Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonehenge Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stonehenge Touring Park Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madgooner23 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love this camp site. We have been going four years now (this will be our fifth). It's a lovely location, easy to get to. Facilities are good with clean toilets and showers. The shop is great - it stocks everything you need including wine for the missus! Really nice owners and we look forward to many more years visiting. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Taffymotorhome 30 reviews from this member

 After driving back home from Cornwall along the A303, and a few ' let downs ' at sites that were either too snobby or too expensive, we arrived at Stonehenge Touring Park at about 19 30hrs. The owner came and greeted us as if it were midday. She was ever so friendly and helpful, And we ended up staying another night. Ok the grass was sodden, but that is not her fault, and all the vans that were there had hard standings, The proximity to The ' Rocks' was a big plus. The only thing that I Could fault, ( if fault is the right word), was that the toilet blocks could have been warmer. Having said that, the blocks were spotlessly clean. There was a little washing up block which was handy, and plenty of hot water.

We would definitely recommend this site, and use it as a ' stop over ' on our way to or back from Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 Owners were nice and welcoming. Shop was shut all the time we were there. Didn't like shower block as was dirty and unkept and cold. Perhaps it was just the time of year. Lots of scruffy workers caravans on site but I suppose they keep the place going through they winter. Hard standing pitches were tiny couldn't fit the car and caravan on it. Don't know where awning would go. Would I go again? Probably not. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

 Easy access to this site, Lanes a bit narrow but just follow sat nav using post code.

Fuel station within 1 mile.

Pitches bit small but adequate and mostly on gravel.

Electric points close by.

Friendly owner and very welcoming.

Toilets warm and clean, with free showers and wash up.

Chemical toilet very good access.

Good walks from site straight onto Salisbury plain.

Very good value at 13 a night at this time of year and we will visit again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MichelleJJury 2 reviews from this member

 We visited on a return journey from Cornwall, we have stayed there about 4 years ago in our caravan. The site is lovely, use of garden table and benches to eat outside. Owners accommodating and friendly, they watch over but not intrusive. There was one night where campers became noisy and rude to the owner and the next day they were asked to leave. Which was totally acceptable as they had no regard for fellow campers. Showers/toilets clean and easy access. Well stocked shop and very reasonably priced. We hired a wood burner to toast marshmallows on our last night for 5 and a bag of kindle 3 and marshmallows 1. Fun cheap evening. Nice play area. Dog walks down the road but easy to find. Small path adjacent to site. It was a quiet stay with plenty to see watching others enjoy their stay too :) Thank you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annekekv 1 review from this member

 After a really disappointing holiday with parkholidays in a camping 'industry', which I call their camp'site' in may this year, it was divine to arrive at stonehenge touring park!

Trees. Free to pick spots. Loads of privacy. Freedom. Nature. Lovely, lovely and very helpful owners, friendly atmosphere and unlimited warm water (no hassle with stupid coins when you have a shower) and working free wifi. That is what I call holiday!

They even helped us put up a tent we bought just before we left. We didn't have a clue what it looked like, but with all the help we found out, it was twice as big as we booked room for and they made us a brilliant offer. We even stayed longer and didn't wanna go home.

The touringpark felt like a second home. This afternoon we will visit them again. To pick up our tent! We couldn't get it back in the car for some strange reason and they offered to keep it, so we could pick it up later. Yeah, if you wanna camp. Go to this lovely campsite! I will camp there again as soon as the sun is back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anne 1 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 5 nights. The campsite is a great base to explore the surrounding area. The grass pitches for tents were all nice and flat and plenty of space between tents. The site owners are friendly and helpful and run a very well stocked shop. There is a small play area for children. The site was lovely and quiet.

My only complaint was that I thought the toilet, shower and washing up facilities were rather grubby and tired looking. Even after the showers and toilets had been half heartedly cleaned they still left a lot to be desired. Cobwebs and spiders dangling from the toilet block ceiling, hair and loo paper on the floors etc; it is for this reason that I would not return to this site even though we plan to return to the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lassitude 2 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from a wonderful long weekend at Stonehenge Touring Park. This is what we thought:

The Staff- Very friendly. They were exceedingly helpful and made you feel more like guests than customers.

The Atmosphere- It's a small touring park so there's no space to hide in the corner away from fellow campers. This made for a more friendly atmosphere. We had many conversations with other guests and this made the stay memorable. There are many European visitors to this site- on our long weekend I would estimate 50% were French / Dutch / German. I've always found European campers to be friendly, polite, and well behaved. At 11:00pm the noise curfew starts. This was generally adhered to and was enforced with polite words for the odd person who had perhaps had too many glasses of wine round the campfire. We had no issues with noise waking us up.

Facilities- Were basic but clean and well maintained. We had no problems with queues for loos / showers / dishwashing facilities during our stay and the campsite was pretty much full. The shop was small but had many essential items including canned food, pastries, a freezer with instant meals, camping essentials, Gas, treats for the children and chilled wine and beer. The only thing it lacked was fresh vegetables.

The firepits and barbecues that could be hired by the night also seemed to be popular.

Summary- We would visit this site again and recommend it to friends. It's not perfectly manicured and there are sites with better facilities. What Stonehenge Touring Site had was a friendly atmosphere in an ideal location for the large number of attractions in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Siblings4 1 review from this member

 Visited for the second time with friends and were not disappointed. We had a large pitch around an open fire and thoroughly appreciated the free pile of logs that was awaiting us on a arrival. Wardens could not have been more accommodating and helpful even mowed out a rounders pitch for us and joined husbands on a guided run!

Plenty of space to pitch our tents, and although we were in tents, A303 didn't bother us at all. There isn't any shelter but we have our own shelter that we take whenever we camp so it really wasn't a problem.

New shower block for ladies' is a huge improvement on the previous years facilities; plenty of space to get changed, lots of hot water. Too hot sometimes. Portaloos in field are not our favourite but are ok for middle of the night emergencies and none of the pitches are any distance from the shower/toilet block. Have been on plenty of sites that have much further to walk, so the portaloos actually feel like an added bonus. Is a plan in place to update the men's.

Great walks from the site along the river and into the village, where you can refresh with a pint and pick up supplies for the bbq from the farm shop before walking home. You do have to walk along the road if you chose to do a circular walk but it really wasn't a problem - our children ranged from 10-14.

As a half way house to meet friends from London and New Forest this is perfect. We have tried a few over the years and book our return visits before we leave. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickscum 8 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite mainly as a base for visiting Longleat, the New Forest & Stone Henge. We stayed 3 nights & loved the fact that there are no marked pitches. Plenty of room for us to have 2 games of badminton going on!

We have 3 children (2 x 9 year olds & a 7 year old) & they liked the play area, which is small, but kept them occupied on many an occasion.

The owners of the site were very helpful & friendly.

The facilities were adequate. 2 sinks for washing up, 3 toilets & 2 showers. The toilet block was clean enough & there was a hairdryer you could use at no extra cost.

There were horses in the field next door, which the children liked.

This is a campsite that many Europeans seem to use as a base ie. Dutch, Germans, Swiss, French.

We would definitely go back. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stonehenge Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehenge Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stonehenge Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3670 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement