Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 14/04/2022 to 15/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RA2927 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a lovely weekend visit to the site with my boyfriend and our dog. I could not fault the site at all and was perfect for us. The situation of the site was beautiful and views of the surrounding mountains could be seen from all over the camping field. We enjoy a lot of walking and just found ourselves not planning our route but just walking down the numerous public footpaths. We arrived late Friday afternoon and met the owner who was lovely and could always be found walking around the site. There is a static caravan very close to the camping field where there is one toilet and shower, although it is only small it serves its purpose very well and was always spotless. There is also a second outdoor toilet by the house which we often found ourselves using in busy periods. It was very hot when we stayed so we didn't really leave the campsite much and just enjoyed sitting on the field soaking up the sun. There is two local pubs about 10 minutes walk from the site which we did not eat in but seemed very nice. There is also a small shop in which it sells a number of items, however If you find that you have forgotten something I would recommend travelling in to Kirby Stephen as the shop is unlikely to sell it. The only problem we found, which is not the sites fault, is that to get to anywhere you have to drive. When camping we like parking the car up and walking everywhere however walking to local towns is Impractical because of the distance. I would definitely stay here again and can't rate the site high enough. It is a 'back to basics' experience but we loved it. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campfiresinger 1 review from this member

 Low Greenside was very easy to find and although very accessible from the main roads gives the impression of being much deeper into the countryside as you can barely see a road from the field.

It is also within a reasonable enough walking distance from a bus stop and the local train station for back packers.

The field is smooth for pitching and you can use the firepits provided (with logs to use on sale) and are allowed BBQs.

There is a caravan at the rear of the farmhouse which provides campers with toilet and shower, a kitchen area with a sink and fridge, a seating area equipped with many leaflets and posters about the surrounding area and usefully a shelf of stuff you may have forgotten but need like shampoo, toothpaste etc. It is spotless! I was also really pleased to see that outside there were a variety of bins allowing you to recycle your waste.

The owner seemed to have a sixth sense as was always in sight when we needed to ask something! and was helpful and friendly.

The site was in great condition, had wonderful views, was quiet with only the sound of the sheep and wildlife and was well placed for visiting both the Yorkshire Dales and the Lakes.

I look forward to returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scott Family 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site situated in a beautiful area. We camped as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) with our old camper van that we use as a kitchen. The field at the time was very soft so Rosie understandably did not want vehicles on the grass but we were accommodated with our tent fairly close to the entrance so that we could use the van.

The toilet and shower were housed in an old static van and were spotlessly clean there was another outside toilet near the house, very handy when the shower was in use.

Rosie was very helpful and gave us plenty of information on local walks. We would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chesterchunky 1 review from this member

 I must admit I thoroughly enjoyed my long weekend at Low Greenside farm. Its only small but that's what helps make the site so good.

I was apprehensive about the facilities because it's basically an old static caravan with just the one toilet and shower unit and you also can use Rosies outside loo.

Mentioning Rosie the owner she is very welcoming and friendly and is always pottering around the site and cleaning the aforementioned caravan very regularly.

I never once used the loo and found it less than spotless. There are about 12 to 15 pitches I guess and all can use the fire pits supplied by Rosie. I will definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NorthernStroller 5 reviews from this member

 As you come over the brow of the hill from Kirby Stephen, the patchwork of fields edged with stone walling is breath taking and nestled amongst this tranquil heaven is Low Greenside Campsite.

This will be my fourth camping trip to Low Greenside in the past 12 months and it is never far away from my thoughts.

The site is camping as you read about it in children's stories; the meadow is beautiful with buttercups and daisies swaying in the breeze, lots of space to play in, the rare opportunity to cook on an open fire or simply toast your toes as you chew the cudd. On a night time the sky sparkles with stars as there is little light pollution which adds magic and mystique to the surroundings.

Rosie the site owner, is friendly, welcoming and helpful and usually pottering about doing something on site.

The facilities are housed in a static caravan and are spotlessly clean and regularly checked by Rosie the camp hostess. Next door to the shower room is a changing room with electricity point and a mirror so you can dry your hair, an absolute must for a glamper like me!

The washing up point is in the kitchen of the caravan and great meeting point to chat to other campers. Housed next to the static caravan is a recycling point. There is also a toilet to the front of the farm building and if you are lucky the swallows will swoop over your head and you may be able to see them nesting.

Kirby Stephen is a hop, skip and a jump away and has everything you should need whilst you are away, Co-op, butchers, newsagents, pubs, take-aways and tourist information.

Low Greenside is a hidden gem of a campsite and excellent value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Forager66 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet campsite that suited our needs on this trip perfectly. The facilities were spotlessly clean and the setting beautiful.

I love the area surrounding the site, the howgills often being forgotten by the tourist masses which makes it a great place to relax and enjoy the countryside.

The Black swan in Ravenstonedale is worth a trip in fact both pubs within 20 mins walk are very good.

This is a great place for traditional camping with a campfire and relaxation. Just what we love. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zoebarton 4 reviews from this member

 Great basic site. Uncut grass so bring wellies. The shower and washing up (with hot water)are in a static caravan which can also be used as a wet weather shelter and has a power point for phones, hairdryers etc.

We went during school holidays but there was plenty of room in the field - Rosie limits the number of campers as there are only two toilets.

The black swan in the village is a wonderful pub with a beer garden by the beck but you do have to book for an evening meal.

Brilliant walking of all grades in the surrounding area. We will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avid_camper 1 review from this member

 This is just probably the best campsite we have ever stayed at. We stayed for a week and the weather was great. It was busier at the weekend and the one large party was put down the bottom of the field so it didn't disturb us.

This is such a great site that I hesitate to recommend it in case too many people find out about it. It has wonderful 360 degree views. Rosie is the front person and keeps the place immaculate, Robert works away in the background and his dry sense of humour is a definite asset.

We went for a lovely walk up Green Bell, the nearest fell, which started and ended at the campsite, as well as some other beautiful lowland circular walks.

The village pub was very pleasant, and the playground just round the corner was great for the kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottie Chorton 10 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a lovely hidden part of the lakes, and although it has fairly basic toilet /washing facilities in an old caravan, as it's only 5pppn with no extras - you get what you pay for.

It is a really large field of uncut grass - and has really lovely views all the way round, but it is quite open to the elements should the weather be inclement as it was in our stay.

A 10-15 minute walk down the road (or over the fields) takes you to the The Black Swan in

Ravenstonedale a superb country pub with excellent food and beer.

Unfortunately at the campsite, we found the owner to be wanting in the area of 'customer service' especially in tone, and so probably would not return. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazel Donnelly 1 review from this member

 Excellent Site.

We were a party of two couples and it was our first experience at camping. The facilities are a little limited but they are spotless and fully maintained at all times. The views are lovely and the fire facility are perfect for the private camp fire. The pitches are well spaced out so everyone has enough personal space.

Rosie is a really friendly lady who is very helpful. She was a God send when our car battery was flat and it was no problem for her to bring her car to us to re-charge it. She has provided everything you need on site to have a very relaxed and carefree holiday.

Can recommend and will definitely return.

Fairly priced, well kept, excellent restaurants,shops and pubs locally. Within easy access to all of the Lakes. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement