Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 52
Open: 20/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the site owners have advised us that they no longer have touring pitches from this season onwards. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gmt222 1 review from this member

 You get a warm welcome on arrival. We are a retired couple with daughter, have visited this site before and found it to be very friendly and welcoming, spotlessly clean.

Granddaughter and her husband and two small children have their own caravan on the site and go there several times, itís perfectly safe for children.

Itís a very calming relaxing and restful site and would easily recommend it to anyone. It is also dog friendly. Easily accessible to Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth and also Sidmouth. There is a Tescoís supermarket and Lidl and McDonaldís just a short distance away.

The shower block and toilets are easily accessible and spotless. Washing up and laundry facilities are also on site. Excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Salligreen2014 1 review from this member

 Well run and very friendly site.

Owner was very accommodating to us when we cancelled due Storm Alex, and stayed a couple of weeks later.

Amazing shower facilities with shower sink and toilet and heated flooring.

One way system in place for Covid. 20 min walk to town and beach. Cycling and walking opportunities from campsite.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bayden hall 2 reviews from this member

 We received a very warm welcome and were given a full run down on the amenities, then shown to our pitch which had hard standing and was fully serviced, also a lovely view.

The site was immaculate, the showers and toilets superb and full marks to the cleaner.

The site is within easy walking/cycling distance of Budleigh Salterton and the beach, there is a cycle/walking path close by and a supermarket a short drive away.

We would certainly stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Marcws 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with an amazing park owner, he was so friendly, helpful and accommodating, the location is perfect and facilities were brilliant,

We stayed in the bottom field and it was so quiet at night, we would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

Marc and Sally 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John+judy 109 reviews from this member

 This immaculate site far exceeded our expectations, given some of the less-than-glowing previous reports. (that I can't understand) The facilities are superb, the integrated bathrooms would not be out of place in top-class hotels.

The site is quite large and mostly dedicated to seasonal clients, but the area we were in had a few hardstanding pitches available for tourers and we did not feel crowded and certainly not regimented.

Having a fully serviced pitch is the way all sites should be going, in our opinion - not having to trail fresh and grey water around makes life so comfortable

Lee and other members of staff were exceptionally friendly, even re-arranging pitches when we stayed an extra night so we didn't have to move pitch.

We were not familiar with this part of Devon and feel it is under-rated and neglected by tourists zooming past to places further west. We thought Budleigh was a very pleasant and well kept little town, exceeded only by Sidmouth a few miles along the coast.

The cliff-top scenery between the two, and east of Sidmouth, is stunning and I really don't want to mention Ladram Bay in a case it becomes too popular.

We also had a brilliant day cycling from Exmouth to the Quays in Exeter - an undemanding ride mostly off-road through the pretty village of Topsham.

Another outing was to the NT property A La Ronde, just a few mles away. If you go to a lot of NT properties as we do you may begin to experience stately-home fatigue, but A La Ronde is very distinctive and memorable.

We often call at NT places with our caravan when en-route, but would not recommend doing this here - the car-park is not suitable.

Overall we had a great time at Pooh Cottage and this little corner of Devon, and will undoubtedly be back some day. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minimoos 27 reviews from this member

 Good size v tidy pitch ( see below) and shower/ toilet facilities of high standard, clean & liked bathroom style layout (plus additional toilets), cycle track immediately outside site and walking distance to village - recommend Marcos Italian, Budleigh riding school and redwing restaurant.

Lots of places to visit around site - donkey sanctuary, Exeter, beaches. We had poor weather which meant that the seasonal pitchers were not on site and the campsite felt quite empty because of the high no (majority) of seasonals therefore lacked atmosphere although the day we left a few did turn up.

The set up is slightly regimented with caravans and awnings facing one direction and cars parked in specific spot only - on the pitch outside of the awning (fire regs apparently) - using up most of the large grassy area of the pitch.

I personally donít like looking out onto the car or eating next to it. We were met shortly after arriving and given lots of advice re how to park & walk dogs off the site, weather and places to visit which was delivered in a friendly way.

Reception not open often as itís a one man show. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Macaster 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities and kept immaculately clean. Toilets in shower rooms level hood sized pitches.

Brilliant location to walk into Budleigh Salterton or Exmouth for those wanting more or a hike. Convenient bus stop locations. Hand pub serving food and good beer just a short walk away.

Lee couldn't be more helpful when we arrived and set up, also with directions for walks.

Sunday to Sunday stay.

No hesitation to recommend Pooh Cottage as a friendly site with great facilities.

We did have great weather which makes a very pretty site look even more beautiful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 64 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with a warm welcome on arrival. There are several sited caravans on site which meant there were only few touring pitches available, all next to the childrenís play area so not very peaceful.

Facilities were spotless with several family rooms containing shower, toilet and shower.

The local pub is around 5-10 mins walk away with a sunny beer garden and a warm welcome. The walk into town takes around 20 mins through a residential area down to the shops and through to the beach. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebs 5 reviews from this member

 Weíve only ever visited Budleigh Salterton once before for a fleeting visiting and wanted to spend some more time here. Looking at the reviews on UKcampsite, Pooh cottage caught my eye, being reasonably close and what a gem of a site it turned out to be.

There are some narrow roads to navigate en-route to site for the last couple of miles but itís worth the effort. Final access to site is just a short drive along a country lane. First impression is well looked after and small compact site. Reception can be found at the top of site. Friendly welcome from the site warden who was happy to answer all questions.

If the shower block was in a hotel it could easily classed as four star. The block has rooms which are self-contained with a shower, basin and toilet and under-floor heating. The rooms were always spotlessly clean. And a major plus for me, not a push button tap anywhere.

All pitches are hardstanding and serviced, separated by a grassed area. Paid Wi-Fi is available. Strong EE phone signal.

When I site we like to leave our van on site and walk to places of interest. From site we were able to walk to Budleigh approximately 20 minutes away. Exmouth is roughly six miles away and can be reached by walking along the old railway line which is now part of the cycle path network. This route is just outside the site entrance. For those who prefer not to walk or cycle there is a bus stop not too far from site.

Whilst there is not a shop on site the local village and pub are only a 10 minute walk away and Budleigh Salterton has a couple of small supermarkets and some lovely cafes.

We found this site to be very affordable at £21 per night and of a high standard and we would be very happy to visit again. The site has a lot of seasonal caravans many of which were unused during out stay which meant less touring pitches are available so probably a good idea to book in advance to guarantee a pitch. 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement