Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 14/04/2022 to 15/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TENTER3 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent, lovely site. Very friendly owner who is extremely helpful. The site whilst being 'basic' is immaculate, well provisioned and clean. Despite limiting the number to around 30 people don't be fooled thinking this is because the site is small. The site is a large field that gives plenty of room to all campers. Perfectly placed in between the dales, lakes and Yorkshire. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jungletide 1 review from this member

 We have only just resumed camping after a break of several years. Just occasionally a strapline makes you go out and buy the product. 'Camping as it used to be' did it for me - I had to go to this place, and was not in the slightest disappointed. Lots of space, the chance to have a fire, friendly fellow campers, the sight of other people's small children chest-high in buttercups, a host who works her socks off yet manages to be great company and attentive. And, of course, a stunning location. We did some gentle local walks, went for a slap-up birthday meal in the excellent Black Swan nearby, and sauntered around the delightful town of Kirkby Stephen. But there's much else to do for those who are fitter than us, or prepared to travel further from the site. A perfect weekend! An extra shower would be good - though I realise the site is not usually this busy. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Boxervan 10 reviews from this member

 Quiet site with lovely views across the Howgills. The village of Ravenstonedale is lovely with two great pubs, both with gardens.

If pitched near to the farm buildings a light sleeper may be awoken early by milking machinery (not intrusive noise, and this is a working farm!).

The site is well laid out with a gravelled car-park where vehicles are limited to if the grass is wet (plenty of wheelbarrows for moving equipment to your pitch). The owner is friendly and helpful.

There was only one other couple on the site during our stay. My only concern is that two toilets and one shower may not be enough when the site is busy, although kept very clean. The static caravan with one toilet and shower also has kitchen facilities and a plentiful stock of local information.

We'll definitely visit again, but will choose a quiet time again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo E 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this lovely campsite and we will definitely return.

The site is one large field surrounded by a dry-stone wall and fields of cows, horses and sheep. It is so picturesque and peaceful and the children loved watching the cows hanging their heads over the wall by our tent and going up the lane for milking each day.

The pitches are really well spaced out so it is very private and each has a fire pit which was wonderful. The facilities are housed in a static caravan which is quirky and fun. The caravan was always clean and cosy and we never faced a queue for the loo or shower.

Whilst we stayed, there were no cars on the field as it had been wet but we loved that. It was an easy walk over the field with the wheelbarrows provided and the site felt more relaxed, quiet and child-friendly with no cars.

The owner was a lovely lady, always available but discrete, a perfect hostess.

We loved this back to basics site and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vfarrell 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay here with our children and friends, 4 adults and 3 children age 12 & 5. It is a lovely back to basics campsite as stated and as per previous reviews there is only 1 shower and 2 toilets. (1 in the caravan and 1 outdoors) I must say though these were kept spotlessly clean. The owner was always on hand should you need to know anything or need any assistance, my 5 year old took quite a shine to her as she was very friendly and even took him into one of the barns and shown him the baby swallows. He was also amused by being surrounded by all the sheep.

There was 2 small pubs within a 10 minute walking distance, either down the lane or you can cut across the fields, I would advise to book though as we just had a stroll down and found both fully booked. We did just have a drive into the village though where we found a lovely Chinese takeaway called the panda, which we could highly recommend.

Just near the pubs there was a park and tennis court, although you do need to take your own rackets.

The camp allows fire pits which the children loved. The only downfall we found was there was no music allowed, we had our music playing but was asked to turn this off, and noise kept to a minimum after 10. 30.

Overall though this is a lovely campsite if you are looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladyp1234 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our two nights here, despite the wind and rain that threatened to bring the tent down. Gorgeous views with loads of walks from the site, including 15mins or so to the nearest village where there are two lovely pubs. One of the pubs has a shop (ask at the bar if it is closed). We had a delicious meal at the pub on the rainy evening - friendly atmosphere.

Loved the space on the site, lots of room between tents. Also really enjoyed the camp fires (it was dry the first eve so had a lovely time sitting around it).

Facilities kept spotless, the site was quite quiet when we were there so no waiting for the loo. (There are two)

A site to return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Studleyh 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite with everything really you need, a place to charge your mobiles, have a shower and sort out the washing up. Not too busy so the que's for the toilets not too bad. Best of all two great pubs in nearby Ravenstonedale which is only a 10 minute walk away across the fields and when you return you can set up a camp fire which adds to the whole experience. Really friendly and accommodating and would recommend to anyone who enjoys a bit of back to basic camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandy27 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site! As mentioned by other reviewers, the views of the hills are spectacular. The grass is very 'peg friendly' and there are many flat areas to pitch a tent. Owner was very friendly and helpful. To us it's a plus point that cars aren't allowed on the site and we loved using wheelbarrows to carry our stuff. We didn't have to use the car over the 2 days we were there - we either walked or cycled. We will return out of the school holidays when it will probably be quieter and more to our liking. This is one of the best sites we have used. Well done! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jthunders 2 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here a few times, mainly as a stop-over elsewhere (though we find any excuse to necessitate a stay), I've grown very fond of the place and look forward to spending longer here soon.

It is pretty much our perfect site: lovely, helpful, yet discreet owner Rosie, good all-round views of rolling hills and endless dry-stone walls, basic facilities in static caravan which are clean and perfectly fine, firepits and wood to buy, large flattish site (with undulations).

The all-round farming activity entertains the kids, and the country lane strolls warm the soul. I've never seen the site all that busy so lots of room and privacy. And all that at good-value prices - 6pp.

Some here mention no cars - maybe that's v new or for busy periods as we've always been able to take ours on (though last time moved it anyway to the newish parking area). There's not much to interrupt the wind so can get a bit blowy. Only minor downside for hardcore peace-lovers may be the faint traffic noise from the main road - otherwise perfection in a field. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Barrow 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of those sites you don't want to tell anybody about !

Simply put it is what camping is all about basic but with the facilities you need shower, toilet, changing room, kitchen area and somewhere to sit if need be.

Separate bins for all the rubbish to be recycled even the ash from BBQ's is recycled.

The site owner and her daughter couldn't have been more helpful. Rosie hobbled round cleaning everything even though she had a hip replaced less than 3 months ago that is customer service.

Reading the reviews one poster mentioned that the owner needed to buff up on her customers skills eg her tone. One word Poppycock I think he may have been in the wrong in the first place or done something wrong. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement