Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Victor Butler 4 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed warmly and enjoyed. 3 nights. In May 2013. In our Campervan at Pooh Cottage Site, quietly situated a mile up from the sea at Budleigh Salterton, and adjacent to the cycle track to Exmouth

We especially enjoyed an hours walk from the site, along quiet Bear Lane, through bluebell woods, across common, along hillside field paths with great views of coast, and downtown picturesque village of East Budleigh with pubs, community shop, village hall, statue of Water Raleigh, and bus service

Although the site was full, we rarely had to wait for a shower to become available in the small, clean amenity block.

Good laundry and washing up room with small library. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rw121057 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site tucked away just outside Budleigh Salterton. From the moment we arrived the wardens were so helpful. They lent us some waste pipe as ours was a bit short to reach the drain. We had a fully serviced pitch which was large, level & close to either of the utility blocks. The showers were spotlessly clean and were electric so hot water was always available.

There was a large expanse of grass in front of us with some areas for tourers and tents and a nice little play area for the younger kids. Our son-in-law was appearing as 'Elvis' at the Exmouth Pavillion and the wardens even went to the trouble of making up a poster which they displayed on site.

We shall be returning again without a doubt as we will be sure of a warm welcome. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 A fine site with all that's needed for a quiet break.

The walk to Budleigh (a small one Horse Town) is about a mile through a Council estate and a Park, its downhill all the way there so the return is not so good.

The Toilets are clean but only 4 for a large site and only three showers which is poor but there is a large new block being built but building seems to have stopped ages ago.

The Showers work just fine without time limit and are perfect for the job, on a busy day though I can forsee some serious queuing.

Great for Dogs as Bunnies all over the place and plenty of space to run around in safety, some good walks just off site and the coast walks are from Budleigh.

We enjoyed our stay here and had no problems at all 
Management response: Budleigh is a picturesque town in rural East Devon. It has a stunning beach which is part of the Jurassic Coast and World Heritage site. There are ample shops including a good butchers, fruit & veg shop, bakery as well as gift shops, jewellers and deli's. There are also great restaurants and nice pubs.

The walk down to Budleigh is a gradual downward stroll through Bear Lane. You walk down Bedlands Lane with houses on either side comprising mainly
privately owned properties which are well maintained, it is a quiet area of a peaceful, respectable town! The local primary school is on the corner, a few more houses, then the gradient peters out to a pretty level path through the Park, the Town Hall and the High Street.

In terms of our facilities, we have a main toilet and shower block that is always open, and at busy times, we have a secondary unit that we open, which means there are never long waits.

We are building new facilities, and it is an on-going project. We work during the winter months when we are closed so that we do not spoil anyone's peace and quiet on holiday. We will be doing more work this winter.

We do have an abundance of wildlife which we are happy to preserve. We do have a 'Dogs on leads' rule which we ask people to adhere to.


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thjones 1 review from this member

 This is a very clean and friendly site. The owners and managers are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had a run of 'Murphy's', our jokey wheel collapsed and the motor mover didn't 'mover'.

The site warden and a couple of campers came to our rescue to get the jockey wheel back up. For which a big thank you to all for their help.

The campsite is set out very well and the amenities are very clean. The campsite is situated close to some lovely walks.

We took our 4 dogs with us and they were absolutely shattered by the end of our stay.

We will definitely be going back there sooner rather than later. Once again thank you for a great relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dfrancis 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful time, the owners were very helpful in accommodating us as we required three pitches together, two caravans and one tent.

Our grandchildren enjoyed themselves as they were able to experience playing with several children safely without adult supervision in a safe environment.

The site is clean, well managed and friendly, I will visit again as will my family, Thankyou for a lovely time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Autocrazy 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site. The owners were welcoming and helpful. A short drive to the charming town of Budleigh Salterton and nearby Exmouth. The site and facilities are well kept, clean and friendly.

As another reviewer said there seem to be quite a few seasonal pitches so I would guess booking in advance, as we did, is a must.

We met people there who have returned year after year and now wish we had booked for more than our 4 nights, plenty to see and do in the area and a truly relaxing place to return to in the evening.

We will be recommending this site to friends and hopefully will be returning again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic and Ange 1 review from this member

 Second visit to this site after a one night stop over last summer.

This was my partner's first stay under canvas for 20 years and that fact that I chose this site says it all.

Most pitches look pretty level and the site is well drained- certainly no problems with one I've used.

My favourite campsite showers ever! Proper electric showers each in their own little room (for 10 minutes perfect tranquillity in the morning. )

Admittedly the facilities look pretty small but always perfectly clean and never too busy.

Laundry/washing up room perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water whatever the hour. Can't comment on the washers/driers as I've never used them but look modern and reasonably priced. Small freezer for ice packs etc.

Very warm welcome from helpful and accommodating people able and willing to offer advice on local activities etc. They even offered me the same pitch I was on last year (even though it was only for a night; I call that customer service. )

Excellent location - about 15- 20 mins walk to Budleigh (Don't miss the chippy!) and a couple of good pubs - one down to earth local (great beer) and one more 'up market' establishment also with proper beer.

Easy distance to Sidmouth and Exemouth and don't miss Otterton; lovely 5(ish) mile walk along the river and then along cliffs finished off with an excellent carvery in the pub (about 9).

Also worth a stop at the mill for a cream tea (but skip lunch first!)

In summary: we were planning to head down to Cornwall in July but will be stopping over at Pooh Cottage for a few nights first. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Saonkirk 13 reviews from this member

 Great little site.

Mainly level. Needed blocks to level up at the front. Small toilet/shower block though never busy and very clean.

Pub in the village is closed though looks like it is being re-opened shortly.

People at site are very good and welcoming. Lent me a pair of ladders when we sprung a leak in our roof vent.

20 min walk into Budleigh Salterton. Indian is okay. Salterton Arms is a good pub. The Feathers is pretty down to earth but very good beer. Exmouth and Sidmouth are nice to visit.

Good place to stop over. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony B52 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site with very friendly people running it. Well drained, relatively level on most pitches. Quite a lot of seasonal pitch holders on this site, so book early if you want to ensure a space.

Loo and showers a little small, but adequate and kept really really clean by the owners.

A new larger shower block is currently under construction there.

The site backs onto the Budleigh to Exmouth Cycle route (an old converted rail track), if you fancy a 3 mile level easy going walk or cycle to Exmouth.

A walk to the local pebbly beach takes about 15 minutes. A walk to Exmouth and the sandy beaches there about 1 hour 15 minutes, or cycle at steady pace down the cycle path in about 25 minutes comfortably.

The couple that run the site presently are both cyclists and walkers so they gave us good info on local walks.

Two short walks recommended by the nice couple that ran the site we tried were:

Walk 1 Start at the campsite itself, and through lanes and across moorland and woodland to Squabmoor Reservoir, this was only about an hours walk with kids, with only about five minutes on a quiet road. Lovely varied slightly hilly walk.

Walk 2 Start at the cricket field to the rear of the car park at the end of Salting Hill road in Budleigh Salterton. The path to the left of the cricket field if you have your back to the sea runs for about a mile along side some streams before running back towards the estuary and taking you a mile back along it to return to the car park. Really pretty walk, lot of wildlife. There were thickets of twitcher's there whilst we were there as a purple heron had been spotted in the wetlands next to the estuary. About one hour 15 minutes.

For the fisherman out there, Squabmoor is a small reservoir, running to 26 foot deep, with several gravel bars dotted around the lake. Lilly pads in the shallows and advertised on the board at 6 for a day ticked. Not a massive water, so as the sign there said, no distance casting needed. The board advertised carp to 33LB, roach etc.

There is an excellent fish and chip shop in the Budleigh on Chapel street, just off the main road almost opposite the Salterton Arms.

Lovely local shops in Budleigh Salterton, about a four minute drive, or if you prefer, on the Salterton Road (B3178) there are the usual large supermarkets, one or two fast food outlets etc, about a ten minute drive.

Child friendly site, with a small climbing frame area in the middle of one of the fields where the kids normally congregate

Thanks to all there, would recommend this site.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cryan 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a delightful stay at this family site. We went as part of a large group of families who were in the area to do some charity work. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful and did us a fantastic deal too!

The site is clean, tidy, quiet and pretty. Toilets, showers and washing up areas were immaculate despite the campsite being full and damp weather and thankfully the water was always hot (shame the same couldn't be said for the weather).

We camped right next to the small children's play area, which I was rather dubious about, but it was perfect! The play equipment was just enough to keep them amused but not too much to play on to stop their improvisation. We held an Easter egg hunt for our children in the play area and other campers joined in with their little ones too. There is a fantastic family atmosphere on the site, and I am pleased to say, no unruly children dumped in the play area for hours on end causing trouble as you get on many other sites. The site was quiet after 10 (in fact it was pretty dead after 8. 30, one cold evening) and so perfect for those with young families.

The staff stopped and talked and checked we were ok on many occasions, and when we were out for a long day of charity work we returned to find our kind neighbours had rescued the gazebo and windbreaks in the gusty weather too.

An absolute pleasure to stay here and we will be booking very soon to return for a family holiday. As will all our friends that were with us! 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1363 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement