Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catmc 2 reviews from this member

 Two of us stayed for 2 nights and had a large pitch that was relatively flat, but it looks like some of them are not quite as flat.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful - offering us lots of information about budleigh salterton and surrounding areas. We bought some fresh local eggs and milk is also available.

There are some bike trails nearby, the coastal walk has some great views and the pebbled beach is beautiful.

Staff and locals at nearby pub 'the dog and donkey' are really friendly and there are some great ales and ciders on offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cuthbert2 2 reviews from this member

 This is the third year that we have visited this site and it just gets better.

Always a warm helpful welcome and this year is no exception. The site warden could not do enough for us throughout our stay.

Lovely clean new facilities, this site is set out into a valley with stunning views. Peaceful, but also child and dog friendly. Climbing ladder and slide etc for the younger campers to enjoy.

Lovely to see children making friends and playing 'old fashioned' games away from their Xbox and TVs.

Right by a cycle path which leads you into Exmouth (approx 6 miles round trip). Great cafe on beach with lovely ladies serving mugs of tea coffee and great egg sandwiches to name a few. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dorset mouse 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I had a lovely stay at this quiet and family orientated campsite. We found the toilets and showers very clean (they were even being cleaned at 10 pm, a time of high usage) and well maintained.

We camped in a newly developed area which was very flat and well sheltered by trees, but not overhanging which can cause problems.

The staff were very accommodating and appeared that any problems that people might have were dealt with promptly to the best of their ability.

We sampled the excellent value for money food at the local pub, The Dog and Donkey, well worth a visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be returning to this gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckywoo 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Pooh Cottage. We are a family of 5 in a large tent.

The owner of the site is extremely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome from the minute that we arrived. We arrived early (11am) and were allowed straight on to our pitch.

The site is very clean and tidy and has two main camping areas. We were put in the first area, which was mainly full of touring caravans. This was ok and we had expected this as we required electric hook up. The second field looked really lovely too.

The children's play area in the first field was perfect for our children. It was a climbing frame which incorporated a slide and climbing wall etc. Because of its location we could watch the children from pretty much anywhere in the field. It all felt very safe for the kids and they had a great time meeting loads of other children.

The campsite facilities were extremely clean. It was evident that the owners take great care to keep the showers and toilets clean. The first field's facilities were better than the others, but both were good.

The staff at the site were so helpful and friendly. They were particularly helpful with regard to bike hire and trying to sort out a bike trailer for us.

The laundry room is excellent with very good machines and dryers. There is also a freezer for all to use.

I would certainly recommend this site to anyone and would return without hesitation! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Robin+christine 1 review from this member

 Our second ever campsite in a motorhome! And our first ever review.

Owners/warden extremely friendly and helpful - nothing too much trouble. The site was very clean and well maintained, as were the toilets and showers.

Pub down the lane served very good food, and there were walks and cycle rides to suit everyone.

The pitches in the first area appeared to have a better view and were more spaced out - although in the second area there was a very nice play area for children where they could play safely.

There were also several seasonal pitches which were also very well maintained.

All in all a very good experience and a campsite to return to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenclarke 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, everything clean and working when I visited. Always plenty of hot water. Warden and owners very friendly and helpful. I was in a tent in the non-EHU area near the entrance which was a little noisy at times with some people disregarding the speed limit.

Children's play area in centre, maybe not a good place to be close to for some. Free unisex showers, did not have to queue, separate m/f toilets.

Freezer, laundry/wash up facilities all excellent. Lots of info in reception. Would visit again but as a childless single camper would avoid school hols next time.

Thought Budleigh Salterton was lacking in mid-price eateries though Fish & Chip shop (eat-in as well) was very good as was the Slice of Lyme, though a little expensive.

Lovely restaurant/tea room at Otterton Mill on the banks of the River Otter a few miles away.

Good walks along the river. Bicton Gardens a good day out. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelandton 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner stayed at pooh cottage weekend just gone, had a lovely time, the owners are lovely people and very helpful. I forgot to pack the quilt/sleeping bags and pillows, lucky for us they had some spares for us to borrow for the weekend.

Its a lovely campsite with 3 fields and the washroonms are very clean and tidy best iv ever seen, there were 2 blocks and dint have to wait to use anything.

We will be returning soon, next time we will take our dog as good fields around for walks. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 Had a very enjoyable weekend here. The staff were really helpful and kind when we had forgotten an essential item.

As someone else has mentioned, the facilities were really clean. We were in one of the camping fields and the toilet block had just been upgraded - there were a few glitches which will probably get sorted: no hot water for washing up, showers too hot. Would be useful to have hooks to hang washbags and towels on next to sinks, and it's a shame the sinks are so titchy - but these are minor gripes.

The field isn't completely flat but it's fine, and the pitches are generously-sized. There are two play areas, a climbing tower with slide in the caravan field and a woodland play area next to the camping field. And there are bears.

Buddleigh Salterton has a pebbly beach and is a pleasant seaside town, Sidmouth has a sandy and pebbly beach and terrific rockpools. Otterton Mill is worth a visit too. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Printini 5 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 6 nights at this gem of a site. So peaceful and clean, the warden was so friendly.

The toilets/showers were the cleanest we have ever seen. Although it is situated a little outside Budleigh it is a great base to return to after a day out.

There is a pub at the bottom of the lane although we didn't actually use it, looked welcoming. Budleigh has a Fish&chip shops and tea- rooms.

The beach is pebble, Blackpool it aint!

Lovely little place. Would return to again when we just need to chill out. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beth2556 5 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our three nights at Pooh Cottage. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, our whole group (adults, children, and dogs) were made to feel very welcome.

We were pitched next to the play area which may not have suited some people (worth checking on booking) but was ideal for us.

We found levelling the van a little tricky and had to use all our levelling blocks etc, but it wasn't a major issue.

We always found the facilities clean, and rarely waited for showers etc.

If you are looking for a site that feels quiet, relaxed, and safe for the children, in a pleasant part of Devon then look no further. We really enjoyed ourselves and I'm sure that we will visit again. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement