Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 04/07/2020 to 01/11/2020
           01/04/2021 to 03/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 61 to 65                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Horus01 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stopped for 5 nights at the beginning of the month. We were welcomed by a very pleasant Rosie who showed us to our pitch.

First impressions were that this was a fantastic site and as previously advertised- 'camping as it should be'. The facilities are very basic in the form of an old static caravan. This provided shower / toilet and wash area;there is also a good area for sitting and planning any excursions, (it was great to lay out 3 OS maps and plan walks). There is also a second toilet available.

Rosie provided kindling and logs for 5 for use in the open fire pits provided. We had requested an EHU; we ended up borrowing Rosie's extension cable plugged into a socket in the caravan. Rosie was very helpful and keen to solve any issues that arose. There is no noise restriction in place but you are requested to have respect for fellow campers and keep music low.

The only criticism I would have about the site is that the facilities are not adequate to cope when the site is busy(as it was on the last 2 days of our stay- queues soon developed for the shower and pot wash areas).

We had taken our dog who was made welcome and not charged for.The only stipulation was that dogs be kept on leads and under control. There is a footpath running through adjoining farmland to exercise dogs- but be warned, stay on the path- this land is not owned by Rosie!

Local facilities are excellent, a local pub and shop within walking distance and Kirby Stephen a short drive away. There is good shopping in kirby and a very good vets.

We will definitely return to this site. The prices are reasonable. This site is not for those that expect the Ritz, but a superb basic campsite. Although the facilities are basic, Rosie was forever cleaning and keen to ensure you have a good stay 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sasamax 7 reviews from this member

 The site is basic (as advertised) and has stunning views all around. The ground is good and well drained and the facilities absolutely immaculate at all times. Rosie seems to be constantly cleaning / mopping / emptying.

Although this site is basic, it is very well looked after and has the unique selling feature of a caravan for campers' use which has hot shower, toilet, sink for washing up and sitting area with woodburning stove and information / maps. We made good use of this facility - especially when it rained.

Recycling bins were situated outside the caravan and were regularly emptied by Rosie. Open fires are welcome on the site, in the wheel rims provided - bags of wood are available at 5 per bag.

The site seems to attract friendly families and we found our fellow campers to be considerate and friendly. There was no shortage of young kids to keep ours entertained, and absolutely no antisocial behaviour.

Site fees were very reasonable, and Rosie was more than happy for us to pitch our enormous bell tent with awning - some sites charge extra for an awning which always puts us off.

The local pub (walking distance) serves good pub grub and there is a children's playpark in the village. A short drive away is the beautiful little town of Kirkby Stephen which has a large co-op along with lots of smaller shops and good places to eat.

We also visited the Toy Factory which is cunningly hidden in the village of Kelleth - here they make beautiful wooden ride-on and push-along trains - a lovely memento of a holiday. Also worth a visit is the chocolate factory at Orton - both of these attractions are only about a 10 minute drive away from the campsite.

All in all, we had a great holiday - this was a beautiful, well cared for site - back to basics in all the right ways, but with enough facilities to keep us all clean and comfortable. We will definitely return - it is well worth a visit and we fully recommend it. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chesta13 1 review from this member

 An excellent camp site with a friendly and helpful owner!

There are excellent facilities - all you require for a camping trip.

There is a caravan on site with log stove, shower and toilet for visitors to use as required. The lounge area is kitted out with tourist info and leaflets.

Bins are provided - all you need to do it put plastics and other recyclables in the correct bin before you leave!

Fires and BBQs welcome. Firewood is available on request. We found the site to be very well priced and will be staying there again.

Kirkby Stephen is near by with a CoOp supermarket and CoOp local store. Ravenstonedale has a couple of pubs. 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rld55 2 reviews from this member

 This is a super little farm site in a lovely area and we'll definitely be going back to it. The friendly and helpful owner advertises it as 'Camping as it used to be' and that's just what it is. There's a good flat field (comfy ground and no stones!)with fantastic views all around, plenty of room to play games, and 'hearths' to have your campfire in.

The facilities are simple but pleasant and immaculately clean. Unlimited hot showers are included in the price. There's also hot water washing up and a dry indoor area with info on walks etc. - great for looking at maps and planning your day.

From the campsite it's a short walk to Ravenstonedale village and the Black Swan pub (proper beer, good food, riverside garden). There are several interesting valley or hill walks/cycle rides you can do from the farm itself, including out onto the Howgill Fells where you can go all day with only sheep for company. Brilliant! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robindakers 1 review from this member

 When we arrived on the site Rosie the Lady owns the site could not have been more helpful the toilets and shower are spotless.

The site was really Quiet and the open fire a real treat Its an ideal site for visiting the lakes or coastal areas like Morecombe.

We planned to stay for two nights and ended up staying for six. A really nice site, we cant wait to go back, plenty of great walks and local shops.

There is a local pub about a ten or fifteen minute walk from the site it has a little store where you can buy all the things you might need. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 65     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2522 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December