Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 04/07/2020 to 01/11/2020
           01/04/2021 to 01/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zoebarton 4 reviews from this member

 Great basic site. Uncut grass so bring wellies. The shower and washing up (with hot water)are in a static caravan which can also be used as a wet weather shelter and has a power point for phones, hairdryers etc.

We went during school holidays but there was plenty of room in the field - Rosie limits the number of campers as there are only two toilets.

The black swan in the village is a wonderful pub with a beer garden by the beck but you do have to book for an evening meal.

Brilliant walking of all grades in the surrounding area. We will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avid_camper 1 review from this member

 This is just probably the best campsite we have ever stayed at. We stayed for a week and the weather was great. It was busier at the weekend and the one large party was put down the bottom of the field so it didn't disturb us.

This is such a great site that I hesitate to recommend it in case too many people find out about it. It has wonderful 360 degree views. Rosie is the front person and keeps the place immaculate, Robert works away in the background and his dry sense of humour is a definite asset.

We went for a lovely walk up Green Bell, the nearest fell, which started and ended at the campsite, as well as some other beautiful lowland circular walks.

The village pub was very pleasant, and the playground just round the corner was great for the kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottie Chorton 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a lovely hidden part of the lakes, and although it has fairly basic toilet /washing facilities in an old caravan, as it's only £5pppn with no extras - you get what you pay for.

It is a really large field of uncut grass - and has really lovely views all the way round, but it is quite open to the elements should the weather be inclement as it was in our stay.

A 10-15 minute walk down the road (or over the fields) takes you to the The Black Swan in

Ravenstonedale a superb country pub with excellent food and beer.

Unfortunately at the campsite, we found the owner to be wanting in the area of 'customer service' especially in tone, and so probably would not return. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazel Donnelly 1 review from this member

 Excellent Site.

We were a party of two couples and it was our first experience at camping. The facilities are a little limited but they are spotless and fully maintained at all times. The views are lovely and the fire facility are perfect for the private camp fire. The pitches are well spaced out so everyone has enough personal space.

Rosie is a really friendly lady who is very helpful. She was a God send when our car battery was flat and it was no problem for her to bring her car to us to re-charge it. She has provided everything you need on site to have a very relaxed and carefree holiday.

Can recommend and will definitely return.

Fairly priced, well kept, excellent restaurants,shops and pubs locally. Within easy access to all of the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lcraig 1 review from this member

 Our party of 2 adults and 3 children stayed here for 3 nights, and we loved it! Yes, it's basic, but incredibly clean.

There is an old static caravan which houses a toilet and shower, plus space to wash up. There's also another separate loo.

Rosie, the owner, works wonders to maintain high levels of cleanliness, and also takes it upon herself to organise all the recycling. The site was spacious, loads of room for the kids to play without getting in anyone's way.

The highlight was the fire - our first on a camping trip and a definite hit with us all!

We walked from the site to The Fat Lamb pub, about 2 miles each way and a lovely walk. We also visited the Smardale Viaduct which was another beautiful walk.

Admittedly, we had fabulous weather and the site wasn't overly busy, but we'd definitely return - it was right up our street. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riddlers duffy 10 reviews from this member

 We landed on a very windy Wednesday, the field was wet so we had to park the car on the gravel road nearby which was no real hardship at all. Rosie the site owner was friendly and helpful and her rates were very reasonable too. The car rim fire pits were a nice touch and most welcome on a pretty cold evening. The views were great and what made it better was we were the only campers on the site so it was extremely tranquil. The toilets were adequate and clean, the campsite was well maintained. We took a leisurely walk of about a mile into the village of Ravenstonedale, which was a pretty little place with river, a children's play area and a couple of pubs. We will be using this place again for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mayhemthethird 4 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my wife and two older teenage children for two nights camping. The cost was £5 per person per night.

We like quiet basic sites and this fitted the bill perfectly. Rosie, the site owner is very helpful and you get the feeling she really wants you to enjoy your stay.

The facilities are basic, but very clean. One shower and two toilets for the whole of the site, but as there was only three of four others campers at the time we where there this was not a problem. You are encouraged to use the recycling facilities provided as rubbish is not collected and Rosie herself has to take it all away each day in her car.

The facilities are located with a caravan near the farmhouse. A bonus of this feature is a room within the van with seating, enabling you to plan your day with help of the many tourist leaflets available in comfort.

The site also allows campfires in the pits provided. Wood is available from Rosie at £5 per bag which provides plenty for a long evening.

The pitches are mostly level or slightly sloping, and pegs went into the ground without the need of a mallet. The grass is longer than most other campsites, and wellies or boots are a good idea if it is wet.

We really liked this site. It’s very quiet, well located for Kirby Stephen (10 mins drive) where you can find places to eat, banks, shops etc and easy to access from the M6.

We will definitely be visiting there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gje4 7 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely quiet & relaxing site and we would certainly return.

The on-site static caravan houses a shower and toilet, which is fine and also includes a seating area should you be unfortunate to have rain. There is another toilet in an outer building (freshly painted while we were there)

You have fire pits, if required (we did and it was great to sit around with a glass of wine) and wood is supplied at £5.00 per bag, which we stretched to 3 nights.

Camping was £5 pppn which is great

No on-site bars or pools which is why we booked Low Greenside Farm in the first place.

Lots of space, views, walks – a great find!

Ravonstonedale is within walking distance and includes a lovely Hotel & pub – there are 2 in Ravonstonedale but the other is currently closed – The Hotel has a shop attached and the lady who runs this is lovely.

We look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikesmart3 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite 24th july and its just like all the reviews say. Its in a great location with fantastic views,its an easy 5 minute walk to ravenstonedale and nothing is any bother to rosie the owner.

We were charged £5 per adult for the night, rosie didn't charge for my son as she asked us to move to the corner of the field away from the older people which wasn't a problem.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants basic camping with a proper campfire 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Triganomystery 1 review from this member

 We stayed at low Greenside for two nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

The ground was flat with plenty of space between pitches and a lovely view of the surrounding hills.

The shower and toilet were housed in a static caravan with an extra toilet in one of the out buildings. There was a lovely wood burner in the static with a huge sofa if the weather was too cold to sit outside.

We did, however, sit out with a great log campfire (logs supplied by Rosie) and even managed to cook on our fire - proper camping as it should be!

Ravonstonedale is walkable with pubs and a shop (inside the pub)

And Kirkby Stephen is a 10-15 minute drive away with lovely local shops (butcher, greengrocer, papershop, tea rooms, etc) and a very useful co-op.

We hope to go back very soon. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2335 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December