Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunnyside Croft Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Sunnyside Croft Touring Site > Reviews

Sunnyside Croft Touring Site
2 Bunacaimb
Arisaig
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07887 810051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Oliversarmy 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Sunnyside and after say that the site was fantastic. Everything kept spotlessly clean by owners Julie and Ian. Showers were hot and pretty much always available without queuing. Electric cards provided for power and £2 lasted 4 days for us. Beautiful 2 min stroll onto lovely white sandy beach with amazing views over the to the islands of Rum Eigg and Skye. Arisaig 40 minutes walk away or 15 min bike ride with good shop stocking all provisions, good hotel for food and drinks next door which also provides the canoe/kayak rentals reception which is really worth doing.

Mallaig 15 mins away in car with stunning views en route worth a visit.

Overall site was in beautiful location with fantastic facilities and a credit to the owners, will be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eleanor1 2 reviews from this member

 Our second year here and it is every bit as good as last year. Spotless facilities beautiful views and so peaceful, even when the site is full. The site shop stocks a good range of good quality gifts as well as food supplies and the shop at Arisaig, about two miles away has a larger selection. It is about ten minutes drive from Mallaig so handy for anyone who wants to visit Skye by ferry. The beach is beautiful and our dogs enjoyed their time on it. Ian and Julie the site owners are very helpful and work hard at keeping the grounds immaculate and the campers happy. Broadband and mobile phone coverage, brilliant. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. Met by owner who was very friendly and showed us to our pitch. Had lovely views out to sea. Stunning beach which I would imagine gets amazing sunsets. Facilities were exceptionally clean and warm. Lots of information in the laundry room, the only downside was we were only there for 2 nights! Will definitely return if up that way again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 39 reviews from this member

 Can there be a site with better facilities? I doubt it. This is the highest of standards.

Friendly helpful site owners.

Lovely location close to beach.

Tents only on grass.

Campervans and awning must be on hard standing - you will need ROCK PEGS, ordinary pegs are not strong enough, but we were grateful for their use when a force 8 gale struck.

Only buy electric cards in £1 denominations as they will refund totally unused ones. We bought a £5 card, but only used a couple of quid's worth in a 4 day visit and we have electric fan heating.

Arisaig, 40 minutes walk away by minor roads is not the most dog friendly of places, thankfully the local pub let us in with the dog on a terribly wet day. Food here great and real ale. Don't bother with the café, it is hardly ever open and not dog friendly. Mallaig is lovely and the big café on the corner welcomes dogs inside and out. There is so much to see around this are with beautiful beaches and Loch Morar is a must-see location. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineMRoss 16 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights here, our first visit, and were very impressed. There are numerous campsites and certificated locations along this stretch of the coast, but this must surely be one of the best. It's relatively new, so everything is in good condition, well laid out and well maintained. It's a little difficult to find, owing to the number of other sites, so that every little side road has a sign or two. It pays to read the signs carefully.

The warden at check-in was very friendly and helpful, gave us two keys for the washroom and gave us a guided tour of the facilities, which was nice but not really necessary for experienced campers. We were allocated a pitch, no choice. If the warden isn't around when you arrive, there's a board just round the corner from the office showing which pitches prebooked visitors have been assigned, and listing the free pitches for anyone not booked. Which is fine, but without the washroom key, you have no access to the toilets or showers. I do wish the toilets, at least, could be left open.

The site is on a slight slope, giving good views to the sea from every pitch. You can park however you want on your pitch to optimise the view. The site is not right next to the sea, but there is only a short walk to the beach. The pitches themselves are more or less level. There are large central grassy areas for tents. Electricity is optional, via a pre-paid card system. We were delighted not to have to pay extra for electricity when we don't need the hookup (we have a large leisure battery and solar panel, so are self-sufficient).

The toilets and washrooms were immaculate, although the shower operates on the evil push-button system with only a 10-second burst of water, so you have to push-scrub-scrub-push-scrub-scrub. Very uncivilised. The hairdryers seemed to be on a timer too, although I didn't find out what happened when the time ran out. The motorhome service point is one of the best I've ever seen, with fresh water, grey waste and toilet waste facilities all conveniently arranged. It's surprising how often sites get this wrong.

The site is only a short drive from Mallaig, for ferries and fish and chips. We took the short trip to Knoydart where we sat in the sun eating our sandwiches before the journey home. Very pleasant. There is also a tourist boat from Arisaig itself, going to some of the three islands, Rum, Eigg and Muck. We went to Muck, and had lunch at the restaurant there. Lots of wildlife to see: whales, dolphins, porpoises, sea eagles, lots of sea birds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 A modern campsite near a sandy beach. If you have pre-booked and the office isn’t open there is an information board providing details of your pitch which all appeared to be numbered with hardstanding and grass.

A key is needed to access the toilet block, maybe a keypad lock would be better as you have to remember your key each time you go there and it appeared to be one per pitch. The facilities were clean although there was a bit of a rush for the showers just before the hot water was turned off at 10pm the night we were there.

The hook up was by pre paid card which we were initially a bit sceptical about, it is great, rather than having to pay £3-£5 per night as you do at some sites you can add £1 at a time and you are charged per unit used.

A very convenient site for a stop off when using the Armadale-Mallaig ferry. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BlairQ 1 review from this member

 As others have noted before this is an absolute gem of a site in all respects. We have visited on a number of occasions with friends and family.

Ian and Julie are very welcoming and friendly. They work very hard to ensure the smooth running of the site and are rewarded by the respect and friendship of all sensible visitors.

I would endorse the earlier suggestion that some form of flush for the chemical disposal be installed. This is well within Ian's capabilities.

We'll be back, in fact itching to return already. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mleonard 8 reviews from this member

 Location: Lovely location with stunning views of Arisaig coast, beautiful white sand/clear sea beaches.

Pitches: Nice and level with views to sea if you postion correct, although a little closer than some campsites still ok.

Facilities: Excellent and very clean cannot fault them. Very well maintained site all round.

Comments: Owners very friendly and helpful and even though it was heavy rain/wind when we arrived still took us to our pitch and explained the site. Free Wifi which was very good considering the remote location.

Little shop (at reception) sells basics which is handy as nearest shops are 10 mins drive away in Arisaig village.

All in all a great site, lovely location and very peaceful with short walk to what can only be described as stunning beaches idea for canoeing, swimming etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from spending a week at this excellent site.

Like everyone has said the facilities are very good. The showers are excellent with lots of warm water and kept very clean.

Very good dishwashing area and again always plenty of hot water. There is a microwave and freezer for ice blocks for campers coolboxes.

We got a great reception with external aerial for TV and site offers free wifi.

Electric cards which allows to just pay for what you use is another great idea.

Has an area with water spray for cleaning dogs on return from the beach or washing down wetsuits.

Julie and Ian are a hard working and pleasant couple.

The one recommendation I would make is to install a spray water hose or just a bit of pipe at the CDP. At present when you go to empty your cassette the CDP is splattered with the previous persons disposal and it would also allow you to give the cassette a bit of a clean inside, most sites have this available. A minor gripe but I think valid.

To summarise a great site in a great location with excellent facilities. Beautiful beach a stones throw from the site.

A great place to have a chilled out holiday and only a 10 min drive from Mallaig to restock provisions.

Keep up the good work Julie and Ian and we hope to return.

The whole place is very clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toothfairy 9 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely little site. In a fantastic location with a short pathway to a beautiful beach with amazing sunsets. The site is owned by Julie and Ian, who are probably the most hardworking people I have seen! They are always around, cleaning and making sure that everyone is OK. The caravan pitches are huge, hardstanding and all have been positioned so you can have a sea view. The facilities are the best I have ever seen and definitely the cleanest. Ian and Julie have thought of everything to make sure you have a lovely holiday. I am very fussy about caravan sites and this is one of the very best. Although we didn't bring our dogs, it is extremely dog friendly, with a dog friendly beach to exercise your dogs. Arisaig and the surrounding areas are delightful. Thank you Ian and Julie for a lovely time. Hope to see you soon. Cathy and Ian 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyside Croft Touring Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement