Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park
Coverack
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6SD
Tel: 01326 280260
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 61 to 68                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Setdancegirl 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights in August - site was ok but nothing to rave about. When we arrived our welcome was '£40 please' and we were pointed towards our pitch - not unfriendly but not particularly friendly either. Pitches were average size and with rows having hedges in between so fairly sheltered. 
 
Showers and toilets definitely need updating - 2 showers in mens & womens which were free but so they should be as the water was only lukewarm most of the time and operated with a rather knackered push button system so that you had to hold the button in to get a constant stream of water - I found if I let go the water stopped so it was either get stand without water and get cold or do everything one-handed! The ladies block was smelly the whole time which made queueing for the showers (every day) quite unpleasant.
 
The shop is a chiller cabinet with milk & soft drinks and a few dry goods (no bread or papers) behind the reception desk. There was some tourist info there too which was useful.
 
The site is about a mile uphill from Coverack. We ate in the pub there one night & food was ok but staff were not very friendly and there was some pretty rough locals (boasting about how many heads they kicked in during last weeks fights!) which is not what you want really! The White Hart in St Keverne was much nicer and does good food.
 
The best thing about the site is the location on The Lizard which is a stunning part of Cornwall and much quieter than many other coastal areas. Beaches are great for swimming and there are lots of rivers, creeks, gardens and villages to explore which made our holiday very enjoyable.
 
Would I stay here again? Maybe but only for the location and even then I might try one of the other campsites on The Lizard first. This site wasn't bad but wasn't brilliant either. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonfol 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed at this site, which is located in a really tranquil and pleasant part of the world.
 
The pitches for tents are really spacious and well laid out.  As other reviewers have mentioned, the owners are very friendly and helpful people, with a genuine commitment to improving the venue.
We noticed that the washing up facilities had been improved since last year.  As another reviewer mentioned, the toilets and showers are somewhat 'tired' and for me were the only slight downside.  However, as with everything on this site, they are kept clean and tidy.  I understand that the owners are looking to upgrade these facilities, but they have to make a choice where their money can best be used, as not everything can be done at once. 
There are also plenty of standpipes around, which saves having to trudge a long way for water.  Despite being there in the height of summer, the facilities were never too crowded or busy.  The odd wait for the shower or washing-up sink, but nothing too major.
 
The site has a nice atmosphere and is positioned about a mile outside the pretty village of Coverack.  This provides a nice evening wonder down into the village for a meal at the Paris Hotel, which does a good range of food.  You'll need your torches for the wander back up the narrow winding country lane though! 
There's also the nearby larger village of St Keverne, which has a good store that stocks practically everything.  By the way, being in a remote part of Cornwall , stargazing at the nightime sky is excellent.  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Talos 2 reviews from this member

 Once again we have visited little trevothan caravan and camping site quiet and peaceful  as ever.
The laundry equipment has been upgraded and they now provide a clothes rack for surfers/divers to dry wetsuits etc.
The games room now has a pool table and a wide collection of books.
it has a very large playground area for children,even a seperate area for walking a dog.
There are two sets of toilet facilities on site and both are open when needed. Tourist information can be found at reception,we cannot find a better place after going there since 1996 and that says it all, the owners are friendly and helpful.
  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Onefatbadger 1 review from this member

 We have three small children 8, 6 and 3 and were looking for a quiet children friendly campsite on the Lizard. The camp site was empty with the exception of the static caravans and so very quiet. We soon discovered why as though the days were sunny and warm the night temperature went down to 5 degrees and was a bit too cold for camping. Hey we are new to this and didnt think it could get that cold at easter.
Anyway the kids had a great time roaming the campsite and there is a nice little play area for them. The owners were very friendly and couldnt be more helpful. I would recommend this site to anyone but with one caveat. While the facilities were clean, they were fairly basic with small basins and if the site was busy, as in all 70 pitches were being used would be a problem. As it is was with site being pretty empty they weren't a problem and didnt change our opinion that we would recommend the site and would be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jerrycat 2 reviews from this member

 We'd been staying at a site in Tintagel for a few days and was  booked into Little Trevothan for another few days to complete our hoilday down Cornwall. The night before we left our first campsite, my tooth started playing up as I'd had a root canal a few weeks previous. The next day it was still sore but decided to just get on with it. By the time we got to Little Trevothan, my tooth was quite bad. We asked if we could pay day by day, just incase we needed to go home because of it. Surprisingly the lady owner agreed and was very sympathetic to my woes. We were shown to our plot and preceeded to get on with erecting the tent, or rather my boyfriend did, as I just kept feeling dreadful. He managed to get the tent put up mostly on his own and then noticed my distress and declared that we were going to pack up and go home. I very reluctantly agreed but was very disappointed too. We spoke to the husband and he seemed genuinly sorry for us and told us to go and see his wife for a refund. We were so grateful and appreciated them both for their kindness as a lot of owners just care about taking your money and to hell with any problems you may have afterwards.
The site is very pretty and very quiet too - not recommended it you enjoy a bit of hustle and bustle, but perfect if you just want peace and quiet and relaxation. Very nicely laid out too. There are also static caravans and a Yurt for hire (which we was shown around). The toilet block seemed fine, and there had been work going on, as we were there.
The new owners have been there since about January and are really a lovely couple and we wish them every  the success with this park.
Unfortunately we didn't see any of the area but from what I gather, it's beautiful and we definitely hope to be able to get down there again oneday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Talos 2 reviews from this member

 I have visited little Trevothan caravan and campsite since 1996. It is a nice place and peaceful. The owners which have just taken over the site this year gave us a very friendly welcome and made us feel at ease.
Also there is a dog walking area. Play area for the children and a small shop on site.

There is also a small shop in nearby Coverack. The nearest large town is Helston- the nearest beach is Coverack being approx one mile away. Other beaches in the area are within travelling distance for bodyboarding and other watersports enthusiasts.

For the birdwatchers their are plenty of places to watch the birds.
Reading previous reviews about the toilet/shower blocks - efforts are being made to improve them. 


Date of Visit: August 2004 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pendo 1 review from this member

 It's in a lovely area; very quiet and secluded. However, the shower block was run down, the wash-up/laundry area was very basic and not very big considering how many campers were on site, and the shop was quite basic.
 


Reviewer: steve gregory

 June 2002,July 2001
Pleasant quiet and secluded site near to Coverack. If your looking for a bar
and loud music go elsewhere.
Toilets/showers are acceptable although
when we visited they were showing their
age a little. All usual facilites e.g.
elsan,small shop,play area etc.
If its peace and quiet your after then this site will suit.
 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 68     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Trevothan Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3035 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement