Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Bransgore > New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site Reviews

New Forest Caravan And Motorhome Club Centenary Site
Forest Road
Bransgore
Hampshire   (Browse area)
BH23 8EB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 275
Open: 02/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 26 reviews from this member

Like some other reviewers have said, this is probably the best campsite I have ever been on, certainly in the UK anyway.

There is good signposting off the A35 to the site and when you get there, a very large new arrivals area. Late arrivals are also catered for with hook up points etc. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and explained where the facilities were. Entry and exit is barrier controlled by means of a key fob. You find your pitch first and then return to reception where the fob is given to you. The pitches are large with a good mix of grass and hard standing. We had a grass pitch which was well maintained and not at all muddy despite the wet weather. The hard standings looked to be excellent as well; smooth gravel and well maintained. The pitches are served by hook up ballards and there is water and disposal units dotted around the site. The hook up points also have Freeview TV points. Youíll need a cable for this which the shop will sell but they cost about £15. We already have one as weíve used Caravan Club sites before. The toilets and showers as you might expect on a Caravan Club site are immaculate as is the whole of the site in general. The on site shop sells a few basics but you can find a supermarket in Christchurch just a few miles away. I believe there are also visits by chip vans, butchers and others but as we only stayed two nights and were not around much in the day, we didnít see these or use their services. There is an excellent playground for the children, a nice size field for ball games and a dog walking area. Bournemouth isnít that far away nor is Beaulieu Motor Museum. The site is also well placed for visiting the wonderful New Forest.

We did encounter a small problem. The site has a rule on the way that units are pitched which is very much orientated to the standard caravan/awning configuration. For end opening folding campers this wouldnít be a problem but for trailer tents and side opening folding campers (such as a Pennine Fiesta or Conway Countryman) it meant that we couldnít pitch the way we would have liked to have. As it goes, we still had plenty of room so the problem wasnít as bad as it sounded at first. However, the day we left as I drove around the site I saw a trailer tent that had pitched with itís awning facing the front (as we would have liked to have done) so if you encounter this problem, it may well be worth pushing the matter a little.

Overall, a lovely, well run site in an excellent location and we will certainly return to this site again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazs XC70 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site. The site itself is in a great location and conveniently placed for access to the New Forest, coast or towns and could not be faulted for this. We had 10 nights here and there was still so much we missed.

It is a couple of years old now so the planting is starting to take hold and isn't as open as it first appears on pictures on CC website.

The facilities on site are of a high standard as you would expect from a new site. We were however very surprised at the small number of hard standing pitches with ~75% of the site on grass standing. The pitches also felt much closer together than I have been used to on other CC sites, certainly feels like you are crammed in when the site is full (which it was). I also didn't like the layout of the pitches which was (looking at front of van) car on left, van in middle, awning on right. This arrangement means that you have to stare at the wheel arches of your next door neighbours car if you want to sit outside your awning (I observed one inconsiderate van owner park his car right up against next doors awning leaving himself about 6 feet between his car and VAN - what happened to common sense and courtesy!). There was clearly space on the majority of pitches to park you car across the front of the van so don't understand why this wasn't an option.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Do as you likers 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from staying as this site. It was our first Club site and found it excellent. Originally booked for four nights but then extended it to seven.

The site was very clean and tidy and the facilities we needed were good with the exception of the water dumping points for the motor homes. The seemed to only be set up for Right hand drives our dump site was for a left hand drive vehicle but managed to get round it.

The pitch sizes were a nice size for us as we have a large motor home

The site's shop had the basics with a mobile fish and chip shop once a week (which we never tried but seemed very busy), also a local farmer sold sausages and steaks another day (both the sausages and steak were very good).

We cycled every day the site was ideally located for cycling to the local villages and even the coast was easy cycling.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BRENTY 6 reviews from this member

This a caravan club site and is immaculate in every way.

The grounds were tended to daily and the toilets and shower blocks cleaned twice daily,the showers are the best that I have used on any campsite.

They are not on a timer system and each shower has a separate area with a little bench to keep clothes and towels dry.

Numerous water points and chemical waste points and 2 easily accessed motorhome waste points.

Superb children's playarea, which is closed at dusk, also a large dog walking field, with dog bin.

Very small inadequate shop on site, it would have been nice to have been told on check in that we had to pre order bread and newspapers instead of being told the next day when attempting to purchase above!

Large information room fully stocked with leaflets.

Several pubs and a Sainsburys just down the road,Christchurch is 10 mins drive away.

Would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

We have visited this site before and were again very impressed; it really is excellent, above even the very good normal club standards. Check in was easy and we found a good pitch straight away. All the facilities are excellent and the wardens, as ever, work hard to maintain them.

Loads of walks nearby and Christchurch is a very short drive away for the beach. Because the site is relatively new the trees and bushes are still maturing so there's not much shade but it will be interesting to see how it develops over the coming years.

Shop sells basics but there's a Sainsburys just down the main road. No pub within walking distance but The Three Tuns at Bransgore does excellent food if a little pricey. We stay on club sites and others regularly and you'd be hard pressed to better this one. We will definitely return!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonny100 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic week at this site. We were lucky as the weather turned to glorious sunshine the day after we arrived. On the first day when it was windy the site felt a little exposed, maybe when the trees grow a little more this will ease (take some straps to tie down your awning!)

The site was kept immaculate, although the toilets can suffer due I think to kids visiting on their own (as someone else mentioned). There is a toddler room in the shower blocks for under 4's which has a small bath in

The shop has the basics although I found that one day when we were out of milk in the morning that they weren't getting a delivery until midday, so a trip to the local store was needed (less than 5 mins away)

We stayed mainly within the New Forest for the majority of our week exploring the villages and easy walks (for our 3 yr old)

We visited Christchurch which is only a short drive away and spent a few hours on Avon Beach near Mudeford.

My boy loved the site especially the kids playground (which says its for 5-10 yrs olds). There was also a football pitch for ball games

I struggled with TV reception however electric hook up points also have TV sockets. I bought a cable from the CC shop. They charge £15 which I thought was a bit steep, but its for keeps and I'm sure will be used in future

Good pubs all around. One of note was the New Forest Inn near Emery Down (easily spotted on the road out of Lyndhurst), good beer, excellent food & pleasant service. Children & dogs welcome. Also look out for the Red Shoot Inn at Ellingham, didn't try the food but it looked good. The pub has it's own micro brewery

We will book again if holidaying in this region, however we will be taking bikes next time to explore on 2 wheels

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Just had 4 nights at this CC site.

Facilities are excellent all round. Friendly wardens with advice on walks and cycle rides.

Site felt very spacious very nice feel to it. Was full when we stayed but only using hard stand pitches. Grass pitches in-between some hard stand pitches so may not feel so spacious in the summer months.

Good play area if you have children and a dog walk.

We cycled to nearby Burley, not too much there but a very nice village.

Bransgore short drive (long walk) had nice pubs. We liked the Three Tuns (good beer)

Barton on sea Milford on Sea and Lymington well worth a drive out too.Lovely walking along the coast.

Not too much within walking distance of site. A drive to most places worth a visit.

A lovely site site in a lovely location we will stay again if in the New Forest.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

Visited early October for 6 nights & had a wonderful time at this lovely new site.Only hardstanding pitches in use, so very quiet & where we were on Spitfire, very spacious.As you can imagine being a new site all facilities are

Top notch,a very nice place to relax especially

As the sun shone most of the time.Minor criticism was the cattle grid on the road just outside the site, noticeable more on Mustang I would imagine especially late at night & early morning, & close to a flightpath to & from Bournemouth airport I think ? But apart from that

The site is excellent, though might be a little crammed when all grass pitches are in use ?

Nice walk direct from the site around Holmsley

Over heathland to Whitten ponds & back along the old railway, about 7 miles or so.There is a memorial just at the rear of the site dedicated to all the New Forest airfields in the second world war.Plenty of walks & rides around the forest, we did the Standing Hat by Brockenhurst, & the Tall trees walk.
Only saw 3 deer during our walks, but bumped into a group of pigs one day,& of course there are ponies everywhere.Nice to to visit the coast around Christchurch,Mudeford quay & Milford-on-sea are gorgeous when the sun shines, also visited Calshot castle & watched the ships going in to Southampton.Bucklers Hard & a cruise down the river are a must.Had a nice meal at the Carpenters Arms in Bransgore.A lovely week, lovely area & a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flashbasil 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this well placed, beautiful site. The facilities are immaculate and there's plenty of them, we didn't have to queue once, even though the site was full. The park is fantastic, we didn't see our two for hours! We also had a hassle free viewing of the Bournemouth Air Show too as the planes fly over the site en route to Bournemouth! Fantastic cycling and walking, starting from the site. An excellent site, we will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Huw warrington 6 reviews from this member

Stayed with the children in high season, so we were able to see how the site coped at full capacity, and our stay was excellent in the main. All of the positives mentioned in previous reviews are spot on, but even with the best wardens in the world, if you have a lot of people on site, the facilities start to suffer.

My wife observed that the ladies toilets could get rather well used, but I had no problems with the Gents in the two weeks we were there! Maybe Gents are more hygienic? I don't think it's messy members that are to blame, but in the school holidays, it's such a safe environment that children go to the toilet unsupervised, and maybe they haven't yet got into the whole toilet brush / floor mopping routine that adult members take for granted. Maybe there's a case for cleaning the blocks twice a day in high season?

Everything else was fantastic, the play area got a big thumbs up from my children. You could hear the play area from a good few hundred yards away, so if you want a bit of peace and quiet find a spot well away from the play area, although the wardens did close the play area at dusk and re-opened it around 9am.

The setting was ideal for the New Forest with plenty of forest walks and cycle routes near by, with Bournemouth only 30 mins drive away. I would certainly use this site if I was in the area again.

Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bransgore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4353 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019