Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunnyside Croft Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Sunnyside Croft Touring Site > Reviews

Sunnyside Croft Touring Site
2 Bunacaimb
Arisaig
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07887 810051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunnycamping 6 reviews from this member

 3 toilets and 3 showers each in the ladies and gents loos, and a family shower. Also dishwashing area, a covered seating area, microwave and freezer for anyone to use. All facilities kept very clean. Fantastic, huge map of the area on the wall in the covered seating area.

The electricity is metered, which is very fair, and showed us how little we use (less than 2 for 3 nights).

Short walk to the beach.

Excellent site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tench 10 reviews from this member

 We stumbled upon this site towards the end of our planning for this years holiday. As a result, we were just using the site as a stopover prior to taking the ferry to Skye.

We so wish we had booked a longer stay because everything about this site is first class.

The site location is just breathtaking with mountains in the background and the most beautiful beach a short walk away.

We were met on arrival by Julie who gave us a tour of all the facilities including a microwave which was a clever idea. Toilets and showers were all top quality and well maintained.

Not all of the pitches were dead flat but you could borrow levelling blocks free of charge.

The electricity is via a pre-paid card. This sounds fiddly but it works really well and works out cheaper than paying fixed price.

They have some local produce for sale in reception.

The owners have obviously put their heart and soul into creating this site and it really shows.

We would definitely like to return to this site for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiveway 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights are Sunnyside, from the moment we arrived we were made welcome by the owners who took time to show us all the facilities, you could tell how proud they where of the newly opened site.

Facilities where first class!

They have a small shop in reception which sells fresh local cheeses & chutneys and local meat frozen.

Pitches all have lovely views and there is a small walk to a very beautiful beach.

If I had to say anything negative its simply there is some large rocks on the hard standing pitches which can cause problems putting in pegs that's it! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hockeychic 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 5 nights at Sunnyside and sunny it was with us being so lucky to get 5 days of glorious warm sunshine! The drive is scenic and on driving down to to the site campsite our boys said it doesn't look like Scotland it looks like Greece!

Julie was there to shows round all the facilities as mentioned previously and directed us to where to pitch as our tent is a larger one and we were in the top circle we weren't cramped as Julie ensures 6 metre rule is applied.

Although set back we still got views of Eigg & Rum. The site itself is in a stunning location and very peaceful and our 8 & 11 year old boys were swimming in the Sea at 8pm the first night the seas is very shallow and safe with loads of rocks to climb in and the tide goes out really far too.

Lots to do around we went over to Skye as foot passengers and got the hour long bus trip to Portree also took the MV Shearwater boat ( book in Arisaig) to Eigg and we saw 3 minky whales the boat will track them for you, fantastic experience and the Eigg Inter island games were on when we there there it was a great day for the kids they involved them all, so so peaceful and gives you an insight to rural island life.

Also you must visit Silver Sands a few miles up the road to Malaig it's beautiful and our boys spent hours on the rope swing at the beach.

Back to the campsite the toilet block is immaculate although site was busy never had to wait too long also was a bonus to have the microwave and freezer packs facility too. The electricity cards were much cheaper and now we know pay through the nose at other sites who charge a flat fee.

As referred to in other posts no playground but not a problem as our boys spent loads of time at 'the mountains' just in front of our tent as did all the other kids on the site they loved them there imaginations run riot playing on them.

Would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy + Brian 6 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed at Sunnyside croft and it is a brilliant site, so friendly and welcoming,

The facilities are so clean, the showers and loos are first class

We will definitely go back there, hopefully if we can get a reservation.

The access to the beaches and the sunsets are absolutely brilliant.

They seem to be fully booked all the time.

Well done sunnyside croft,

The sea breeze keep the midges down,

The kiddies ' climbing areas' are good, so much better than the usual stuff / swings etc. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quinster1973 5 reviews from this member

 Tremendous site 10miles from the fishing port of Mallaig. Arisaig is a spectacular place if you like the outdoors.

Key points:

Facilities: Best I've used ever. Ian takes pride in what he has personally built with good cause. I also loved how everything was well sign-posted as well. Loved the eco-toilet as well.

The only criticism would be a lack of covered cooking facilities - with the inclement weather it would really help the tent troop. I don't particularly like cooking inside my tent as I have 2 small children. Easy fix for builder Ian.

The 2 play hills in the campsite were all our children needed for entertainment - I'd possibly watch who who was given the pitches close to these hills as there were a few old grumps that couldn't cope with children playing - playing very well I might add. Younger people would be more tolerant. Please don't put a play park on the site - it's not what Arisaig is all about.

Don't let the electric meter system put you off - it's well cheaper than a standard tariff - works out about a pound a night if you are using a lot.

Attractions: The Arisaig Highland Games were on and I absolutely loved the experience. Highly recommended. Mallaig is a lovely wee fishing port if you manage to missed the masses of tourists that are decanted from the trains/buses twice a day. If you love your seafood get down to Andy Race - the seafood merchant. Lastly we took a boat trip to the Knoydart penisula to visit the old forge pub which was a dream. Highly recommended.

Owners: Very helpful indeed and I loved the amount of support and information that was provided on arrival. Clear, concise and ensures you're not left guessing or feeling stupid. Ian 'the general' is an interesting guy, Loved how he picked the stones that has strayed into the wrong section - I'd take the same pride in my site if I were lucky enough. Julie is a natural with people, very relaxed and very helpful.

Lastly, look out for the infamous 'Tattieman' who suddenly appears in a amber Honda touting fish. He doesn't sell tatties anymore but everyone know him by that name so he kept it.

Tail on prawns were amazing, fresh crab from Mallaig was amazing, hot and cold smoked salmon and Mallaig haddock - AMAZING.

Will return, preferably forever. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andi1 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week in July with husband, daughter, son and father.

A bit of difficulty initially levelling van and getting pegs in to ground for awning (rock pegs available in shop) but Ian quickly came to our rescue to help us get set up.

Very well kept park and Ian and Julie don't seem to stop and are constantly checking bins, toilets etc

Showers beautiful and modern but did have to queue each morning so worth allowing extra time if you have an excursion booked otherwise not a problem. Fabulous family bath/shower which sadly I didn't ask to use until the last night - the showers were a little hot for my 6 year old.

Disabled facilities also excellent. Only down side was that my father struggled a bit afterwards as no chair to sit down on apart from the wet fold down in the actual shower.

Mops to clean showers afterwards but could have been doing with toilet brushes in both loos especially at busy peroids!

2 great rocky areas for children to play and not a swing or slide in sight which didn't bother our 6 year old one bit - don't feel site needs it at all. We were close to the rocky areas which was great for us keeping an eye on the kids but could imagine would be a bit irritating for those without children so may be worth requesting a pitch away from these areas.

Lovely views of Rhum and Eigg but gets obscured by the larger tents on the grassy areas at busier times. Short walk however down to the beach and we witnessed some glorious sunsets.

Shop well stocked and good shop and eating places close by in Arisaig.

Ian and Julie extremely friendly and always on hand with local information. Our cousin arrived from Ireland with squeeze box and was looking for an open music session nearby, Ian hadn't a clue but very quickly found out and pointed him in the right direction where he enjoyed a nights session with the locals at The Arisaig Hotel!

Great map and local info on site.

Traigh golf club a gem and husband enjoyed a few rounds.

Great base for trips to the Islands.

Fabulous area. Ian and Julie are streets ahead. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rahoons 5 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly new site set slighty back from the beach but still with good views to the islands and sunsets. The beach is accessed by a short path through a field and has beautiful white sand. The site facilities are excellent, we particularly liked the family bathroom. The site was busy and there were a few queues for showers in the morning.

The owners appeared to work very hard and were seen constantly cleaning the facilities block. They were around the site most of the time and were welcoming and helpful. The hard standing areas mean that hard rock pegs are necessary for awnings and we found a lot of sand was trampled into the awning from the hard standing area. Electricity is an optional extra and did make us think about our energy consumption - the electricity card machine can be accessed 24/7 from the facilities block.

Our only suggestions for the owners -Julie and Ian -are that our kids would have benefited from a play area with swings etc and that the dish washing area is outside -which is fine in good weather but since the site is open all year an indoor pot wash would be useful.

However this is a site we would recommend to others and consider visiting again in the future. It has a great location and is well planned. We wish Julie and Ian continued success with sunnyside. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoki 22 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a cracking 6 day stay at this site.

As with the prior reviews, this site has one of the best brand new facilities seen to date. Everywhere was spotless and clean. Julie and Ian were on hand for any advice [including updating my wild bird knowledge!].

Our son loved the 'au natural' playground of rocks and trees. As did all the other children by the looks of it. In fact his comment was. 'This is the best play bit ever!'

The beaches in the area were stunning and afford safe flat shallow waters to play in and rock pools galore when the tide goes out [and boy does it go out].

There was plenty of things to see and worth the drive to see, including Castle Tioram [lunch at nearby Acharcle], Loch Morar, Sands of Morar [and skimming stone heaven!] to name but a few.

Or just staying close by the caravan site and the local facilities that also impressed.

If the conditions are right the photo opportunities for glowing sunset pictures are plentiful and round off a day to a T.

We will be back that is for certain! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brookerc 1 review from this member

 A site that has been thoughtfully modernised to the highest standards. We found that the facilities in the toilet block match the best we have found in 30 years of caravanning.

The hardstanding pitches are large and most have lovely views across the sea to the islands of Rhum and Eigg.

There are lovely sandy beaches with shallow water. The little bays and rocks look like it would be good for kayaking though we did not try it. We were lucky to have some wonderful sunsets.

Julie and Iain are a lovely couple who are really helpful. We hope to go back one day. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyside Croft Touring Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement