Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike walton 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with friendliest owners ever.

Tried to book during bank holiday week for following day but told no vacancies and advised of another site. Half way down M5 my mobile rang and the owners said they had a cancellation.

Great for biking. Had puncture 2nd morning. Owners offered repair kit immediately.

Gas ran out one evening after camp shop closed. Owners pointed to full cylinders and told to help myself.

Deserve to do well with all the effort they put in.

Do walk the site to admire the wood carvings, especially in the children's play area/woodland. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VickyandBrian 7 reviews from this member

 While using UKCampsite.co.uk yet again for inspiration / reviews, I thought I should do some retrospective reviews for our few trips so far this year in return!

We stayed here with our touring caravan for a few days in April. (We previously stayed camping in 2009, so it must have been good for us to come back!)

It is a charming site which I enjoyed for my 'adult only' time as much as the kids enjoyed when then came to join me :)

It has the right mix of facilities, but simplicity. Lovely play areas, but no tackiness.

There are lots of wonderful walks from the site, or within a short drive distance. Easy buggy / wheelchair / cycle friendly routes as well as more strenuous climbs if you like.

The owners and warden are very helpful, and go out of their way for you. I had help pitching (but not pushy help). One evening there was a particularly rowdy couple of families (that can happen anywhere, not a reflection on the site) and one quick phone call to the owners had them helping resolve the situation. They dealt sensitively with the group (new campers) and introduced them to some camping etiquette(!); and followed up regularly with myself. Couldn't ask for more. I will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cornermonster 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Pooh Cottage so we were unsure what to expect and only had other peoples reviews to go by. Now we have been we couldn't be happier. The site is run by the friendliest people that will go that extra mile for you. The site itself is incredibly clean and tidy, the facilities are spotless. I used the loos very late at night after a lot of people had used it that day. By the time I woke up and headed back to he loos the next morning they were back to being spotless and looking like they had come straight out of a showroom. I have visited a lot of different sites and this is by far the best. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Libby_uk 2 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived home after a fantastic long weekend camping at Pooh Cottage. We were part of a group consisting of two trailer tents plus one tent, 7 adults, two children and two puppies.

I can honestly say that the staff at the campsite could not have been more helpful. They noticed we were going to walk the dogs and supplied us with a map with two routes highlighted as good long and short walks. The walking around this area is amazing, variable terrain and great views and very dog friendly.

A nice pub is within walking distance and although we didn't eat there the menu did look good. There is also a vineyard a short amble away from the site offering tours and sales of their produce.

The toilets were nice, never a queue for either ladies or mens. The showers were amazing with loads of room to hang your things and get dry. Both showers and loos have just had a refit and it all feels fresh and clean.

We spent an afternoon in Budleigh Salterton which is truely lovely and we will be returning to the campsite and will be exploring the area further. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Surfbabe 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site, in a fantastic location, located a short walk from a great pub that does fab food at Knowle, also close by is Budleigh Salterton only a 15 min walk, great Indian here. Sidmouth is only 7 miles away and Exmouth 4 miles. Tight next to the site is a cycle path (a disused railway) through a lovely woodland which leads to Exmouth. A couple of miles away is Otterton mill, well worth a visit and fab food.

The site itself is lovely and surrounded by woodland, it has fab new showers and toilet block and the owner was very pleasant and very helpful. Will definitely be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TillyP 1 review from this member

 We arrived here having cycled so were quite tired. The reception was closed but our name and pitch number for our tent was clearly marked and very easy to find.

We particularly liked the pitches having a small area of fence This had the pitch number marked and meant we had somewhere right by our tent to lean our bike.

The showers were fantastic. Very clean, hot and free. Loo blocks were also immaculate.

The managers were really helpful and went our of there way to help us with items we had forgotten. This was very much appreciated.

The walk into town was no distance and there were a number of excellent places to eat.

The campsite was very quiet in our return and throughout the night. We had a lovely stay here and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Proxewa 7 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from Easter break at Pooh cottage. It's in a lovely spot with beautiful views and bluebell woods up the lane. The new toilet and shower block is in use and the electric showers were particularly good.

Three of them and unisex but never had to wait despite site being fairly full. We were lucky to get a seasonal pitch but would have to say some of the touring pitches were a little small and might feel smaller in peak season, but a minor gripe.

We'll return soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sassyj27 5 reviews from this member

 We went to Pooh Cottage after finding it on this website, it was our first time away with our new dog so were a little apprehensive.

However the campsite was friendly and very welcoming to all including the dog.

The toilet blocks in our field were okay but not the best we have ever used, though hot water was free flowing, it did feel like you were having a shower in the shed and the toilets were clean but none of the doors locked properly. Saying this the showers were never overly busy.

The campsite is about a 25 minute walk to the beach and town and is well located for exmouth and other coastal areas and there is a nice walk along the old railway line that was right next to the campsite entrance. Overall enjoyable holiday 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tarzan 3 reviews from this member

 Great Site ! Great people ! Shame about the toilet blocks. Would we visit again? Yes, and hope that the owners soon do something about the facilities.

The site is ideally placed to explore the surrounding countryside, on the whole it is well run with a useful little shop. The grounds are very well maintained with the grass being kept short ( although I think that some thanks must go to the rabbits). We enjoyed a truly peaceful break at this site and would recommend it, albeit with some reservations about the toilet blocks. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Canvasbucks 4 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet site and well managed in a lovely, peaceful part of Devon. The site wardens live on site in their Winnebago and they are very helpful and friendly.

The toilet blocks are basic and antiquated, but clean and functional. The men's has two electric showers which are nice and hot and I didn't ever have to wait. My wife did have to wait, and one time gave up, though this is par for the course where ladies facilities are concerned.

The site is mostly seasonal, which for those who don't know, means that people leave their caravans down there all season and visit when they like. This leaves only a few touring pitches along the bottom of the field, where there is quite a severe slope. We found it difficult / impossible to eat at the table and the tent looked awful from outside, as the trailer was level. My concern here was if it had rained heavily, it would have all flowed towards the sleeping area.

There are two further fields at the back of the site, but these had a club visiting. Again, one field is level, the other not.

Given the facilities and the nature of the touring pitches, we found this site to be too expensive. We paid 24 for two adults and one child per night, no electric. This isn't excessive, but there similar and cheaper campsites in the area. We felt it was worth paying though, just for the peace and quiet.

Locally there are some great beaches, but all pebble and stone, except at low tide at Sidmouth, when the sand comes out. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement