Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonehenge Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stonehenge Touring Park Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lpp2 10 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this site. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The site is busy but feels friendly. The toilets are clean and user friendly. The shop is the best stocked shop I have seen on a small site (I think the shop is used by the local villagers as well as campers)and is open till 9pm.Close by is the village of Shrewton which has a small supermarket and Petrol Station. The site is 4 miles from Stonehenge which was the reason for the visit. I would recommend this site without hesitation. The only criticism I have is the pigeons in the tree above our tent were rather loud early in the morning! If that the only complaint I have things must be good! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lescargo 5 reviews from this member

 Great little campsite, quiet, very international feel about the site.

Half the visitors were from the continent good mixture of tents and camper vans

We even met a Danish family that we met a few years ago in a different part of the world.

Owners very friendly and more than helpful.Good clean wel kept site with a safe comfortable feel about it.

Excellent for families and couples. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darmain 3 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant site at a very pleasant location.

The site was clean and tidy. The facilities were excellent. The owners were friendly and very helpful, especially when we had a problem with our gas system and they helped fix it.

The location is a small village, right on the edge of Salisbury Plain. This weekend was the village fete, which we attended and had great fun. Generally it is right out of the way on a dead end road and in a valley, so there is no noise from the main roads.

The rest of our stay we spent in Salisbury. This is a great place to explore and is quite a maze of streets.

I would well recommend this location for a nice relaxing break. Top marks. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cambsbloke28 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in the height off summer, a lovely site with good location for everything. Only thing was the the ground was very hard and was a bugger to bang in the tent pegs
Well stocked shop and friendly owners, had a friendly Dutch couple next to us and a French family nearby who we got chatting to
Would definitely stay here again, nice and clean and tidy toilets as well. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev99 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped of here for one night on our way to Cornwall ( had car trouble fixed nearby ) and was pleasantly surprised. Not a very big site but had a very well stocked shop and excellent clean facilities. The surrounding area is nice and rural. We went to Longleat animal park while we were there which is not very far. All in all a lovely site that we would not hesitate to go back to. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Girls on Tour 6 reviews from this member

 The owner was very friendly, the on site shop the best we've ever come across and the site very well run. There were 8 of us in 3 tents (+ gazebo) and he put us at the back of the site backing on to the open fields, which had cows and horses. The horses were very friendly!

The washing up facilities (2 sinks) were perfectly adequate and the showers/toilets were fine. We've been to a few better and many far worse! There was a small children's play area and enough space for ball games so the kids were happy. The owner was even happy for us to move one of the picnic benches for our group to use, which was very accommodating. All in all a very well run site which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scissorwoman 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site this is nestling in a quiet and sheltered area, down a narrow and twisty country lane.

Facilities were, to be fair, basic but they were kept very clean. There were 3 toilets & 2 showers in the ladies, along with a hairdryer & although the camp was full to capacity most nights, I didn't have to queue for either the showers or the loo on any occassion. The only possible fault I can pick is that they were rather dark, with no lighting directly above either the toilet or shower cubicles. Also, at night the light is on PIR (which is a good idea) BUT it isn't set to stay on for very long, which can leave you in the dark rather sooner than you would hope to be!

The owners are very friendly and full of information and the site shop (which doubles as a village shop) has plenty of choice and was very reasonably priced. There's a small play area for kids and several picnic tables dotted around the site.

There are laundry facilities with a load of washing costing 3 and drying at 50p for 15 mins.

The nearest supermarket of any size is a co-op in Amesbury and there's a very nice Chinese take-away about 10 mins away.

There is lots to see and do in the area, Longleat Safari Park is within easy driving distance and we can thoroughly recommend a trip to Old Wardour Castle.

Very cosmopolitan site & lots of Foreign visitors, the record being 13 nationalities at any one time apparently!

The shop does lovely bacon rolls (order the day before) and will post your letters etc for you too. They also offer the usual services eg mobile phone charging, ice pack freezing for a nominal fee.

Overall, a lovely site which we would not hesitate to visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbiesmummy 8 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a long weekend camping in Wiltshire at the Stonehenge Touring Park .It rained every day (and night!) but the ground remained well drained.

It's small level site with quite basic facilities. It's situated down a small lane and backs on to open fields. It had everything we needed though including small play area, showers, EHU and well stocked on-site shop (ice pack freezing is 10p per pack.)

There is a cosmopolitan feel to the site, with many campers visiting from other countries. Something we have never experienced on other sites in the UK!

The owners are friendly and helpful, and soon put a stop to one noisy group of campers playing their music too loud! The site was quiet and peaceful by around 10.30 each night.

The toilets/showers are quite dated and a bit dark. My kids weren't keen on the showers at all, due to the lack of light. The water in the showers is push button controlled and each push only gives about 20 seconds of water. Also the water temperature was not adjustable, and not as hot as I would have liked.

There are 3 toliets plus 2 showers for the ladies and despite the park being full, there was only ever a short wait for the showers.

There was also a free hairdryer available.

Laundry facilities are good, with washer, dryer, spinner and iron available.

The small play area is in the middle of the site and just consists of balancing beams and bars, but was well used by all the children. There is also enough space for ball games.

As previous reviews have said, this site is well placed for visiting Stonehenge. I would also recommend visiting the Hawk Conservancy Centre near Andover. It's expensive - 31 for a family, but provides a whole day's entertainment, with various displays and talks. Take a picnic lunch though!

The closest large supermarket we found was the Co-op at Amesbury - well stocked with camping essentials as well as everyday items. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woody101 3 reviews from this member

 We were impressed with the setting of the site, it was very quiet but within good walking distance of the nearby village, with a couple of nice friendly pubs doing good food. Well stocked and well priced shop onsite too.

I was a bit disappointed with the shower facilities - while they clean first thing in the morning, they were less so by 11am, and 3 showers (2 ladies, and only 1 gents) wasn't really adequate when there were at a guess 70-80ish guests onsite - people were queueing for over an hour for showers.

The site was very central for nearly attractions, almost everyone we spoke to had visited or planned to visit Longleat and Stonegenge 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Murtle 1 review from this member

 We've just got back from a 3 night stay at this site. The smallish site was well maintained and picturesque. The shop was very well stocked; it also doubles as the village shop as well. (we found the nearest store at Shrewton which is about 5 mins drive from the site, other than that for a major supermarket its Salisbury or Devizes) The facilities were very clean and tidy. The owners were very friendly and helpful, with tips on where to visit etc. Its ideally situated for walkers and National Trust/English Heritage members. We had a great time and will definitely be going back, this time for longer. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stonehenge Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehenge Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stonehenge Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement