Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sunnyside Croft Touring Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Sunnyside Croft Touring Site Reviews

Sunnyside Croft Touring Site
2 Bunacaimb
Arisaig
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 07887 810051  or  01687 450643
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 28 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Murraygrant 11 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this lovely site many times a year for the past few years. All facilities are spotless and up to date.

Site is very clean with no rubbish lying around,

Campers are asked to keep pets etc under control and the majority do.

Very close to the beach which is very quiet and amazing for family picnic's, Kayaking or just sitting and enjoying the amazing views no matter what the weather.

We cannot wait until Sunnyside croft opens and we can return.

Arisiag is a 5 mine drive and Maliag 10 mins. Both have at least 1 supermarket and a choose of restaurants etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tonge3142 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site in an excellent location

Facilities were spotless

The lady who greeted us was very friendly but at 52 per night I thought they were taking advantage of lack of spaces on sites on the way to Mallaig especially as most sites in the area charge less than 30

Had to book for an extra night as ferry was cancelled 104 in total for 2 nights which I felt was extortionate 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ras1087 3 reviews from this member

 On the whole a nice campsite in a stunning location. However, the site falls short of it's 32 per night price tag.

The owners are only on site for a short period to clean the toilet/shower block and from 3pm until 6pm so the lovely modern toilet/shower block starts as spotlessly clean modern unit but due to the sites location it has heavy use so quickly becomes very grubby and unpleasant.

The chemical toilet disposal is very inadequate and it is not clear were you rinse the cassette, there is a tap outside the chemical disposal area that says not drinking water so I presume this dribble is what you are supposed to use, there is a sign in the disposal area requesting that you do not use too much water.

The dish washing area is not covered or sheltered from the prevailing weather. In general everything appears to be geared up so that the owners can wring every penny of profit out of each pitch occupation and to aid their green credentials.

This is a very good 22 per night site that unfortunately is 10 over priced! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ray Ayr 4 reviews from this member

 Liked the spacious, hardstanding pitches and the sense of order and calm around the site. We met three members of staff, all were welcoming and helpful.

Modern toilet block which was kept very clean though an extra hook in the shower cubicle would have been useful. Note that eco toilet fluid is provided by the site at no charge.

Our pitch was close to the centrally placed water point but all recycled and toilet waste had to be taken outside the boundary of the pitching area.

The site office was only open from 3 to 6 but help was always available on the phone using the yellow boxed handset located at the office/toilet block.

Electricity is now included in the price totalling 32 per night for two of us with a caravan.

Be aware that filling up with fuel in Fort William is a good idea as the Mallaig petrol station has limited opening hours.

Pleasant 6 day stay close to attractive beaches and mountains let down a bit towards the end by heavy rainfall causing departure one day early. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Murraygrant 11 reviews from this member

 This is our sixth visit in three years. We have stayed in many campsites throughout Britain and Europe and this is one of the best sites we have ever stayed in. Holidays are very important. Everyone looks forward to having some time away and it is very important to us that we find the right places to make our holiday everything we hope it will be. Hopefully this review will help you decide if this is the campsite for you.

The owners of this campsite have planned their site very carefully to ensure that their guests will have their needs accommodated. The pitches are very generous in size and have wonderful views over the beach to the islands of Eigg and Rhum.

The facilities in the toilet block are pristine and include facilities for babies/toddlers, disabled guests, seating/dining area for campers, a laundry with facilities for handwash as well as washing machines and tumble drier.

There is also an outdoor shower and separate dog and kit rinse for guests to use when returning from the beach from a swim or with their kayaks, paddle boards etc.

When we are choosing a site we look for sites which do not allow ball games or only allow them in designated areas and sites where dog owners are expected to keep dogs on leads at all times. Sometimes we are disappointed as, although many campsites have these rules, many guests do not abide by them and owners/managers turn a blind eye. At Sunnyside Croft the owners make every effort to ensure all guests have a lovely holiday and therefore they will speak to any guests who are not abiding by the rules. If you are looking for a campsite where you are able to play football/cricket etc. Between pitches, play loud music or allow your dogs to roam free, this is not the site for you.

Part of our enjoyment when we are on holiday is seeing other people having a good holiday too. In the three years we have visited this site we have seen and spoken to young couples, more mature couples, families, friends holidaying together and solo travellers, all of whom have had a wonderful time. Many guests, like us, return time after time because of the lovely owners and excellent facilities and location.

The site is also very popular with European travellers who comment on the amazing facilities and views.

Electricity is paid for using a prepaid card system. This summer this has cost us on average 1. 50 per day. In our caravan we have been running two fridges, using laptops, television, hairdrier, electric hair straighteners, kettle, toaster, charging mobile phones and heating water to wash dishes in the caravan. (There are, however, hairdriers and dishwashing facilities within the toilet block which are free of charge for all guests to use. )

When we have visited during Easter and used the electric heating in the caravan we used approximately 2. 50 per day.

Within the campsite there is free WiFi which is an added bonus. We are so glad to have found this campsite and we are already planning our next visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: PollyPARKY 1 review from this member

 Excellent clean facilities and very welcoming helpful owners. This is the second visit, and I could not fault the site at all.

Was loaned some hard standing pegs which were very useful. Will definitely be visiting again next summer. Site right next to an interesting beach with lovely bay for swimming.

Ideal for dog owners. Beautiful scenery. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Voyager2 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, a little more expensive than the others we booked on our trip but the facilities are excellent with fabulous beaches and very friendly welcome.

My only comment is on the 1 electric charge, which we only used 20p of running fridge, lights etc. When we added the card there was already 1. 20 credit so we left 2 still in credit.

My advice we be to check on the hookup point before you buy. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at this immaculate top quality small site very close to the beach. Had a pitch with uninterrupted views of the dunes and sea. Owner lent us an extension lead for the EHU. 1 card was enough for 1 night with oil-filled radiator permanently on. Not busy when we visited. Owners very friendly and helpful, as were other visitors.

Showers/toilets spotless and looked new. Whole site very clean and tidy. No expense spared with pitches and facilities including dog shower The white sand and clear waters were fabulous - in warm weather I'm sure they couldn't be beaten. We didn't find the village via the beach as all the paths seemed to be private property.

Definitely the best part is the location near to the beach. Probably suits adults rather than families but this is just my opinion. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Southern contingent 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with beach access and lovely views. Very well run and with helpful, personal service.

Facilities include the best motorhome service point we have come across, dog shower, human outdoor shower (wetsuits, etc. ), drying facilities, and brilliant washrooms.

The toilets were always clean, whatever time of day, and despite the campsite being busy.

Sunnyside Croft really raises the bar for campsites in Scotland. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 There are at least 7 or 8 campsites along the stretch of coast at Arisaig. As with most others this one is close to the beach but its a short walk to the shore through a garden area and over the dunes, less than 5 minutes from pitch to beach.

The pitches are hard-standing with ehu, plenty of room for car, caravan and awning and then some. On arrival we noticed every pitch showed reserved, but on checking in reception we were told there was plenty of space. We were allocated a pitch but thought another had a better view so asked to move which the owner agreed to no problems.

The showers / loos seem band new, very clean, warm and plenty of hot water (hot water not available between 10pm and 6am but not sure many want it then anyway). Everything about the site was well kept, tidy and clean - one of the best kept sites we have visited. There is free wifi across the site and also a small shop selling essentials and ice-cream.

Electricity is included in the pitch price(23 for 2 adults)in the form of a 1 card for the electric meter per night so if you use more you need to buy cards from the machine in the facilities block. We found 1 more than covered a night with a fridge, lights, electrical items charging etc.

As previously mentioned there are plenty of sites on this mile or so stretch all offering differing camping experiences in terms of rules, relaxed attitudes, dogs on leads etc etc. It's a beautiful area with several attractions in easy reach.

For us Sunnyside offered a well run, very well kept and quiet site, we would use again and would recommend the site to anyone looking for similar. 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Sunnyside Croft Touring Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement