Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park
Coverack
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6SD
Tel: 01326 280260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackiebee 6 reviews from this member

 This has to be one of the best sites I have stayed at. OK we had the best weather of the year so far but, even so, our stay was really good. Wonderful location - a little bit out of the way of shops, supermarkets, pubs etc but the perfect place if you just want to spend your days out and return in the evening and sit quietly with a glass of wine.

The owners were very friendly and welcoming, making sure that they said hello at least once a day. The site was extremely well maintained, excellent camping field and really well laid out with really good sized pitches. It was very quiet when we were there but I can't imagine it being cramped at all.

The toilets and shower blocks were absolutely fine - not top of the range and brand new but spotless at whatever time you went into them. I'm convinced that they had their very own Loo Fairy because I never saw anybody clean them but they were always spotless.

We did venure into Helston one evening to eat - total disaster - it was a Monday - and according to a local we met in the pub attached to the Premier Lodge, virtually all restaurants, apart from Indian, were closed on a Monday. The pub attached to the Premier Lodge is not to be recommended, appalling service, terrible staff attitude - and we were told by the local resident that this was normal!

Perfect base for travelling around - fell in love with the Minack Theatre and the surrounding area, St Michael's Mount, Coverack and lots of other places.

If we are this far south again we will definitely return to this site - can't recommend it enough. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveo61 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site, the site is superbly kept ie: grass well cut and hedges well trimmed. The people who own this site made us very welcome, our battery charger had died when we tried to get things up and running, the owner of the site loaned us his own charger, to get us out of trouble. Which was very much appreciated,

The site is in a beautiful area well away from any main roads, so very quiet and peaceful. The site is very dog friendly, also the public house in coverack were very dog friendly even allowing them into the restaurant, also served excellent food.

Will be returning in the near future, and wouldn't hesitate recommending this site to anyone 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 105 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site.Friendly owners.Not many other campers when we were there.The wash blocks are a little old but very clean. Think if the site was full there may be some queuing for showers, only 2 in each block. The shower didn't stay on for long though water was hot, bit annoying having to keep pushing button! In good position for exploring the Lizard peninsula.Cadgewith and Coverack lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Owlbird 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a week at this site spent with friends and had a great time, I found the site from research on this site and having looked at many decided that it met our requirements i.E. A quiet family run site in an attractive location and near to good beaches, well set up for tents and child friendly but with no ghastly clubhouse, entertainment etc. And this site delivered on all fronts.

The site is spacious and was never overcrowded in fact we had a field to ourselves for the majority of our trip, the toilet and shower blocks were clean and we never had to queue at any time of the day, washing up facilities are excellent and the laundry room equipped with coin operated washing machines and tumble dryers was impressive and reasonably priced, there are also taps with drinking water in every field. The owners are friendly and efficient and keep the site in excellent order without being the campsite police which weíve encountered at other sites, the atmosphere was relaxed and everyone speaks, even the poor people in the static caravans still waved and smiled when my 4 year old son and I cycled past them for the 10th consecutive time! We didnít use the mobile shop but stocked up in nearby Helston which has a Tesco and a Lidl when we needed supplies.

This part of Cornwall is absolutely gorgeous and there is much to see and do locally, Coverack is a stunning little place with water so turquoise youíll think youíre in the Maldives (not quite so warm though unfortunately), it has a decent beach and a great harbour which is good for crab fishing as well as a fish and chip shop, a reasonable pub which does food and has a nice garden area over looking the sea and there are plenty of places to get local ice cream (Roskillyís). Nearby is the equally stunning Kynance Cove which is great for kids with all its nooks and caves, it is a trek to get to and you need to watch the tide times but worth it and has a lovely little cafť up on the cliffs above. St. Ives, Penzance and Newlyn are within easy driving distance and there are numerous tourist attractions that are good for the kids if it rains, if you fancy driving a little bit further I would recommend the Lost Gardens of Heligan and a trip to Falmouth is always a pleasure ( I am biased as I grew up here but it really is lovely).

All in all Little Trevothan is a great family site, my only criticisms are that the pitch we were given was quite soggy underfoot as we arrived following a period of sustained rainfall and although we had quite dry weather this didnít really improve and the road to Coverack is so steep that walking with young children was out of the question, however that does seem a bit unfair as the owners canít really be blamed for either the geography or the weather.

One more thing I must mention is that due to itís remote location and lack of light pollution, on a clear night the stars are breathtaking and so close you feel you could touch them, we had one clear night and were amazed to be able to see so many and to pick out some of the major constellations although we might have made some up as beer and wine were flowing by then! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SAM66 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site, both in 2008 and 2009, facilities good, plenty of clean showers and toilets which are cleaned regularly.

Also has washing machine and dryer which you pay for and the use of washing up facilities, pitches are fairly flat and some are sheltered, we always camped by the park which was very open to the elements, owners very friendly.

Site not close to shops needed to travel to helston for supermarket although the campsite has a shop come on site twice a day which was useful,

had to go to local beach by car at coverack but parking cheap, would recommend this site if you want to be in the middle of conutryside. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nrjones 25 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable week at Little Trevothan. Site is situated in very quiet, unspoilt area of Cornwall,and despite this is fairly easy to access with a caravan.

Owners were friendly enough without being too overbearing - they were quite happy to advise on local events etc. Coverack is well within walking distance for anyone who is reasonably fit and we spent several enjoyable days kayaking, fishing for mackerel and generally enjoying the pleasant surroundings. The North coast of Cornwall is less than an hour away if you want decent surf. The site itself provided a decent sized pitch and reasonable washing/toilet facilities.You have to bear in mind you are only paying £150 pounds for a week, including hook-up etc. So don't expect 5 star facilities. Only complaint was number of noisy children continually cycling and running around close to pitch. Annoying when there is a very large playing field right next door!

All in all though I think this site represents excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barry_432 16 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my 2 children on our first (5 day)camping trip on our own (without my OH to organise us and help put the tent up). We found the site to meet all our needs. The owners were friendly and accommodating & the cycle around the site to check everything is OK and in our case to deliver a letter. They informed me of local events and things to see.

There is a small shop which is supplemented by a mobile shop that sells all the basics and comes each day at 09.00.

The site is divided into sections and we had a pitch with EHU in the white field which was sheltered by planted hedges. The pitches were well marked out and of ample size.

The toilet and shower blocks never seemed overwhelemed by demand and there was always hot water when I used them. Always clean.

Washing up facilities supplemented by a washing macine, tumble drier, iron etc.

Fellow campers were friendly.

My children enjoyed the play area and made good friends. I would definitely use the campsite again. There was also a games room .

Mobile phone signal is next to non existant so don't expect to keep in touch. Helston has a Tesco's where we stocked up (1o miles away) 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nev Hedley 3 reviews from this member

 First time in Cornwall and we booked this site, the owners were really friendly and keep the site clean and well maintained.

The toilet/shower blocks are a bit old but hey we were living out of a tent so anything extra is a bonus. We had our pick of were we pitched and the site was quiet at night which meant a good nights sleep!

The site is ideal for exploring Cornwall from and there are some lovely beaches and places to visit, was going back to this site this year but we are taking elderly In Laws so it's a cottage this time! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 A very well run site, the owners are very friendly and efficient. Sean (the owner) gets around the site making sure everyone is ok.

The toilets and showers are quite old but clean and work well.

We were unlucky to get some soggy weather which meant we got stuck when wwe tried to tow our caravan out but the site staff sorted us out quickly with a 4x4 (I taught Sean how to tie a proper knot).

It's a steep walk down into the village but nothing too arduous. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mky337 22 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site almost in the middle of nowhere! Very helpful owner, showed us to our pitch right away and even fetched a hose so we could fill up with water. Spacious pitches for tourers and lots of hedges and trees.

Toilet blocks as others have said, a little old but very clean. Quite a lot of static vans on site as well.

Everything that people have said about Coverack is right, it's a gorgeous little village, 25 mins walk from the site down quiet narrow roads. Less can be said about Lizard, don't go there expecting a quaint village on the most southerly point of the UK. It's tacky.

Would definitely recommend the site though and return. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement