Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park > Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 66 reviews from this member

 A lovely site at the back of Buddleigh Salterton, 20 minutes walk to the beach and plenty of walking and cycling in all directions direct from the site.

There are two areas to this site, the front main area is immaculate, nicely laid out, children's play area, most pitches seemed to be fully serviced.

The amenities block was the poshest I've ever used on a campsite, toilets, showers, wash up and laundry room. The rear area of the site which I stayed in felt a bit disjointed. There was a lovely flat area with electric hookups that wasn't being used, I guess there's some reason for this.

There were 4 quite sloping grass pitches, chocs definitely required, in the eyore field and below that a flat terrace of more hard standing pitches.

I felt that this area was work in progress. Big plus was free on site Wi-Fi.

Budleigh Fish n Chips in Chapel Street is very good though it's best to preorder on line, they don't really do walk-insand there's a pub about 5 minutes from site that looked good, but I dint get to use. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jorea7 1 review from this member

 Very quiet and clean campsite surrounded by trees.

Superb spacious facilities.

Lots of hot water and top of the range hand and hairdryers.

Shower rooms have space to put all your things without getting anything wet and thereís plenty of space to get changed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the site owners have advised us that they once again have touring pitches from this season onwards. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gmt222 1 review from this member

 You get a warm welcome on arrival. We are a retired couple with daughter, have visited this site before and found it to be very friendly and welcoming, spotlessly clean.

Granddaughter and her husband and two small children have their own caravan on the site and go there several times, itís perfectly safe for children.

Itís a very calming relaxing and restful site and would easily recommend it to anyone. It is also dog friendly. Easily accessible to Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth and also Sidmouth. There is a Tescoís supermarket and Lidl and McDonaldís just a short distance away.

The shower block and toilets are easily accessible and spotless. Washing up and laundry facilities are also on site. Excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Salligreen2014 1 review from this member

 Well run and very friendly site.

Owner was very accommodating to us when we cancelled due Storm Alex, and stayed a couple of weeks later.

Amazing shower facilities with shower sink and toilet and heated flooring.

One way system in place for Covid. 20 min walk to town and beach. Cycling and walking opportunities from campsite.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bayden hall 2 reviews from this member

 We received a very warm welcome and were given a full run down on the amenities, then shown to our pitch which had hard standing and was fully serviced, also a lovely view.

The site was immaculate, the showers and toilets superb and full marks to the cleaner.

The site is within easy walking/cycling distance of Budleigh Salterton and the beach, there is a cycle/walking path close by and a supermarket a short drive away.

We would certainly stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Marcws 1 review from this member

 Great campsite with an amazing park owner, he was so friendly, helpful and accommodating, the location is perfect and facilities were brilliant,

We stayed in the bottom field and it was so quiet at night, we would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

Marc and Sally 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John+judy 111 reviews from this member

 This immaculate site far exceeded our expectations, given some of the less-than-glowing previous reports. (that I can't understand) The facilities are superb, the integrated bathrooms would not be out of place in top-class hotels.

The site is quite large and mostly dedicated to seasonal clients, but the area we were in had a few hardstanding pitches available for tourers and we did not feel crowded and certainly not regimented.

Having a fully serviced pitch is the way all sites should be going, in our opinion - not having to trail fresh and grey water around makes life so comfortable

Lee and other members of staff were exceptionally friendly, even re-arranging pitches when we stayed an extra night so we didn't have to move pitch.

We were not familiar with this part of Devon and feel it is under-rated and neglected by tourists zooming past to places further west. We thought Budleigh was a very pleasant and well kept little town, exceeded only by Sidmouth a few miles along the coast.

The cliff-top scenery between the two, and east of Sidmouth, is stunning and I really don't want to mention Ladram Bay in a case it becomes too popular.

We also had a brilliant day cycling from Exmouth to the Quays in Exeter - an undemanding ride mostly off-road through the pretty village of Topsham.

Another outing was to the NT property A La Ronde, just a few mles away. If you go to a lot of NT properties as we do you may begin to experience stately-home fatigue, but A La Ronde is very distinctive and memorable.

We often call at NT places with our caravan when en-route, but would not recommend doing this here - the car-park is not suitable.

Overall we had a great time at Pooh Cottage and this little corner of Devon, and will undoubtedly be back some day. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minimoos 31 reviews from this member

 Good size v tidy pitch ( see below) and shower/ toilet facilities of high standard, clean & liked bathroom style layout (plus additional toilets), cycle track immediately outside site and walking distance to village - recommend Marcos Italian, Budleigh riding school and redwing restaurant.

Lots of places to visit around site - donkey sanctuary, Exeter, beaches. We had poor weather which meant that the seasonal pitchers were not on site and the campsite felt quite empty because of the high no (majority) of seasonals therefore lacked atmosphere although the day we left a few did turn up.

The set up is slightly regimented with caravans and awnings facing one direction and cars parked in specific spot only - on the pitch outside of the awning (fire regs apparently) - using up most of the large grassy area of the pitch.

I personally donít like looking out onto the car or eating next to it. We were met shortly after arriving and given lots of advice re how to park & walk dogs off the site, weather and places to visit which was delivered in a friendly way.

Reception not open often as itís a one man show. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Macaster 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities and kept immaculately clean. Toilets in shower rooms level hood sized pitches.

Brilliant location to walk into Budleigh Salterton or Exmouth for those wanting more or a hike. Convenient bus stop locations. Hand pub serving food and good beer just a short walk away.

Lee couldn't be more helpful when we arrived and set up, also with directions for walks.

Sunday to Sunday stay.

No hesitation to recommend Pooh Cottage as a friendly site with great facilities.

We did have great weather which makes a very pretty site look even more beautiful. 
via mobile


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement