Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

Small site tucked out of the way. Friendly atmosphere and very quiet. Small children's play area. Showers / toilets are clean. There was plenty of room for our group of 7 vehicles and its nice that the owners allowed us to use the site 7 guys with 4x4 going off to explore the plains. Wifi is free but found had to be quite close to the reception / shop. Shop stocked various items so handy if you forgot anything. Local co-op and town 5 mins drive away. Shame no fires allowed but I understand the reasons why. All in all great site to spend 2 nights on.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chardan 2 reviews from this member

We were expecting outstanding clean toilets and showers, how disappointing! They were cold and grim to say the least, not helped by the awful black paint on the doors! Best avoided if at all possible.

The 'dog' walk was not part of the site and difficult to access, an elderly or less able bodied person would not have been able to use it.

The children's play area was very basic, not worthy of mentioning and shop was also poor.

I will never book a 3 star site again.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

Nice site with all the facilities you need in terms of shower block, laundry, wash up etc. We stayed while they were upgrading the hard standings for caravans which made the site muddier than usual. However, we were given an unexpected discount due to the minor inconvenience. Lovely owners, very helpful and friendly. The shower block was heated, great for this time of year. We would definitely stay again for a long weekend.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin15 6 reviews from this member

Great Site, very friendly & helpful owners,

A small compact site, in a remote village at the end of a lane. It has facilities to suit the numbers that it is cabable of holding, ie two toilets & showers each for ladies & gents, but we never had to queue or wait. Site is kept very tidy & clean, & it has a well stocked shop, which is handy because the nearest shops are abour 4 miles away.

It is in a great position to visit many of the local attractions all of which are within 45 minutes drive. & Stonehenge is a 5 miniute drive away.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Justpassing 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from this lovely small site. Its perfect for a short holiday which is just what we needed.

The toilet block is fine and serves its purpose for the amount of pitches. We used the laundry £3 per wash 50p per 15min tumble dry.

The park is basic but our little one amused herself there.

The best thing about this site other than being in a lovely location and only 5 mins from Stonehenge is the staff. The owner Rob was more than helpful and on hand at all times without acting like the 'fun police' like some sites weve been to.

Would we return? Yes if we were in the area. Would we reccomend? Yes!

Thanks for a great relaxing break.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

A lovely well planned site.

Facilities are adequate and mostly free, and cleaned on a regular basis. Despite being a busy period when we went, we never had to queue for the showers. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced.

The field is fairly flat and coped well with the torrential rain we experienced during our stay. The only muddy parts were where it was well trod around the tent. Although the field did become slightly waterlogged following one particular downpour, it soon drained off.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and really go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We cannot thank them enough, especially when they saw we were struggling to cook one night in our tiny 2-man tent during a heavy downpour and offered the use of their gazebo to cook under. They also provided us with a plank to walk on so we weren’t treading in mud all the time around our tent.

We would definitely return to this site if we were in this area again and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burwhite 3 reviews from this member

Good size site and good size pitches. Reasonably quite when we went. Despite recent rain its drained well. Toilet block was regularly cleaned & showers nice and warm. No waiting when we were there. Most pitches seemed to get a good amount of sun. Location was convenient for cycling down some lanes. You are able to cycle on Salisbury plain but not when red military flags are flying which seemed to be most of the time. It was hillier than we had thought, and it did involve cycling on some main roads. Owners very friendly an helpful. There was a small shop on site for food & essentials, but we visited the local Tesco's. Salisbury is worth a visit and we went cycling in the New Forest which was nice,

Though routes are a little short.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chet_thunder 5 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite. Very friendly staff, who aren't intrusive, but happy to help.

The site is a good size and spotlessly clean. There is a well stocked shop and all amenities are in good order.

The site also has free wifi ( many charge high rates ) The sites tariff are very reasonable, with minimal 'bolt on charges'.

I highly recommend Stonehenge Touring Park, and we are really looking forward to staying there again

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

We returned to this site after an enjoyable visit at Easter last year (my review of April 2011 is still valid) this time we stayed for 5 nights and had some rough weather over the Jubilee weekend.

On arrival, the site was full and unfortunately, we’d had to change from our Campervan to our tent and this could have caused difficulty. It didn’t, the owners were very accommodating and we were set up well in a plot near to the toilet / shower block and shop. Both of these are most adequate for your needs, the shop carries all sorts of essentials and nick-nacks that you might find useful. The shower block was clean and there was plenty of hot water, though even with the best of efforts, in the atrocious weather the floors did become a little grubby at times.

There were some infrequent problems with EHU on site over the bank holiday, but the owners were out at all hours doing their very best to ensure that everyone had power – and I mean ALL hours, up to and past midnight. They could not have done more to try to keep everyone happy and despite the fact that we had power most of the time, they insisted on refunding the full cost of EHU to us for the full five nights.

Our children had a great time at this site and you know that they’re safe, there’s a small play area for them and they loved exploring. The location is quite sheltered and very quiet, with no passing traffic; nights are generally undisturbed (though one late night session of army manoeuvres across the nearby plain did wake me with the sound of Chinooks and machine gun fire).

The site is undoubtedly popular with both tourers and tents, we saw vans from Switzerland, Belgium, The Netherlands and Germany, as well as an American couple who were in a British hired tourer. Tents from various locations in the UK, as well as The Netherlands were also in place across most of the week.

Having explored to the south of the site last year, we went west this time. Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge are both worth a visit, whilst the coast along near Weston-Super-Mare offers good views. As a quiet site to base yourself out of for exploring, this site is brilliant, unpretentious, does what it says on the tin and is a bit of a hidden gem in many ways.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondial 9 reviews from this member

Arrived just before dark and greeted by the owners who showed us to our pitch and explained where all the facilities hook ups etc.

Very quite site set in lovely countryside but quite a distance from shops pubs etc.

Toilet block very clean lots of hot water and as there were only three on site plenty of room no waiting for a shower. Laundry room very welcome as this was our fifth day away, good value.

Should we ever be in the Salisbury area again we would certainly camp here again.

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938