Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 04/07/20 Onward

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo E 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this lovely campsite and we will definitely return.

The site is one large field surrounded by a dry-stone wall and fields of cows, horses and sheep. It is so picturesque and peaceful and the children loved watching the cows hanging their heads over the wall by our tent and going up the lane for milking each day.

The pitches are really well spaced out so it is very private and each has a fire pit which was wonderful. The facilities are housed in a static caravan which is quirky and fun. The caravan was always clean and cosy and we never faced a queue for the loo or shower.

Whilst we stayed, there were no cars on the field as it had been wet but we loved that. It was an easy walk over the field with the wheelbarrows provided and the site felt more relaxed, quiet and child-friendly with no cars.

The owner was a lovely lady, always available but discrete, a perfect hostess.

We loved this back to basics site and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vfarrell 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay here with our children and friends, 4 adults and 3 children age 12 & 5. It is a lovely back to basics campsite as stated and as per previous reviews there is only 1 shower and 2 toilets. (1 in the caravan and 1 outdoors) I must say though these were kept spotlessly clean. The owner was always on hand should you need to know anything or need any assistance, my 5 year old took quite a shine to her as she was very friendly and even took him into one of the barns and shown him the baby swallows. He was also amused by being surrounded by all the sheep.

There was 2 small pubs within a 10 minute walking distance, either down the lane or you can cut across the fields, I would advise to book though as we just had a stroll down and found both fully booked. We did just have a drive into the village though where we found a lovely Chinese takeaway called the panda, which we could highly recommend.

Just near the pubs there was a park and tennis court, although you do need to take your own rackets.

The camp allows fire pits which the children loved. The only downfall we found was there was no music allowed, we had our music playing but was asked to turn this off, and noise kept to a minimum after 10. 30.

Overall though this is a lovely campsite if you are looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladyp1234 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our two nights here, despite the wind and rain that threatened to bring the tent down. Gorgeous views with loads of walks from the site, including 15mins or so to the nearest village where there are two lovely pubs. One of the pubs has a shop (ask at the bar if it is closed). We had a delicious meal at the pub on the rainy evening - friendly atmosphere.

Loved the space on the site, lots of room between tents. Also really enjoyed the camp fires (it was dry the first eve so had a lovely time sitting around it).

Facilities kept spotless, the site was quite quiet when we were there so no waiting for the loo. (There are two)

A site to return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Studleyh 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite with everything really you need, a place to charge your mobiles, have a shower and sort out the washing up. Not too busy so the que's for the toilets not too bad. Best of all two great pubs in nearby Ravenstonedale which is only a 10 minute walk away across the fields and when you return you can set up a camp fire which adds to the whole experience. Really friendly and accommodating and would recommend to anyone who enjoys a bit of back to basic camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandy27 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! As mentioned by other reviewers, the views of the hills are spectacular. The grass is very 'peg friendly' and there are many flat areas to pitch a tent. Owner was very friendly and helpful. To us it's a plus point that cars aren't allowed on the site and we loved using wheelbarrows to carry our stuff. We didn't have to use the car over the 2 days we were there - we either walked or cycled. We will return out of the school holidays when it will probably be quieter and more to our liking. This is one of the best sites we have used. Well done! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jthunders 2 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here a few times, mainly as a stop-over elsewhere (though we find any excuse to necessitate a stay), I've grown very fond of the place and look forward to spending longer here soon.

It is pretty much our perfect site: lovely, helpful, yet discreet owner Rosie, good all-round views of rolling hills and endless dry-stone walls, basic facilities in static caravan which are clean and perfectly fine, firepits and wood to buy, large flattish site (with undulations).

The all-round farming activity entertains the kids, and the country lane strolls warm the soul. I've never seen the site all that busy so lots of room and privacy. And all that at good-value prices - 6pp.

Some here mention no cars - maybe that's v new or for busy periods as we've always been able to take ours on (though last time moved it anyway to the newish parking area). There's not much to interrupt the wind so can get a bit blowy. Only minor downside for hardcore peace-lovers may be the faint traffic noise from the main road - otherwise perfection in a field. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Barrow 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of those sites you don't want to tell anybody about !

Simply put it is what camping is all about basic but with the facilities you need shower, toilet, changing room, kitchen area and somewhere to sit if need be.

Separate bins for all the rubbish to be recycled even the ash from BBQ's is recycled.

The site owner and her daughter couldn't have been more helpful. Rosie hobbled round cleaning everything even though she had a hip replaced less than 3 months ago that is customer service.

Reading the reviews one poster mentioned that the owner needed to buff up on her customers skills eg her tone. One word Poppycock I think he may have been in the wrong in the first place or done something wrong. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RA2927 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a lovely weekend visit to the site with my boyfriend and our dog. I could not fault the site at all and was perfect for us. The situation of the site was beautiful and views of the surrounding mountains could be seen from all over the camping field. We enjoy a lot of walking and just found ourselves not planning our route but just walking down the numerous public footpaths. We arrived late Friday afternoon and met the owner who was lovely and could always be found walking around the site. There is a static caravan very close to the camping field where there is one toilet and shower, although it is only small it serves its purpose very well and was always spotless. There is also a second outdoor toilet by the house which we often found ourselves using in busy periods. It was very hot when we stayed so we didn't really leave the campsite much and just enjoyed sitting on the field soaking up the sun. There is two local pubs about 10 minutes walk from the site which we did not eat in but seemed very nice. There is also a small shop in which it sells a number of items, however If you find that you have forgotten something I would recommend travelling in to Kirby Stephen as the shop is unlikely to sell it. The only problem we found, which is not the sites fault, is that to get to anywhere you have to drive. When camping we like parking the car up and walking everywhere however walking to local towns is Impractical because of the distance. I would definitely stay here again and can't rate the site high enough. It is a 'back to basics' experience but we loved it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campfiresinger 1 review from this member

 Low Greenside was very easy to find and although very accessible from the main roads gives the impression of being much deeper into the countryside as you can barely see a road from the field.

It is also within a reasonable enough walking distance from a bus stop and the local train station for back packers.

The field is smooth for pitching and you can use the firepits provided (with logs to use on sale) and are allowed BBQs.

There is a caravan at the rear of the farmhouse which provides campers with toilet and shower, a kitchen area with a sink and fridge, a seating area equipped with many leaflets and posters about the surrounding area and usefully a shelf of stuff you may have forgotten but need like shampoo, toothpaste etc. It is spotless! I was also really pleased to see that outside there were a variety of bins allowing you to recycle your waste.

The owner seemed to have a sixth sense as was always in sight when we needed to ask something! and was helpful and friendly.

The site was in great condition, had wonderful views, was quiet with only the sound of the sheep and wildlife and was well placed for visiting both the Yorkshire Dales and the Lakes.

I look forward to returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scott Family 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site situated in a beautiful area. We camped as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) with our old camper van that we use as a kitchen. The field at the time was very soft so Rosie understandably did not want vehicles on the grass but we were accommodated with our tent fairly close to the entrance so that we could use the van.

The toilet and shower were housed in an old static van and were spotlessly clean there was another outside toilet near the house, very handy when the shower was in use.

Rosie was very helpful and gave us plenty of information on local walks. We would definitely visit this site again. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020