Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 90 Reviews
                9/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John+judy 105 reviews from this member

 This immaculate site far exceeded our expectations, given some of the less-than-glowing previous reports. (that I can't understand) The facilities are superb, the integrated bathrooms would not be out of place in top-class hotels.

The site is quite large and mostly dedicated to seasonal clients, but the area we were in had a few hardstanding pitches available for tourers and we did not feel crowded and certainly not regimented.

Having a fully serviced pitch is the way all sites should be going, in our opinion - not having to trail fresh and grey water around makes life so comfortable

Lee and other members of staff were exceptionally friendly, even re-arranging pitches when we stayed an extra night so we didn't have to move pitch.

We were not familiar with this part of Devon and feel it is under-rated and neglected by tourists zooming past to places further west. We thought Budleigh was a very pleasant and well kept little town, exceeded only by Sidmouth a few miles along the coast.

The cliff-top scenery between the two, and east of Sidmouth, is stunning and I really don't want to mention Ladram Bay in a case it becomes too popular.

We also had a brilliant day cycling from Exmouth to the Quays in Exeter - an undemanding ride mostly off-road through the pretty village of Topsham.

Another outing was to the NT property A La Ronde, just a few mles away. If you go to a lot of NT properties as we do you may begin to experience stately-home fatigue, but A La Ronde is very distinctive and memorable.

We often call at NT places with our caravan when en-route, but would not recommend doing this here - the car-park is not suitable.

Overall we had a great time at Pooh Cottage and this little corner of Devon, and will undoubtedly be back some day. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Minimoos 24 reviews from this member

 Good size v tidy pitch ( see below) and shower/ toilet facilities of high standard, clean & liked bathroom style layout (plus additional toilets), cycle track immediately outside site and walking distance to village - recommend Marcos Italian, Budleigh riding school and redwing restaurant.

Lots of places to visit around site - donkey sanctuary, Exeter, beaches. We had poor weather which meant that the seasonal pitchers were not on site and the campsite felt quite empty because of the high no (majority) of seasonals therefore lacked atmosphere although the day we left a few did turn up.

The set up is slightly regimented with caravans and awnings facing one direction and cars parked in specific spot only - on the pitch outside of the awning (fire regs apparently) - using up most of the large grassy area of the pitch.

I personally donít like looking out onto the car or eating next to it. We were met shortly after arriving and given lots of advice re how to park & walk dogs off the site, weather and places to visit which was delivered in a friendly way.

Reception not open often as itís a one man show. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Macaster 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent facilities and kept immaculately clean. Toilets in shower rooms level hood sized pitches.

Brilliant location to walk into Budleigh Salterton or Exmouth for those wanting more or a hike. Convenient bus stop locations. Hand pub serving food and good beer just a short walk away.

Lee couldn't be more helpful when we arrived and set up, also with directions for walks.

Sunday to Sunday stay.

No hesitation to recommend Pooh Cottage as a friendly site with great facilities.

We did have great weather which makes a very pretty site look even more beautiful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 37 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with a warm welcome on arrival. There are several sited caravans on site which meant there were only few touring pitches available, all next to the childrenís play area so not very peaceful.

Facilities were spotless with several family rooms containing shower, toilet and shower.

The local pub is around 5-10 mins walk away with a sunny beer garden and a warm welcome. The walk into town takes around 20 mins through a residential area down to the shops and through to the beach. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebs 5 reviews from this member

 Weíve only ever visited Budleigh Salterton once before for a fleeting visiting and wanted to spend some more time here. Looking at the reviews on UKcampsite, Pooh cottage caught my eye, being reasonably close and what a gem of a site it turned out to be.

There are some narrow roads to navigate en-route to site for the last couple of miles but itís worth the effort. Final access to site is just a short drive along a country lane. First impression is well looked after and small compact site. Reception can be found at the top of site. Friendly welcome from the site warden who was happy to answer all questions.

If the shower block was in a hotel it could easily classed as four star. The block has rooms which are self-contained with a shower, basin and toilet and under-floor heating. The rooms were always spotlessly clean. And a major plus for me, not a push button tap anywhere.

All pitches are hardstanding and serviced, separated by a grassed area. Paid Wi-Fi is available. Strong EE phone signal.

When I site we like to leave our van on site and walk to places of interest. From site we were able to walk to Budleigh approximately 20 minutes away. Exmouth is roughly six miles away and can be reached by walking along the old railway line which is now part of the cycle path network. This route is just outside the site entrance. For those who prefer not to walk or cycle there is a bus stop not too far from site.

Whilst there is not a shop on site the local village and pub are only a 10 minute walk away and Budleigh Salterton has a couple of small supermarkets and some lovely cafes.

We found this site to be very affordable at £21 per night and of a high standard and we would be very happy to visit again. The site has a lot of seasonal caravans many of which were unused during out stay which meant less touring pitches are available so probably a good idea to book in advance to guarantee a pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: KirbyDunkin 1 review from this member

 Being new to camping had to find a site that wouldn't put my partner off for life. Thank goodness I found Pooh Cottage.

I cannot praise it highly enough. Friendly clean level and quiet. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Thank you so much. You made a short break very special. We visited Otterton mill.

Also had a lovely walk along the river otter. But we were spoilt for choice. Cannot wait to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve10101972 2 reviews from this member

 We spent ten nights here in August. Staff are friendly. Excellent spacious hard standing pitches, each with EHU, individual cold water tap and grey waste.

The best facilities we have ever seen. Each individual shower room contains toilet and hand basin. This site also has a separate bathroom with full size bath toilet and hand basin (we would quite happily have any one of the shower rooms or the bathroom in our house they are that good).

We would highly recommend this site to anybody considering visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Triodogs 1 review from this member

 We are both new to caravanning and not wishing to tow we decided on a seasonal pitch.

Having looked around the area we decided on this camp site due to its location and our first impressions. As you can tell we have three dogs, well Chihuahua's not exactly the largest of breeds, most camp sites have a two dog max policy (so I could have two Great Danes but not three Chi's, crazy, still their policy- rant over!).

The site manager/warden, could not say a bad word about him, he was so helpful in helping set up the caravan - levelling and also putting up the awning and ensuring all was ok, coming up from the shire, us hobbits lack height! He also looks after the pitch and awning during the bad weather letting us know if all is OK after high winds and storms. He is around most days of the week and weekend.

Now onto the Shower block, well I for one would have these facilities at home, yes the shower cubicles do house a toilet, basin and shower together, which I consider great, but there is also separate male and female toilet facilities which are all cleaned on a regular couple of hours or so. I have never found them dirty.

The whole camp site is immaculate although it does not have a club house or pool which I believe maintains the site at a high standard. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 We had 3 nights at Pooh Cottage over the early May bank holiday. Of course the glorious weather made it extra special but this site really is special. It's gone straight into our top 5!

Lee (the on site warden) is fantastic. One of the best wardens we've come across in 12 years of motorhoming. From his pre-stay communications regarding directions, etc. , to booking in to our daily chats, everything was 5*.

Easy to find site and spotless on arrival. The site is mainly made up of seasonals (all caravans) with a section in the middle for touring. Grass and hardstanding pitches, the hardstanding being 'super pitches' with EHU, water and waste.

Chemical waste points at both ends of the site and recycling bins a the entrance. Indoor laundry and dish washing area housed in the central facilities block which has probably the best shower rooms we've ever come across.

Toilet, sink, hand dryer and large showers in each. There are also separate ladies and gents toilets. Everything was absolutely spotless during our whole break. There is a children's playground right in the centre of the touring section so can get busy and noisy during the high season.

Local pub (Dog & Donkey) 10 minute walk from the site. Good choice of local beers and ciders. Didn't eat in there this time but will do on our return visit.

Short walk down into Budleigh Salterton town and beach (15/20 mins) where there a some great places to eat. We had coffee sat on the beach sold from a little hut and ate in The Feathers pub in the high street (good pub grub).

Cycle path into Exmouth (and beyond) straight from the site.

What more could you want?

We have already recommended the site to lots of our camping friends and will definitely be back there sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Coastwalker 42 reviews from this member

 I can only repeat the comments in the previous review. A lovely place, immaculately kept, with literally sparkling new shower/toilet facilities.

The manager was very understanding about my disappointment with another local site and made me welcome even though my type of bike camping, with most stuff outside the tent instead of inside, looked a little out of place against the smart motorhomes all around.

An excellent, peaceful place with access to the town and lovely paths in the countryside.

Budleigh is a town that trades on its quiet gentility, but is a decent place with proper shops and a pebble beach.

Exmouth, on the other side, is the place for supermarkets and fun of the commercial kind, but a bit grubby in places.  


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5728 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement