Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park
Coverack
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6SD
Tel: 01326 280260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JULIEAND WAYNE 5 reviews from this member

 Like another reviewer, I am a bit puzzled by the negative review posted, given that we have just had the best holiday in years. Thankfully, the site owners inability to prevent rain falling onto grass didn't spoil the holiday due to perfect weather the first week and a second week not much worse.

The facilities are basic, but are clean, and fit for purpose.

As for the comments about Supermarkets being quite a distance away, maybe that could be the next niche to be exploited by the Supermarket chains - Camping in the car parks, after all, not everyone likes glorious countryside, peace and quiet, and the supermarket car park certainly wont get waterlogged!

I have stayed on much more swish, modern and gleaming sites that don't come anywhere near Little Trevothan, both in terms of surroundings and site management.

Personally, I cant praise the site owners enough for a gem of a site and we'll be back for a third visit as soon and as often as we can.

A magical place! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site, in good location with wonderfully friendly owners, just let down a little by the facilities.

We arrived on a bright but blustery spring afternoon and were instantly impressed with what is essentially a good typical Cornish campsite, simple but effective. The site is relatively easy to find for a remote site, but well worth avoiding going through Coverack village due to tight corners and steep hills. It is a surprisingly large site with statics in the middle and touring pitches at either end, due to it being quiet we were pitched near the middle and close to the toilet block. The site is a bit exposed, well at least parts were, but we were there in particularly strong winds.

Pitches were spacious, level and surrounded by hedges, frequent EHU points and water located not too far away. The facilities are a bit dated, but for a regular camper they are perfectly acceptable, I find a lot worse on my travels. They are clean and they work well, the showers were some of the warmest and most powerful Iíve come across and after walking the coast path were very rewarding.

There is a shed with all the washing facilities you could need, tumble dryers, irons etc and again it all looks a little ramshackle but it does the job and there are a couple of rotary washing lines available which Iíve not seen before which were handy and said Ďthis is a trusting site and feel free to hang out your washing itíll be fineí.

The village of Coverack is about 15-20 minute walk away and while easy on the way there, it is pretty steep on the way back. I liked really Coverack, yes it has the holiday lets and a few touristy shops, but felt more than anywhere in Cornwall that it hasnít been too affected by tourism, in fact the whole Lizard Peninsular feels that way.

There is a perfectly adequate pub that sells fine ales and the food is ok, if not amazing, more simple pub grub than anything too fancy, which seems appropriate to the village. There are other eating establishments, but being out of high season their opening hours were sporadic at best.

So in summary, I liked this site a lot and would love to go back one day, the facilities will definitely need updating fairly soon but thatís no reason to put off a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rosie12 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site off season in a campervan. The site was very quiet and pitches well kept. Convenient for walking the coast path and busses from Coverack will take you to Helston.

Coverack is a lovely village. The downside was that the site was let down by the facilities which were in much need of updating, but more important a good clean.

The showers would only work if the control knob was held in all the time which makes washing very difficult!

However, the showers are free and water warm. There are washing up facilities too.

I would say the site is a bit over priced for the time of year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Pastyfans 1 review from this member

 Party of 2 Adults, 2 children and 1 jack russell.

We loved this site.

Found owners to be very polite and helpful and good with the children.

Site is tucked away down quiet lanes and we found it to be very peaceful and relaxing. There is a small games room with pool table, tv, books and games, a little playground area and a mini football pitch for ball games. The children were able to play safely and really loved the freedom.

There is a small shop stocking basics but no bacon! Found wonderful bakers and butchers in near by St. Keverne though.

Site is within walking distance of Coverack which has dog friendly beach, a couple of gift shops and take away fish and chips. The Paris Hotel do a good Sunday carvery.

Accommodation was basic but comfortable.

Found the washing machine to be a little expensive at £4. 40 a go.

We would definitely recommend this site and hope to return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nuttysue 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very large pitches. Toilets and showers clean and showers free. Adequate washing up facilities. Ice packs have to be hired for £1 with 20p freeze charge.

Owners very friendly and helpful at all times.

Small micro shop selling basics.

Coverack is lovely small village (steep walk from site and not lit, but free parking in evening) Paris pub serves good food and has fantastic views. Other small villages nearby well worth a visit.

Fantastic area of country will certainly visit again. One point - if you are not used to country lanes take care (and drive slowly!) roads are very narrow with passing places (we were a bit concerned to meet the local refuse collection lorry being driven at high speed while driver talking on their mobile phone!) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Superwhy 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from this campsite, and had a lovely holiday. The site is fantastic - good location for exploring Cornwall, and the site itself is perfect for families with children.

We stayed on the family field with about eight pitches at one end, a playground at the top of the field and football goalposts in the middle, and the added bonus of no cars allowed onto the field (except for setting up/taking down the tent). This was brilliant and meant the kids could do as they please without us having to keep a constant eye on them, and as the field was for families, there were lots of other children for them to play with too. The toilet and shower blocks were adequate, and cleaned regularly, although the shower cubicles were very cramped, and would benefit from a shower curtain to stop your clothes getting soaked.

There is a micro shop at reception which stocks basic essentials, a tad overpriced, but handy if you just need one or two items and don't fancy driving out to get them. My only real gripe with the campsite was the 'laundrette' - which consists of 2 washing machines - one domestic machine hooked up to a coin meter, it is pre set to a quick wash and costs £3 plus you have to provide your own washing powder, and it doesn't clean the clothes very well, or there is another more industrial looking machine, which provides persil and comfort automatically and can be set up to 60 degree wash, clothes come out much cleaner but at £4. 40 per wash I found this very expensive. The tumble dryer was again a domestic appliance hooked up to a coin meter, 50p for 20 minutes

But it takes at least 3 hours to dry a full load, and clothes come out of it smelling worse than they did before they went in the washing machine.

The owners of the site were very friendly and helpful on arrival, and there always seemed to be someone around should anyone have a problem.

Overall a lovely site but let down by a the laundrette (essential for us having 3 young children), and for this reason I don't think we will be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JULIEAND WAYNE 5 reviews from this member

 2 Adults/2 Kids and 1 Springer Spaniel;

For the first week of our annual fortnight in Cornwall, we decided to head to the Lizard for a change, choosing this Campsite and could not have been more pleased.

The site is situated well off the main road down two quiet lanes in lovely, peaceful countryside.

Upon being shown to our Pitch, we were pleased to see that it was in a flat field with plenty of surrounding trees and hedgerows for shelter in the event of any strong winds (thankfully not needed)

Although not the most modern looking of facilities, the Toilets/Showers/Washing up facilities are in actual fact as usable as any on the sites we have stayed at and the shower the best of any on sites we have used. All of these are always spotlessly clean, even though we never actually saw anyone doing the cleaning!

The Park is family run and both the owners are friendly and approachable and can be seen regularly checking the site themselves in a low key way, which seems to work, as we had no problems with noise or behaviour during our stay (unlike the site we moved on to)

Pitches for tents with electric hook ups and caravans are available and the site has a small playground and a games room and is only a short walk from the beautiful village of Coverack, with many other attractions within a short drive away. The site is dog friendly and the owners produce their own leaflet withh a list of dog friendly/non dog friendly beaches in the area - a nice touch.

In short, this is a lovely well run site in glorious secluded countryside, the only bad thing being that we didn't base ourselves there for the extra week, although we will definitely be back next year.

Nice to see park owners doing the simple things well, rather than chase the money at the expense of peoples holidays.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RhodieRob 1 review from this member

 Spent a week at this wonderful and highly recommended site, quite by accident.

The management is firm which keeps all campers happy. The staff are friendly and always ready for a chat if you want one. The grounds are terrific, tended with loving care and worth it. There is no downside to this camp site unless you need a pub right next door. There are some great pubs offering good food, one is walking distance although its advisable to taxi back up the hill ! The Lizard and Lands End are close by and there is a plan to reinstate the visitor centre at the satellite station at Goonhilly in the near future.

Thanks to Sean and the team for a great holiday which could have been a disaster. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emstick14 2 reviews from this member

 Pro's:-

Lovely area.

Pitches were really big, ample room to park an extra car.

Wasn't too busy, we only had one other neighbour who was quite far away.

Toilets were clean, lots of handwash available.

Friendly owners.

Children loved the park.

Con's:-

Park was out of sight, would have liked a non electric pitch in the park field so we could watch the children play.

No paper towels in the toilets.

We stayed for 2 nights and the weather was glorious, which certainly helps! We would definitely go back again, it was a lovely campsite. We also visited Coverack beach and got to swim in the sea! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newpasty 1 review from this member

 Just had two lovely weeks here. Site clean, well looked after, owners very helpful. Pitch well large enough. Not as close to Coverack as we thought, so we drove more than we expected. Would recommend this to families, although it did take a while for the general hubbub to quieten down, so bed around 11pm. Only niggle, the micro shop that sold the essentials didn't sell bread or bacon (just a family morning favourite)we didn't go for the electric hook up and have been used to buying breakfast daily on previous sites.

All in all very good. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement