Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunnyside Croft Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Sunnyside Croft Touring Site > Reviews

Sunnyside Croft Touring Site
2 Bunacaimb
Arisaig
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07887 810051
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 98 Reviews
                9/10 from 98 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valued guest 1 review from this member

 First visit to Arisaig and first impressions don't leave you disappointed - some of the best we have come across - well done!

Ian and Julie have not spared any effort, the family washroom was by far the best investment from our perspective - a child sized bath with 2 levels, wow, wish all sites were this family friendly! We had previously read negative comments and from what we experienced we would have to say were complete polar opposites!

The electricity pay card system is good too, it shows how much other sites are making a profit on your nightly electricity tariff rate.

One comment, which we were advised on if putting up an awning, is the use of rock pegs. The hard standing pitches are covered in small pebbles with rubble back filled in underneath. This did make for some interesting pegging and in some cases, where it mattered the most, on the corners, impossible to peg the awning down leading to much frustration. One learns from this, and we would now recommend you place your van appropriately to get some pegging into the grass where safe to do so.

Facilities were clean and well looked after. The gents had an eco-friendly urinal which despite the water saving and advanced technology, did smell and some water would not go amiss! Central water collection and waste water are in easy walking distance, less than a minute from all pitches. A microwave and freezing facility were available by the dishwashing section.

All in all, a fab stay (pity weather did not co-operate) and we look forward to a longer return stay!

Thanks. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluequark2000 2 reviews from this member

 Good Location with short walk to beach

Facilities are new and of excellent quality

Charges are very reasonable

Owners are helpful and friendly

Good spacing of pitches

Generous hard standings

Open shelter area with wooden tables and benches which also has large map and updated weather and timetables

On quiet stretch of old Malaig road so good for cycling

Lots of excellent beaches within a few miles of site

Great views of Islands

Excellent sailing and canoeing opportunities

Family friendly site 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arrachogaidh 15 reviews from this member

 First visited this site in May 2012. Back again for 2 nights in 2013 and it is just as good. Believe all the good reports preceding this.

Only point to note is it is some distance to the local hostelry. We used this but were told by a customer it would close and in 2014 be a B&B.

Otherwise this is a great area for visiting and exploring the beaches, coast and isles.

We tried the Arisaig Hotel also and it has a nice deck for sitting on. Friendly to dogs also. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jump0206 2 reviews from this member

 Second time to Arisaig but first time to this site. Cannot praise both the site and owners high enough.

Facilities are immaculate and great well laid out pitches which means that you are not jammed in next to other guests.

No rip off for electricity as it is pay as you go and a week useage cost us just a fiver.

Ian and Julie are so friendly and welcoming.

Full recycling facilities which was a bonus. Outside shower for washing salt and sand off ourselves and dogs after being in the sea.

I would highly recommend this site to everyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is stunning. A short walk to gorgeous, white sandy bays.

The site is good for young families as there is a family bathroom with a bath with a seat in it for bathing really little ones. Also a mini shower, sink & toilet! Little ones can paddle in the sea, play in the sand & remember & take fishing nets & buckets for catching all sorts in the rock pools! (Like we did)

The facilities are exceptional. We were there at a very busy time. They were cleaned, checked & looked after to a high standard. The owners work very hard. Quite right that they take pride in what they have achieved here i. E If they don't want children under 10years in toilets unaccompanied then that is reasonable. (We had an 8 year old & a 10 year old so we followed this and adapted)

There is also a covered seating area, fridge, microwave, dish washing. All very good for people in tents.

I also liked being able to do a small washing in the machine for under 2.

The power cards can be purchased anytime by a machine in the facilities block which is very convenient. We were there for 10 nights and used a fridge, lighting and a very occasional fan heater & only had to purchase 3 or thereabouts.

I would recommend this site in a stunning area of Scotland.

Mallaig is only about 5 miles away with ferries to the Outer Hebrides.

There is a Spar nearby in Arisaig. Well stocked. Expensive as you would expect being the only shop in the immediate area. Enquire what the camp site shop has as I do think there was some fresh produce there although we didn't use it.

Beautiful location to summarise. One of the best sites ever & you should see our photos of clear water & sunsets! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 36 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site - beautiful location-a short walk to a stunning beach, and wonderful sea views with views over to Eigg, Rum and Skye.

Great facilities- look newly built with quality materials -shower block accessed by key. Great washing up area with separate sink for food preparation and recycling facilities. Laundry room with washing machine with well priced coin operated cycles and tumble dryer. Lots of information provided re tourist attractions and bus/train times etc.

Outdoor shower for wetsuits/sandy feet etc.

Pay as you go electric card -we used less than 2 for a 3 night stay.

Lovely shop in reception with Scottish produce and tasteful gifts.

A nice 15-20mins walk to a bar/hotel with bar meals and restaurant.

Arisaig village is further-easy on cycle -some steep hills!. Arisaig has a spar shop and post office and some cafes and hotel. We took the ferry at Arisaig marina to Eigg -a nice day trip.

Would give this site11/10 if we could! and would love to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ErOutdoors 2 reviews from this member

 'Simply the best' Just had 8 days at this site I can recommend it the facilities are excellent and the owners are so pleasant and welcoming, eager to do whatever they can to make your stay a good one.

We have been visiting the area for a number of years and for us this is by far the best site in the area.

You pay for the electricity you use - it cost us 3. 97 for 8 days. We used a Microwave, Electric Kettle, TV, Microwave, Fan Heater and heated the water. Our friends left their heating on low over night and still only used 6 for the 8 days. It does beg the question why are we being charged a fix price of 3 plus on other sites for electricity.

Large stoned area for hosing down wet gear when you have been in the sea

The other good thing is the washing machines 1. 20 for a full load quick wash. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

 We spent a great week here during the last week of May. Over our first weekend (Bank Holiday), the site was full but each day afterwards, became quieter. We had a fantastic week of weather and the children spent many a day in the kayak on the white sandy beach 2/3 mins walk way through a private path.

Spectacular views of Eigg, Rum and Skye from the site and beach.

Superb facilities and owners regularly in the toilet / shower block cleaning. After visiting a number of sites over the last 5 years, the facilities here were by far the best.

Small shop on site, selling essentials (Milk, BBQ meat, Bacon etc) and small gifts.

There is no room for the children to play ball games, but this is for the pleasure of the other guests (motor homes generally) and the beach is only a short walk away which was often deserted!

Lots to do in the surrounding area. Arisaig is a 25 min walk away which is a lovely village. There is a Spar, cafe's and boat trips to the Small Isles in the village. I would definitely recommend a day trip to Eigg to climb the Sgurr!

Loch Morar is a nice walk as well as the numerous beaches 5 mins away (Camusdarach Beach was our favourite away from the sites own beach). A superb beach also at Rhu, but its a 30 min walk from the car park, but well worth it! There are a few more shops, including Co-op and a good fish n chip shop in Mallig, which is only 10 mins in the car.

Really lovely site and helpful owners. We definitely hope to be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aldoscott 19 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on an 11 day tour round Scotland. My first impressions were that it was a nice site. After meeting the owners we were absolutely impressed. They are the nicest, most helpful and friendly people you will meet on any site.

The views are spectacular and the facilities are modern, warm and sparkling clean.

If you need any advice on the area Ian & Julie are a mind of information.

To summarise we loved loved loved this site and cant wait to go back later in the summer 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morrisons102 3 reviews from this member

 Not for families - adults only site!

This site has a new very clean toilet/shower block but because of this the owners feel they have to be constantly watching you, especially families. They also give a 1/2hr tour after you have driven 10hrs to get there. Also, all children under 10yrs old have to be supervised in the toilet/showers which can be restricting especially as our children like to camp due to the freedom they normally get.

The site rules are numerous and have to be adhered to with no leeway, if you do they speak to you like children!

It is not a holiday site for chilling and having fun with your family as we and other families were constantly watched and reminded of the rules.

The prices are double everywhere else (as we found out from some friends who stayed elsewhere)- you are paying for the toilet/shower block. It is not worth it especially as other sites are friendlier and more relaxed plus this site does not have direct access to the beach.

This site almost put us off this area which is spectacular and well worth a visit and does have friendly locals elsewhere. I would strongly suggest if you are a family to avoid this site. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sunnyside Croft Touring Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4211 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement