Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonehenge Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stonehenge Touring Park Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 12 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from this gem of a campsite. Camping with friends for the weekend. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful, freezing our drinks as the weather was so hot, walking round occasionally to check campers were happy.

The shop on site was well stocked with all the basics you would need as well as camping essentials. The site is very small and cosy and has a great atmosphere about it.

There is a small climbing frame/trail thing in the centre, but to be honest it doesn't need it, most people were playing their own games around it.

The toilets and showers were always clean, water was a little tepid, but maybe because the site was full.

We didn't venture out as only there for weekend, but there are pubs walking distance or a short drive.

Over all a great campsite and we will be returning again next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clickerjac 7 reviews from this member

 A small family run site with a really well stocked shop which doubles as the village shop. It is a small level field surrounded by trees in a valley. It would be an idyllic setting on days when the army aren't practising up on Salisbury Plain. There are a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches with or without electricity. The facilities are clean but the ladies has very poor ventilation (no opening windows) and smells of damp. Again there are pushbutton showers, I realise why they are popular with campsite owners but I don't like them because they are never adjusted correctly. I also noticed that there are no lights in the showers – so no late night showering! One hair dryer is provided. The washing up sinks are well protected in a deep porch (needed as it rained hard when we were there). Picnic tables are available to move near your pitch, ideal for those in tents. Despite the occasional noise of guns it is a very pleasant site. It is not as near to Stonehenge as I anticipated (5 miles away) but not a big problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Discoverystu 10 reviews from this member

 Small site tucked out of the way. Friendly atmosphere and very quiet. Small children's play area. Showers / toilets are clean. There was plenty of room for our group of 7 vehicles and its nice that the owners allowed us to use the site 7 guys with 4x4 going off to explore the plains. Wifi is free but found had to be quite close to the reception / shop. Shop stocked various items so handy if you forgot anything. Local co-op and town 5 mins drive away. Shame no fires allowed but I understand the reasons why. All in all great site to spend 2 nights on. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chardan 2 reviews from this member

 We were expecting outstanding clean toilets and showers, how disappointing! They were cold and grim to say the least, not helped by the awful black paint on the doors! Best avoided if at all possible.

The 'dog' walk was not part of the site and difficult to access, an elderly or less able bodied person would not have been able to use it.

The children's play area was very basic, not worthy of mentioning and shop was also poor.

I will never book a 3 star site again. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

 Nice site with all the facilities you need in terms of shower block, laundry, wash up etc. We stayed while they were upgrading the hard standings for caravans which made the site muddier than usual. However, we were given an unexpected discount due to the minor inconvenience. Lovely owners, very helpful and friendly. The shower block was heated, great for this time of year. We would definitely stay again for a long weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin15 6 reviews from this member

 Great Site, very friendly & helpful owners,

A small compact site, in a remote village at the end of a lane. It has facilities to suit the numbers that it is cabable of holding, ie two toilets & showers each for ladies & gents, but we never had to queue or wait. Site is kept very tidy & clean, & it has a well stocked shop, which is handy because the nearest shops are abour 4 miles away.

It is in a great position to visit many of the local attractions all of which are within 45 minutes drive. & Stonehenge is a 5 miniute drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justpassing 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this lovely small site. Its perfect for a short holiday which is just what we needed.

The toilet block is fine and serves its purpose for the amount of pitches. We used the laundry £3 per wash 50p per 15min tumble dry.

The park is basic but our little one amused herself there.

The best thing about this site other than being in a lovely location and only 5 mins from Stonehenge is the staff. The owner Rob was more than helpful and on hand at all times without acting like the 'fun police' like some sites weve been to.

Would we return? Yes if we were in the area. Would we reccomend? Yes!

Thanks for a great relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 20 reviews from this member

 A lovely well planned site.

Facilities are adequate and mostly free, and cleaned on a regular basis. Despite being a busy period when we went, we never had to queue for the showers. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced.

The field is fairly flat and coped well with the torrential rain we experienced during our stay. The only muddy parts were where it was well trod around the tent. Although the field did become slightly waterlogged following one particular downpour, it soon drained off.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and really go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We cannot thank them enough, especially when they saw we were struggling to cook one night in our tiny 2-man tent during a heavy downpour and offered the use of their gazebo to cook under. They also provided us with a plank to walk on so we weren’t treading in mud all the time around our tent.

We would definitely return to this site if we were in this area again and would recommend it.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burwhite 3 reviews from this member

 Good size site and good size pitches. Reasonably quite when we went. Despite recent rain its drained well. Toilet block was regularly cleaned & showers nice and warm. No waiting when we were there. Most pitches seemed to get a good amount of sun. Location was convenient for cycling down some lanes. You are able to cycle on Salisbury plain but not when red military flags are flying which seemed to be most of the time. It was hillier than we had thought, and it did involve cycling on some main roads. Owners very friendly an helpful. There was a small shop on site for food & essentials, but we visited the local Tesco's. Salisbury is worth a visit and we went cycling in the New Forest which was nice,

Though routes are a little short. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chet_thunder 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite. Very friendly staff, who aren't intrusive, but happy to help.

The site is a good size and spotlessly clean. There is a well stocked shop and all amenities are in good order.

The site also has free wifi ( many charge high rates ) The sites tariff are very reasonable, with minimal 'bolt on charges'.

I highly recommend Stonehenge Touring Park, and we are really looking forward to staying there again 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stonehenge Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonehenge Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stonehenge Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Salisbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement