Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Greenside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Low Greenside Farm Reviews

Low Greenside Farm
Greenside Lane
(lake District And Yorkshire Dales)
Ravenstonedale
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4LU
Tel: 015396 23217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 14/04/2022 to 15/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charley 2005 5 reviews from this member

 A typical farm campsite but with clean adequate facilities. A static caravan is the toilet block/shower facilities and doubles up as a room to sit other than being in the tent. Especially handy when it's raining! It is slightly off the C2C walk that we were doing but if you need a site in this area it is a good stopover with a couple of good pubs in the nearby (half mile away) village.

The owner is very helpful and is more than willing to help out such as drying out my daughters clothing over her Raeburn in the farmhouse over night. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazekt 7 reviews from this member

 I stayed with my 3yr old daughter and my friend with her 2 children. We had a very warm welcoming. The owners were lovely and very helpful. There is a car park and from there you walk to your pitch. They provide wheelbarrows to carry your belongings to your pitch. I loved this idea as I didn't have to worry about cars driving through the site. It was set on a big open field with the pitches round the edge. Lots of room for children to play.

They have fire pits and provide grills so you can cook on them. The toilets are situated in a caravan nearby with a shower. It is very clean and is cleaned everyday. In the caravan they have lots of info about things to do near by.

I really cant say how wonderful the place was. Stunning views. It was so peaceful. I will definitely be going back there. It was a good 1st place to take my daughter camping and next time the dog is going with us. Great value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diversion 3 reviews from this member

 A gorgeous site which was pretty much a meadow filled with buttercups when I visited. The pitches were very well spaced around the edge of the site, each with it's own campfire spot. The owners were lovely and friendly and checked if there was anything I needed. Cars were not allowed on the field and equipment has to be wheelbarrowed to your pitch, fine for those who are able but for the less able this might be tricky. The static caravan which houses 2 fridges, a toilet and shower, washing up facilities and an information point was spotlessly clean and kept well stocked with clean towels, loo roll and hand soap. The only negative side for me was when the site is busy there was often quite a queue to use the facilities, however I believe there are some works in progress which will add additional facilities to come. The site would benefit from additional electric hook ups too as there is only one. A very pleasant few days and I hope to visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan-J 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site! There is so much space between pitches it felt really private and relaxed. The site is basically a buttercup meadow this time of year, it was glorious. The views are wonderful, across rolling countryside and up to the Howgills. Facilities were clean and very pleasant. I queued for the loo a few times, but that was because it was a sunny bank holiday and the site was full. There's also a load of handy local info in the caravan. Owners could not have been more helpful, even guiding us into the full car park on arrival. We had a glorious and peaceful weekend (so much space meant there was never a lot of noise). Walks right from the campsite - on the Sunday we walked up to Green Bell, then the Monday Smardale Gill. Food at the Black Swan in Ravenstonedale exceptional, and the staff there very friendly and helpful. And campfires allowed! Each pitch has a tyre inner thing (technical term) and logs and kindling are 6 a bag from the house. Wonderful to watch the dairy herd travelling up the lane morning and night. Really recommend.

Just as a note, the campsite leaflet directs you on a walk to the tea room at the trout fishery at Newbiggin on Lune. This is now closed, but there is a cafe in the garden centre there. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Filmstar76 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, located in a beautiful location, the toilet an showers in the caravan on site are spotlessly clean as is the camping field. The owners were really helpful to with any issues that I had. The local pubs The Kings Head does a good range of real ales an the food served is really 5star an tastes amazing, the Black Swan also has a good selection of real ales all served at both puds with a friendly smile an chat. The views from the campsite are amazing an there are some good walks from the site out into the surrounding area. Well worth the money to stay here an I know I'll be back again later in the year an stay longer next time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizali 2 reviews from this member

 We were excited to hear that this fabulous campsite had reopened with Rosie's son Mags now at the helm but with the lovely Rosie never too far away with a smile. This has been our favourite site for years and we were a little worried in case things had changed too much. As usual we were greeted by friendly smiles and Mags has inherited his Mums lovely kind nature. There are a few changes around the site but all for the better with a new caravan and decking providing all the facilities including a larger kitchen area and changing room. The shower is lovely and hot with a decent flow and still included in the price which was nice.

As seasoned campers we thought we were prepared for the weather however we were exceptionally grateful for the kind offer of hot water bottles (thanks).

We have already booked in for our next few visits and cannot wait to return. The worst thing about this site is leaving, the views all around are truly beautiful and relaxing. This to us is how camping should be; quiet, beautiful, open campfires and spacious pitches. We cannot say how grateful we are to Mags for re-opening this amazing site we look forward to many future trips and catching up with you both xx 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetez78 1 review from this member

 We decided to go to low greenside on our honeymoon, and it was a perfect 5 days. First of all we have never met so many friendly people, Rosie is so nice and looks after you, and all the neighbours talk and make you feel welcome.

The site is basic but has everything you need, Jane my wife was cold on the first night so Rosie got her a couple of sleeping bags to use as blankets, she kept asking if we were ok and needed anything. There is a static caravan which has a toilet, shower changing room and sofa to sit in.

About 5 minutes drive there is a trout fishery (Jane caught 3 rainbow trout), there's a par 3 golf course just round the corner and there are lots of walks from the campsite (I would recommend smardale viaduct. Kirkby stephen is about 10 minutes away and you can get everything you need.

The site is central if you want to travel a bit the lakes, Yorkshire moors, Eden valley but never needed to travel as although it is a quiet area there is so much to do on the door step, fishing, tennis, play area, 3 restaurants, golf and of course lots of walks, I would recommend the kings head for something to eat.

We just want to thank Rosie for having us and making us feel welcome, definitely going back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eckythump 10 reviews from this member

 It was our first family camp and despite the wind and the rain we had a great time.

There is plenty of space and the facilities are clean and respected by everyone. The shop in Ravenstonedale (at The Black Swan, a walk across the fields)was well stocked with the basics.

The farm has a dairy herd so they are milked twice a day, don't be in a rush to go somewhere when the cows are coming up the lane for milking!

We will definitely be back to do some of the lovely walks from the campsite - I understand there are 9 of varying lengths and difficulties. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul wilcock 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a six night stay at low Greenside farm, the location is perfect for visiting the dales, the lakes ECt and the views are beautiful.

The tent pitches are huge and even though it was really busy every one had plenty of room, the toilets and faculties are kept spotless and the owners are very helpful and friendly.

I would definitely recommend this site and I will be returning some time before the end of October.

All in all we had a fantastic time :-) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dangerous-Dave 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for five nights. We had originally planned to stay three but liked the campsite and the area so stayed longer.

Pros: quiet - good nights sleep, huge pitches, friendly and helpful owner, camp fires allowed in firepits, close to Howgill fells and Yorkshire Dales for excellent walking, tents only, good pubs and village store in nearby Ravenstonedale village, dark skies

Cons: facilities (two toilets, one bathroom, one washing up sink) not really enough for the small numbers of campers, high turnover of campers due to proximity to M6, car park needs to be about 5-6 spaces bigger

As a previous review mentioned, there is a hum from milking machinery when pitched near the farmhouse. However it is a quiet soporific noise (bit like a fridge running) and never found it disturbed our sleep. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Greenside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Greenside Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Greenside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement