Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jo Smith 1 review from this member

A group of us had a weekend stay here in September 2011. The park was lovely and clean with helpful staff. The pitches are generous and we were able to stay together as a group.

The shop on site is small but stocks plenty. The shower and toilet block is a little dated but clean and the showers are free with no timer. Also there is a hairdryer free to use.

There is also a selection of books to borrow which is nice. We stayed there to visit Stonehenge and Avebury. If staying here it's best to have a car as it is tucked away in country lanes.

We didn't use any local pubs but The Red Lion in Avebury is a good pub that serves nice food.


A good satnav or map is needed to find site especially if arriving in the dark. There is a small play area for children.

Very pretty site on the whole.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineK 11 reviews from this member

Having been let down by another site, we phoned this site on chance. I am so glad we did! We arrived at about 6. 00 pm on the Tuesday evening after Bank Holiday and were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our pitch and couldn't do enough for us.

The pitch was level, the facilities were excellent and the shop (which provided all the basics, not to mention a good selection of wine which the owner was happy to chill for us) was open until at least 10.00 pm.

On top of all of this, we paid less than we would have on the site that let us down.

We will definitely be returning!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CKcamper 6 reviews from this member

Location: Excellent; A great site, very peaceful just off a picturesque village and one of the very few in England where there really is no road noise at all.

In fact the only noise we had in the evening turned out to be us not realising quite how our voices were carrying, something that was gently pointed out to us in line with the camps noise rules – something we quite appreciated.

The only downside was that it did feel a little cramped and it is an hour walk to Stonehenge.

Facilities: Good; The facilities are what you expect from a campsite, there was everything you need, plentiful hot water and was clean enough, could do with more than 2 showers for the gents however.

Value: Excellent; A well priced site and a particularly good point was the on-site shop which stocked handy hardware, fresh produce and a range of drink all at prices you expect to find in a supermarket not a small campsite shop.

Service: Excellent; Top marks as the owner was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. When we foolishly forgot to pack the air bed he even generously offered to lend us one (fortunately Tesco wasn’t that far of a drive away so we managed to buy our own).

Overall: Excellent; I will definitely use this site again. The long drive from home is worth it for the peace and quiet alone!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alien8472 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week to see the sights, and were very impressed. We had a warm welcome, and were very happy with the facilities.

There are three toilets and two showers in the female block, and the showers were nice and hot. Taps don't stay on very long! There is also a hairdryer provided.

There is a little shop that is very reasonable and stocks useful items. There is also a hot water washing up area with two sinks and drainers, and a handy laundry room which we didn't need to make use of.

Pubs are not within walking distance, but we had a lovely steak at the Red Dragon in Avesbury, the most haunted pub in Wiltshire! The sights within driving distance are amazing.

I would recommend getting a 2 day ticket online for Longleat, as this is cheaper than a day ticket if you just turn up and buy it. Stonehenge is 5 mins away, and Cheddar gorge and caves worth a day trip (50 min drive).

Would recommend this campsite for the facilities and hospitality of the owners, and for the bacon rolls and tea you can order for breakfast!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swaudby 8 reviews from this member

Remote location in very small village. Very friendly and helpful welcome. 2 gents and 3 ladies toilets are clean but old. Shop well stocked, nothing fresh.

Campsite was rammed full on both friday and saturday nights. Little space between pitches leading to a lot of noise.

Pubs are not walkable due to busy roads. Shop has loud alarm which goes off every time a customer enters or leaves. Avoid pitches near reception if possible.

Very close to Salisbury plain for interesting walking and archaeology.

We would consider coming again, but only off season.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PatrickD 3 reviews from this member

An average kind of campsite. I really like to have the advantage of a pub and some facilities within walking distance, although that is a personal thing. The staff were great and the place was fairly quiet, although the shelling from the nearby firing range gave me a bit of a wake up one morning! I thought that didn't detract from the place too much. For people who ae totally self sufficient, the place is ideal, but I like to explore an area and have things more within reach. We did get a bus to Salisbury and obviously access to Stonehenge is fairly good, albeit way beyond walking distance. The shower blocks are a bit tired and old fashioned. Room for improvement there. Overall, not a negative experience, but I've been to better campsites.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 23 reviews from this member

Stopped here toward the end of July for 2 nights and thought the site was great, nice clean toilet facilities with a decent shower, the reception / shop has all the things you need.

Despite the impression given by the regimented arrival times the owners were very nice and friendly. Its a very compact site, so there's not a lot of space between tents,

There's a play area for young children

The site is not far from Stonehenge and Amesbury, with Salisbury and Longleat not far either.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wozza85 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the beginning of May and we couldn't of asked for a better week with the weather.

We were greeted by the owner who showed us were to pitch up and were all the amenities were on the site. The campsite shop was well stocked and probably had everything you could forget to bring with you. The toilets and showers were well kept and very clean. The bins on site were emptied everyday and the site was well looked after.Pitches were well kept and on a good level. Like others have said there are two horses on field behind who like to make themselves heard.

The site is only 5 mins drive from Stonehenge, 1hr to Winchester and about 30-45 mins the Bournemouth which makes it a well located campsite. All in all we felt we'd go back here without a doubt.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jensyfer68 4 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely night here last weekend (met up with family who are new to camping).

What a lovely peaceful site. We were met by one of the friendly owners who showed us to our pitches.

Even though this is a small site the pitches were spacious and we felt we had a nice amount of space between us and the next pitch. The ground was well tended and level.

There are picnic benches on site to use as you wish.

A lovely, well stocked shop is on site which includes all basic essentials you may need for your stay.

The toilets/showers were very clean at all times and there was a hairdryer to use also - a nice extra.

An ample, undercover, area is available for washing-up which was also well maintained.

There were a few horses in the field behind us who now and again would remind us of their presence! - this being the only 'noise' while we were on this gem of a site - we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Berryberry72 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a wonderful long weekend stay at this campsite we originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay another night as we where having a great stay.

Arrived at campsite and went to the reception which is also the campsite shop which is well stocked.We were greeted by the very friendly owners.

We were booked in and then shown where to pitch our tent and also shown where the amenities were.

Found a nice level pitch under a tree,ground slightly hard (we ended up bending about 25 pegs so make sure you have a mixture of pegs, but I think this is due to lack of rain recently)but pitches nice and level.

Toilet blocks were kept nice and clean, showers were fine as well and with plenty of hot water.

Washing up area kept clean and again plenty of hot water.

Stonehenge is a couple of mins drive down the road,there is also a few other places within a short drive to go and see as well Salisbury cathedral, wardour castle is a nice place to visit as well.

There is also a selection of take aways as well about 10 mins drive away which we found useful on our first day there as we were to tired to cook.

All in all I would recommend this campsite, it is a very pretty place with very friendly owners,very quiet and peaceful place and we would definitely return.

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3694 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!