time, we had to drag them away.

Bike hire means you can drop onto the cycle track 50 yards from the site entrance. Budleigh is a 10/15 minute walk, where there are some lovely coffee bars, and beach huts to hire from the tourist information centre. All you do is turn left at bottom of Bear Lane, and immediate right, and keep turning right at junctions.

I realise there are just three showers, however Ive never queued as we take off peak showers and there are loads of loos.

Its a really quiet well located site which we truly enjoy staying on, and our family enjoy visiting us there too.  


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazlikesshoes 1 review from this member

 We visited Pooh Cottage just after Easter to find a quiet, extremely clean and friendly site. The wardens were lovely and very accommodating, especially when we asked if we could swap from a grass pitch to a hard standing (after looking at the forecast!)

The showers were immaculate, free and efficient, toilets as per the showers. Our hard standing had its own water tap and waste water drain.

There is a kids climbing frame with a slide in the middle of the campsite which is visible from most if not all of the pitches. Kid-friendliness would be upped if there was a couple of swings, too.

The only tiny criticism is that during busy periods, there may be a queue for the showers, but the site owners have plans to increase the shower numbers, so this shouldn't be a problem when it's finished.

We would highly recommend this site for its cleanliness, friendliness and convenient base for a stay in Devon. And very reasonably priced too!

Will definitely be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Us+theDog 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

We stayed for two nights over Easter and loved this campsite.

The site is very clean and well maintained, with nice touches of signs letting you know whats going on locally, fresh herbs to help yourselves to, very clean toilets and showers. Very dog friendly.

We have quite a big tent and the pitch was plenty big enough for us, level too.

We drove down to Budleigh to pick up a few bits and pieces but it was easily walkable, we did stop off in The Feathers (dog friendly) for a quick drink, the food menu looked good, there's a Co-op and Spar in town. There is also a pub in Knowle (closer than Budleigh) we didn't visit but drove past. A Tesco and Lidl can be found on the road to Exmouth.

There is a lovely walk just outside the campsite entrance which is a shared footpath / cycleway / bridlepath which is a tarmacked path through the woods to Exmouth (4 miles I think) we didn't get that far as the light was failing but it was a lovely walk, our dog loved it.

Overall a lovely site that we will be returning to! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wicked Wilf 2 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites we have been too! Great management team,

Very friendly and helpful, great advise given on local area.

Toilets and showers spotless, a pleasure to use!

Great spot for walking and cycling as the old railway now a cycle route to Exmouth, which is literally begins at the entrance to the site. Our dog loved it too.

Excellent food at The Brittania pub - down the road in Knowle -

Superb.

The whole site is immaculately kept.

We stayed for 3 nights, wanted to stay longer - truly brilliant! Can't praise enough. Will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ibblybibbly 1 review from this member

 I wasn't sure how long I'd spend at Pooh Cottage, and the wardens were very flexible about extending my stay. I spent a week on my own in a small tent without a car, and the wardens were very helpful, friendly, and made sure I was ok.

The facilities were excellent and clean, and included hand soap, toilet paper, hand towels, hot showers, washing-up liquid, washing-up bowls, draining racks, washing machines, dryers, and electric sockets in the laundry room.

The site is in a beautiful location. It's easy to walk into Exmouth along the cycle path, or alternatively through Knowle village and over a footpath to join the coastal path, which brings you to Exmouth beach. I also walked the coast path to Sidmouth. Perhaps the best walk though is inland to the Exe estuary through the woods and commons. Really pretty.

The pub in Knowle is traditional and the landlord keeps the beer well. The best pub I found was the Salterton in Budleigh Salterton, which is a lovely little town. The museum there is also worth a visit, and there are lots of places for ice cream, cream tea, or something hot and savoury. The fish and chip shop is excellent. Perhaps the best thing about Budleigh is the naturist beach - very handy if you've walked down without your trunks and fancy a dip.

My only regret is not finding out sooner about the Stagecoach Megarider Gold bus ticket, which would have saved me a bit of money, and enabled me to visit more places.

At 7 per person per night, my stay was excellent value.

As I only have a small tent, which isn't big enough to stand up in, I spent a lot of time outside. Lots of other campers came up and had a chat, and people were really friendly.

Many thanks for a lovely holiday. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Daisybus79 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend break, this was our first visit to the site. Excellent all round site. Highly recommend site. Great location in quite surroundings yet very close to the town and beach. This site was great for kids as well, with a very modern play area. Toilets very clean, showers hot and clean. We will be returning ! As this was our first visit and won't be the last

Thanks pooh cottage team! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WindyWillows 1 review from this member

 I have just spent a few nights at this venue and I was very impressed.

The wardens were very helpful and they are passionate about helping out where they can.

Thank you for help with tent in those windy conditions.

The venue is very close to all local shops and the beautiful beach.

A reasonable price per night.

I hope that when I return the shower block will be finished!

See you again Soon  


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement